Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chernobyl Diaries is an original story from Oren Peli, who first terrified audiences with his groundbreaking thriller, "Paranormal Activity." The film follows a group of six young vacationers who, looking to go off the beaten path, hire an "extreme tour" guide. Ignoring warnings, he takesChernobyl Diaries is an original story from Oren Peli, who first terrified audiences with his groundbreaking thriller, "Paranormal Activity." The film follows a group of six young vacationers who, looking to go off the beaten path, hire an "extreme tour" guide. Ignoring warnings, he takes them into the city of Pripyat, the former home to the workers of the Chernobyl nuclear reactor, but a deserted town since the disaster more than 25 years ago. After a brief exploration of the abandoned city, however, the group soon finds themselves stranded, only to discover that they are not alone. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 25, 2012
    67
    If nowhere near as scary as the original Paranormal, the result is superior to many of the low-budget terror flicks that have arrived since (yes, The Devil Inside, we're talking about you) and benefits hugely from Dimitri Diatchenko's performance as moviedom's Worst. Tour. Guide. Ever.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 25, 2012
    50
    Chernobyl Diaries is afflicted with a fatal flaw that damages many horror films: after a better-than-average setup and a promising first half, everything falls apart.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    May 25, 2012
    42
    It's mostly boilerplate horror, plucking visual ideas from better sources and relying on the sick novelty of referencing an actual catastrophe.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 25, 2012
    40
    In Chernobyl Diaries, directed by Bradley Parker, stupidity is taken to extremes.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 25, 2012
    38
    Despite an unlikely setting and a moderately intriguing premise, Chernobyl Diaries proves to be a generic horror flick where young tourists are systematically victimized in unoriginal and not terribly scary ways.
  6. 30
    If this horror movie cashes in on the audience that echoes its character's awareness ("That's where the nucular thing happened, right?") then we're about to learn how low our national academic standards are.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 25, 2012
    10
    You might actively root for their collective demise, if you could rouse yourself to care one way or the other. Go gallivanting in Chernobyl and you get what you pay for, nimrods.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 56
  2. Negative: 22 out of 56
  1. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    Very awesome! I would like to see pewdiepie on this movie and hearing him screaming like a little girl.

    I don't know why this movie has low
    Very awesome! I would like to see pewdiepie on this movie and hearing him screaming like a little girl.

    I don't know why this movie has low ratings, I enjoyed a lot.
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    9
    I don't see what the problem was with this movie the acting was good and there was no dumb moments and I really enjoyed myself. But the ending suked
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    Unlike most people, I enjoyed this movie. It was terrifying, but in a good way. Jesse McCartney did a good job in the film, and I canUnlike most people, I enjoyed this movie. It was terrifying, but in a good way. Jesse McCartney did a good job in the film, and I can definitely see him appearing in some more over the next few years. My only real reservation is how the ending was orchestrated. I would have done it differently. However, I was definitely not expecting it to end that way, so I give a kudos to the makers of this film on that. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2012
    4
    I did not think this was a great film its pretty low-budget to be fair so it's not got much to work with so taking that in to considerationI did not think this was a great film its pretty low-budget to be fair so it's not got much to work with so taking that in to consideration its worth a watch Hills Have Eyes comes to Russia. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    4
    OK so let's clear some things up. 1. Chernobyl Diaries is NOT a found footage film. 2. Chernobyl Diaries does not deserve to be in the greenOK so let's clear some things up. 1. Chernobyl Diaries is NOT a found footage film. 2. Chernobyl Diaries does not deserve to be in the green on Metacritic. With all of that said, Chernobyl Diaries is a bad movie but it certainly had potential. The cast is pretty stupid when it comes to making logical, life saving decisions and do everything a typical human in a horror film would do. While the situation does deem itself to be damn creepy, and at times what does happen on screen is very creepy, it's enough to really get you. The ending, while predictable and very messed up, does its job and closes the door on any potential of a sequel. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    An interesting concept with flaws with the actors as they unravel to become the most annoying and dumb characters ever to be in modern dayAn interesting concept with flaws with the actors as they unravel to become the most annoying and dumb characters ever to be in modern day films. I found myself in tense situations because of some of the interesting choices of "freaks" and "creatures". But overall vastly flawed. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    0
    Besides the point of it taking a controversial stance of actually daring to touch the already sensitive subject of Chernobyl, it doesn't giveBesides the point of it taking a controversial stance of actually daring to touch the already sensitive subject of Chernobyl, it doesn't give any love or care into it at all. We've been on this ride before hundreds of times. The ninety minutes of this was the longest two years of my life. With zombies and vampires on the rise and flooding the markets in the movie and game section I thought it would be different, I actually miss not and going seeing a zombie or vampire film that's barely passed as B-Movie now. If people want to explore Chernobyl and go to Pripyat, my advice would be to actually go there or stop by and pick up S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl for PC from 2007 or S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat for PC from 2010. They offer more entertainment and actual scares then this does while actually getting to see real time mapped landscapes and scenery from their current time. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers