Cold Mountain

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarcyR.
    Jul 3, 2006
    2
    An anti-war movie. Not really. A love story - doesn't really pull that off either. Tragedy - should be, but the heartache does not come over. Could have been made into a good comedy - with the right script So what is it - Oscar fodder - as someone else remarked. Too long. Too predictable and in some ways too twee.
  2. ShannonP.
    Jan 18, 2004
    3
    For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power and stature by punishing ?deserters? who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war. In a time when Americans leaders have effectively sold the ?average? man on the idea of giving up freedoms to the government so it can protect his freedoms?this type of "message" about war might be timely. At the same time, much of the acting in this move is astonishingly bad. Renee Z?s accolades from Chicago gave her enough self-confidence to go way over the top this time around, and enough stature to prevent anyone from trying to save her from herself. She makes Jack Lemon seem subtle. This is truly horrible: grotesque. Its like something you would have expected for comic relief on Bonanza when Hoss was on vacation. Once Renee Z makes her entrance, you just can?t continue to take the story seriously. It is also note worthy that although this is a film about a war that was principally about slavery?the issue of slavery is virtually absent from the film. There are no substantive scenes involving black actors or actresses. While we learn a great deal about the suffering of southern whites, the plight of blacks is touched upon only incidentally. In one of the film?s more bizarre scenes, Nicole Kidman?s character explains that she is planning on ?taking some Root Beer to the Negroes.? However, it starts raining, so she sends a surrogate with the refreshments. Expand
  3. RodericR
    Aug 17, 2009
    0
    You are without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen. TERRIBAD doesn't begin to describe this steaming pile of crap. It is epic all right, too bad it is epic bad. It may have deserved a 1 instead of a 0 due to the historical scenes, and I will probably use them as documentary-type footage in my 6th grade social studies class. However, the movie itself was so ungodly terrible, You are without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen. TERRIBAD doesn't begin to describe this steaming pile of crap. It is epic all right, too bad it is epic bad. It may have deserved a 1 instead of a 0 due to the historical scenes, and I will probably use them as documentary-type footage in my 6th grade social studies class. However, the movie itself was so ungodly terrible, its worth a negative score. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    So so so so bad. I nearly slept for two hours. Incredibly boring. Hopefully I didn't pay to see it. A good advice : DO NEVER WATCH THIS MOVIE (except if you want to lose 2hours of your life)
  5. JennyO.
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    My friends and I were looking forward to this movie and were sadly disappointed. The film is poorly paced and directed, and the writing is just plain awful. The actors, particularly Kidman and Law, are mediocre at best. And I can't understand all the acclaim that Zellweger is getting: her performance just made me wince. The story which I loved in the novel, left me indifferent in the My friends and I were looking forward to this movie and were sadly disappointed. The film is poorly paced and directed, and the writing is just plain awful. The actors, particularly Kidman and Law, are mediocre at best. And I can't understand all the acclaim that Zellweger is getting: her performance just made me wince. The story which I loved in the novel, left me indifferent in the movie. In sum, I do not recommend this movie. Expand
  6. EdB.
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    A big disapointment, just a failure. A cliched ending that is insulting.
  7. Nancy
    Jan 11, 2004
    0
    To call this movie a love story is an insult to love. Heck, to call this a movie is an insult to anyone who has even been involved in making a movie. Stylized and frigid Oscar baiting. Minghella should be ashamed of himself.
  8. EdgarP.
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    A remarkable movie: full of famous hollywood faces and of horrible acting and writing. And yet it oozes pomposity in every frame. Hats off to those responsible for this narcissistic garbage
  9. Gretchen
    Jan 10, 2004
    0
    Painfully dull to watch.
  10. Maddie
    Jan 28, 2004
    0
    So bad, it will make you laugh. Excruciatingly pretentious and at the same time, cheap and dumb.
  11. Kelly
    Jan 3, 2004
    0
    Pretentious and dull, which does not mean it's meaningful. It's just pretentious and dull.
  12. Loraine
    Jan 6, 2004
    0
    Has a frigid, lacquered exterior and nothing but emptiness underneath. Disappointing and dull.
  13. AllyS.
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    Bring a pillow. Or better yet, just stay home and stare at the wall. That would be as interesting as this disgrace of a movie is, and it doesn't cost ten dollars.
  14. Heidi
    Feb 1, 2004
    0
    This movie chugs along the sheer arrogance of the actors and director. It's about as subtle as a bludgeon.
  15. GretaW.
    Feb 20, 2004
    0
    Inane, dull, and sloppily made. You might want to see this just to witness the appallingly awful acting and the laughable accents. Then again maybe not.
  16. Stef
    Feb 5, 2004
    3
    The most unbelievable, boring and uninspired love story I have seen in a long time. The fact that most of the non-American cast struggled through the entire movie with their laughable southern accents was a source of constant irritation. That, coupled with a far-fetched and silly love story between Kidman and Law, who shared not one drop of chemistry, made this the most disappointing The most unbelievable, boring and uninspired love story I have seen in a long time. The fact that most of the non-American cast struggled through the entire movie with their laughable southern accents was a source of constant irritation. That, coupled with a far-fetched and silly love story between Kidman and Law, who shared not one drop of chemistry, made this the most disappointing movie of the year. The few good scenes are definitely not worthy of so much award attention -- although, if re-cut ala Brown Bunny style, maybe mix them together a bit, then we might have something worth watching! Expand
  17. KatieS.
    Mar 27, 2004
    1
    In a few words... utter crap.
  18. L.Methos
    Dec 26, 2003
    2
    I expected so much more than what was on the screen. The book had a warm passion while the movie is very cold.
  19. ValerieL.
    Dec 30, 2003
    0
    A superficial period peice that tries to be deep but is so wound up in appearances that it fails miserably.
  20. JanineS.
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    Read the book, but don't bother with this terrible movie. With such a production team, this movie could have been so much. But instead it flops in every conceivable way. It moves slowly and awkwardly. It has no substance behind the pretty faces of its cast. It is just plain boring. It leaves you cold and indifferent, if not actually resentful that you just paid money and spent over Read the book, but don't bother with this terrible movie. With such a production team, this movie could have been so much. But instead it flops in every conceivable way. It moves slowly and awkwardly. It has no substance behind the pretty faces of its cast. It is just plain boring. It leaves you cold and indifferent, if not actually resentful that you just paid money and spent over two hours too see it. Expand
  21. TooGoodToBeTrue
    Jan 10, 2004
    0
    Comparing this crap to Gone With The Wind is an insult to one of the greatest romantic epics ever written and filmed. Gone With The Wind is a timeless classic that after more than 60 years STILL awes and inspires. Cold Mountain, on the other hand, is about as romantic and inspiring as having a root canal...without the anesthesia. Nevertheless, it is exactly the kind of movie that usually Comparing this crap to Gone With The Wind is an insult to one of the greatest romantic epics ever written and filmed. Gone With The Wind is a timeless classic that after more than 60 years STILL awes and inspires. Cold Mountain, on the other hand, is about as romantic and inspiring as having a root canal...without the anesthesia. Nevertheless, it is exactly the kind of movie that usually gets an Oscar. Expand
  22. BaileyM.
    Jan 12, 2004
    3
    There is no real love story here, and what is left is a series of skits about the horrors of war as exemplified in the brutality war breeds and brings even off the battlefield. However, once such skit would have made the point. and these skits are connected by a long walk and a series of coincidences such as characters just happening to cross paths in the middle of wilderness. There is There is no real love story here, and what is left is a series of skits about the horrors of war as exemplified in the brutality war breeds and brings even off the battlefield. However, once such skit would have made the point. and these skits are connected by a long walk and a series of coincidences such as characters just happening to cross paths in the middle of wilderness. There is virtually no moral ambiguity or nuance in the film: we know the good and the bad guys in each skit. So, as in one of Auh-nold's films, the main issue is who will get brutally killed and who will survive. Yet the most brutal aspect of the movie is Renee Zellweger's overacting. Her accent sounds like a comedian doing a parady of an actress attempting to sound "southern." The accents of other cast members are nearly as bad. I'd give this movie a lower score than a "3", but Nicole Kidman does inevitably show us her gorgeous fanny, which still ranks a perfect "10." Wisely, this scene is saved for nearly the end of the movie, which provides a small amount of suspense. Expand
  23. MikeS.
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    I kept waiting for it to get better, and it only got worse. Don't be fooled by the marquee names: this one's a loser.
  24. Meg
    Jan 14, 2004
    0
    I was shocked to see such wooden acting from such a supposedly talented cast. Except for Zellweger that is. Her performance instead slides to the other end of the acting spectrum with this ham job, whining at the top of her lungs for an award. An astonishingly bad movie.
  25. Dolores
    Jan 15, 2004
    0
    We left the theater disgusted. Complacent, totally pleased with itself, and astonishingly oblivious to the fact that it is moviemaking at its most incompetent.
  26. John
    Jan 2, 2004
    3
    It was a complete mess from the beginning, possibly the most wildly uneven film to be seen this holiday season. There are a handful of characters who seem to be just thrown into the mix (Jack White from The White Stripes?!? - WHAT?!?) for no real reason, and the film can't quite come to terms with what it is. Is it a love story, a war drama, a comedy (Zellweger's comedic It was a complete mess from the beginning, possibly the most wildly uneven film to be seen this holiday season. There are a handful of characters who seem to be just thrown into the mix (Jack White from The White Stripes?!? - WHAT?!?) for no real reason, and the film can't quite come to terms with what it is. Is it a love story, a war drama, a comedy (Zellweger's comedic character is so out-of-place it is sickening)??? - it was impossible to tell... Worst moment: When Zellweger, completely out of character, degenerates into a sobbing frenzy talking about man creating rain and then it raining....... It makes me laugh just thinking about it. Aside from Kidman's touching performance (I don't think she will ever go wrong), it's a disaster, folks. Plain and simple. Expand
  27. JaneC.
    Jan 20, 2004
    0
    I wish Jude Law's character had been killed during the war instead of deserting. That way I would have been spared from this miserable excuse for a movie.
  28. GailM.
    Jan 6, 2004
    0
    Watching this movie was an excruciating and painful experience. And I think I was the only one in the theater who suffered through it since everybody else had fallen into a deep slumber.
  29. MatthewT.
    Jan 9, 2004
    1
    The worst movie of this year and last. Somewhere between the scene in which Nicole Kidman brings Jude Law a tray of glasses of iced tea and the scene in which she brings him a tray of glasses of hot apple cider, I lost all interest in their love story. As for the war--there is one muddy battle scene, after which the hero goes for a LONG, LONG walk. I wish I had too, but I was with The worst movie of this year and last. Somewhere between the scene in which Nicole Kidman brings Jude Law a tray of glasses of iced tea and the scene in which she brings him a tray of glasses of hot apple cider, I lost all interest in their love story. As for the war--there is one muddy battle scene, after which the hero goes for a LONG, LONG walk. I wish I had too, but I was with friends. By the way, the production design is just awful--overwrought and too-eager, like an A-student sitting in the front row and waving her hand in the teacher's face. As a whole, the movie is unbearable. Expand
  30. DeanR.
    Feb 5, 2004
    0
    This movie is pure beef tripe...tasty to some, but still a throwaway.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. A somber, often downbeat depiction of human savagery and treachery as well as of human kindness. Writer-director Anthony Minghella has meticulously crafted an intimate epic.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    As he did in “The English Patient,” Minghella artfully weds movie-movie romanticism with a dark historical vision. The man knows how to cast a spell.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A grim picaresque odyssey across a beautiful scarred landscape laced together by private romantic longing. Handsomely made and vividly acted.