User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 320
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Pretty good and I hope they make a sequel. Constantine keeps you interested through out, Features a good cast, and an interesting story as well. I really enjoyed it.
  2. Dec 2, 2010
    8
    As comic book movies go this is a good one. I can't speak for faithfulness to the comic but as a film it works. Dark and atmospheric just dripping with religious overtones and occult lore. Great supporting cast with bonus points to Tilda Swintons mad Gabriel, and Constantines eager wannabe partner Shia LaBeouf. Not unmissable but certainly worth seeing.
  3. NickH
    Aug 13, 2005
    7
    All the little children are out... calling a movie they don't like "retarded," "dumb," or simply "teh [sic] worst." Throwing out a *0* rating because they don't understand how to rate movies. Especially those of you who offering convincing arguements on why you disliked this film - only to negate your whole point(s) by going and saying "then I think I hate it cuz itz so dumb and All the little children are out... calling a movie they don't like "retarded," "dumb," or simply "teh [sic] worst." Throwing out a *0* rating because they don't understand how to rate movies. Especially those of you who offering convincing arguements on why you disliked this film - only to negate your whole point(s) by going and saying "then I think I hate it cuz itz so dumb and retarded." Finish your well constructed rants with something convincing please. So many Keanu haters, too. Come on, who else could play Constantine? The only person I can think of is Christian Bale (but, no one wanted to take that chance back in it's production - no wait, he was doing Batman). I guess you'd want someone bankable for the MTV generation like Ashton Kutcher? How about a serious, Oscar Winner? No... you're not getting Clint Eastwood - or someone of his ability - to do a movie like Constantine. Hell, I thought this was a fun movie. Pure and simple. Stop trying to rank movies like this on the same scale as The Godfather or Doctor Stangelove. I'm not saying lower your standards, I'm saying take a movie for what it is. Keanu Reeves gave a fairly believable performance as a post-suicidal, cancer infested wacko who could see 'half-breeds.' Pure and simple. What emotions do you want him to evoke when he wards of bat-demons? Do you need the emotional complexity of Citizen Kane in this movie? Weiss did a great job - doing her usual thing - of taking a subpar supporting role and making the character interesting. The CGI was actually good, in my opinion. I believed what I saw - even if what I was was a decapitated, tiny demon. The whole 'hell transition' was great. As for the plot - well, it was there, I guess. It made sense but it all seemed sort of thrown together. Spear of Destiny, Satan, guns, angels, fat monks... all in the same movie, not well linked. That's all I can fault this movie on. It's plot is thin, but not so thin that you question what you're watching. I wish more time were put into it. Even though I have NEVER read a single comic this film was based on, I had NO trouble "unravel[ing]" it. I thought it held up nicely. Is it a masterpiece? Hell no! Is it a cinematic turd? Hell no! It was 'good.' No more, no less. ==6.8/10== Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Even though the movie is a few years old. Mostly forgotten. I had to rewatch it. I really don't get all the negative reviews and critics bashing it. Reeves does a great job as always. He nails the cynic part of John Constantine described in the comics. The story kept me engaged and the way the demons, and angels are accurate to what i imagine. the manor isms in which they possess andEven though the movie is a few years old. Mostly forgotten. I had to rewatch it. I really don't get all the negative reviews and critics bashing it. Reeves does a great job as always. He nails the cynic part of John Constantine described in the comics. The story kept me engaged and the way the demons, and angels are accurate to what i imagine. the manor isms in which they possess and attack portray a thrilling and creepy feeling. Even the music score helps keep the feelings of the movie going. Interesting spiritual and religious perspectives are portrayed as well. Whether you agree with them or not they can be interesting. I see complaints about plot holes but no where on the internet can i find any said plot holes...Nor did I notice anything in the movie. unlike other movies where you can outright find problems in the story or research storyline failures everywhere. I think people/critics were just looking for reasons to bash this movie for reasons they are too embarrassed to admit. Whether that be they are offended religiously or are still hating on Neo from The Matrix. Grow up people. Have an open mind. And enjoy a unique and enjoyable movie. Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    It isn't the best movie in the world, but there it is a fun one. Great effects, mostly uninteresting characters and an interesting and engaging narrative (I know the comics are better, but for an adaptation it isn't that bad.)

    Overall:
    For what it is, it's an entertaining movie that I enjoyed immensely.
  6. LarryK.
    Feb 26, 2005
    5
    I left the theater scratching my head because I'd just seen a movie that was billed as a horror/supernatural thriller and I was neither horrified nor thrilled. I figeted throughout the movie and did my best to stay awake. I really didn't care if Keanu lived or died. Nor did I care that much about Rachel Weisz's character even though I liked her performance in a supporting I left the theater scratching my head because I'd just seen a movie that was billed as a horror/supernatural thriller and I was neither horrified nor thrilled. I figeted throughout the movie and did my best to stay awake. I really didn't care if Keanu lived or died. Nor did I care that much about Rachel Weisz's character even though I liked her performance in a supporting role. Ultimately, whether or not good or evil prevailed wasn't of interest to me either. This is what totally confused me about the movie. You had good battling evil, and Weisz, Satan, the angel Gabriel, and some well done special effects, and really nifty art direction. But all of that was negated by a story too silly and a script too weak. "Constantine" should have grabbed me by the neck and pulled me to the edge of my seat. Instead it shoved me to the back of my seat and put me to sleep. Expand
  7. GaborA.
    Mar 15, 2005
    4
    Theres a concept. Theres some theme. Some character. Theres a beginning and end, but there is no middle or storyline. Just random scnenes with unexplained random events. Overall to incoherent and ridiculuous to be satisfying.
  8. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Constantine seems For me an underrated film. Meanwhile, it is not perfect, but nevertheless had some good ideas, good special effects, moments of terror and great actors.
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Really cool and dumb-free movie, go sleep in your pet's bed and dream another show if you do not like this cool-filled movie, your eyes will burn if you watched this cool movie. The demon effects are so cool and the crossbow looks totally gold and original!

    I really like this movie and I've never stopped from watching this!
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The best movie ever for me. People who don't like it, are some kind of anti-religious fanatic. Just read their comments and you'll see.
    It's from the graphic nover masterpiece of Vertigo: Hellblazer by Alan Moore you ignorants.
  11. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This is certainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. Sure Reeves wasn't in his top gear at the moment or Rachel either but a film with that story, plot is rarely seen. It has got some funny moments which are really well placed in scenes. I noticed that critics here at Metacritic critics usually spit and rate films poorly which are based on supernatural... In this case: Demons, Angels,This is certainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. Sure Reeves wasn't in his top gear at the moment or Rachel either but a film with that story, plot is rarely seen. It has got some funny moments which are really well placed in scenes. I noticed that critics here at Metacritic critics usually spit and rate films poorly which are based on supernatural... In this case: Demons, Angels, God, Devil, Exorcism... I can't remember when was the last time I saw a movie about that (Angels,... ) rated above 70% (critics, not users). Expand
  12. RicardoS.
    Sep 4, 2005
    6
    This movie could have been much better. Just cutting out the whole section about the little guy that lived in the bowling alley would greatly reduce the 'supernatural gobbledegook' one critic mentioned. And the dialog soundtrack, as noted by a user critic, is often unintelligible. There's an internal conflict between the tone of the movie (so heavy and serious and dark) and This movie could have been much better. Just cutting out the whole section about the little guy that lived in the bowling alley would greatly reduce the 'supernatural gobbledegook' one critic mentioned. And the dialog soundtrack, as noted by a user critic, is often unintelligible. There's an internal conflict between the tone of the movie (so heavy and serious and dark) and some of the imagery used--like Constantine firing gold bullets at demons from a gold shotgun welded to a gold crucifix. In these scenes I felt I was watching an episode of Angel that was taking itself too seriously. Cutting out some of this stereotypical demon stuff would work fine, since as many critics note, and I agree, the plot is incomprehensible and therefore meaningless, and the high points of the film are the the photography and gothic atmosphere. I thought the four main actors were good: the exorcist (Keanu), the cop (Rachel), Gabriel and Lucifer. In the end, I gave it a 6 because I couldn't give it a 5.5; I'm generally a sucker for this type of movie, so the critics 5 is probably more accurate. Its a shame that in this genre there are so few good movies. I mean, what theme could be more important? Expand
  13. CodyK.
    Aug 6, 2005
    4
    Very interesting
  14. ChrisB.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie!
  15. ElanorSM
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Its a great film and Keanu did it awesome.
  16. JohnF.
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    This is a great, if stylized film and draws you in. It's a rollercoaster that never lets go.
  17. JohnW.
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    Fascinating production values, riveting original plot, intriguing casting choices, quite a few surprises. I want to see it again to pick up on lots that I'm sure I missed. Reminded me of the freshness and originality of the first Matrix (disregarding the prescence of Keanu). But don't go half asleep, or you'll be lost!!
  18. reishap.
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    This was an epic of a film. Keanu Reeves is sexy and brooding, the showing of angels and demons is amazing. The fact that they put in that angels have no gender is great. I'm bloody picky bout the movies i love, and so is my movie bud, who's incredibly choosey, and ballistic bout details and she's already seen it twice. This is an amazing film, and I suggest to anyone who This was an epic of a film. Keanu Reeves is sexy and brooding, the showing of angels and demons is amazing. The fact that they put in that angels have no gender is great. I'm bloody picky bout the movies i love, and so is my movie bud, who's incredibly choosey, and ballistic bout details and she's already seen it twice. This is an amazing film, and I suggest to anyone who has eyes. and the soundtrack, oh awesome. Passive by a perfect circle is in it. and that just makes the movie a million times better. ~Dead as dead can be~ Expand
  19. CraiganU.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Not one to take the kids to, Constantine maintains a dark intensity throughout. It feels like learning a frightening or peculiar camp story for the first time--you don't know what spiritual twist is around the corner!
  20. GodComplex
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    Best film I've seen this year. The critics are stupid. They couldn't understand this movie even if they tried. One reviewer called it confusing because they "slapped you with supernatural gably-goop." The Critic's are dense. The concept of demon and angel isn't that hard morons! The critic's really have no idea what they are talking about. The next critic/person Best film I've seen this year. The critics are stupid. They couldn't understand this movie even if they tried. One reviewer called it confusing because they "slapped you with supernatural gably-goop." The Critic's are dense. The concept of demon and angel isn't that hard morons! The critic's really have no idea what they are talking about. The next critic/person who tells me Million Dollar Baby is amazing...I'm gonna punch them in the face. Expand
  21. Dec 21, 2012
    3
    I have better things to do than watching Keanu Reeves bad, bad, grumpy mood for 2 hours. Everything about this movie is a mess, and it is dragged down by it's ludicrous premise. Roger Ebert pointed out that all of Constantine had to do would be to go to a priest to get a confession. That's how this movie feels: pointless. It is chaotic, has a lot of bad production designs and a hero nobodyI have better things to do than watching Keanu Reeves bad, bad, grumpy mood for 2 hours. Everything about this movie is a mess, and it is dragged down by it's ludicrous premise. Roger Ebert pointed out that all of Constantine had to do would be to go to a priest to get a confession. That's how this movie feels: pointless. It is chaotic, has a lot of bad production designs and a hero nobody cares about, because he is a douchebag that keeps smoking even as he has cancer. The crew must have been giggling from scene to scene, thinking they could get away with this joke of a movie. Expand
  22. AmbarK.
    Mar 29, 2010
    1
    Very childish Directors should treat the audience with more respect to their intelligence.
  23. BlueFalcon
    Feb 19, 2005
    3
    This is the worst movie I've seen in theatres for quite some time. The plot is dumb, but made to seem complex by having Reeves babble on in an uninteligable dialect. Oh no, Reeves spoke another group of unintelligible words - that means certain death for that invincible looking demon over there. There's a funny visual effect that happens all the time in this movie. Hint to This is the worst movie I've seen in theatres for quite some time. The plot is dumb, but made to seem complex by having Reeves babble on in an uninteligable dialect. Oh no, Reeves spoke another group of unintelligible words - that means certain death for that invincible looking demon over there. There's a funny visual effect that happens all the time in this movie. Hint to director: light flickering doesn't deserve to have it's own scene over and over. Probably my biggest complaint besides the movie being uninteresting, is that it's super fake religious. What I mean is that it's a heavily catholic movie, but with silly made-up concepts. Expand
  24. JudyT.
    Feb 20, 2005
    2
    Really awful. Not at all entertaining. No story, no point, not scary. Just boring. I was so glad when it was over.
  25. JohnS.
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Excellent, funny, good entertainment
  26. Decepticon_Pom
    Mar 2, 2005
    2
    Words fail me. Keanu may be a truly nice guy, generous, kind, lovely to everyone he meets, charming and good looking, but he CANNOT ACT!!! The potential in the script was squanderred in recognition of the incapabilities of its main star. The next night I watched The Exorcist to cleanse myself of the memory.
  27. newob2
    Apr 11, 2005
    0
    Yep sucked. went nowere had the worst plot, this is adding to my first coment by newob y.
  28. DavidK
    Apr 7, 2005
    3
    A very "Dark" and disappointing movie. The first movie I can remember where Keanu Reeves is completely unlikable. Also, the way the Angle Gabriel was portrayed and treated is very offensive. Basically, the second to worst movie next to Sin City (the worst).
  29. AMovieCritic
    Aug 18, 2005
    0
    I have never given a movie a 0 rating until now. I usually hate 0-ratings, since they're so often given by people who simply are bashing the movie for no reason. Most movies that get 0's don't deserve them, in my opinion. But I am giving this movie a 0. It was a complete waste of my time. I haven't read the comic book, I had no idea what to expect with this movie...I I have never given a movie a 0 rating until now. I usually hate 0-ratings, since they're so often given by people who simply are bashing the movie for no reason. Most movies that get 0's don't deserve them, in my opinion. But I am giving this movie a 0. It was a complete waste of my time. I haven't read the comic book, I had no idea what to expect with this movie...I just decided to see it. There was just nothing good about this movie! I can't think of any redeemable factor. I don't remember a single action scene except a brief moment of Constantine turning on a holy-water sprinkler, which paralyzes a room full of demons, then him shooting the hell out of them, Matrix-style. But that was really it. When the climax of an "action movie" takes place with the hero lying slumped against a door, that says a lot about how dull this movie was. The special effects were nice looking, but we could hardly see them before the camera cuts away to something else. It seemed as if they had been hoping for a PG13 rating, so they don't seem to want to focus on the graphic details long enough. The plot....I just didn't get it. I don't know why, it just made no sense to me. The movie started out alright, but by the end, I had little clue what was even going on. I just didn't get it. Keanu Reeves gets a lot of criticism for his acting, but I think he did a good job here. That doesn't make the movie worth seeing, (at all,) but it made things slightly more tolerable. Rachel Weisz, though, is very underused, and Shia LaBeouf, who'se usually very funny, is completely wasted here as Chas. He basically is in 3 scenes at the beginning, driving Constantine's taxi and making a few jokes. He then basically vanishes for the entire movie, only reappearing near the end as a "kick-@$$ hero" for a short ammount of time. Completely wasted. I can't even figure out why they put his character in the movie! This movie did nothing right. I didn't understand what the hell was going on. There was hardly any action. The movie wasn't particularly scary, funny, thrilling, or interesting. I found it to be a complete waste of time. There was nothing in this movie that would make me even considder recommending it to anyone. Expand
  30. DaveV.
    Feb 28, 2005
    2
    What was this???? I normally don't write reviews but this movie was horrible...Most of the time I'm a mild judge, if it is at least entertaining it can be o.k . But this move is incoherent and just flat out bs.
  31. SamF.
    May 16, 2005
    0
    You'll feel like being in 2 hours of Hell.
  32. MattO
    Jul 6, 2007
    3
    I thought this movie was terribly shallow. It was like watching the Matrix with none of the flair. I'm not comparing it to the Matrix because it's got Keanu Reeves in it. I'm comparing the two movies because Constantine tries to actually be the Matrix, with similar settings and moods. Unlike the Matrix, however, this movie doesn't draw you into its world; it just gives I thought this movie was terribly shallow. It was like watching the Matrix with none of the flair. I'm not comparing it to the Matrix because it's got Keanu Reeves in it. I'm comparing the two movies because Constantine tries to actually be the Matrix, with similar settings and moods. Unlike the Matrix, however, this movie doesn't draw you into its world; it just gives you what there is. It's completely shallow, and not worth anyone's time. I should also point out that a wise-assed attitude on Constantine's part wasn't about to save the movie. Neither were the actors and actresses, who are good in other films, but in this one, they seemed to not care. There were no saving factors here. In fact, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have minded if the Devil had won in this one. Expand
  33. NewobY.
    Mar 25, 2005
    0
    THIS MOVIE SUCKS! it is not worth seeing and it goes nowhere. the ending scene he eats gum.
  34. MARKR.
    Jul 24, 2005
    0
    Bored me to death.
  35. AndrewC.
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    Horrendous. It's not that it makes a road kill of theology, but that it does so in an uninspired, boring, moronic way. In other words, it's not even good junk entertainment. It's just plain bad.
  36. DaveB.
    Jul 29, 2005
    1
    The hard core fans of the comic book may have had a chance to unravel this mess, but for the rest of us...what a pointless, meandering, and dull waste of time. Keanu Reeves talent well consists of one character...a very wooden and one dimensional character. It's amazing how many directors have actually thought that Reeves' one character can somehow lift their film to The hard core fans of the comic book may have had a chance to unravel this mess, but for the rest of us...what a pointless, meandering, and dull waste of time. Keanu Reeves talent well consists of one character...a very wooden and one dimensional character. It's amazing how many directors have actually thought that Reeves' one character can somehow lift their film to credibility. How wrong they are. Perhaps we can force terror suspects in custody to watch this film over and over until they began screeming all the secret information they know. That's about the only useful thing I can think of that might come of this disaster. Expand
  37. johnl.
    Jul 31, 2005
    0
    So dumb!!!! i have friends who are religious that say they enjoyed it but i think theyre just fooling themselves, this movie is terrible on so many different levels, I didnt find it the least bit entertaining...I know that it will do well on dvd because it looked like it may have potential but its such trash.
  38. May 4, 2011
    0
    While I am willing to concede that this movie might be slightly more enjoyable to those unfamiliar with the source material, 'Constantine' does little to make itself anything more than a dumb supernatural action flick. Whatsmore, it doesn't even succeed on that front. For those who are unfamiliar, 'Constantine' is very loosely based upon the comic 'Hellblazer' which has been in print forWhile I am willing to concede that this movie might be slightly more enjoyable to those unfamiliar with the source material, 'Constantine' does little to make itself anything more than a dumb supernatural action flick. Whatsmore, it doesn't even succeed on that front. For those who are unfamiliar, 'Constantine' is very loosely based upon the comic 'Hellblazer' which has been in print for more than 20 years. Both, focus upon the exploits of John Constantine, though the movie has taken a number of liberties with the character. Originally blonde, British, and combining occult knowledge with urban street-smarts, John Constantine is played by Keanu Reeves in one of his worst performances to date. I personally don't have anything against Mr. Reeves as an actor, but his attempts to portray Constantine (by the way, it's supposed to rhyme with Clementine. They pronounce it incorrectly throughout the entire film.) as a troubled man haunted by his past come off as wooden and unbelievable. The one good thing I can truly say about this film, is that it encouraged me to look into the comic. Upon doing so, I discovered that most of the scenes or set pieces, that I found interesting or unique in the film, were taken directly from the comic and that the rest of the plot of the film consisted of nonsensical mythos that doesn't fit into the logic of the comic or Catholicism in general. That's not to say that I found it confusing. It simply didn't make sense. For example, the movie talks about the Demon Mammon who apparently is Lucifer's son. However, in Christian mythology, Mammon is simply a high ranking Demon in Hell, much like Beelzebub. These kinds of inconsistencies make the mythos feel arbitrary at best.

    Ultimately this film fails to establish itself as a good action movie, due to poor fight scenes, and excessive emphasis on an inherently flawed mythos. It feels more like a ripoff of its source material than it does an adaptation. I can't recommend it as an action film, as a thriller, or as a horror, so ultimately I've got to give this a 3 out of 10. It isn't completely devoid of enjoyable elements, but isn't nearly as good as it *should* be.
    Expand
  39. Sep 25, 2011
    6
    The Angels verses Demons thing has been done a lot now and Constantine does have some good ideas but does not do much interesting with them. I never felt as if I understood, related to or cared for Keanu's character during this movie which is disappointing considering there was more potential. Constantine is worth a bit of time but don't expect much.
  40. Sep 12, 2014
    6
    I expected a lot from this movie, but it disappointed me somewhat. The story and casting are good, but something just doesn't click. Special effects are cool, if not always believable, Keanu Reeves does a good job in his role.
  41. May 14, 2013
    1
    No, "Constantine" is not part of a trilogy including "Troy" and "Alexander." It's not about the emperor at all, but about a man who can see the world behind the world, and is waging war against the scavengers of the damned. There was a nice documentary about emperor penguins, however, at Sundance this year. The males sit on the eggs all winter long in like 60 degrees below zero.
    Keanu
    No, "Constantine" is not part of a trilogy including "Troy" and "Alexander." It's not about the emperor at all, but about a man who can see the world behind the world, and is waging war against the scavengers of the damned. There was a nice documentary about emperor penguins, however, at Sundance this year. The males sit on the eggs all winter long in like 60 degrees below zero.
    Keanu Reeves plays Constantine as a chain-smoking, depressed demon-hunter who lives above a bowling alley in Los Angeles. Since he was a child, he has been able to see that not all who walk among us are human. Some are penguins. Sorry about that. Some are half-angels and half-devils. Constantine knows he is doomed to hell because he once tried to kill himself, and is trying to rack up enough frames against the demons to earn his way into heaven.
    There is a scene early in the movie where Constantine and his doctor look at his X-rays, never a good sign in a superhero movie. He has lung cancer. The angel Gabriel (Tilda Swinton) tells him, "You are going to die young because you've smoked 30 cigarettes a day since you were 13." Gabriel has made more interesting announcements. Constantine has already spent some time in hell, which looks like a post-nuclear Los Angeles created by animators with a hangover. No doubt it is filled with carcinogens.
    The half-angels and half-devils are earthly proxies in the war between God and Satan. You would think that God would be the New England Patriots of this contest, but apparently there is a chance that Satan could win. Constantine's lonely mission is to track down half-demons and cast them back to the fires below. Like Blade, the vampire-killer, he is surprisingly optimistic, considering he is one guy in one city dealing on a case-by-case basis, and the enemy is global.
    Constantine has a technical advisor named Beeman (Max Baker), who lives in the ceiling of the bowling alley among the pin-spotting machines, and functions like Q in the James Bond movies. Here he is loading Constantine with the latest weaponry: "Bullet shavings from the assassination attempt on the Pope, holy water from the river of Jordan, and, you'll love this, screech beetles." The screech beetles come in a little matchbox. "To the fallen," Max explains, "the sound is like nails on a blackboard." Later there is a scene where Constantine is inundated by the creatures of hell, and desperately tries to reach the matchbox and get those beetles to start screeching.
    Rachel Weisz plays Angela Dodson, an L.A. police detective whose twin sister, Isabel, has apparently committed suicide. Isabel reported seeing demons, so Angela consults Constantine, who nods wisely and wonders if Isabel jumped, or was metaphysically pushed. Later in the film, to show Angela that she also has the gift of seeing the world behind the world, Constantine holds her underwater in a bathtub until she passes out and sees the torments of hell. No bright white corridors and old friends and Yanni for her. You wonder what kind of an L.A. cop would allow herself to be experimentally drowned in a bathtub by a guy who lives over a bowling alley.
    Together, they prowl the nighttime streets. At one point, Constantine needs to consult Midnite (Djimon Hounsou), a former witch doctor who runs a private nightclub where half-angels and half-demons can get half-loaded and talk shop. There is a doorman. To gain admittance, you have to read his mind and tell him what's on the other side of the card he's holding up. "Two frogs on a bench," Constantine says. Could have been a lucky guess.
    There is a priest in the film, the alcoholic Father Hennessy (Pruitt Taylor Vince), whose name, I guess, is product placement.
    The forces of hell manifest themselves in many ways. One victim is eaten by flies. A young girl is possessed by a devil, and Constantine shouts, "I need a mirror! Now! At least three feet high!" He can capture the demon in the mirror and throw it out the window, see, although you wonder why supernatural beings would have such low-tech security holes.
    Reeves has a deliberately morose energy level in the movie, as befits one who has seen hell, walks among half-demons, and is dying. He keeps on smoking. Eventually he confronts Satan (Peter Stormare), who wears a white suit. (Satan to tailor: "I want a suit just like God's.") Oh, and the plot also involves the Spear of Destiny, which is the spear that killed Christ, and which has been missing since World War II, which seems to open a window to the possibility of Nazi villains, but no.
    Expand
  42. Aug 19, 2013
    5
    The premise is intriguing, and works to an extent thanks to Keanu Reeve's charm as the lead, but without going deeper into its material it's only mildly exhilarating, with a side of unintentional humor.
  43. NickS.
    Feb 20, 2005
    8
    You don't have to be a fan of the comic book to enjoy this film! Reeves does a satisfactory job in the lead role but Rachel Weisz and the special fx should be a major draw. It was rather fun to watch an action packed religious film even though the ending was pretty hokey. The director obviously attended MTV film school but the quick cuts and extreme camera angles actually made the You don't have to be a fan of the comic book to enjoy this film! Reeves does a satisfactory job in the lead role but Rachel Weisz and the special fx should be a major draw. It was rather fun to watch an action packed religious film even though the ending was pretty hokey. The director obviously attended MTV film school but the quick cuts and extreme camera angles actually made the film more enjoyable. Too bad I never felt any sympathy for any of the characters. Wonder if it'll make enough money for a sequel... Expand
  44. OliverH.
    Mar 24, 2005
    8
    A great movie which despite a few moments of bad acting rises above the rest.
  45. anita
    Mar 9, 2005
    0
    This must be the worst film i've ever seen. and i've seen a lot of bad films. i can't believe that someone wrote a script like that and people thought it'd be a good idea to make it into a film. and someone, for the love of god, should ask from keanu to stop acting, because he's not really!!!
  46. KadinP.
    Jul 29, 2005
    0
    At the beginning, looked promisingly mediocre, but it seems it failed to even live up to the standards set by its trailers. Reeves as always is terrible, and the plot has passed the bounds of incoherency and come out the other side.
  47. Jayden
    Feb 15, 2005
    8
    I went to see 'Constantine' with an open mind and was surprised that the film was very, very good. It does contain certain religious undertones that will definitely make you think.
  48. MarcD
    Feb 17, 2005
    8
    The best and more visually impressive action flick this year by far. Reeves is a decent John Constantine. A darker tone would have elevated this film to another level.
  49. AlexB.
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    Good movie - not as good as i thought - but still good. Keanu's acting was ok, i don't think he's a bad actor. The special effects were impressive. I recommend!
  50. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    7
    Constantine stars Keanu Reeves as John Constantine, a self-appointed demon fighter who has devoted his life to eliminating from the world the evil forces which "step over the line". Huh? Okay, okay. It seems the world is a battleground between God and Satan, with mankind in general and human beings individually at stake. The "rules" prohibits the "good" and "evil" forces from directly Constantine stars Keanu Reeves as John Constantine, a self-appointed demon fighter who has devoted his life to eliminating from the world the evil forces which "step over the line". Huh? Okay, okay. It seems the world is a battleground between God and Satan, with mankind in general and human beings individually at stake. The "rules" prohibits the "good" and "evil" forces from directly interfering with the course of human events but allow "half-breeds" (human/demons or human/angels) to indirectly influence the poor, ignorant souls who walk this Earth by "whispering" a word of encouragement/despair here and there. Except Constantine has the unique ability to see these half-breeds for what they are and what they are doing. This ability drove him crazy when he was a young boy and caused him to attempt suicide, a mortal sin which resulted in him falling out of God's grace and condemned to Hell. Constantine now battles the forces of evil in hopes of winning his way back into Heaven. All of which is really just the background for this flick ... the plot here involves Constantine investigating the mysterious "suicide" death of the twin sister of a police detective who seeks help from Constantine because of his reputation of being involved with the occult. Oh yeah, throw in the Spear of Destiny (the spear used by the Roman soldier who stabbed Jesus during His crucifixion) and the plan to allow Satan's son to break through the barrier between Earth and Hell in order to conquer the world, and you have one weird movie. The character Constantine is based upon a comic book hero "Hellblazer" and if you are a fan of that comic book series, this all probably makes a lot more sense. Frankly, I had never heard of Hellblazer, so I was pretty much in the dark throughout the movie and had to listen carefully to the dialogue to piece together what was going on. The visual effects are fantastic. The movie is kind of a mixture of The Exorcist, Devil's Advocate and Blade Runner, and will have a greater appeal to the younger generation. If you liked The Matrix, you'll probably like this movie; if this movie is a box office smash hit, I suspect that, like The Matrix, this one will have a sequel(s). To me, The Matrix was so-so and this movie was better, mainly because I felt tense throughout, waiting for the next special effect to yank me out of my seat. I particularly enjoyed the part where insects began emitting themselves from a human eye .... close-up (yeah, right). I give this one an 7.95. Expand
  51. AlexH.
    Jul 23, 2005
    8
    Highly enjoyable hollywood interpretation of a graphic novel with more subtle touches than many mainstream reviewers seem to have noticed.
  52. GregT
    Aug 1, 2005
    3
    I give this movie a 3 for special effects and little else. I like Keanu Reeves too. He has a stage presence. But this movie was convoluted, draggy at points, and but forth a whole lot of mixed up Christian theology. Gabriel comes as a man, not a woman and as the Bible states "I am Gabriel that stands in the presence of God", I would doubt seriously that Gabriel would be the instrument of I give this movie a 3 for special effects and little else. I like Keanu Reeves too. He has a stage presence. But this movie was convoluted, draggy at points, and but forth a whole lot of mixed up Christian theology. Gabriel comes as a man, not a woman and as the Bible states "I am Gabriel that stands in the presence of God", I would doubt seriously that Gabriel would be the instrument of Satan's son, etc. The theology in this movie is wacked. Expand
  53. adama.
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Ranks just below the Matrix series in my book. Awesome film.
  54. A.J
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    This is one hell of a film, watch it and be blown away.
  55. R.Lopez
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    Constantine is not your usual supernatural, no Constantine breaks all the rules that the genre has put in stone, it breaks down the wall and builds a new one based on it's own mythology. And may I say that it does a n amazing job at that. This film is not something I usually watch, in fact I was very skeptical when I deiced to view it just to see if it was any good, boy was I Constantine is not your usual supernatural, no Constantine breaks all the rules that the genre has put in stone, it breaks down the wall and builds a new one based on it's own mythology. And may I say that it does a n amazing job at that. This film is not something I usually watch, in fact I was very skeptical when I deiced to view it just to see if it was any good, boy was I surprised! Constantine was amazing!! This film blew my hair back and took my breathe away. This film is bathed in dark but equally bright tones, it mashes them together so well to blend in with the films story That the filmmakers make it look like something whole different form our world. The theme of the movie is not what I'd call religious or spiritually at all but it works. And that's why the film works,this film works on a whole different level than most comic book adaptions and even most supernatural thrillers it put's it case and makes a statement most films don't have the balls to do and they do it with such style and grace that this film just blows away the competition and makes other supernatural thrillers look like seaseme street, and I mus say that's hard to do. Seeing as most films in this genre crash and burn this one takes off to new heights and makes you see what you've never seen before. Keanu Reeves( who in my opinion is an awesome actor.) turns in one of his best and most powerful performances of his career as a man who been to the ends of life and back. And Keanu does it with such style and grace that John Constantine that you just can't hate. This film is not as you expect it too be, when you pop in this film you expect it to be your usual supernatural thriller, but you get so much more. You get a trip into a world that nobodies ever seen before and you come our saying "Hey that was actually pretty cool." And then you know that you've gotten what your money's paid for. Expand
  56. JenniferL.
    Feb 15, 2005
    7
    It wasn't as bad as it could have been. Keanu did his best Eastwood impression throughout the whole movie. And looked pretty. Shia Lebeouf has got some potential. There was plenty of wincing, but it's entertaining if you don't expect much.
  57. Erik
    Feb 16, 2005
    8
    Kick Ass movie. Worth paying.
  58. Mr.E
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    Takes major liberties with the comic book, but if you don't go expecting that, CONSTANTINE is very entertaining. The supporting cast is wonderful.
  59. GaryM.
    Feb 17, 2005
    8
    Better than "Spiderman" or "X-Men" (1 and/or 2), if you're willing to compare movies based on comic books. Would not hesitate to go see a sequel (if there is one considered and Guillermo Del Toro or David Fincher was directing).
  60. JohnC.
    Feb 17, 2005
    8
    Not bad not bad! although yes it's kinda itsy bitsy little tiny bit confusing but if you just pay enough attention you'll get the whole picture. And to translate what the possessed girl said during the intro: "Papatayin natin sila" means "We'll kill them all" in english.
  61. karenb
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Its a good escape while waiting for spring.
  62. MitchK.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    Very well made, Keanu has done a great job. Only a lowly cynic can find fault with this film.
  63. StephenF.
    Feb 18, 2005
    4
    Standard loud popular movie meant to impress...no illumination on theology or magic.
  64. JoyE.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. It was really well done. All of the actors did a great job. I hope that they do a sequel. Francis Lawrence did a great job I have no doubt that he will be doing more films in the future.
  65. DanB.
    Feb 19, 2005
    5
    It could've been worse. But it was mostly pretty hackneyed stuff - all the ingredients were there but the film never gelled together to have actual style or rhythm. Visually, too, it kinda lacked imagination - lotsa typical "hellish" scenery and "biblical" histrionics, but it just kinda fell flat. It wasn't as clever or creepy as Devil's Advocate, anyway, nor as visceral It could've been worse. But it was mostly pretty hackneyed stuff - all the ingredients were there but the film never gelled together to have actual style or rhythm. Visually, too, it kinda lacked imagination - lotsa typical "hellish" scenery and "biblical" histrionics, but it just kinda fell flat. It wasn't as clever or creepy as Devil's Advocate, anyway, nor as visceral and just plain cool as the Matrix. The point is: you're not missing much by not seeing it. Expand
  66. IvisB.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    I think the reviewers who put this film down must have been smoking something. It was excellent, and the acting top-notch. Notice the difference everywhere between viewer votes and critic votes?
  67. TravisE.
    Feb 19, 2005
    3
    This film has a dull spin on an old plot. i was very excited to go see the movie, but after dozens of cliche's and numerous scenes trying to make reeves look like a bad ass i nearly walked out.oh and if you dont know comedy(directors) dont try, the ending made me want to throw up. peace.
  68. Amber
    Feb 19, 2005
    9
    I wasn't expecting much when I went to see this- I figured, Keanu Reeves (who I love but I admit his acting is usually at a C level) in a movie about demons and hell and heaven? Sounds to me lame, but like I said I love him, so I went to see it. And I was extremely pleasantly surprised! It had just the right amount of "spooky" mixed with human and a love story that wasn't all I wasn't expecting much when I went to see this- I figured, Keanu Reeves (who I love but I admit his acting is usually at a C level) in a movie about demons and hell and heaven? Sounds to me lame, but like I said I love him, so I went to see it. And I was extremely pleasantly surprised! It had just the right amount of "spooky" mixed with human and a love story that wasn't all cheesy and didn't hinder the film at all. Shia LeBeouf (spelling?) was my least favorite part of the film, only because I thought he was a bit extraneous and didn't really need to be in there. Gavin Rossdale made a very pleasing little cameo, and he was good, which I also wasn't expecting. Rockers-turned-actors and all, you know. Anyway, it's very good. Don't be expecting an Oscar-worthy film of course, but you won't have wasted your time. Expand
  69. EricY.
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    I thought the movie was absolutely fantastic. It's about time a movie came out that I actually got excited about watching. Keanu Reeves and Rachel Weisz were really great. I was also suprised to see Gavin Rossdale (from the music group Bush) in a role in the film. The film is definately worth watching!
  70. PaulF.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    The "professional" critics must has thrown a major crack party the night before this movie's release and liberally passed around the pipe to each other. Shame on them, I'm sorry but this movie was really really good, from start to finish. This surprised me since there were quite a few people who wrote they were disappointed with the ending. If there was any flaw with the movie The "professional" critics must has thrown a major crack party the night before this movie's release and liberally passed around the pipe to each other. Shame on them, I'm sorry but this movie was really really good, from start to finish. This surprised me since there were quite a few people who wrote they were disappointed with the ending. If there was any flaw with the movie it is that Keanu Reeves cannot pretend to cough his lungs out to say his life. For this I deduct two points giving it a 9.8. Other than this he was perfect for the role. I have never seen the comic in which this movie was based on, but maybe some people couldn't get a blonde haired british guy out of their head for the leading role. I guess ignorance is bliss in this case, nothing to have to compare it too, I just enjoyed what I saw. The strongest points to this movie in order were first the special effects (A++ they were perfect) the story line (cohesively creative, but yet did not take itself too seriously), and finally the acting. The acting though not deeply emotional, it wasn't suppose to be, the movie had too much camp for that. They did what they were suppose to and it worked. If I had to guess why some critics and fewer amatuer reviewers did not like this film is maybe they A) were offended religiously or B) took this film way too seriously. This film is not ment to make you cry. It about sitting back and enjoying the imagary and having a couple of great laughs, and if you want to push it it could stimulate some to think about the larger spiritual implications this movie points to. Though I highly, highly, recommend seeing this film, it is up to the viewer to have the correct lense to see this films beauty. Expand
  71. [Anonymous]
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    As a girl who goes to Catholic school and deals with the attempted brain washing that my theology teachers throw at me every day...I have a biased towards this movie. John Constantine embodies all my repugnance towards a lot of the bull that students today have to endure. I loved it!
  72. PierreS.
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    The movie was really kool!....the visual was great, even if the story is poor....I recommend the movie to everyone who likes easy stories with lots of great fx!...
  73. ZeusPrime
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    Ignore the critics, if you like horror/sci-fi/action movies and are tired of great ideas being squandered by poor/average execution, then give this one a chance. The story is pretty interesting as is the main character. Could it have been better? Sure but I have only seen a few pretty much perfect movies over the years so all recent movies could stand a little improvement. Constantine is Ignore the critics, if you like horror/sci-fi/action movies and are tired of great ideas being squandered by poor/average execution, then give this one a chance. The story is pretty interesting as is the main character. Could it have been better? Sure but I have only seen a few pretty much perfect movies over the years so all recent movies could stand a little improvement. Constantine is a good movie in a sea of bad ones... Expand
  74. VinceH.
    Feb 22, 2005
    5
    After a superb opening sequence (seemingly influenced by a Chris Cunningham music video I'd say), the rest of the film cannot live up to it. I agree with Nick S. about Francis Lawrence as a director...I am sure he spent more time working on special effects and flashy razmatazz than working with the actors or maintaining a fluid narrative, but the MTV style actually does work in this After a superb opening sequence (seemingly influenced by a Chris Cunningham music video I'd say), the rest of the film cannot live up to it. I agree with Nick S. about Francis Lawrence as a director...I am sure he spent more time working on special effects and flashy razmatazz than working with the actors or maintaining a fluid narrative, but the MTV style actually does work in this film and Lawrence does a good job of keepin the pace brisk and entertaining. Reeves is still doing his Neo impression, but is surrounded by a cast of GREAT actors inlcluding Rachel Weisz, Pruitt Taylor Vince, Tilda Swinton, and Peter Stormare. Seeing all these great actors in a silly comic book movies is almost worth the price of admission alone. I'd say see the film if you are a fan of the comic or of action films, but those looking for 2 hours of escape can find better. Expand
  75. BitBurn
    Feb 23, 2005
    7
    OK well, I rate it more like 7.5/10...It isn
  76. HJ
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    Did some of those professional critics actually see the movie or is there some sort of textbook they all use for Keanu Reeves movies. Do they just write stuff they think everybody wants to read and not bother to actually view it with an open mind? Some of those critics come down on him for his unnuanced performances and they don't seem to see the irony that their own writings are Did some of those professional critics actually see the movie or is there some sort of textbook they all use for Keanu Reeves movies. Do they just write stuff they think everybody wants to read and not bother to actually view it with an open mind? Some of those critics come down on him for his unnuanced performances and they don't seem to see the irony that their own writings are superficial, without any nuance and over the top. Anyway about the movie: I went to see the movie not expecting too much because of the mixed reviews and I've read some very bad reviews. I went out of the theater wondering if I saw the same movie as them. I loved it because it holds many aspects I like in a movie: the anti-hero, good and bad forces but not in a black and white sort of way but with lots of shades of grey, spiritual and religious aspects (but without taking them too seriously) Keanu Reeves was great as the anti-hero. I wouldn't give him an oscar nomination for this either but to rate him 'the worst actor in Hollywood' is just stupid, nasty and silly and those critics need to get over themselves. Expand
  77. Havok
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    This Movie rocked so hard. Keanu Reeves is sweet and definately not typed cast as neo as he so easily showed in constantine. anyone who doubts this has no imagination!
  78. BlueWolf
    Mar 13, 2005
    8
    Apparently people either love or hate this film. I'm in the former category. Sure Keanu can't act but who cares? It's an action movie and it's not supposed to be perfect. But it almost is. That's the surprising part. Great supporting actors, awesome noir atmosphere and, yes, even Keanu who's right at home in the role of Constantine. Definitely a go see twice.
  79. EthanP.
    Mar 15, 2005
    6
    Interesting fantasy. Superhero movies are usually so banal and predictable. This one is convoluded and contrived enough to keep me guessing. It's creative, if nothing else.
  80. MarceloB.
    Mar 20, 2005
    2
    Boring, superficial and full of stupidity. A total waste of time. I went to see the movies with 4 of my movie friends and we all hated it. Don't waste your money.
  81. ChipR
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    I really beleive that you need only ask yourself two questions before going to see this film. Did you enjoy the first Blade movie? Could you tolerate Keanu in the Matrix? If you answered yes to both you will love this movie.
  82. ElRojoElRojo
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Mejor pelicula !!!
  83. FernandoT
    Mar 23, 2005
    3
    Same as Devil's advocate... good FX, but the history is stupid.
  84. RafaelC
    Mar 29, 2005
    7
    Constantine is not a Greath movie, but its not a bad one either, it has its dull and stupid moments ( this guy goes to Hell with one feet in the water and looking a Cat in the eyes ? ) and its Greath and Impresive ones ( the scene where the Devil enters the room where Gabriel and hes son Mammon ( LOL, thats a really SAD name! ) are about to finish the ritual that... well i dont want to Constantine is not a Greath movie, but its not a bad one either, it has its dull and stupid moments ( this guy goes to Hell with one feet in the water and looking a Cat in the eyes ? ) and its Greath and Impresive ones ( the scene where the Devil enters the room where Gabriel and hes son Mammon ( LOL, thats a really SAD name! ) are about to finish the ritual that... well i dont want to spoil more of the film... ). The movie is Worth seening at least once, at least for the special effects and religious story. P.S Mammon in spanish means Sucker, LOL. Expand
  85. catraven
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!! I don't understand how any horror/action lover could not appreciate this great movie. I would definitely see this again!
  86. jayb
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    Extremely entertaining movie, action packed and it keeps you locked on the screen on what's going to happen next. Excellent!!!
  87. CooperG.
    May 6, 2005
    3
    A movie that had alot of potential, but ended up being very cheesy. The CG was very unconvincing, and the plot was feeble. A good cast who won't be proud of this one!
  88. AndrewCh.
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Too many close-minded religious folks are seeing this movie. Of course they are going to be offended! For the rest of us, this is a great movie with incredible special effects (espeicially in hell), decent acting, cool demons and even a sense of humour.
  89. matta.
    Sep 1, 2005
    5
    Nice visuals and this part did fit Keanu well, but it got pretty bad near the end (except for Peter Stormare as Satan-perfect) and I wish that the story would have been fleshed-out a little bit more. It's still mediocre though and has enough redeeming qualities to check it out once on DVD.
  90. AndrewL
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    I managed to sit through the entire thing without fuss, great movie. The blurb on the back of the blu-ray cover indicated a totally different film to what I ended up watching, action wasn't totally lacking but I would've liked to have seen more. However, what Constantine turned out to be was wonderful both in story and visually. I'd never read or even heard about the comics I managed to sit through the entire thing without fuss, great movie. The blurb on the back of the blu-ray cover indicated a totally different film to what I ended up watching, action wasn't totally lacking but I would've liked to have seen more. However, what Constantine turned out to be was wonderful both in story and visually. I'd never read or even heard about the comics but like anyone else once you hear human versus demons it's a must see, and Constantine lived up to expectations, just a little more quiet than expected. Expand
  91. annar.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Keanu is simply the best for this role!!!!!
  92. Billy
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    Wasn't too sure what this movie was about, but I was shocked that it was a pretty damn good film. Worth seeing in theaters!
  93. PhilT.
    Feb 17, 2005
    5
    The first part of the movie is OK, the second part is hard to understand. Or perhaps there's nothing to understand - the movie is badly done.
  94. youhann.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  95. KobeeH.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    2005 has been onto a pathetic start with a plethora of crappy or mediocre films. Enter Constantine. An excellent movie that keeps you engaged by an element missing from this year's movies. A terrific story. Sure heaven and hell stories have been told before, but this one is fresh and original. Unless you're a reader of the Hellblazer comic this movie is based on. Keanu Reeves 2005 has been onto a pathetic start with a plethora of crappy or mediocre films. Enter Constantine. An excellent movie that keeps you engaged by an element missing from this year's movies. A terrific story. Sure heaven and hell stories have been told before, but this one is fresh and original. Unless you're a reader of the Hellblazer comic this movie is based on. Keanu Reeves plays John Constantine expertly, excellent casting by debut feature film director, Francis Lawrence. But, more on Mr. Lawrence in a minute. As I was saying, Keanu Reeves loves this character, and it comes through in spades. The supporting cast is also terrific, really adding to the character and the movie in general. The special effects here are top notch. Gritty, dark and gruesome. All when they need to be. As I said before, this is well-known, music video director, Francis Lawrence's first feature film and he does a brilliant job of creating a movie that is smart, interesting, and just plain cool! The look and feel of the movie keeps your eyes and mind glued to the screen. Also, excellent storytelling on Lawrence's part again worth mentioning. Bottom line, Constantine is the best movie so far this year. A bold statement? Yeah. But an honest one. Expand
  96. Loser
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    This movie is splitting the critics down the middle... this gives you a good way to see who you agree with after watching the movie. This is a pretty good sci-fi, good vers evil story. I think most critics like Ebert are in the Aviator, Sideways mode where they need extreme character development and the dialogue is slow, deep, boring. Constantine is at least as good as Blade III and there This movie is splitting the critics down the middle... this gives you a good way to see who you agree with after watching the movie. This is a pretty good sci-fi, good vers evil story. I think most critics like Ebert are in the Aviator, Sideways mode where they need extreme character development and the dialogue is slow, deep, boring. Constantine is at least as good as Blade III and there is a great building suspense with many action scenes. Think Blade meets the Exorcist with Seventh Sign thrown in and you'll have the idea. Reeves shines as best he can but it's a worth effort. So don't listen to the critics if you like the other movies I mentioned.... they are over analyzing as usual. later. Expand
  97. ChadS.
    Feb 18, 2005
    5
    Tilda Swinton, as Gabriel, suggests the Brit veteran would've been a capable alternate for Cate Blanchett in "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy. Swinton, like Blanchett, lends gravitas to an otherwordly creature, and it's an ability much needed in this muddled comic book adaptation. Swinton de-cheeses "Constantine" a bit whenever she's on screen. The fate of her character Tilda Swinton, as Gabriel, suggests the Brit veteran would've been a capable alternate for Cate Blanchett in "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy. Swinton, like Blanchett, lends gravitas to an otherwordly creature, and it's an ability much needed in this muddled comic book adaptation. Swinton de-cheeses "Constantine" a bit whenever she's on screen. The fate of her character amusingly recalls a crucial plot point in Wim Wenders' "Wings of Desire". Rachel Weisz, on the other hand, looks remarkably well-adjusted, as if Hell was merely the inner-city. You're in hell, baby, it's alright to scream hysterically if a pack of gargoyles give you the eye. I would. Expand
  98. Nate
    Feb 19, 2005
    9
    I am not a big Keanu fan. Movie probably would have been better with a different protagonist.. but he didn't wreck it, either. Very well done tale of Heaven vs. Hell, angels vs. demons. I could pick it appart.. but why. The fact is I really enjoyed this movie.
  99. RalphL.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    Rocking good time!
  100. MontySt.C.
    Feb 19, 2005
    8
    This is one of those rare movies that actually gets better as it goes along. Solid acting by Reeves and Weisz, with standouts by Swinton as Gabriel and Peter Stormare as Satan.(who in my opinion gives one of, if not the best turn as "The Father of Liars" in a movie ever). The visuals and art direction were superb and lent a great deal to the overall success of the movie. However, the This is one of those rare movies that actually gets better as it goes along. Solid acting by Reeves and Weisz, with standouts by Swinton as Gabriel and Peter Stormare as Satan.(who in my opinion gives one of, if not the best turn as "The Father of Liars" in a movie ever). The visuals and art direction were superb and lent a great deal to the overall success of the movie. However, the pacing was somewhat uneven but is forgivable. Dont listen to the bad scores as those peopleobviously have no imagination or appreciation for the genre. BOTTOM LINE: Go in with moderate expectations and an open mind and you will not be disappointed! Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41
  1. An engrossing mix of atmospheric gothic horror and smart sci-fi that's cemented by intriguing mythology, terrific visual effects, a dry sense of humor and an ideally cast Keanu Reeves.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    This adaptation of the graphic novel "Hellblazer" blazes few new trails and bogs down in a confusing narrative muddle.
  3. Reeves has confidently entered his self-parodic period. You’ll enjoy his wry post-Matrix murmurs and squinty stares.