Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young couple who is separated, must journey through the astonishing and dreamlike worlds of Cirque du Soleil to find each other, as audiences experience the immersive 3D technology that will allow them to leap, soar, swim, and dance with the performers. This Holiday Season, Cirque duA young couple who is separated, must journey through the astonishing and dreamlike worlds of Cirque du Soleil to find each other, as audiences experience the immersive 3D technology that will allow them to leap, soar, swim, and dance with the performers. This Holiday Season, Cirque du Soleil brings their world to your city! (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Dec 19, 2012
    80
    The world's most famous acrobatic troupe delivers a feast of surreal beauty and moments of breath-catching wonder in the skilfully staged 3D film Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Dec 19, 2012
    70
    A bona fide high-wire act, Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away delivers towering thrills through its candy-colored 3D ode to the titular outfit's astounding acrobatics.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    In a movie season - and a month - filled with so much gunfire, bloodshed and human despair, it's refreshing to sit back and bask in the sheer joy with which these brightly costumed, stunningly agile performers navigate fire, water and air.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 20, 2012
    60
    While the bodies of the performers do amazing things, the hectic editing and frequent use of slow motion distract from their physical artistry rather than enhance it. The 3-D, on the other hand, gives some sense of the scale of a Cirque du Soleil performance, and even if the film is no substitute for the real thing, it is at least an effective advertisement.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Dec 20, 2012
    50
    If one is interested in seeing a Cirque du Soleil show, there are many to choose from. "Worlds Away" functions solely as some sort of bargain sampler platter appetizer, never proving it has a real reason of its own to exist.
  6. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Dec 20, 2012
    40
    The real stunner of Worlds Away is how it could afford to use so many Beatles songs.
  7. Reviewed by: Stuart Heritage
    Feb 3, 2013
    20
    A tedious, misjudged marriage of Olympic opening ceremony, Eurovision half-time show and most recorded nightmares, Worlds Away is set in a mysterious land of make-believe.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    I personally thought It was an amazing movie. It was amazing from start to finish filled with dazzling acrobatics and great performances fromI personally thought It was an amazing movie. It was amazing from start to finish filled with dazzling acrobatics and great performances from all the actors and performers. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Worlds Away is a great way to see the best of the Cirque du Soleil acts. The story is simple and told without words, but it is a vehicle forWorlds Away is a great way to see the best of the Cirque du Soleil acts. The story is simple and told without words, but it is a vehicle for the characters come across many of the most spectacular Cirque performances. The creativity and genius of Cirque comes through strongly. I will likely never get to take my family to a Cirque show in Vegas, so this was a great way to experience it up close. Both the adults and the teenagers in our family loved it. Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2014
    7
    It is simply amazing how they can express complex feelings with just movement and music. How fascinating, that film can merge all the artIt is simply amazing how they can express complex feelings with just movement and music. How fascinating, that film can merge all the art forms into something extraordinary. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    As stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is aAs stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is a good substitute. I took a group of kids (5-11 yo) who had never seen Cirque before and they enjoyed it. As an aside, I doubt this film is aimed primarily at an American audience, as it seems the expectation of the producers is a much greater appreciation for the artistic creativity in Cirque than can be expected from the average American. Regardless, I don't regret the time or money spent on it, despite it bordering on boring at times. Collapse
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    4
    An abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back toAn abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back to what they are good at, hockey and hydro power. I saw Cirque du Soleil once in Vegas. Afterwards all I could think was that I could have used the money on the tickets for something useful like a strip bar or something. Reviewers use the word "surreal" like its a good thing. I guess I'm an illiterate dolt, when confronted with the surreal all I think is "annoying." This movie is a visual hyperbole, if you are into that kind of stuff, then this is a good use of your time. I'd rather read a newspaper in a language I don't understand. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    Why didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to payWhy didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to pay MORE money to see it on film. Geez....maybe if they had some cool camera angles or something for example when they filmed under water...ok..that was neat hence the 2 rating but I just wasted $24 on this junk and realized 10 minutes into it I was watching a 90 minute commercial for Cirque in Vegas. You can usually catch the same thing for free in your hotel room albeit it lasts 5 minutes. Good lordy...$24 for a 3D film...man I got swindled and to make things worse now I can't afford anything to eat...and it's CHRISTMAS!!! THANKS MR CAMERON for ruining my Christmas. Maybe I can go sift through the trash and see if there are any half eaten boxes of popcorn. You want to see Cirque in 3D? Go to Vegas and watch them. This film doesn't do them justice. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers