Miramax Films | Release Date: October 19, 1994
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 189 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
171
Mixed:
15
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TonydannieJul 24, 2006
Does Rita P. read the credits of the movies he/or she watches? Gigli was not directed by Kevin Smith. It was directed by the guy who did Scent Of a Woman and Beverly Hills Cop. Martin Brest. Just letting you know. If you are going to put Does Rita P. read the credits of the movies he/or she watches? Gigli was not directed by Kevin Smith. It was directed by the guy who did Scent Of a Woman and Beverly Hills Cop. Martin Brest. Just letting you know. If you are going to put someone down, don't use other people's garbage for the person you are criticizing. As for the movie itself. I thought for a first attemp the movie came out well done. This is the one that started the View Askew Universe and I loved every minute of it. A tad short but very well written and funny. Classic! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ArkonBladeFeb 23, 2011
a intresting idea for a movie with humor really only hitting you if you understand the topics they are talking about or poking fun of. the rediculas customer issues they deal with is actaully one i have encountered when working at a mom anda intresting idea for a movie with humor really only hitting you if you understand the topics they are talking about or poking fun of. the rediculas customer issues they deal with is actaully one i have encountered when working at a mom and pop game store . having people walked in and ask me where are the xbox 360 games when they where just staring right at them when there is a huge sighn above them saying xbox 360 games. people asking me "do you know this game where this guy jumps around in it and it came out some time a few years ago" . i mean i can relate some what to why theese guys hate the customers. randals line of " this job would be great if it wernt for the fu#@in customers " just hits home. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DravenatorLivesJul 21, 2011
I loved every bit of this movie. Kevin Smith's directorial debut has the charm of a well-made, well-written, well-shot, and well-composited independent masterpiece. While Kevin Smith certainly has some better films (like Clerks II and ChasingI loved every bit of this movie. Kevin Smith's directorial debut has the charm of a well-made, well-written, well-shot, and well-composited independent masterpiece. While Kevin Smith certainly has some better films (like Clerks II and Chasing Amy), the one that made him a star is always going to lay in my mind as the film that cheers me up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuSep 18, 2012
Clerks is overrated. It's mildly funny at times but has a very unnatural flow in it's script. People just don't talk the way they do in clerks. The movie feels like a group of comedy soliloquies thrown together by the town-hall drama club.Clerks is overrated. It's mildly funny at times but has a very unnatural flow in it's script. People just don't talk the way they do in clerks. The movie feels like a group of comedy soliloquies thrown together by the town-hall drama club. Disappointing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Convenience store worker, deals with odd customers, Video store friend helps out, plays hockey, splits up with girlfriend, gets back with old ex.
"Stoner" comedy which is basically a film of short sketches based around the store, some work,
Convenience store worker, deals with odd customers, Video store friend helps out, plays hockey, splits up with girlfriend, gets back with old ex.
"Stoner" comedy which is basically a film of short sketches based around the store, some work, some don't & then it all more or less comes together at the end. Not as funny as I'd heard it was.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
RitaP.Jan 26, 2006
Probably Kevin Smith's best film but that is like saying this is my favourite cancer. Boring, pretentious and too wordy without saying anything. Laughs are few and far between. Only a director this self indulgent could bring us films Probably Kevin Smith's best film but that is like saying this is my favourite cancer. Boring, pretentious and too wordy without saying anything. Laughs are few and far between. Only a director this self indulgent could bring us films like Dogma and Gigli. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
NikeO.Feb 18, 2006
Great origianl comedy you dont have to be smashed to watch!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ZackJul 17, 2006
it might just be me, but i found this movie very boring.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
D.L.B.Jan 19, 2007
With all the buzz I've heard on this flick, it proved hugely disappointing. I don't care how cheaply it was made.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
talisencrwApr 15, 2016
Over the years, I have really enjoyed Smith's comic book writing, but this is the only film so far I have seen him direct. My cinephilic friends tend to dismiss his recent works, but this was very enjoyable. I like the influence he has had onOver the years, I have really enjoyed Smith's comic book writing, but this is the only film so far I have seen him direct. My cinephilic friends tend to dismiss his recent works, but this was very enjoyable. I like the influence he has had on independent cinema. 1994 certainly proved to be an important year for it, with the smash successes that independent studios had with 'Clerks' and 'Pulp Fiction'. I hope he sticks to directing films that he himself writes. I have the feeling he wants to expand his horizons but isn't quite sure how to go about it without alienating his huge fanbase. I have great confidence in him, and feel that if he puts his heart into it, he can be a great filmmaker, instead of a good one. I think for him to do so, he could do himself a great service and read a few less comic books and watch a lot more movies, particularly by the Hollywood greats from the Golden Age, such as Sir Alfred Hitchcock, Howard Hawks, Raoul Walsh and John Ford. It would be quite exciting to see what he comes up with, once his creative juices are recharged. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarcoR.Jan 2, 2009
The cast of characters is big and great; the script starts very well; but then it is not so good till the end where it gets brilliant. All the F*** movie is hilarious, it's f**** great, I can't believe this f**** s**** I can't The cast of characters is big and great; the script starts very well; but then it is not so good till the end where it gets brilliant. All the F*** movie is hilarious, it's f**** great, I can't believe this f**** s**** I can't wait to see more movies of this f**** clerks universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonP.Jul 20, 2006
Often hilarious.....ahhh, Rita, if only Kevin Smith directed Gigli would your point be taken.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KingmushMay 11, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/clerks.html

Right off the bat I did have a few problems with this movie. For one, I'm not sure why they opted to film in black and white. Its not like the technology wasn't available at the time
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/clerks.html

Right off the bat I did have a few problems with this movie. For one, I'm not sure why they opted to film in black and white. Its not like the technology wasn't available at the time and it didn't add anything. If anything you'd think it would be harmful. Secondly, the acting was pretty sub par. I afterwards read that they were on a low budget so they just used their friends which would explain it partly, but lot of the scenes including some featuring the two main actors, were pretty terrible and I almost laughed at them in some cases. The last major flaw I had in this film was the predictability of some of the scenes, which you may not think is an issue and that's because most movies, especially modern ones today, seem to get it right and aren't that predictable. But this one... Without even watching it once I could almost guess exactly what would happen down to the minuscule scale. Not a good thing when they then try and bring up these huge "hilarious" twists at the end which I already guessed 30 minutes ago. You may be thinking now...well what did you like? Well... I did appreciate some of the filming style aspects. The fact that it wasn't that linear, lots of random events transpiring as well as random interjections that would pop in. Also like how it did represent spot on the problems of a convenience store clerk. It didn't glamorize them or make them out to be something they aren't. Very truthful in that aspect. And it is because of that which is why I can believe how this movie achieved "cult film" status.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
4toMillionsAug 30, 2011
Welcome to the View Askew Universe. This film is witty, entertaining, insightful and original. It's easy to see why Smith's flicks have spawned such a loyal cult following.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SlasherVoorheesAug 19, 2011
This is a Pretty Good movie i enjoyed this FIlm alot it is a very interesting movie i didnt think this was a master piece but its a Solid Film with Characters with alot of Personality
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
Looking for a laugh till you cry comedy? Not gonna find it here. Looking for an in-depth plot? Not gonna find that either. Clerks has plenty of funny moments, but it's more likely to give chuckles than huge guffaws. It is very artisticallyLooking for a laugh till you cry comedy? Not gonna find it here. Looking for an in-depth plot? Not gonna find that either. Clerks has plenty of funny moments, but it's more likely to give chuckles than huge guffaws. It is very artistically done however, and it is very relatable. Definitely a comedy classic, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DJ_KaasNov 28, 2015
I saw this movie yesterday, and I was a bit high though, but really I laughed a lot in this movie, it's worth the time of watchin, I guess it one of them movies you have to watch more than one, and still think it's fun
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMar 11, 2013
Clerks can sort of be looked as the proof of faith and hard work, proof of constant man hours to put together a dream that could just either kill you or bankrupt you, and Kevin Smith did exactly that, he put all his credit cards and lifeClerks can sort of be looked as the proof of faith and hard work, proof of constant man hours to put together a dream that could just either kill you or bankrupt you, and Kevin Smith did exactly that, he put all his credit cards and life savings on the line for this movie, and he created an astoundingly authentic and human comedy that deservedly started his career.
We follow Dante, (Brian O'Halloran) who has had to go and work in his local convenience store on his day off, and we basically follow his daily routine of working in retail, dealing with customers, but also dealing with his own personal grievances with his love life and his care-free best friend, Randall (Jeff Anderson).
Randall works in the video store next door, and couldn't be more bored with listening to the typical customer, something which he doesn't hide in front of them. Dante, on the other hand, spends most of the film debating whether to meet up with his ex-girlfriend, all the while being annoyed at the sexual conquests of his current girlfriend.
What makes this film so enjoyable and real is the dialogue and perhaps a little exaggerated situations that these two hapless workers find themselves in, selling tobacco to underage children, having fussy customers, having difficult customers, all in a days work.
Where the true comedy lies though is with Randal, whose interesting topic of the Star Wars saga is sheer comedy at its best, simply because its ordinary to think these things, there is no big-budget comedy writer to insert some mediocre quip for cheap laughs, but genuine, albeit ridiculous, scenarios where the best of us I'm sure have found ourselves in.
Kevin Smith, also starring as Silent Bob, a muted drug dealer along with his eccentric pal Jay (Jason Mewes), has created all these interesting and dynamic characters that have chemistry, real chemistry simply because there was little money involved, it was realistic and true. The dialogue is extremely witty and paints a picture of these guys who have to serve you, but they truly know they can do better with their lives. Shot entirely in black and white, the editing is rough and the shots aren't pitch perfect, but thats what makes the film pure genius, because it is close to the heart and full of enough laughter and drama to make every person who second thinks their life choices to step up and take what they want...masterful work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalDec 21, 2012
I absolutely love this movie! Everything about it seemed real from the characters to the dialogue to the basic story. My favorite parts are when Dante and Randal have to deal with their customers. While I haven't had to deal with crazy onesI absolutely love this movie! Everything about it seemed real from the characters to the dialogue to the basic story. My favorite parts are when Dante and Randal have to deal with their customers. While I haven't had to deal with crazy ones like those in the movie, at my job, I've had to put up with people who ask stupid questions or just give me a hard time. It's a movie that feels very real to me and I enjoyed every moment of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleOct 26, 2013
Really funny and really easy to watch. The movie is casual and relatable that it makes it even funnier as we watch two friends go through the motions of their work day. Good acting and impressive directing given the small small small budget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeriosityJul 11, 2013
Still my favorite Kevin Smith film. I loved the dialogue and the humor. Immensely quotable. This is deserving of its cult status and an independent masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
python2000Jan 26, 2014
I had heard that Clerks was very funny and appealed to movie nerds especially. But it still totally surprised me for being incredibly witty and hugely enjoyable. Every character is memorable and unique. Every line is quotable and pissI had heard that Clerks was very funny and appealed to movie nerds especially. But it still totally surprised me for being incredibly witty and hugely enjoyable. Every character is memorable and unique. Every line is quotable and piss yourself funny. Every scene is better than the one before it and impeccably written. The only flaw I have with Clerks is that in some places the humor becomes a bit too juvenile and dirty. Which is strange because most of the time it is one of the wittiest comedies I have ever seen. Dante and Randal's debate over the death of innocent Death Star construction workers in Return of the Jedi was hysterical. But the funniest part of the movie without a doubt was the one line of the correctly named Silent Bob when giving advice to Dante on girls and lasagne. It deserves it's cult status 100% and should have got even more recognition than it did. Which was a lot anyway! Absolutely hilarious and surprisingly sweet in some places. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ExKingJan 24, 2014
Clerks is a fantastic movie, and Kevin Smith's best work.
i mean the fact that he made an entire movie based on 2 to 3 characters are just impressive,
i had a few outrageous laughs now and then but I'm more impressed by the dialog exchange,
Clerks is a fantastic movie, and Kevin Smith's best work.
i mean the fact that he made an entire movie based on 2 to 3 characters are just impressive,
i had a few outrageous laughs now and then but I'm more impressed by the dialog exchange,
the screenplay was over the top, with characters that so down to earth that anyone can relate to,
i mean I've seen a lot of Kevin Smith work but this is the root of his success, the writing, the screenplay and the fact that the movie has a story and a view on the way that a person can see his life,
it's really impressive, this shows that talent will pop up and delivered even with cheap production, few characters and few events.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LWFYMSep 1, 2013
Clerks is a movie where dialogue and character's personalities push the story along and it works out very well. The movie is basically about two slackers who work at a 'Quick Stop Groceries' store. In the beginning, the main character, DanteClerks is a movie where dialogue and character's personalities push the story along and it works out very well. The movie is basically about two slackers who work at a 'Quick Stop Groceries' store. In the beginning, the main character, Dante puts up a sign in front of the store that says "I ASSURE YOU, WE ARE OPEN", although they are constantly not. the jokes in the film consists of irony and shock value within the dialogue. This film is rated R(the MPAA originally wanted it to be rated NC-17) just for language, and this film is HARD on language. Many people criticize this, but to me, that's just the way ordinary people act. Films in the View Askewniverse(Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Dogma, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, Clerks II) have a very vulgar and funny way with dialogue and that's not for everybody. That's the star in this film and it's executed very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Clerks is a movie about a day in the life of two convenience store clerks Dante Hicks(O'Halloran) working in the quick stop and his best friend Randal Graves(Anderson) working the the video store next door. One thing you can't deny is thatClerks is a movie about a day in the life of two convenience store clerks Dante Hicks(O'Halloran) working in the quick stop and his best friend Randal Graves(Anderson) working the the video store next door. One thing you can't deny is that Kevin Smith's films have great dialog and this being his first film everything is at the top of its game. Scene after scene of them giving eachother **** Randal being rude to the customer or even sometimes the customers being rude back and they even close the stores down either to play hockey or go to an old friends wake. Also Jay and Silent Bob just chilling outside the store the whole time selling drugs and messing around with Dante and Randal, blasting loud music, Jay talking crap to random people and hitting on women is awesome.

Overall I give it a 10 Its amazing that kevin smith made this film out of his own pocket at least it got the recognition it deserves now with it being a cult film and Kevin Smith becoming a pretty well known director.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticMar 25, 2014
A raunchy outlook on otherwise boring and contemporary lives, with a well-written script and cinematography that hits the marker just right for the setting and feel of the movie. Kevin Smith shows his talent hilariously with this debut. ItA raunchy outlook on otherwise boring and contemporary lives, with a well-written script and cinematography that hits the marker just right for the setting and feel of the movie. Kevin Smith shows his talent hilariously with this debut. It kept me watching until the end and made me laugh out loud consistently. FOr me, it almost matches up to 'The Big Lebowski'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysFeb 26, 2014
"Clerks." isn't a big budget movie with a big name director, but it seems that this flick has surpassed such blockbusters (Pearl Harbor, I'm looking at you.) Nothing is too taboo for this movie, whether it be the plethora of porno video"Clerks." isn't a big budget movie with a big name director, but it seems that this flick has surpassed such blockbusters (Pearl Harbor, I'm looking at you.) Nothing is too taboo for this movie, whether it be the plethora of porno video titles Randal reads out in the presence of a child, or the discussion between Dante and Veronica of how many men she's performed oral sex on. Either way, this movie made me laugh, cringe and gag, and you don't have to be stoned to watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NShep53May 11, 2015
While the acting is average at best, you can't deny Clerks has some worthwhile and laugh-out-loud moments. Maybe overrated by a bit, but still a worthwhile movie to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
russiangamerMar 17, 2017
Прекрасная чёрная комедия. Шутки ниже пояса получились очень смешными, сюжет не замысловат, и эта простота даёт легче проникнутся ситуациями и персонажами, в которых каждый найдёт хоть частичку себя. "Каждый пытался хоть раз отсосать у себя."Прекрасная чёрная комедия. Шутки ниже пояса получились очень смешными, сюжет не замысловат, и эта простота даёт легче проникнутся ситуациями и персонажами, в которых каждый найдёт хоть частичку себя. "Каждый пытался хоть раз отсосать у себя."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsFeb 13, 2016
Funny movie, at some points a bit stupid too, but overall I get why for some people it became cult movie. Still, might be a bit overrated as it is not hilariously funny or anything and it also has that low budget movie vibe at some bits.Funny movie, at some points a bit stupid too, but overall I get why for some people it became cult movie. Still, might be a bit overrated as it is not hilariously funny or anything and it also has that low budget movie vibe at some bits. Still, some great dialogues in it and worth a watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
Looking for a laugh till you cry comedy? Not gonna find it here. Looking for an in-depth plot? Not gonna find that either. Clerks has plenty of funny moments, but it's more likely to give chuckles than huge guffaws. It is very artisticallyLooking for a laugh till you cry comedy? Not gonna find it here. Looking for an in-depth plot? Not gonna find that either. Clerks has plenty of funny moments, but it's more likely to give chuckles than huge guffaws. It is very artistically done however, and it is very relatable. Definitely a comedy classic, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews