Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: December 3, 2004
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 487 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
399
Mixed:
34
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
Based on an award winning play Closer tells the story of four lovers across a four year period. The movies theatre origins are apparent throughout with its small cast and succession of two person scenes. While this is not necessarily a badBased on an award winning play Closer tells the story of four lovers across a four year period. The movies theatre origins are apparent throughout with its small cast and succession of two person scenes. While this is not necessarily a bad thing, most scenes are certainly well written and performed admirably by the cast, it can make their story seem very isolated from the outside world on occasions.

Despite these excellent performances however the biggest problem I had with Closer is that, with the possible exception of Alice (Portman), it is very difficult to feel any sympathy for any of the characters and their predicaments. Throughout the film their behavior makes them continually come across as totally unlikable to the point that by the films conclusion the ongoing drama between them becomes closer to irritating than interesting.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
JeffC.Aug 1, 2005
I am puzzled by the many summaries and reviews that use the word "funny" to describe this movie. It is a brutally honest and stark look at random behavior and consequences. Very good performances rescue the thin character development that I am puzzled by the many summaries and reviews that use the word "funny" to describe this movie. It is a brutally honest and stark look at random behavior and consequences. Very good performances rescue the thin character development that kept the movie from being rivetting as opposed to curious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TeeD.Dec 8, 2004
It was a tad bit too cynical for me, and I usually prefer 'realistic' movies to contrived happy endings. The characters all seemed to have strong feelings for each other, but you never saw anything positive between them to It was a tad bit too cynical for me, and I usually prefer 'realistic' movies to contrived happy endings. The characters all seemed to have strong feelings for each other, but you never saw anything positive between them to understand why. All the scenes seemed to be designed to have critics rave about how good the acting is, and there was little else to make me interested in what was going on between these caricature-like characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
annehJan 24, 2005
Badly developed theme but carried out by excellent actors who manage to keep you interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
dant.Mar 1, 2005
Natalya Portman was nominated and I though she was a phony who can't act. I have mixed feelings about the film. My wife asked me what the film was about. I said, "It is a film about bonking" She laughed. You don't see anyone get in Natalya Portman was nominated and I though she was a phony who can't act. I have mixed feelings about the film. My wife asked me what the film was about. I said, "It is a film about bonking" She laughed. You don't see anyone get in the sack which is a rarity these days. The script was so fast paced. Iwent for a cup of teaa and they had already hitched up and were in bed with each other and then they were splitting up and getting ack to gether. It left me breathless. It is not dull there is a fast pace to the movie. Still I wondered about the script it was too condesned. Can anyone tell me what Natalya Portamns chacter was? Was she Julie or the other person. I left the theatre confused. What happened? She told Jue her name was Julia but at the end of the film he is llooking at a name on the wall. I don't get it. I thought the actors were miscast. Portaman should be playing teenager parts. Julia Robers was too old for her part. I though she was a Mother rather than a vixen women. Judd was out of his depth. The only real actor was the doctor he played his chacter well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LizbethJan 8, 2005
An intriguing movie--very difficult to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.May 23, 2005
This show appears worth another look, and Julia Roberts continues to develop her depth aas an actress, so I'll catch it again sometime, but as an expose' about characters unable to transcend their rampant hormones I found it This show appears worth another look, and Julia Roberts continues to develop her depth aas an actress, so I'll catch it again sometime, but as an expose' about characters unable to transcend their rampant hormones I found it predominantly vulgar and uninspiring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Dec 19, 2004
"Closer" gets off to a very strong start; kinda like "Before Sunset" with engaging dialogue. Jude Law and Natalie Portman have more chemistry than any movie couple we've seen all year. But "Closer" is about adultery, and seems to be, "Closer" gets off to a very strong start; kinda like "Before Sunset" with engaging dialogue. Jude Law and Natalie Portman have more chemistry than any movie couple we've seen all year. But "Closer" is about adultery, and seems to be, wait, let me google: Nichols, Pinter, "Betrayal", "Closer"; yes, it's similar to Harold Pinter's "Betrayal". Too bad, because a great romantic-comedy could've been built around Law and Portman. It becomes an endurance test, as scene after scene gives us people behaving badly, talking dirty, and acting as if they're in a movie based on a play. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RickDec 6, 2004
Slooooooooooooow going. You feel guilty finding it boring until you finally realize that it IS boring. Everyone is quite attractive and seems to take it all very seriously though so it is relatively painless. Don't go short of sleep Slooooooooooooow going. You feel guilty finding it boring until you finally realize that it IS boring. Everyone is quite attractive and seems to take it all very seriously though so it is relatively painless. Don't go short of sleep though or you might not make it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
billym.Apr 23, 2005
This movie would be a prime time movie to pick up chicks with, but is really somewhat boring if there are no chicks around. Now, please be aware that you should be prepared to see some extremely hot shots of Natalie Portman as a stripper, This movie would be a prime time movie to pick up chicks with, but is really somewhat boring if there are no chicks around. Now, please be aware that you should be prepared to see some extremely hot shots of Natalie Portman as a stripper, and I would personally say that this would be worth the price of a rental. Clive Owen is awesome, and Portman is also quite entertaining, though Jude and Julia aren't the worst. Also there is a cool Simths song, How Soon Is Now? somewhere alonh the line as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
wesker2012Jul 4, 2016
Movie about broken people. Wasn't as good as I remembered in the past. Not very realistic...........................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleDec 21, 2016
There is something about Closer than is entirely off-putting. It is not the fact that it is a film about four people that are, well, unsavory characters. I can handle films about people I do not care for. The problem with Closer is it feelsThere is something about Closer than is entirely off-putting. It is not the fact that it is a film about four people that are, well, unsavory characters. I can handle films about people I do not care for. The problem with Closer is it feels like a 2000s drama that is soulless. I have seen this a few times before (The Reader by Stephen Daldry comes to mind immediately) and there was something about this film that made me feel as though it would not be my cup of tea. This was ultimately the case, even though I did keep an open mind while watching this film. The experience, however, is just far too hollow and director Mike Nichols' cynical look at love just feels surface deep. We all get that love is challenging and messy, but Closer is mostly unengaging and just seems to float by and offer obvious insight into the messy nature of love. That said, there are positives to Closer. As always, it is marvelously well-written for the most part and the acting is terrific. In particular, Natalie Portman steals the show, though Clive Owen turns in a good performance as well.

Showing the romantic lives of Anna (Julia Roberts), Daniel (Jude Law), Alice (Natalie Portman), and Larry (Clive Owen), the film shows the four characters swapping dates pretty consistently. Alice and Daniel sleep together. Daniel and Anna sleep together. Anna and Larry sleep together. Larry and Alice sleep together. Everybody is sleeping with each other in this film. Complementing these scenes are the people finding out their significant other slept with somebody else. Everybody cheats here and the film does have a lot to say about infidelity. For Nichols, infidelity is clearly a common act, but one that needs to be admitted to immediately. Though common, it is still disgusting, but only if you do not admit to it immediately. Case in point, Larry cheats on Anna with a hooker but tells her immediately. Meanwhile, Anna is heavily criticized for sleeping with Daniel for over a year, but never telling Larry until he brought up his infidelity. Moral of the story: cheat on your significant other, but be upfront about it and things will be alright. This is a constant thread as the people consistently want confirmation that their significant others slept with somebody else and then only get mad when they do not admit to it immediately. Other than this, Closer offers insight into how sex can be used as a weapon to hurt others, people's insatiable desire to cheat on their significant other, and how love hurts and can never be enough to keep somebody. Insightful stuff.

Closer is also plagued by its timeline. Jumping forward by years upon years at the drop of a hat, Closer lost me more than once in its timeline. All of a sudden, Daniel and Alice had just met and then, immediately afterward, it was a year later. This is where a large portion of the soullessness I mentioned previously derives from. This desire to speed things along comes at the expense of developing a connection between us and the characters. Yes, there is a lot revealed in the scenes shown, but the process of them falling in and out of love would be a lot more emotional and rewarding if we got to see more than just a highlight reel of their relationship.

This said, Closer has great dialogue. I may mock its relationship insights, but it is hard to deny that its relationships are well created in the moments we are given with them. Here, they can be powerful at times, in particular when Alice and Daniel embrace after he admits to cheating on her with Anna. This scene is very emotional and highlights the tremendous performance by Portman. Throughout, she steals the show and really puts in an emotionally raw performance. No matter the scene, she is the highlight of this film. Similarly, Owen - as a scorned lover and pervert - is brilliant. He has a natural charisma and it really shows here as he able to play such a chilly character with a cool, laid back demeanor throughout. However, he is equally adept at turning it up a notch, such as when he confronts Julia Roberts' Anna about her infidelity. An intense scene, Owen wins the scene by capturing both the anger and the pain that Larry feels in this moment as he presses her for intimate details about Anna and Daniel.

Though disappointing, Closer affords a great opportunity to watch great actors do their thing. Other than a few scenes that were noted above though, Closer lacks the emotion and insight needed to actually pull off a film of this type. None of its takes are revolutionary and instead feel entirely derivative and cliche takes on love, rather than an examination into the lives of these characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews