Release Date: August 11, 2006
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
4
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ChuckR.Aug 24, 2006
I thought, at first, that the split screen would drive me crazy, but after a few minutes became absorbed in the film. It's a different way of telling an old story, and therefore adds something to it. I saw it a second time so that I I thought, at first, that the split screen would drive me crazy, but after a few minutes became absorbed in the film. It's a different way of telling an old story, and therefore adds something to it. I saw it a second time so that I could see "how it was done." And I saw a slightly different movie the second time, presumably because I changed the frames I was focused on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CynthiaH.Apr 5, 2007
A brilliant piece of work!! Though it was so distracting to watch the split screens at the beginning, the story just draws you in. The conversation, as well as the chemistry and tension between the 2 people are captivating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GollyT.Aug 21, 2006
Best movie of the year, by far. Great performances, brilliant use of split screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CatrionaB.Oct 23, 2007
It reminded me of a play - with the split screen you are looking at one actor, but can see the other out of the corner of your eye, without completely taking in what they are doing. As Chuck mentioned above, it would be interesting to see it It reminded me of a play - with the split screen you are looking at one actor, but can see the other out of the corner of your eye, without completely taking in what they are doing. As Chuck mentioned above, it would be interesting to see it again from the other perspective. Very much enjoyed it and the chemistry between the leads is beautiful to watch and very real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulB.Mar 26, 2007
The split screen takes some getting use to, but it actually wins you over and become an integral part of the movie. I'm not much for clever 'new' techniques, but this one eventually worked. As for the story, it was simple but The split screen takes some getting use to, but it actually wins you over and become an integral part of the movie. I'm not much for clever 'new' techniques, but this one eventually worked. As for the story, it was simple but well-acted. If you've ever been in love with someone and you both knew there wouldn't have a happy ending, you'll definitely relate to this story. The characters were real and the dialogue was simple. Charming movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobinsNestFeb 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A love story although mis-titled as their is only one woman. Ms Carter is wonderful as always but Mr Eckhart is uncomfortable in the role. He is either making jokes or overly depressed. This must be to hide his true feelings, he wants back in her life, but he is not strong enough for me to want them to get back together. Even with his performance I liked the film, talky as it is. Ms Carter is sexy, aloof, mysterious, and I'd want to get back with her! She did make the right choice on not continuing with Mr Eckhart. A solid whimsical, poignant film I rate a B. One very important plus-the entire movie is filmed in split screen. At the start i was not sure if this was temporary and it was a bit off putting. As the film progressed I was able to see different POV's and it heightened my enjoyment. Must have been a very difficult task when editing; like putting together two different films that have to "work" side by side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RobertBroganSep 28, 2015
Conversations with Other Women is a film for people who enjoy conversation and experimentation. It is very much an ambiguous and paradoxical film: is this improvisational honesty? Is it alternate reality? The split screen feels like it is aConversations with Other Women is a film for people who enjoy conversation and experimentation. It is very much an ambiguous and paradoxical film: is this improvisational honesty? Is it alternate reality? The split screen feels like it is a natural element and yet remains a fascinating device throughout. Recommended to fans of errant romance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Feb 6, 2018
I didn't quite like its narrative style but the script has intelligent, precise and honest dialogues that even though was supported by the good work of the cast, in the end I couldn't help having a certain feeling that the tension andI didn't quite like its narrative style but the script has intelligent, precise and honest dialogues that even though was supported by the good work of the cast, in the end I couldn't help having a certain feeling that the tension and intensity got diluted too quickly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews