User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 193

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    "Chicago" shouldn't have been a good movie if it wasn't for the stylish direction of Rob Marshall and his cleverness of portraying the correct scenes matching with the song and setting. It isn't great, but a good movie with some light-jazz music you'll love to listen.
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    Perhaps Chicago is meant to be self-analytical in commentary on shallowness in nearly everything, but that doesn't forgive the fact that it is indeed shallow. While it's flashy and pretty funny when it needs to be, in the end, Chicago is still a miraculously vapid movie underneath it all, and that, in the end, makes it boring when it's not belting.
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    Chicago is by far on one of the greatest musicals to hit the stage. The songs are sung with such strength by actors whom I never expected to have that skill. The choreography is beautifully orchestrated and the use of parallel montage between the songs and the actual story is what truly takes this film from the stage and makes it great for the screen. The only fault is that despite great performances, the songs sometimes get in the way of evoking true emotion from the actual plot. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best films in history, i loved it i was never into musicals until i saw this movie, absolutely brilliant performances and beautiful songs this is truly an Oscar worthy film
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    6
    The ambition and devotion to 'Chicago' is blindsided by a contempt for all the protagonists (the exception being John C. Reily, whose Mr. Cellophane is truly heartbreaking) and a certain modernization of an era that was not nearly so "razzle-dazzle" as the film portrays it to be. I still can't get by the self-obsession of Renee Zellweger and Catherine Zeta-Jones. That's really why I can't give the movie higher than an 8. A 6 is because it wasn't 20's to me. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    6
    "Chicago" is a genre classic, but it actually praised more than deserved. Performances are generally good, the premise very intriguing, but is somewhat weak as a picture. The plot can be unintelligent at times, and there are too many numbers overshadowing the storyline. Zeta-Jones and Queen Latifah are more than adequate fits. Overall, "Chicago" has some strong qualities, but is also perhaps a little overrated. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Chicago is a very original movie. And that's what people are looking for these days. Every award they received, including Best Picture, was well given from the Academy. Catherine-Zeta Jones was an excellent supporting actress, and she did earn her Best Supporting Actress award, but truly, I think Renee Zellweger did a better job as an actress. The cinematography was simply amazing. The transitions between reality and stage were definitely enjoyable. The way the audience saw the stage performances was excellent, and the way they saw reality was interesting as well. And at that fact, the stage performances is what made this film extravagant. No breaking into song in reality. All of the singing was as if they were feeling it, and we were witnessing their feelings. The the songs were real catchy, and definitely masterpieces to listen to. But there were a few flaws in Chicago. One was some of the speech. It was hard to understand without subtitles or going back a few times to hear it again, but not all of it was like that, only some. Then the fact that one of the characters (the innocent and "invisible" one) never got what he deserved. This was the sad point in the film. But I guess that's reality, folks. And the best part of Chicago was... That it was better than the musical. I saw the musical, and it was boring and dull compared to the film. But there is one last flaw. The 1 hour 57 minute film left out a bit from the 3 hour musical. You got to know the characters more in the musical. All in all, I give Chicago an 8 out of 10. Collapse
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    Chicago is a pretty unique film creation. An adaptation of the satirical musical of the same name, it's energetic and flawlessly choreographed, with well-performed songs and a decent helping of tongue-in-cheek humour. It's not all glitz and glamour though, and it's satisfying to see a bit more going on below the surface than in other musicals - it addresses everything from gender stereotypes to the fragility of celebrity and the fickle nature of a media-consuming public. The cast are strong across the board, but Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere are the real highlights, the former perfectly expressing Roxie Hart's journey from naive and unfulfilled housewife to calculating, image-cultivating celebrity, and the latter stealing every scene he's in with good old-fashioned showmanship. Unfortunately the film does lose a little momentum, and packs a bit less punch in the final twenty minutes or so, but this is more a testament to the knock-out near-perfection of the rest of the film rather than any particular flaw in this part of the film. Perhaps it was inevitable that shining so brightly early on would result in a certain loss of sparkle in the latter parts of the film. Overall, though, Chicago is a joy to behold, and the experience will stay with you long after the credits roll. Expand
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    Bottom Line: Two murderesses and a lawyer run away with six Oscars in this flamboyant musical.

    Ostentatious musical takes a sarcastic look at the story of two murderesses and their rise (or rises, one could say) to fame on the stage. This was the first musical in 33 years to win Best Picture, the previous being OLIVER! in 1969, and I can now honestly say that this didnâ
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Chicago has all the trappings of a great musical while also working as a truly great film. The main draw of Chicago has to be the way Rob Marshalls direction allows for an exhilarating viewing experience that flows brilliantly. The idea that there are two different worlds, the real and the musical, was one of pure genius because it allows for not only some thrilling musical numbers but also character development without the loss of momentum with Cell Block Tango introducing the prisoner brilliantly while also injecting some much needed theatricality. The cast works well because they accept the preposterous nature of the story and act as if on stage which sounds ludicrous but it works. Renee Zellwegger shows the evolution of a performer with both flair and naivety with Catherine Zeta-Jones playing off her with equal parts spunk and cynicism. However the real star is Richard Gere who demonstrates different relationships between the two and really manages to infuse some undeniable fun into the proceedings as the larger than life lawyer Billy Flynn.
    Chicago is really a story of how a star is born through less ordinary means and thanks to some great music, acting and directing it works brilliantly
    Expand
  11. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Between Rob Marshall and Bill Condon, there was no stopping this adaptation of Bob Fosse's hit Broadway musical. Amongst the cast and amongst the staggering musical numbers, Chicago is one of the best musicals of our time.
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    Chicago is the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing was good about the movie. If I could I would give it 3 zeros. Disgraceful, Horrific, Disgusting, Stupid, and a total mess of a film. You couldn't pay me to watch this film. Worst movie of the year, worst movie of all time.
  13. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    An absolute knockout! I can't claim to know much about musicals, but this one is easily the best one I have seen. Every performance, song, and dance were so spot on. Thoroughly engaging and visionary.
  14. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Musical numbers are great and the film is very stylish. My biggest problem with it, though, is that ALL the characters are terrible, unlikable human beings who use others and destroys their lives without any real comeuppance or learning a lesson by the end. Maybe if Roxy at the very least grew to be a less selfish individual by the end I may have cared, but in the end her sentencing outcome meant nothing to me whether she was found guilt or no. I just care what happened to anyone and I'm not sure if that was the intent. Expand
  15. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best musicals out there, if not the best. Captivating musical performances and outstanding acting from the three leads made this a very enjoyable film to watch and one of my personal favs. The toe-tapping songs are just great and it really does the Broadway production justice! It's also hard to pick a favourite song as they are all fantastic! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable film and one I would strongly recommend. It certainly deserved that Best Picture Oscar as well! Expand
  16. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    A perfect remastering of the Broadway musical. The movie has an excellent cast, characters, sets, songs, and writing. Being the essential rebirth of the "movie musical", Chicago is a delightful motion picture worth your time and money.
  17. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    "Chicago" is actually one of the memorable movies ever made. It has great acting, characters, dark humor and one of the best screenplays. I love the way the film is presented, it has its unique style, great musical score and different musical numbers. "Chicago" is a must see film. It is a masterpiece.
  18. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    As a fan of musicals, this is another of my favourite movies. I love the songs and sing them all the time, they are all really catchy. Renee and Catherine are perfect in their roles, couldn't imagine anyone else playing them. Richard Gere, Queen Latifah and John C Reilly (who now when I watch all I hear is Wreck-it-Ralph) are also amazing at their roles. The story is unique to any other I've seen, and is different in the fact it's a slightly darker theme to a musical about murder and death. However, it manages to uphold a light hearted spirit with lots of comedic moments. Overall, I just love it! Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Mar 3, 2014
    70
    The original musical holds up well, and Marshall and Condon’s adaption doesn’t wreck it.
  2. Freshly transplanted from the stage, is a thrilling ode to the intertwined glories of sex, showmanship, and lying: what the film calls ''the old razzle-dazzle.''
  3. I seem to be in a distinct minority in finding the satire toothless, obvious, and insufferably glib -- Still, I found genuine pleasure in watching Catherine Zeta-Jones, Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere, and John C. Reilly try their hands at singing and dancing.