Come Out and Play

Come Out and Play Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Beth and Francis, a young married couple, venture to a beautiful, but highly remote, island. Beth is pregnant and the two are hoping to enjoy their last vacation before their baby is born. Once there, they notice that while there are plenty of children present, the adults all seem to beBeth and Francis, a young married couple, venture to a beautiful, but highly remote, island. Beth is pregnant and the two are hoping to enjoy their last vacation before their baby is born. Once there, they notice that while there are plenty of children present, the adults all seem to be missing. Initially attributing this to the after effects of a recent festival, they quickly realize something far more sinister is at play. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 16, 2013
    75
    Makinov's film expertly crafts a sense of dawning madness that hinges on its villains' unspoken fury at their elders.
  2. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 21, 2013
    70
    This nastily efficient horror film delivers genuine chills.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 21, 2013
    70
    Stripped down and edited for disequilibrium rather than clarity, “Play” is less interested in pandering to gorehounds than in highlighting our reluctance to view children as anything other than innocent.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 20, 2013
    67
    Come Out and Play is a good example of how to eke out film thrills with a minimum of elements. Makinov should prove to be a filmmaker to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    A one-man band known as Makinov — he wrote, directed, produced, shot, edited and ran sound here — has done a pretty decent job in the chills department using a simple story, small cast and largely contained location.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Mar 19, 2013
    40
    This remake of ’70s Spanish horror film "Who Can Kill a Child?" is less a contemporary upgrade than an eagerly creaky exploitative throwback.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Even by the standards of the genre, the characters behave with astonishing stupidity, while Makinov tries repeatedly to mine suspense from slowly creeping up on his actors with the camera.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Aug 17, 2016
    5
    An impressive title for a thriller, and, well, that's it!

    Well, I neither read the book, nor saw the old film. But I find this theme is
    An impressive title for a thriller, and, well, that's it!

    Well, I neither read the book, nor saw the old film. But I find this theme is very interesting and at the end of the watch I kind of disappointed. Of course it is a low budget film, which involves little kids in a bad light, but that does not mean they should completely censor the violence. I'm disappointed with those serious avoidance which very essential for a film like this. I agree the children performing such act should not be shown, but the theme was promised something and delivered nothing. On that perspective anyone would be frustrated if they came here to see a good thriller.

    So you can call it a horror-thriller for the families, that's how it looks. It is the story of an American couple with the seven months pregnant visits a tourist island destination in Mexico and soon finds the town is deserted. While looking for other souls, they are targeted by those who were the reason for the scenario of the island. Then begins the run and chasing game, and how it all ends revealed with a tiny twist.

    As I feared the film failed to impress me, but there might be a few who would enjoy it better than me. So all I'm saying is just skip it if you're seeking 'Hatchet' kind of film, this is no way near to that. For a 30-35 years ago film, it might have worked better, but this is an outdated story to take place in the present world. The theme was fantastic, but I just wanted a different story and upgraded with the new stuffs. Though I must appreciate the director who has done multiple task for this film to happen. Finally, I want to clear that it is not a bad film of the year or decade or ever, but just too soft for its genre, that's all.

    5/10
    Expand
  2. May 6, 2013
    0
    The only part of the movie of any interest was in the end where some action finally happened. Otherwise its 90 minutes of sleeping and gettingThe only part of the movie of any interest was in the end where some action finally happened. Otherwise its 90 minutes of sleeping and getting bored. Seems like a pure waste of money. I wouldnt even watch it if it came on tv for free. Collapse
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    0
    zzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!! and the director thought "only" the music would do the trick??? probably one of the worst films i've ever seen, and trustzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!! and the director thought "only" the music would do the trick??? probably one of the worst films i've ever seen, and trust me, i'm not that difficult when it comes to films... Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.