Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: February 6, 2009
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 75 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
24
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ChadS.Feb 15, 2009
Whereas Hal Ashby's "Being There" satirized the anaesthetizing effects that television had on the baby-boomer generation, "Confessions of a Shopaholic" possesses a likeminded intention to lampoon the masses, but this time, the media Whereas Hal Ashby's "Being There" satirized the anaesthetizing effects that television had on the baby-boomer generation, "Confessions of a Shopaholic" possesses a likeminded intention to lampoon the masses, but this time, the media form that the film attacks is the Internet, and its ancillary users, "The Y Generation"(also known as The Net Generation). In "Being There", Chance(Peter Sellers), a gardener with the intelligence of a peanut, convinces people that he's a brilliant economist. Rebecca Bloomwood(Isla Fischer) echoes the mentally-impaired gardener when a line like, "Risky investment is like a pair of platinum boots," is confused for wisdom. The antecedent for this quote was: "As long as the roots are not severed, all is well. And all will be well in the garden," delivered by Chance to great acclaim. Needless to say, the garden is not a metaphor; he's speaking plaintively. Part of the reason as to why Luke(Hugh Dancy) hires Rebecca is biological, but once she's on the staff, the editor explains his plans for her, advising the fashionista to speak in a language that people can understand; in laywoman's terms. In other words: dumb it down. Blogs, with its inclination towards lower word counts and uninformed opinions(not Susan M.'s), has been blamed for a retarding of people's ability to read longer articles, not to mention, books. Since Rebecca apparently knows very little about finance, she's in essence, a blogger, who has infiltrated the publishing industry. Hence, the satire, in an otherwise dreary picture about an absolutely ghastly woman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LynnMar 2, 2009
Enjoyed the fashion and fun. Luke Brandon is every girls dream, together, strong, and understanding. Fun film is see, just do not expect an educational experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LaurenSFeb 18, 2009
Before you say i'm stupid, and i have no taste. I would like to say that i think this movie IS NOT that great. If you want a good movie, DON'T GO SEE IT, but maybe if you're in the mood for a cute chick flick, this might be Before you say i'm stupid, and i have no taste. I would like to say that i think this movie IS NOT that great. If you want a good movie, DON'T GO SEE IT, but maybe if you're in the mood for a cute chick flick, this might be the one for you. However, i have my own critiques: 1. The book was more witty, and you could see some many clothes and everything. but the movie was basically about the main plot, Rebecca Bloomwood who likes to shop, she's in debt, her bank manager comes after her, she is in Sucessful Savings, and Derek Smeath, her manager, while Luke Brandon is the guy she loves. While not being bright enough, the lady in the green scarf (you'll know what i mean when you watch it) tells lies, but it all pays off at the end. This movie doesn't deserve a really low grade, it's cute but it's not oscar worthy or anything like that. Nice try, but it needs work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LuisGFeb 18, 2009
fashion galore ala SATC minus the originality ... patricia fields dresses us the film with so much flare which Isla Fisher wears well but sad enough Isla can hold the entire film from being more than a recycled attempt to capitalize on the fashion galore ala SATC minus the originality ... patricia fields dresses us the film with so much flare which Isla Fisher wears well but sad enough Isla can hold the entire film from being more than a recycled attempt to capitalize on the SATC craze.. Hugh Dancy is perfect as is Isla but thats about it nothing new to be found here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Jun 18, 2009
Isla Fisher is such a charming actress, she can do better than the material in this movie. The idea behind this film is a good one, but the screenplay just doesn't take advantage of it. It's too routine and predictable. Good Isla Fisher is such a charming actress, she can do better than the material in this movie. The idea behind this film is a good one, but the screenplay just doesn't take advantage of it. It's too routine and predictable. Good supporting cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
If you know how to use your eyes is a good film which critics the rampant consumerism of capitalist society, talking like a heavy thing, but the movie brings reflection in a cheerful and humorous! Super Hollywood, but really liked it! A movieIf you know how to use your eyes is a good film which critics the rampant consumerism of capitalist society, talking like a heavy thing, but the movie brings reflection in a cheerful and humorous! Super Hollywood, but really liked it! A movie really interesting to see while the world is undergoing a financial crisis. A movie that besides being very funny, makes us think a little about the real value of things, consumer goods considered, perhaps, futile... and rethink this a bit absurd consumerism and publicist who are bombing targets daily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
I don't really understand why people didn't like this movie. My best guess is that a lot of the people who dis-liked it had read the books. I have never read the books or really had any desire to do so. I ended up watching this movie becauseI don't really understand why people didn't like this movie. My best guess is that a lot of the people who dis-liked it had read the books. I have never read the books or really had any desire to do so. I ended up watching this movie because my wife wanted to see it and I actually ended up enjoying it. The acting was solid and the movie moved it's self along at a nice pace. There were some parts of the movie that were a little clunky and out of place and some of the characters could have been deleted. Overall it's a very enjoyable movie and a good date movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews