Miramax Films | Release Date: August 15, 1997
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 59 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
11
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MichaelK.Mar 25, 2008
The movie introduced cop and crook life in a conservative style and flaw´d only very little on the way. A decent 9/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HusamB.Mar 31, 2008
this had to be one of Stallon'e finest movies, the story is great, his performance even greater, you really feel sorry for the character, sly's portrayal was truly magnificent, all the ensambled cast made the movie a true masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianeS.Apr 14, 2007
I just discovered this amazing film. What a gathering of eagles. I think this is a masterpiece, and an accomplishment that all the artists in it can be proud of. It is a landmark in American film making, deepening our integrity and awakening I just discovered this amazing film. What a gathering of eagles. I think this is a masterpiece, and an accomplishment that all the artists in it can be proud of. It is a landmark in American film making, deepening our integrity and awakening our responsibility. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
wololoooAug 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Cop Land presents us with an interesting premise - in a town just across the river from Manhattan, a closely-knit group of NYPD detectives have founded a town built as a mostly crime-free haven for their families. Behind the calm appearance of the town, however, is a deep web of corruption. When hero cop "Superboy" accidentally guns down two black teenagers, he is whisked away under the illusion of a suicide, and the rest of the films follows the attempts of an IA detective (De Niro) to uncover the conspiracy.
The town's Sherrif, played by Stallone, pulls no real weight and is well past his prime, but he is effectively the only man who can blow the whistle on the operation. Stallone gives a very toned-down performance, much less narcissistic and self-indulgent than many of his previous roles. Keitel, De Niro and especially Liotta are all great, as are the rest of the supporting cast, making the most of the inconsistent dialogue. The narrative plays out in a very real and human way, with little over-dramatization or mindless action sequences, which I thought definitely added to the film. There's a huge amount of characters and subplots, and because of this many were quite undeveloped and I was left with some unanswered questions that I felt could easily have been answered. The final shootout seems lazily shot and edited, giving what I thought was a somewhat underwhelming finish to what was a huge buildup. Aside from these flaws however, Cop Land was a very entertaining film, and while it didn't blow me away it certainly outdid my expectations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
stallonefan80Jul 29, 2012
Whoever says Stallone cant act is full of it.Hes proven time and again and in this one he hangs with the big dogs like Deniro and Harvey Kietel.A Amazing Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oliver1hMar 25, 2013
A slow and rather realistic police drama with great performances from Keitel, Stallone, Liotta, De Niro. Recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LeifSep 16, 2013
A brilliant cast and an sharp, literate script make this one of the more overlooked films of the 90's. Stallone's morose and overweight small-town sheriff is a clever and well executed casting choice and he serves the film well by doing muchA brilliant cast and an sharp, literate script make this one of the more overlooked films of the 90's. Stallone's morose and overweight small-town sheriff is a clever and well executed casting choice and he serves the film well by doing much with his body language and letting the other actors do the more fiery displays of cop-on-the-edge theatrics. Ray Liotta gets a part worthy of his brand of intensity and the mash up of High Noon meets Goodfellas is very effective. Too many story arcs spoil the cleanliness of the narrative for many but repeated viewings (of the directors cut preferably which has a valuable 12 extra minutes) show that most of it works itself out. The finale is exceptional in how it allows Stallone to be heroic but in a tired, bloody and almost defeated fashion. Being the hero probably isn't that fun sometimes and he realizes that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Cop Land is actually a pretty good cop movie i never knew about it which it crazy because it has a lot of big name actors in it like Sylvester Stallone, Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, Harvey Keitel, Robert Patrick, Michael Rapaport. But seeingCop Land is actually a pretty good cop movie i never knew about it which it crazy because it has a lot of big name actors in it like Sylvester Stallone, Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, Harvey Keitel, Robert Patrick, Michael Rapaport. But seeing that James Mangold directed it and i like most his other movies i thought id give it a try and it didnt disappoint. The movie follows Freddy Heflin (Stallone) as head sheriff in the small town of Garrison, New Jersey. the town is home to a bunch of corrupted cops form the New York Police department and as the corruption gets worse Freddy Heflin can no longer stay by and he steps in to end it and in doing opens up a massive cover-up within the NYPD.

Overall i give it a 7.0 id definitely recommend this and ill even call it underrated.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RekkrFeb 16, 2014
Very solid film. It shouldn't take a film genius to recognize the awesome ensemble cast, and for those wondering if Sylvester Stallone actually does have chops behind that beaten face of his - it is more than worthwhile checking this filmVery solid film. It shouldn't take a film genius to recognize the awesome ensemble cast, and for those wondering if Sylvester Stallone actually does have chops behind that beaten face of his - it is more than worthwhile checking this film out. He gives quite a captivating and sympathetic performance, and undoubtedly helps carry along the sound albeit somewhat predictable and straightforward plot.
The rest of the cast - featuring no less than De Niro, Liotta and Keitel among others - only add value to the film.
Overall, it is an entertaining and surprisingly intelligent film that left me quite satisfied. If anything, it's only real detriment is a shortage of particularly 'stand-out' moments (the sweet cast occasionally feels underused). Still very much worth it, though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marc5477Jan 20, 2016
Aside from the mostly incredible cast, this movie is excellent on its own merit. Its a slow moving story about corruption, in this case, within the police force in New York and how one good cop influenced others who were morally strugglingAside from the mostly incredible cast, this movie is excellent on its own merit. Its a slow moving story about corruption, in this case, within the police force in New York and how one good cop influenced others who were morally struggling with the activities they saw happening around them. It also plays on how good intentions can sometimes lead to complacency even in light of wrong doing. The movie spends most of its time on characterization which makes the transition believable by the end. There are some holes in the movie which stop me from rating it higher such as the handling of the cop in hiding by both sides... i mean... why would you lock him up in such an obvious place and leave him alone when you know every cop is after him? Why did the corrupt cops not handcuff their enemies when they had the chance? Stuff like that. But again, this movie is less about the plot than it is about the characters and their internal struggles so the plot holes do not detract from the movie very much.

Overall an enjoyable movie and a great acting job from many very famous actors.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews