Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: July 21, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 160 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
20
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
This one made me laugh harder than it's predecessor, but less often. I feel like the artistic vision of the first movie was lost for more of gross-out comedy. Like I said, it did make me laugh, and it was worth the watch, but it's what youThis one made me laugh harder than it's predecessor, but less often. I feel like the artistic vision of the first movie was lost for more of gross-out comedy. Like I said, it did make me laugh, and it was worth the watch, but it's what you should expect from a sequel of a classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
JakeJ.Apr 27, 2007
Boring. Trite. Jokes were forced. Clerks is a classic. Clerks 2 is a waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AllistairP.Mar 6, 2007
This is closer to being Waiting 2 than it is Clerks 2. People who've liked the 90s Smith movies will find very little to like here, and if you're the type that gets easily annoyed at seeing beloved characters/franchises ruin you This is closer to being Waiting 2 than it is Clerks 2. People who've liked the 90s Smith movies will find very little to like here, and if you're the type that gets easily annoyed at seeing beloved characters/franchises ruin you better stay away. Smith just totally lost touch of all that he had going for him with this movie and I'll be surprised if the man ever gets it back. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AtomH.Aug 2, 2006
Kevin Smith has used up whatever borrowed fuel he had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Louis-JeanBOgErAug 7, 2006
Not too bad... for the 21st century's GEEKS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasperD.Aug 1, 2006
guys, it's sequEl not sequAl e.g. this movie is a SEQUEL sequal is not even in the dictionary. this is a good movie, at times very good thanks to j and sb. ksmith's dialogue is a double edged sword. he's very articulate, but guys, it's sequEl not sequAl e.g. this movie is a SEQUEL sequal is not even in the dictionary. this is a good movie, at times very good thanks to j and sb. ksmith's dialogue is a double edged sword. he's very articulate, but as someone mentioned, the script comes off as improbably stilted sometimes. no one seems to ever search their thoughts so much as it appears they've planned their speeches years in advance and have been waiting for any chance to deliver them. i consider the effect mini-shakespearean. it's as if ksmith has the eye for great conversation, just not the ear for it. btw, i too love his movies and generally love his writing. it just sometimes doesn't work out, and that's what kept this movie from being especially good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattD.Aug 9, 2006
This movie is good for everyone, and it even has a heart to it. Kevin Smith is back, with witty dialogue and a central storyline that makes you feel endeared (enough) to the characters. Jay and Silent Bob are their usual off-the-wall selves, This movie is good for everyone, and it even has a heart to it. Kevin Smith is back, with witty dialogue and a central storyline that makes you feel endeared (enough) to the characters. Jay and Silent Bob are their usual off-the-wall selves, and Jason Lee gives a phenomenal performance as Lance "Picklebutt" Dowds. Even funnier, wait till you see the end that will just have you cracking up till the break of dawn. For uptight people, it may not be their movie. For the rest of us, it is a must-see movie cuz this movie is fucking hillarious, it has a heart to it, and it is not bland. It is good, so go SEE it! 'Nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
shawno.Dec 2, 2006
How this got high scores is beyound me. Its not bad, but the whole movie seems forced to be something its not. Its not Clerks 1, but tries, and its not a campy love story, but it tries. Evan the star wars vs lord of the rings debate feels How this got high scores is beyound me. Its not bad, but the whole movie seems forced to be something its not. Its not Clerks 1, but tries, and its not a campy love story, but it tries. Evan the star wars vs lord of the rings debate feels forced and untimely. But I did laugh and enjoted parts of the moive, did have dull moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlaineB.Jul 22, 2006
My new favorite movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichU.Jul 20, 2006
Not as good as Clerks, however much better than his other movies! Very funny Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanD.Jul 22, 2006
Saw the movie and thought to myself how great an example it is of what to do in a sequel. The film hits a balance of originality and callbacks: the formula of the plot is generally unchanged from the first one, which is a positive Saw the movie and thought to myself how great an example it is of what to do in a sequel. The film hits a balance of originality and callbacks: the formula of the plot is generally unchanged from the first one, which is a positive considering the themes of the movie revolve around patterns of life and routine and whatever; and the originality is in the set dressing, as shallow as that sounds. A different environments do bring out more in Dante and Randal (surprisingly). Travis Ferhman is great as uber-home-schooled-kid and Dawson seems to actually "get" Kevin Smith dialogue. Aaaand...the dialogue. A few spiky moments of cliches but the gold is still edgy as hell. It's still a movie you wouldn't want to watch with your parents. Few points off though for some bits that are just...way out there though brief. I mean, you wouldn't believe Smith'd direct a couple scenes...but oh well. I know you can't expect a shot by shot reenactment of Clerks, but these scenes are just odd in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JillM.Jul 24, 2006
Painful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregJ.Jul 25, 2006
There is no possible way that this movie deserves any rating but a ten. Clerks 2 is easily my favorite kevin smith movie. It brought what clerks 1 lacked. The ABC scene was unforgetable as well as Jays impression of buffalo bill. I also There is no possible way that this movie deserves any rating but a ten. Clerks 2 is easily my favorite kevin smith movie. It brought what clerks 1 lacked. The ABC scene was unforgetable as well as Jays impression of buffalo bill. I also never thought i would laugh at "inter species erotica." Great film. Dont see this movie if you canot appreciate dirty humor. Because smith brings alot of it in clerks 2. Elias is hilarious and i hope smith puts him in some of the new movies. This is a must see. I strongly recomend. Go see it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LarryH.Jul 26, 2006
The weakest of all of Kevin Smith's films. Yes, it was funny - in parts. This movie was about as sentimental as the American Pie movies. This movie does for friendship, what Jersey Girl does for parenting. Unfortunately, Smith is even The weakest of all of Kevin Smith's films. Yes, it was funny - in parts. This movie was about as sentimental as the American Pie movies. This movie does for friendship, what Jersey Girl does for parenting. Unfortunately, Smith is even more sappy in Clerks II than he was in Jersey Girl. He should have stopped with Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back. By the way, I am a fan of all of his movies, and love them all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReelWorldJul 26, 2006
Underneath the foul language lies a movie that has a solid heart. KS has managed to infuse the same sentimental flair used in Jersey Girl (which despite the bombastic critics hailing the Bennifer angle and crucifying the film in reviews) was Underneath the foul language lies a movie that has a solid heart. KS has managed to infuse the same sentimental flair used in Jersey Girl (which despite the bombastic critics hailing the Bennifer angle and crucifying the film in reviews) was actually not bad. Clerks 2 plays out in a similar vein to JG, but with a lot more crass dialogue. [***SPOILERS***] To some, this may come across as totally offensive- but in my opinion, Clerks 2 is probably the best film I have seen so far this summer. I found myself almost hurting from laughing so much. From the what has become a standard Star Wars references to the antics of Jay and Silent Bob, to even the "interspecies erotica" scene that forced Joel Siegel to walk out of the film, the movie is chock a block with laughs. What makes this film a winner though is that despite the crude humor, there is a real heart to the film and one that people can relate to. Anybody who has nurtured a friendship over a long time and was faced with the prospect of that friendship ending due to various circumstances (ie: in the film, Dante is leaving for Florida) will relate to the movie. Great cameos by all the regulars of Smith's films (I was stunned to see Affleck appear in a tiny role) and some truly inventive new characters (Elias is utterly priceless! Pillowpants!!) Anyone who enjoyed Smith's earlier works will no doubt love this movie. For anyone who is offended by foul language, drug use, bestiality or the like - I'd suggest going to see something else. Definately not a film for everyone, but if you fall into the category of Kevin Smith fan - this is a must-see! DEFINATELY NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 18....The R-rating is WELL deserved!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GuyJul 28, 2006
The dialog was painful at times... not for its content, but for the way it was delivered. Just bad acting, actually. It seems so rehersed, and there are no pauses between lines. It comes off as being extrememly bad acting. You just The dialog was painful at times... not for its content, but for the way it was delivered. Just bad acting, actually. It seems so rehersed, and there are no pauses between lines. It comes off as being extrememly bad acting. You just can't picture these people saying these things in an actual conversation (so quickly) without pauses to think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BjornJul 30, 2006
Incridible funny and mature. Everything that Jersey gril wanted to be. Very dirty and very funny. Worth the money to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelB.Aug 6, 2006
Loved it so much I saw it twice in the first weekend. While it really can't compare to the pure excellence that is the first Clerks, it is a great sequel and shouldn't disappoint all but a small margin of Kevin Smith fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanaH.Jan 2, 2007
I thought the movie was brilliant in its own right. I mean, honestly, it's basically life. Who hasn't worked in a fast food place and just wants a little excitement. I loved the film because it made you laugh, possibly cry, and I thought the movie was brilliant in its own right. I mean, honestly, it's basically life. Who hasn't worked in a fast food place and just wants a little excitement. I loved the film because it made you laugh, possibly cry, and want to spit out your popcorn when Randall when off on his rant about "ass to mouth" and his tid-bit on "Porch Monkies". To all the haters, if you thought that was bad, go watch Gili, then complain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SquiddaOneFeb 2, 2007
"Clerks II" is hilarious. Jay & Silent Bob were too hysterical, and the "Porch Monky" scene, had me in tears. This is one of those movies that you watch when your in a bad mood, because it's a feel good movie. Definitly the third "Clerks II" is hilarious. Jay & Silent Bob were too hysterical, and the "Porch Monky" scene, had me in tears. This is one of those movies that you watch when your in a bad mood, because it's a feel good movie. Definitly the third funniest movie of 2006, right up there with "Jackass 2" & "Borat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeL.Jul 21, 2006
Never saw the previous Clerks, but this on sure worked for me. A zany mix of characters you care about, wonderfully "dirty" & "smutty" comedy...and then social commentary and heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
K.W.Jul 21, 2006
Worse than JERSEY GIRL. Avoid!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 20, 2006
Comedic genius. If you're into raunchy, yet smart comedy, this is the flick for you. If you're easily offended, you might want to skip this one. Though, it may be worth it to go see it anyway, just because of the conversations Comedic genius. If you're into raunchy, yet smart comedy, this is the flick for you. If you're easily offended, you might want to skip this one. Though, it may be worth it to go see it anyway, just because of the conversations it'll start amongst your friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RustyS.Jul 22, 2006
Lived up to the task of being a sequel to Clerks in every way. Greatest film i've seen in years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanK.Jul 22, 2006
Warning: This movie is very vulgar. But with that said, if you can handle that, this is a very funny movie. And also the foul language is what makes the jokes work as oppesed to just being there for no reason. Just as funny as the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacG.Jul 22, 2006
Clerks II was one of the awesomest movies ever and it appealed to me on may different levels. 1) The soundtrack rocked. All of the music fit with the scenes (the "ABC" scene rocked!) and it was great to hear music I remember in a movie. 2)It Clerks II was one of the awesomest movies ever and it appealed to me on may different levels. 1) The soundtrack rocked. All of the music fit with the scenes (the "ABC" scene rocked!) and it was great to hear music I remember in a movie. 2)It was hilarious....There are too many times to count when I laughed out loud in the theater (and those around me did too) and I dont usually burst out in movies. 3)I could relate to the story personally, and Kevin Smith really brought that kind of situation into light the way it happens in real life. Kudos! 4)The acting was spectacular! Brian OHalloran (Dante) and Jeff Anderson (Randall) did an awesome job as well as Rosario Dawson (Becky)!! What an all around good movie (for those of age)! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcD.Jul 23, 2006
I laughed my ass off during this movie. In much the same way that I did during the first one. Let me make one thing clear. If you're a fan and you don't stay until the VERY END OF THE CREDITS, you're an idiot. The 6 people in I laughed my ass off during this movie. In much the same way that I did during the first one. Let me make one thing clear. If you're a fan and you don't stay until the VERY END OF THE CREDITS, you're an idiot. The 6 people in my theater of about 600 who stayed until the end had a great time with a pretty amazing conclusion. I can't wait until I get it on DVD so I can slow it down and truly take it all in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BizzleFitzJul 23, 2006
Clerks II (and Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back for that matter) is the proof in the pudding that money ruins talent. Kevin Smith forgot what funny was a long time ago. Any 13-year old kid could have written this movie. Don't get me Clerks II (and Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back for that matter) is the proof in the pudding that money ruins talent. Kevin Smith forgot what funny was a long time ago. Any 13-year old kid could have written this movie. Don't get me wrong, I love the original Clerks and Randal is single-handedly one of the best cinematic characters ever created, so kudos Kevin Smith for getting something right. But Smith has lost his edge. Dirty is no longer enough for us. After hearing F*CK 1000 in Jay and Silent Bob I want to hear a joke. A real joke. WIth timing and tension. Is that too much to ask? Clerks II fails on several levels; 1) Randal and Dante hate the customers, that's why we relate to them in the original. Where is the hate of consumers in CII? Where is the social commentary on how terrible we, as people who buy things daily, have become? 2) Smith expects us to find Randal as a pathetic, co-dependant thirty-something as endearing because he values friendship (insert sacharine here). I'm not buying it. That's not Randal. 3) Dante and Randal are not supposed to be friends with Jay and Silent Bob. Jay and Silent Bob are the antagonists for a reason. 4) Sappy ending. Clerks was about LIFE as a person coping with being normal. Clerks II is about a middle aged slacker revisiting his 15 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jul 24, 2006
Like most other hollywood comedies of recent years Clerks 2 losses momentum as if the beginning of the script was carefully crafted and then just thrown together at the end in order for completion. It lasts much longer than Wedding Like most other hollywood comedies of recent years Clerks 2 losses momentum as if the beginning of the script was carefully crafted and then just thrown together at the end in order for completion. It lasts much longer than Wedding Crashes(20 minutes), around the same length as Office Space(good first two thirds then a questionable last third). Like Office Space the joke scarse, beastiality ridden final third are made up for by a hilarious first two thirds making Clerks 2 definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeJul 24, 2006
Probably the funniest movie I have ever seen, I was nearly crying in the theater because I was laughing so hard. Just hilarious, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.Jul 25, 2006
Never mind that Kevin Smith's original, one-day-in-the-life-of-two-disgruntled-convenience-store-drones farce Clerks was about as grimy-looking a low budget film as anyone's ever made, or that it's painfully obvious that he Never mind that Kevin Smith's original, one-day-in-the-life-of-two-disgruntled-convenience-store-drones farce Clerks was about as grimy-looking a low budget film as anyone's ever made, or that it's painfully obvious that he cast the same few actors or crew members to play ALL the bit parts, or even that the continuity person was taking a few too many smoke breaks (that 4-year-old girl in the movie bought the cigarettes a LOT earlier than 4 pm). What truly matters is that Smith's freshman film, a true diamond in the rough, was one of the three or four most convulsively, apoplectically hilarious comedies of the last 20 years, making the terms and expressions "milkmaid", "Chewlies" and "Happy Scrappy Hero Pup" instant comic buzzwords and "37" the funniest numeral in the Arabic counting system. 12 years later, Smith's sequel proves everything that Thomas Wolfe said about going home again to be absolutely accurate; the fact that Smith has a million times more facility with the camera and a kajillion times bigger budget does nothing to remove the disspiriting, slightly depressing aftertaste that this trip to Mooby's (the fictional fast-food joint that played a big role in Smith's Dogma) with Dante and Randal leaves behind. Even more frustrating are the 20 or so minutes of genuine entertainment value (out of 98) that Smith really DOES provide: every time Clerks II goes on without a laugh, a purpose or a point for what seems like forever, he blindsides you with a great bit like the Star Wars/ Lord of the Rings debate (guess who wins?) or Randal's outrageous, digging-himself-in-deeper attempt to defend a notorious racial epithet that at least for a few minutes brings back delightful memories of the good old black-and-white days at the Quik Stop. (And, it must be admitted, Smith's right about the big bachelor party climax featuring a guest entertainer who's really committed to, shall we say, making our relationship with our four-legged friends a bit more, uh, personal: you really CAN'T take your eyes off the screen, no matter how much you want to!) Rosario Dawson, as the Mooby's manager and Dante's friend-and-possibly-more, is so appealing and likable that it's no wonder she's placed front and center in the movie ad; unfortunately, Brian O'Halloran and a rather jowly Jeff Anderson as Dante and Randal just aren't the comic geniuses they once were--their rather desperate attempts to push the jokes brought back too many regrettable memories of Laurel and Hardy in their declining days. The worst aspect of Clerks II (even beyond the surprising lack of interaction with customers, the lame cameos by a couple of Smith alumni who made it big, or the Obligatory Music Videos of two, count 'em, two Number One hits--from 1970!!) is Smith's all-too-eager attempt to betray the subtle but solid point he made in the original: that whatever misfortunes that the perpetually put-upon sad sack dante suffered were his own fault for not taking charge of his own life and destiny. (His perpetual bleat, "I'm not even supposed to BE here!!" was the perfect illustration of this.) Smith inverts his original message with a patently desperate, phonily sentimental wrap-up that tries to sell us on the idea that the clerk biz was Dante's rightful place in life all along. If that's the case, that's truly sad, but not as much so as the quandary of a so-called independent filmmaker who, after trying to mature a bit and unsuccessfully take his audience on the jouney with him (with the delightful, vastly underrated Jersey Girl), scurries back to giving them What He Thinks They Want (including a completely fraudulent message) faster than Jerry Bruckheimer inked the papers to make Pirates of the Caribbean 2 and 3 after the original's first opening week. Come to think of it, it's not just sad...it's pathetic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RandyH.Jul 25, 2006
Clerks was extremely important to my youth and ranks as one of my favorite movies. When I saw the initial trailer for Clerks 2, I felt physically ill and feared the worst. Luckily, Clerks 2 was way more enjoyable than I could have hoped for. Clerks was extremely important to my youth and ranks as one of my favorite movies. When I saw the initial trailer for Clerks 2, I felt physically ill and feared the worst. Luckily, Clerks 2 was way more enjoyable than I could have hoped for. Kevin Smith is back doing what he does best, namely clever dialogue, raunchy humor and intelligent characterization. While the film feels rushed and is really thin on plot, the surprising amount of heart Smith infuses into the film more than makes up for its flaws. Something else it has going for it is Rosario Dawson, who is as adorable and charming as ever. Fans of the original should not be disappointed, so long as they don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonG.Jul 26, 2006
Not as good as the original but a very worthy sequal. Although the end gets sappy the way the series is wrapped up works well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeAug 3, 2006
Since both movies really have nothing to do with each other, there is no need to compare. This was a great movie with a more heartfelt touch then the first Clerks. Randall is the best...he inspired me on how to deal with ahole customers...well done!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephN.Aug 4, 2006
Unbelievably good. I was very suprised to see that ksmith could create such a perfect sequel to the original. its amazing after 10 years since Clerks hit the theatres that these characters still relate to the everyday man. God I love Jay and Unbelievably good. I was very suprised to see that ksmith could create such a perfect sequel to the original. its amazing after 10 years since Clerks hit the theatres that these characters still relate to the everyday man. God I love Jay and Silent Bob! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadShiiraSep 18, 2006
In black and white, "Clerks" wasn't hampered by the limited acting range of its two leads because the film worked as slacker neorealism. In color, and especially in the presence of a polished actor like Rosario Dawson, "Clerks II" In black and white, "Clerks" wasn't hampered by the limited acting range of its two leads because the film worked as slacker neorealism. In color, and especially in the presence of a polished actor like Rosario Dawson, "Clerks II" resembles a beginning actors' lab with the cameras rolling. Professor Dawson makes everybody look good. What makes this sequel worth a look is to see how a filmmaker negotiates his indie roots with a studio-mandated mainstream sensibility. The raunch is still there, but so is a conventional love story. There's even a montage straight out of "Grey's Anatomy". "Clerks II" is like watching "Jersey Girl" duking it out with the original "Clerks". The end result: an interesting compromise from a filmmaker who's responsible for a subversive cat name in the original "Stuart Little" trailer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.May 1, 2007
Better than the orginal,no doubt about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeV.Dec 28, 2008
This movie would have been mildly funny if it weren't for the absolutely awful acting on the part of Dante and Randal. Perhaps the only reason I didn't notice how bad they both are in the first Clerks is because it was black and This movie would have been mildly funny if it weren't for the absolutely awful acting on the part of Dante and Randal. Perhaps the only reason I didn't notice how bad they both are in the first Clerks is because it was black and white and therefore more difficult to discern their expressions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnOct 12, 2006
Grossly funny & completely out of the usual bullcrap- comedy-style of Hollywood. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DiabloP.Dec 2, 2006
I remember watching "Clerks" and thinking what a smart and entertaining movie. "Clerks 2" doesn't have that feel ,but it is a entertaining movie for all. Resolution isn't a bad thing and that is what you get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WhitG.Dec 5, 2006
Kevin Smith has a way with words and the ability to create absurd yet believable situations, but even those strengths can't redeem the flatness and falsity of these characters or the fake reality that Smith has forced them to inhabit. Kevin Smith has a way with words and the ability to create absurd yet believable situations, but even those strengths can't redeem the flatness and falsity of these characters or the fake reality that Smith has forced them to inhabit. And I must've missed the "heart" that supposedly exists at the core of Clerks 2. Maybe because it was one of those tiny pink candy hearts that tastes like chalk and refined sugar, the kind that made you sick on Valentines Day when you were 8 years old. And you have to be about 8 to buy in to any of this typical Hollywood-style pseudo-romance, which is disappointing because there's a lot of critique of conventional romantic love coming out of the characters mouths but they contradict their words with their actions, and the ending is nothing less than American Dreamy. All that being said, If you can satisfy yourself with a few humorous rants on contemporary culture and a couple of good gags that elicit mild chuckles then the movie isn't a total loss, but don't expect any substance. In fact, if you load up on a substance (preferably herbal or alcoholic) then your chances of enjoying Clerks 2 would be greatly improved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonM.Jul 19, 2006
I caught an advanced screening of this yesterday. Was this as funny as the first film? No, and I don't think anyone in their right mind would expect that. But was it funny? YES! Randal easily steals the show with his bits. Jay and I caught an advanced screening of this yesterday. Was this as funny as the first film? No, and I don't think anyone in their right mind would expect that. But was it funny? YES! Randal easily steals the show with his bits. Jay and Silent Bob are funny as always, especially with the "Silenece of Lamb" bits. Dante's relationship woes once again takes the plot-forefront here, and to the movies discredit. It really puts the brakes on an otherwise funny movie. This is not high art, but it is a funny movie. You don't get many of those out of Hollywood these days. Just sit back and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Jul 21, 2006
Hilarious movie. Great if you saw the first one and loved the characters. One of the funniest movies i have seen in such a long time. ... a bit too emotional at times... but it had to be done i guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeR.Jul 21, 2006
Funny as hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrandonJul 22, 2006
If your reason for liking kevin Smith movies is Randall, and you think the dirtier a conversation is, the better it is, then this movie is for you. If you like Kevin Smith for smart dialogue with simultaneously lowbrow/highbrow jokes, and If your reason for liking kevin Smith movies is Randall, and you think the dirtier a conversation is, the better it is, then this movie is for you. If you like Kevin Smith for smart dialogue with simultaneously lowbrow/highbrow jokes, and you like Kevin Smith movies for Jay, Silent Bob, Dante, or any of the other charachters who are not Randall, then this movie is NOT FOR YOU. They're all in there, and totally hilarious as always, but it is primarily a "how dirty can randall talk?!?!?" film, and you will hear him talk very dirty for a very long time. Jeff Anderson, as opposed to Jason Mewes, just isn't an inherently funny enough guy to carry a film like that. Most of his inherent humor was used up in Clerks 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigL.Jul 22, 2006
A good comedy. It's funny, and that's what matters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherH.Jul 23, 2006
Great movie, best comedy of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Jul 23, 2006
Nothing much has changed in the lives of the original Clerks cast and 10 years later they've come to realize that they've really got just about all they need anyway, they're just older, but thankfully funnier!! The only thing Nothing much has changed in the lives of the original Clerks cast and 10 years later they've come to realize that they've really got just about all they need anyway, they're just older, but thankfully funnier!! The only thing different this time is it's in color and it's playing at the megaplex instead of the little art house, and oh yeah, this one has Jay's HILARIOUS take on The Silence of the Lambs which is two minutes of comedy heaven!!!! Kevin Smith hasn't made a sequel to a classic, he's just made a classic update. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Jul 23, 2006
Very funny movie, though at the same time, a bit sad. I remember when Kevin Smith claimed he was done with this universe and these characters. It's too bad "Jersey Girl" was so poorly received. Still, I do think that this is the sort of Very funny movie, though at the same time, a bit sad. I remember when Kevin Smith claimed he was done with this universe and these characters. It's too bad "Jersey Girl" was so poorly received. Still, I do think that this is the sort of thing that Kevin Smith does incredibly well. The Transformers-GoBots stuff was quite funny. Think Smith is too much a geek for his own good, and at some point his ability to rehash the 80's/early 90's is going to wear thin. Not yet, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KM.Jul 23, 2006
Clerks II has lived up to its hype in my opinion. Seeing Dante and Randal all grown-up and still working in dead-end jobs puts a little bit of perspective on life. If you love Jesus or Frodo, this movie is not for you. There are tons of Clerks II has lived up to its hype in my opinion. Seeing Dante and Randal all grown-up and still working in dead-end jobs puts a little bit of perspective on life. If you love Jesus or Frodo, this movie is not for you. There are tons of vulgarities and obscenities, immature humor, and yes, there is a great scene bashing The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Smith used Randal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannK.Jul 23, 2006
A truly enjoyable and laugh-out-loud comedy. Certainly, it pushes the bounds of the R-Rating, but that's what you'd expect from any Kevin Smith work featuring Jey & Silent Bob within the film. I left with a good feeling that the A truly enjoyable and laugh-out-loud comedy. Certainly, it pushes the bounds of the R-Rating, but that's what you'd expect from any Kevin Smith work featuring Jey & Silent Bob within the film. I left with a good feeling that the Clerks franchise has been concluded well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianM.Jul 24, 2006
Lovable characters, both returning and new, along with a deceptively clever plot make Clerks 2 a hilarious good time with a strong emotional resonance with the targeted audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkP.Jul 25, 2006
Some of what I'd read in the critics reviews was true: too much Randall shaking his head and being a scold, some unnecessary scenes (the driving around), a few other things. And yet, when I walked out of the theater, it all felt exactly Some of what I'd read in the critics reviews was true: too much Randall shaking his head and being a scold, some unnecessary scenes (the driving around), a few other things. And yet, when I walked out of the theater, it all felt exactly right. Snappy, thoughtful dialogue, excellent new characters (Elias = hilarious, Dawson = luminous), and just the right touch of nostalgia and emotion. The Star Wars-LOTR scene was geek-heaven. Though unlike the first movie in many ways, this film is its perfect partner. And if you have to be warned about the foul language, disturbing content, and various and sundry other dangers of a Kevin Smith film with Jay & Silent Bob, well, you probably shouldn't go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LynnC.Jul 26, 2006
I went to see this movie today. I was disgusted at the language in it and asked for a refund which I received. I read a few reviews but didn't realise the content was so crude.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaseJul 29, 2006
Kevin Smith is clearly back in his element, easily the funniest movie of the summer. Often gutbusting funny, of all the sequals playing this summer these characters are the most refreshing to see again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavisR.Aug 29, 2006
In 2002 it was clear, Kevin Smith should have stopped making movies in 1994. Four years and there was no sign of him or his tent-of-a-jersey and the film world was at peace. Until he shows up at Cannes with this piece of .... that ruined In 2002 it was clear, Kevin Smith should have stopped making movies in 1994. Four years and there was no sign of him or his tent-of-a-jersey and the film world was at peace. Until he shows up at Cannes with this piece of .... that ruined what made the original so great to everyone. Now that Smith has been booed out of France, dropped from Miramax, and closed the coffin on his Askewniverse, he can finally stop torturing us with his movies and get rich off of selling Jay & SIlent Bob merchandise to kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedD.Aug 31, 2006
I think people should actually read the other post rather than just making stupid rants about it. just my opinion. those of you who give this movie a 0 either have no taste, or were so trivially offended by this movie that it blinded you I think people should actually read the other post rather than just making stupid rants about it. just my opinion. those of you who give this movie a 0 either have no taste, or were so trivially offended by this movie that it blinded you from rating this movie objectively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HollyC.Jan 16, 2007
Wow, what was Kevin Smith's excuse for this pile of crap? At least the first one had a sort of film-school debut-vibe going on. But Clerks II was just sad. Terrible acting, terrible story, terrible dialogue--everything sort of fell flat Wow, what was Kevin Smith's excuse for this pile of crap? At least the first one had a sort of film-school debut-vibe going on. But Clerks II was just sad. Terrible acting, terrible story, terrible dialogue--everything sort of fell flat for me. Which made all the raunchy stuff toward the end seem even more desperate. Silent Bob & Jay are literally the only cool things in this movie--and they have maybe (maybe!) five minutes total screen time. What a disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ArkonBladeFeb 23, 2011
a good movie that is funny but not as good as the first . the donkey show thing definitly should have been left out . randal though seems to be spot on and what id imagine him to be 10+ years later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jAbMaNFeb 24, 2011
I love this movie!! The first Clerks is great and this one is better than the original. Love all the jokes and love the new concept of working the recurring Mooby's. What handicap, the guy is in a wheelchair
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
I really feel that Kevin Smith is over rated as a director. I liked Chasing Amy, dogma and mall rats but the clerks movie just don't do it for me. Its just to much potty humor for my taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
I can't say I enjoy this film as much as the first. I love all the banter between the characters. It reminds me of working at a minimum wage job myself but Randall and Dante just can't get away with as much after they have aged so much soI can't say I enjoy this film as much as the first. I love all the banter between the characters. It reminds me of working at a minimum wage job myself but Randall and Dante just can't get away with as much after they have aged so much so that its a little less effective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeOct 14, 2016
Clerks II intends to go to the wrong way of comedy while attempting to do whatever it wants to please itself. While that, it's also a little obvious that this film barely had made any effort on the laughs whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
This one made me laugh harder than it's predecessor, but less often. I feel like the artistic vision of the first movie was lost for more of gross-out comedy. Like I said, it did make me laugh, and it was worth the watch, but it's what youThis one made me laugh harder than it's predecessor, but less often. I feel like the artistic vision of the first movie was lost for more of gross-out comedy. Like I said, it did make me laugh, and it was worth the watch, but it's what you should expect from a sequel of a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews