Focus Features | Release Date: February 6, 2009
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 603 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
506
Mixed:
50
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MargaretS.Mar 9, 2009
In reading most of these comments, I noticed that the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children. Maybe that's who this movie is geared for perhaps. As a middle aged adult In reading most of these comments, I noticed that the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children. Maybe that's who this movie is geared for perhaps. As a middle aged adult who has seen my fair share of adult movies as well as many kid movies, I didn't find this movie particularly enjoyable for the following reasons: poor characterization and poor story flow. If it weren't for the superior 3D animation holding our attention, my family and I would have left the theatre within 10 minutes and asked for out money back. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
HeidiE.Feb 21, 2009
This movie was horrible. I have never written a review about a movie good or bad before, but this was so bad I felt compelled to write. It was not a movie for kids. It was way to scary and the story line for adults and kids was long, drawn This movie was horrible. I have never written a review about a movie good or bad before, but this was so bad I felt compelled to write. It was not a movie for kids. It was way to scary and the story line for adults and kids was long, drawn out and boring. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
BillC.Feb 21, 2009
Pure garbage in 3D. A kids Movie? Maybe for idiots and morans. A story poorly told and not enjoyed by anyone in the theater we were in. No Joke. What's a kids movie doing with a busty animated dancing lady with pasties all about?? Why Pure garbage in 3D. A kids Movie? Maybe for idiots and morans. A story poorly told and not enjoyed by anyone in the theater we were in. No Joke. What's a kids movie doing with a busty animated dancing lady with pasties all about?? Why the high rating on meta critic??? This thing was just awful. Again , I can say No One in the Theater seemed to like it. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
1
JulianM.Mar 3, 2009
It was horrible. I couldn't get into it at all... it made no sense. Avoid it, unless you're under 5. The animation is pretty choppy, even with 3D. I can't see how it got all these great reviews.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CoralineRApr 7, 2009
I wish I could give it a lower score, because this was the worst movie I have seen in many years. Pathetic story, terrible animation, no pace, I fought to stay awake, and later regretted doing so.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BenGOct 3, 2009
Gaiman is truly the most over-rated writer who should be on the D-List for DULL. Coraline was a mediocre book and a crappy, and painfully boring movie. Like any mediocre artist, Gaiman is now going for notoriety by hooking up with the Gaiman is truly the most over-rated writer who should be on the D-List for DULL. Coraline was a mediocre book and a crappy, and painfully boring movie. Like any mediocre artist, Gaiman is now going for notoriety by hooking up with the untalented Palmer who in turn strips her clothes off at the slightest provocation. I heard they were Scientologists, which would explain an awful lot since Scientologists act like loons out in public. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
SeanS.Feb 24, 2009
I agree with some of the recent negative reviews. I posted a negative review a week ago and it was erased. Are any of these 10 reviews for real? My wife and I thought it was really boring and long. My friends who saw this movie with their I agree with some of the recent negative reviews. I posted a negative review a week ago and it was erased. Are any of these 10 reviews for real? My wife and I thought it was really boring and long. My friends who saw this movie with their kids also said their kids wanted to leave the theater because it was boring and made no sense. The animation was choppy and overall story line was creepy and way too long. Who is behind all these positive reviews? Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
0
DylanD.Aug 16, 2009
Overrated tripe.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JethroA.Aug 17, 2009
Boring boring boring. Very annoying main character with very very annoying voice acting. Grated on my nerves for 10 minutes til I turned it off. I didn't see it all, but I couldn't stand another second.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
SamGAug 7, 2009
One star for the animation, interesting but gross. The story was absolute crap. Coraline was annoying, the parents were miserable, I walked out when they started the naked old lady dancing. Gaiman just did a mutilation porn book with his One star for the animation, interesting but gross. The story was absolute crap. Coraline was annoying, the parents were miserable, I walked out when they started the naked old lady dancing. Gaiman just did a mutilation porn book with his transvestite "girlfriend" Amanda Palmer, so it figures he would create trash like this. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TreyDNov 14, 2009
Somebody asked why the high rating for this incredibly boring and just plain nasty movie, Coraline. Answer... because Neil Gaiman is a scientologist and they have rooms full of sea org slaves writing positive reviews. Beware, Coraline is a Somebody asked why the high rating for this incredibly boring and just plain nasty movie, Coraline. Answer... because Neil Gaiman is a scientologist and they have rooms full of sea org slaves writing positive reviews. Beware, Coraline is a depressing misery. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
xlogan123May 4, 2012
I saw this movie with the family, and there wasn't a single one of us who enjoyed it. Very disappointing given the hype about it. The story was boring, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, regardless of age.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
mrmonsterMay 5, 2016
I do not understand any of the hype for this garbage movie at all. If you ask me, this movie was horrible. Not just because it was disturbing, but because it was just plain awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SwitSwatSep 8, 2012
Ok, so, my family and I decided to go to the movies, just to do something fun. We decide on Coraline... because it was, apparently, the only family movie available... so, we go in and sit down. Not even halfway through the movie, my parentsOk, so, my family and I decided to go to the movies, just to do something fun. We decide on Coraline... because it was, apparently, the only family movie available... so, we go in and sit down. Not even halfway through the movie, my parents ask me if I wanna leave. The only reason I said "no," was to see how much worse the movie could get. I was absolutely shocked. It was one of the worst, if not, the worst movie I have ever seen! I don't get all the critics making a big deal over this saying,"Great movie! Blah Blah Blah." Neither my Dad, Mom, or my sister enjoyed it. What a disappointment! It was too weird, the story made no sense. The only thing decent, was the 3D, otherwise, it sucks. 2/10 from me. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
tysonb2021Feb 13, 2017
Boraline

“Coraline” is a trainwreck of a film that had potential, but lacks the ability to catch the viewer's’ interest from the start. We witnessed the horror called “Coraline” unfold before our eyes. It’s a dark fantasy film constructed
Boraline

“Coraline” is a trainwreck of a film that had potential, but lacks the ability to catch the viewer's’ interest from the start. We witnessed the horror called “Coraline” unfold before our eyes. It’s a dark fantasy film constructed with bad-quality, stop-motion animation. This movie is rated PG and was produced by Laika Entertainment.
“Coraline” starts out with a family moving to the 150 year old “Pink Palace,” out in the middle of Ashland, Oregon. The family begins a series of events that are out of the ordinary. First, they find a doll at the doorstep that looks exactly like Coraline and she hauls it around wherever travels take her. She then discovers a hidden door behind the living room wallpaper and Coraline’s mom unlocks it. It’s blocked with bricks until the darkness of night turns it into a magical tunnel that leads to an alternate dimension with the same house and people the difference is that they have buttons for eyes. To find out what happens in this alternate dimension, You will have to watch the movie yourself.
“Coraline” is a creepy gothic movie meant for young children that lacks interest from start to end. Henry Selick and Neil Gaiman have a great team of animators that have constructed amazing movies such as: The Nightmare Before Christmas and James and the Giant Peach. This time, the 3D effects are less than impressive and the stop-motion seemed rushed. Dakota Fanning impressively played Coraline but nothing can make up for this trainwreck.
We recommend this odd piece of film for children 10+. It was creepy and not suitable for little children as it can easily give them horrific nightmares even though the rating is PG. The MPAA rating system really underestimated how eerie and frightening this film could be for the target audience, therefore it should’ve been rated PG-13. The movie was atrocious and caused drowsiness after the mid-way point in the movie, and it was a waste of time and money.
Final Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Alexanderh2021Feb 13, 2017
Boraline

“Coraline” is a trainwreck of a film that had potential, but lacks the ability to catch the viewer's’ interest from the start. We witnessed the horror called “Coraline” unfold before our eyes. It’s a dark fantasy film constructed
Boraline

“Coraline” is a trainwreck of a film that had potential, but lacks the ability to catch the viewer's’ interest from the start. We witnessed the horror called “Coraline” unfold before our eyes. It’s a dark fantasy film constructed with bad-quality, stop-motion animation. This movie is rated PG and was produced by Laika Entertainment.
“Coraline” starts out with a family moving to the 150 year old “Pink Palace,” out in the middle of Ashland, Oregon. The family begins a series of events that are out of the ordinary. First, they find a doll at the doorstep that looks exactly like Coraline and she hauls it around wherever travels take her. She then discovers a hidden door behind the living room wallpaper and Coraline’s mom unlocks it. It’s blocked with bricks until the darkness of night turns it into a magical tunnel that leads to an alternate dimension with the same house and people the difference is that they have buttons for eyes. To find out what happens in this alternate dimension, You will have to watch the movie yourself.
“Coraline” is a creepy gothic movie meant for young children that lacks interest from start to end. Henry Selick and Neil Gaiman have a great team of animators that have constructed amazing movies such as: The Nightmare Before Christmas and James and the Giant Peach. This time, the 3D effects are less than impressive and the stop-motion seemed rushed. Dakota Fanning impressively played Coraline but nothing can make up for this trainwreck.
We recommend this odd piece of film for children 10+. It was creepy and not suitable for little children as it can easily give them horrific nightmares even though the rating is PG. The MPAA rating system really underestimated how eerie and frightening this film could be for the target audience, therefore it should’ve been rated PG-13. The movie was atrocious and caused drowsiness after the mid-way point in the movie, and it was a waste of time and money.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
aevarik2021Feb 13, 2017
I would describe Coraline as a “kid-friendly horror movie”. A movie for only the children with brave souls that can handle jump scares, characters that not only look a little scary, but possess voices that are anything but soothing. ProducedI would describe Coraline as a “kid-friendly horror movie”. A movie for only the children with brave souls that can handle jump scares, characters that not only look a little scary, but possess voices that are anything but soothing. Produced by Laika Entertainment, Coraline creates a very twisted plot which presents the theme of “be careful what you wish for”, but does this movie depict the theme in a way which children will learn from it? I believe it does, if the child isn’t covering their eyes and ears throughout the climax of the movie.
The introduction of this movie, will have the audience disturbed right off the bat. Hands, with long fingers of steel, intricately ripping into the seams of a stuffed doll and recreating its fabrics to make it look exactly like the main character, Coraline. Coraline is a spunky child who had just recently moved into ‘The Pink Palace’, a three story townhome located in the middle of the woods. Coraline goes outside one day, to be disturbed by a stray cat, and her new annoying friend Wybie. We don’t know where Wybie lives, but we do know that he is forbidden from going into the Pink Palace by his strict grandmother. Wybie states that his grandmother doesn’t allow him in the Pink Palace because his grandma’s sister was ‘stolen’ while exploring the Pink Palace and never returned. Coraline, being the sassy thing that she is, rolls her eyes at the thought of her home being dangerous and ignores Wybie. She then comes home, and experiences her parents ignoring her, because they are too busy hunched over their computers to play with her and is disappointed because her parents treat her like she doesn’t exist. The next day, Wybie introduces Coraline to Mr. B, an insane acrobat who is disgustingly flexible. Soon after, Wybie gives Coraline a doll that looks almost exactly like her. Coraline takes the doll and sets it near her bed in a position as if it is watching her. I believe she does this to make it feel like someone does care about her parents, because her parents don’t show they care about her at all whatsoever.
Later, while Coraline’s parents are minding their own business, Coraline finds a small door inside of a wall. She nags her mom for the key to this door, and she does, in exchange for Coraline to leave her alone. Coraline finds that nothing is there but a brick wall, a big disappointment for Coraline. That night she finds jumping mice, that lead her to the small door. When it is opened, she has access to a colorful tunnel, that leads to an entire new world! This new world greets her with an abundant feast and new parents. These parents call themselves the ‘other mother’, and the ‘other father’, and they fill this other world with wonders and superficial love and care for ‘their child’. Coraline soon discovers that this world isn’t what it claims to be, only to learn to “be careful what you wish for”.
Coraline, is a movie that in our opinion, has many positives and negatives. For example, we really enjoyed the stop motion animation that most somewhat recent movies don’t have. We also enjoyed the parts of the movie that were more uplifting, such as when the other mother and other father fed her, showed her the garden that looked like an exact replica of Coraline’s face, the circus shown by Mr. B and the circus mice, and the dog theatre, where an exotic play was presented by Ms. Forcible. However, this movie did have multiple negatives. The dark storyline will definitely either scare a young audience away, or bore them to sleep. Overall we would give this movie a 3 star rating, because we all thought the movie was weird and disturbing but at some parts we liked how it all connected throughout the movie. The type of people to watch the movie depends how brave they are. Children ten and older could watch it, but little kids can watch it if they are brave enough. I would recommend this movie to people who like a little jump-scary action with a gloomy atmosphere. Coraline’s MPAA rating is PG. The movie has it good parts and it’s bad places, but we thought it was okay.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
ashley_yemimaFeb 13, 2017
A Closer Look into “Coraline”

I have just seen “Coraline” and would like to give an opinion about it. Coraline is an eleven year old girl that has just moved to the Pink Palace Apartments. Her parents write about plants and gardening, but
A Closer Look into “Coraline”

I have just seen “Coraline” and would like to give an opinion about it. Coraline is an eleven year old girl that has just moved to the Pink Palace Apartments. Her parents write about plants and gardening, but neglect Coraline and just think she is in the way. So, Coraline goes exploring, and what she finds is shocking. Laika Entertainment created a children’s movie based on Neil Gaiman’s short story “Coraline” that was a bit different from all of the other animation pictures. But, it was a little too mature for younger kids. The plot was tough to follow and a little too scary for some children under the age of 9.

On her first day at Pink Palace she meets Wybie, the owner of the Pink Palace’s grandson who stalks everyone.He finds this doll in his grandma’s trunk that looks exactly like Coraline. She thinks it is kind of weird that they look so alike, but it doesn’t matter to her. Coraline and her parents don’t get along very well so she goes exploring around the house at all the different things and finds this little door locked with a key that leads to a brick wall, but that night when she is sleeping, she follows hopping mice to the door and find it open and not leading to a brick wall, but to another world where everything is the way Coraline wants it. In the world her parents wait on her hand and foot, the food is good, her neighbors are nice and are good at what they do. Coraline also sees that there is a garden which she has been pestering her real parents about the whole time they have been there at the Pink Palace. The creepy catch is that everything in this world has buttons for eyes. She keeps coming to this world and has a great time. But, will it still seem so great after she learns the truth about it?

Some things that I didn’t like about it was that it is way too creepy for a PG movie. There were parts in the movie where things popped out and when some of the other characters mutated into different things. Also, they didn’t elaborate on other characters and their backgrounds. The character development could have been better and clearer, their histories were a little foggy. I wish I could have learned more about the Wybie’s grandma and her background. Some good things about the movie is that the actors did really well playing their parts. You could hear the sarcasm in their voices during the Coraline-Wybie dialogue. For a stop-motion movie, the picture overall was very good. The characters had swift movements and it wasn’t choppy. I think this movie should still be rated PG, but I recommend that it be watched by older kids (around 9-12). The plot may not make sense to the younger children and they won’t understand the theme of the movie. They also will be scared and might have nightmares even when they don’t understand half of the movie. The characters’ appearances started to get more creepy toward the end along with the plot, which made it more bone chilling. We give the movie a 2 out of 5 stars , because it didn’t really elaborate on other characters, and the plot of the movie was really hard to follow. It was too scary for most little kids, and because there was no real meaning to this movie. Even with the theme being “careful what you wish for”, the kids won’t catch on to that meaning they will just be scared out of their pants. That is why I think they should have made a movie that incorporates so scare to it but not so much that 7 year old can’t watch it because it will give them nightmares and you could still make a movie that speaks the same theme but in a better way for all the kids.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
ethanheinemannFeb 13, 2017
A Closer Look into “Coraline”

I have just seen “Coraline” and would like to give an opinion about it. Coraline is an eleven year old girl that has just moved to the Pink Palace Apartments. Her parents write about plants and gardening, but
A Closer Look into “Coraline”

I have just seen “Coraline” and would like to give an opinion about it. Coraline is an eleven year old girl that has just moved to the Pink Palace Apartments. Her parents write about plants and gardening, but neglect Coraline and just think she is in the way. So, Coraline goes exploring, and what she finds is shocking. Laika Entertainment created a children’s movie based on Neil Gaiman’s short story “Coraline” that was a bit different from all of the other animation pictures. But, it was a little too mature for younger kids. The plot was tough to follow and a little too scary for some children under the age of 9.

On her first day at Pink Palace she meets Wybie, the owner of the Pink Palace’s grandson who stalks everyone.He finds this doll in his grandma’s trunk that looks exactly like Coraline. She thinks it is kind of weird that they look so alike, but it doesn’t matter to her. Coraline and her parents don’t get along very well so she goes exploring around the house at all the different things and finds this little door locked with a key that leads to a brick wall, but that night when she is sleeping, she follows hopping mice to the door and find it open and not leading to a brick wall, but to another world where everything is the way Coraline wants it. In the world her parents wait on her hand and foot, the food is good, her neighbors are nice and are good at what they do. Coraline also sees that there is a garden which she has been pestering her real parents about the whole time they have been there at the Pink Palace. The creepy catch is that everything in this world has buttons for eyes. She keeps coming to this world and has a great time. But, will it still seem so great after she learns the truth about it?

Some things that I didn’t like about it was that it is way too creepy for a PG movie. There were parts in the movie where things popped out and when some of the other characters mutated into different things. Also, they didn’t elaborate on other characters and their backgrounds. The character development could have been better and clearer, their histories were a little foggy. I wish I could have learned more about the Wybie’s grandma and her background. Some good things about the movie is that the actors did really well playing their parts. You could hear the sarcasm in their voices during the Coraline-Wybie dialogue. For a stop-motion movie, the picture overall was very good. The characters had swift movements and it wasn’t choppy. I think this movie should still be rated PG, but I recommend that it be watched by older kids (around 9-12). The plot may not make sense to the younger children and they won’t understand the theme of the movie. They also will be scared and might have nightmares even when they don’t understand half of the movie. The characters’ appearances started to get more creepy toward the end along with the plot, which made it more bone chilling. We give the movie a 2 out of 5 stars , because it didn’t really elaborate on other characters, and the plot of the movie was really hard to follow. It was too scary for most little kids, and because there was no real meaning to this movie. Even with the theme being “careful what you wish for”, the kids won’t catch on to that meaning they will just be scared out of their pants. That is why I think they should have made a movie that incorporates so scare to it but not so much that 7 year olds can’t watch it because it will give them nightmares and you could still make a movie that speaks the same theme but in a better way for all the kids.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
taylorcolvertFeb 13, 2017
If you’re looking for a movie that has laughs for adults and a spook for younger viewers Coraline is the movie for you. In 2009 the movie Coraline was made by Laika Entertainment. I just watched the movie for a school project. The movieIf you’re looking for a movie that has laughs for adults and a spook for younger viewers Coraline is the movie for you. In 2009 the movie Coraline was made by Laika Entertainment. I just watched the movie for a school project. The movie Coraline is based off a book made by Neil Gaiman. Coraline the main character is played by Dakota Fanning. The main character in this movie is Coraline and the supporting characters are Wybie (Wyborn), Bobinsky, Coraline’s other and real mother and father, the cat, and the 2 woman that live in the basement. Coraline, a girl from Michigan, has made the move to the Pink Palace Apartments in Oregon for her parent’s job. While the Jones family believed their life would continue to be bland and routine, Coraline opens the door to secrets and a whole lot of problems. While Coraline wonders the house counting squeaky doors, leaky windows, and odd paintings she finds a locked, knee high door in the family room. Making a deal with her mom she unlocks the door, to find bricks and the door blocked off. With help from mice she’s welcomed into the alternate world with open arms from her other mother and father. The first visit Coraline realized that while everything was the same, one main difference stood out, the buttons on the eyes of her alternate parents. Coraline, continues to visit the alternate world but begins to get a more eerie vibe with each visit. With Coraline’s other mother trying to love her forever, will Coraline give into the other world’s temptations? Some of the things we liked was the stop motion filming and unique story line. The other mother was a very strong character and the movie centered around her and the world she created. I feel like Wybie was a key character in the movie but never fully developed. I also believe that while the main focus was on Coraline’s other parents, there was not enough screen time of her real parents to get a full feel for Coraline’s home life. The characters were played very well by the actors behind them, and helped really tie the movie together. While there were many positives, I believe the movie was inappropriate for the age group it is advertised in. With scandalous content in the scene with Forcible and Spink’s performance in the alternate world and an alarming plot with characters who change for the worst the movie is not as family friendly as it is portrayed. I would recommend this movie to people who are into an eerie vibe. Parents may want to view the movie before their children.With the possibility of nightmares from characters who change to be creepy and scenes that include jump scares I don’t recommend this for anyone younger than 7. The MPAA rating of this movie is PG, and despite its rating I would recommend it for ages 8 and up. Rating out of 5 stars:
3 Stars ***
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
HaileyR22Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Creepy spies with button eyes

This is my review on “Coraline, a movie produced by Laika Entertainment. “Coraline” is a stop motion film with animated clay characters. The introduction is a bit strange so don’t let that sway you. Warning: this movie is CREEPY to young viewers. The story is about a girl that hates her mom and dad. She finds a secret door in the wall and goes through it into a different world that is the opposite of everything she is used to. She gets very comfortable in that world until something bad happens. The main characters include Coraline, Wybie, Mom, Dad and the other creepy characters in their home. The story takes place in the Pink Palace Apartment located in the middle of nowhere.
This movie was definitely not one I would watch again. Honestly, it was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Have you had long and confusing homework, then when it was finally finished the confusion remained? That’s basically how I felt watching “Coraline”. By the end I had a basic idea of what happened, but no other understanding of the movie. I had so many questions that required some deep thinking to find out. I didn’t care for that, my preference being able to understand what I’m watching. If you like scary movies you may like “Coraline”. I get scared very easily and was scared for most of the movie. My friends that don’t get scared easily have said they didn’t find it scary at all though, so it’s based on personal preference. This movie is rated PG but I would definitely disagree with that. When I hear PG I think anyone and everyone can watch it. I don't believe young children should watch this movie. Children are innocent and get scared easily. Most children would be very appalled while watching “Coraline”. I think the MPAA should have been more careful when deciding the overall rating of “Coraline”. The goal of this movie was probably to scare kids into appreciating their parents. Overall I wouldn’t watch this film again. This was not a good movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
katelynd2021Feb 13, 2017
The movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to littleThe movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to little kids also. I personally thought it was disturbing, and also kinda weird. I most likely would not watch this movie again. So if you want to see this movie, make sure you don’t get scared or disturbed easily. Shoutout to Laika Entertainment for making “Coraline”.
The story took place at the Pink Palace Apartments and the other world. This story is mostly about a little girl who moves into this creepy house. Her parents are so busy with their jobs that they ignore Coraline. She has no friends and is bored so she searches for excitement. She opens this little door in her house and enters a whole new world. She meets her “other” parents there and discover they care more about her and are more carefree. Wybie is the first friend she meets and his Grandma owns the apartment. Mr. Bobinsky lived in the attic and was a Russian circus master. Both Miss Forcible and Miss Spink are old theatre ladies who lived underneath them and could see into the future. The cat leads Coraline to make the right decision. The “other” mother and father lived in a different world and looked like dolls. The cat that was around the Pink Palace, had a cool and fun personality. Coraline moved to the Pink Palace and she has some pretty interesting neighbors. There is a circus guy above their apartment and two old theater ladies in the basement below them. Coraline also meets a friend named Wybie. His Grandma owns the Pink Palace. Wybie also found a doll that looked exactly like Coraline. He gives it to her. Coraline likes to garden but her parents don’t make time to garden with Coraline. I wasn’t a huge fan of the animation. The scenes were choppy and unorganized. The characters in the other world had buttoned eyes and wanted Coraline to put buttons in her eyes. But, Coraline didn’t want buttons in her eyes. The whole concept or idea of the movie wasn’t very good. We liked the music because it helped emphasize what was going on and make it more creepy. People who are into scary or animated movies will like to see the movie “Coraline”. This movie would be good for anyone above the age of 10 or anyone that is mature and does not get scared easily. I would not recommend this movie to frightened kids or immature kids, especially under the age of 10. “Coraline” is rated PG for parental guidance. “Coraline” is an okay animated movie while some kids will like all the jump scares, some kids might think it is not scary at all and a waste of time and money.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
NICHOLASW2021Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline” Will Keep Your Eyes Buttoned to the Screen

The movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid
“Coraline” Will Keep Your Eyes Buttoned to the Screen

The movie “Coraline” can get scary, and disturbing to some people. I don’t think any little kid should watch this movie if they get scared easily because, it involves little kid ghosts.There are some scenes that can be inappropriate to little kids also. I personally thought it was disturbing, and also kinda weird. I most likely would not watch this movie again. So if you want to see this movie, make sure you don’t get scared or disturbed easily. Shoutout to Laika Entertainment for making “Coraline”.
The story took place at the Pink Palace Apartments and the other world. This story is mostly about a little girl who moves into this creepy house. Her parents are so busy with their jobs that they ignore Coraline. She has no friends and is bored so she searches for excitement. She opens this little door in her house and enters a whole new world. She meets her “other” parents there and discover they care more about her and are more carefree. Wybie is the first friend she meets and his Grandma owns the apartment. Mr. Bobinsky lived in the attic and was a Russian circus master. Both Miss Forcible and Miss Spink are old theatre ladies who lived underneath them and could see into the future. The cat leads Coraline to make the right decision. The “other” mother and father lived in a different world and looked like dolls. The cat that was around the Pink Palace, had a cool and fun personality. Coraline moved to the Pink Palace and she has some pretty interesting neighbors. There is a circus guy above their apartment and two old theater ladies in the basement below them. Coraline also meets a friend named Wybie. His Grandma owns the Pink Palace. Wybie also found a doll that looked exactly like Coraline. He gives it to her. Coraline likes to garden but her parents don’t make time to garden with Coraline. I wasn’t a huge fan of the animation. The scenes were choppy and unorganized. The characters in the other world had buttoned eyes and wanted Coraline to put buttons in her eyes. But, Coraline didn’t want buttons in her eyes. The whole concept or idea of the movie wasn’t very good. We liked the music because it helped emphasize what was going on and make it more creepy. People who are into scary or animated movies will like to see the movie “Coraline”. This movie would be good for anyone above the age of 10 or anyone that is mature and does not get scared easily. I would not recommend this movie to frightened kids or immature kids, especially under the age of 10. “Coraline” is rated PG for parental guidance. “Coraline” is an okay animated movie while some kids will like all the jump scares, some kids might think it is not scary at all and a waste of time and money. Scale out of five stars
2 stars **
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MakenzieFeb 13, 2017
“Coraline” is an Adventure, Fantasy, and Thriller movie. Henry Selick was the main producer and director of the movie. The studio that produced it was Focus. It is an animated adventure movie that has many cool effects but also flaws.
The
“Coraline” is an Adventure, Fantasy, and Thriller movie. Henry Selick was the main producer and director of the movie. The studio that produced it was Focus. It is an animated adventure movie that has many cool effects but also flaws.
The main character of this movie is Coraline (Dakota Fanning). Coraline is an adventurous person that likes to explore around her new home after moving to Pink Palace Apartments. As Coraline is exploring outside she meets a boy named Wybie(Robert Bailey Jr).That gives her a doll that looks just like her. When she starts to explore the house she finds a secret door in the wall that leads her to a place that is as perfect as can be with the “other parents”. Coraline starts to go back every day. But, she starts to get warnings about a dark secret in the so called perfect world that puts Coraline and her family in danger.
One of the good things about the movie are the effects.The way they could make the characters do certain things seemed like it took a lot of time to do. Also the concept of the story and how they executed it was pretty good. Another good thing about this movie was the animation. But, the movie was also very predictable and got a little boring as it went on. It’s likely they started to ran out of ideas on how to keep the movie going so it seemed as if they put in little time as the movie progressed.
For this movie I would recommend it to people who like adventure, mystery or a thriller. For the age I would say around 8 or older due to scary jump scares and scary characters at the end of movie, inappropriate scenes like not enough clothing on a few of characters you might not want your kids to see. The MPAA rating is PG. Our overall thought of this movie was that is a pretty average.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
rachelt2021Feb 13, 2017
This is my review on “Coraline, a movie produced by Laika Entertainment. “Coraline” is a stop motion film with animated clay characters. The introduction is a bit strange so don’t let that sway you. Warning: this movie is CREEPY to youngThis is my review on “Coraline, a movie produced by Laika Entertainment. “Coraline” is a stop motion film with animated clay characters. The introduction is a bit strange so don’t let that sway you. Warning: this movie is CREEPY to young viewers. The story is about a girl that hates her mom and dad. She finds a secret door in the wall and goes through it into a different world that is the opposite of everything she is used to. She gets very comfortable in that world until something bad happens. The main characters include Coraline, Wybie, Mom, Dad and the other creepy characters in their home. The story takes place in the Pink Palace Apartment located in the middle of nowhere.
This movie was definitely not one I would watch again. Honestly, it was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Have you had long and confusing homework, then when it was finally finished the confusion remained? That’s basically how I felt watching “Coraline”. By the end I had a basic idea of what happened, but no other understanding of the movie. I had so many questions that required some deep thinking to find out. I didn’t care for that, my preference being able to understand what I’m watching. If you like scary movies you may like “Coraline”. I get scared very easily and was scared for most of the movie. My friends that don’t get scared easily have said they didn’t find it scary at all though, so it’s based on personal preference. This movie is rated PG but I would definitely disagree with that. When I hear PG I think anyone and everyone can watch it. I don't believe young children should watch this movie. Children are innocent and get scared easily. Most children would be very appalled while watching “Coraline”. I think the MPAA should have been more careful when deciding the overall rating of “Coraline”. The goal of this movie was probably to scare kids into appreciating their parents. Overall I wouldn’t watch this film again. This was not a good movie. I give this move a 1.5 out of 5 stars
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
fischera2023Feb 13, 2017
Creepy spies with button eyes

This is my review on “Coraline, a movie produced by Laika Entertainment. “Coraline” is a stop motion film with animated clay characters. The introduction is a bit strange so don’t let that sway you. Warning:
Creepy spies with button eyes

This is my review on “Coraline, a movie produced by Laika Entertainment. “Coraline” is a stop motion film with animated clay characters. The introduction is a bit strange so don’t let that sway you. Warning: this movie is CREEPY to young viewers. The story is about a girl that hates her mom and dad. She finds a secret door in the wall and goes through it into a different world that is the opposite of everything she is used to. She gets very comfortable in that world until something bad happens. The main characters include Coraline, Wybie, Mom, Dad and the other creepy characters in their home. The story takes place in the Pink Palace Apartment located in the middle of nowhere.

This movie was definitely not one I would watch again. Honestly, it was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Have you had long and confusing homework, then when it was finally finished the confusion remained? That’s basically how I felt watching “Coraline”. By the end I had a basic idea of what happened, but no other understanding of the movie. I had so many questions that required some deep thinking to find out. I didn’t care for that, my preference being able to understand what I’m watching. If you like scary movies you may like “Coraline”. I get scared very easily and was scared for most of the movie. My friends that don’t get scared easily have said they didn’t find it scary at all though, so it’s based on personal preference. This movie is rated PG but I would definitely disagree with that. When I hear PG I think anyone and everyone can watch it. I don't believe young children should watch this movie. Children are innocent and get scared easily. Most children would be very appalled while watching “Coraline”. I think the MPAA should have been more careful when deciding the overall rating of “Coraline”. The goal of this movie was probably to scare kids into appreciating their parents. Overall I wouldn’t watch this film again. This was not a good movie. I give this move a 1.5 out of 5 stars
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
gsmith2021Feb 13, 2017
Everyone remembers as a kid wishing for a different life, or different parents. The movie “Coraline” is a very unique movie And you can tell that these producers put a lot of work into this movie. I thought that this was a movie that isEveryone remembers as a kid wishing for a different life, or different parents. The movie “Coraline” is a very unique movie And you can tell that these producers put a lot of work into this movie. I thought that this was a movie that is different from most other movies that I have seen. “Coraline” has a very eventful storyline, it gives off a sort of dark feeling and leaves you in suspense throughout the whole movie. Laika Entertainment also did a great job in casting as well.
“Coraline” is very creative and has some very precise details that I found interesting. For an example, the setting, Ashlynn, Oregon was settled around 150 years ago. Look out for a part in the movie where they mention that in the movie as well, you can tell that these people did some serious research. The movie starts off by Coraline (Dakota Fanning) moving to a new house called the Pink Palace Apartments and she is not exactly excited about leaving her friends behind. Coralline is quickly introduced to some of her next door neighbors. Wybie (Robert Bailey Jr.) , the next door neighbor, is a young boy who lives with his grandmother. Mr. Bobinsky (Ian McShane) , her other next door neighbor, is a retired acrobat that works with circus mice and helps her along the way. The ladies downstairs to her apartment also play a big role in the story. Coraline’s parents ( John Hodgman and Teri Hatcher) work all day for a flower catalogue and they never spend time with their daughter. All Coraline wants is to have a loving family and some nice friends to play with. Coraline soon realizes throughout this movie that there is no perfect family.
This movie has its pros and cons. One thing I disliked about “Coraline” is that I wouldn’t say it is appropriate for little kids. There are a few scenes that would most absolutely be scary for them, such as a few jump scares. Another thing I didn't like about this movie is that the storyline is very confusing and I definitely had to watch this more than once to actually understand what was even going on. One pro I had for this movie is that it had a good theme, which I won’t spoil for you. Another thing I enjoyed about this movie is that it left me at the edge of my seat. I had no idea what was going to happen next! I have one more thing that impressed me. The animation is just wonderful. I cannot believe how seamless it is. This certain type of animation is labor intensive and so hard to do, and this movie had great animation.
Even though this movie is rated PG, I would recommend this movie to kids over eight years old. Due to some very scary and inappropriate parts. If you are really wanting to have your child watch this, maybe you should watch it first just to be safe. Overall, I thought that this film was pretty decent, but I do believe that it could’ve been better.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
EMMAM2022Feb 13, 2017
In this animated horror movie, a young girl finds an alternate reality to her real life. She learns that everything is not how it seems. It is so creepy that you’ll wish your eyes were sewn shut. Even the opening credits, in which aIn this animated horror movie, a young girl finds an alternate reality to her real life. She learns that everything is not how it seems. It is so creepy that you’ll wish your eyes were sewn shut. Even the opening credits, in which a mechanical hand is sewing a doll, are freaky. In “Coraline”, a movie based on the book by Neil Gaiman, and directed by Henry Selick, Coraline learns a this very useful lesson. This film is a stop-motion animated movie from Laika Entertainment. The main character, a young girl named Coraline is trying to find something fun to do because her parents are strict and ignore her. Coraline’s friend Wybie isn’t allowed into the Pink Palace because his Grandma, the owner, doesn’t want him to go missing like her sister. Wybie gives her a creepy doll that he found in her grandma’s car. This particular doll was made to look just like Coraline. Coraline finds a portal through a small door in her apartment, hidden behind a shelf. Through that portal she shall find an alternate reality. She receives many warnings from Mr. Bobinsky, her neighbor, not to go back. She doesn’t listen to any of the warnings. Coraline finally understands why she shouldn’t have gone back until it was too late.

I liked that it taught kids a good lesson; to appreciate what they have- but they did it by scaring you. It is basically an animated horror movie that is not appropriate for young children. They may get scared by the appearance of the villain. There is also a part in the movie where the two animated elderly ladies’ lack of clothes may make you slightly uncomfortable.

I think middle schoolers would like this movie because they will be able to understand it better and it won’t frighten them. I would not recommend this movie to young children because they won’t be able to understand it and it will scare them. A lot of parents complained that their children were having nightmares for weeks after seeing this movie. The rating is PG, which is not a good rating, obviously.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
AVAF2022Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline” This movie is a stop-motion animation film. “Coraline” is based off a book by Neil Gaiman. Laika Entertainment was the producer of this fantasy/thriller movie. This movie has a twisted, complex plot with many unexpected“Coraline” This movie is a stop-motion animation film. “Coraline” is based off a book by Neil Gaiman. Laika Entertainment was the producer of this fantasy/thriller movie. This movie has a twisted, complex plot with many unexpected surprises. It’s quite interesting, but can get boring at times. But, follow along with Coraline as she unravels the mysteries of the Pink Palace Apartments. The movie “Coraline” took place at the Pink Palace Apartments. The main characters are Coraline, Wybie, Coraline's parents, Other Mother, Other Father, Cat, Ms. S, Mrs. F, Mr.B, and other Wybie. Coraline and her family move to the Pink Palace Apartments for her father’s job. On her first day she’s in her new home, Coraline meets a boy her age named Wybie. She doesn’t really like him at first. Then Wybie finds a doll that looks just like Coraline. That same night, she gets woken up by a mouse in her bedroom doorway. She follows it to the living room and behind the secret door to another world, where everything seems to be perfect. Coraline continues to go back to this “other” world. Little does she know, this “perfect” world is not what it seems.

One of the things we liked was the doll that looked like Coraline because it was odd that it looked just like her and it made you think that the doll might just be important. Also we liked the “other” Ms. S and Mrs. F downstairs because they were funny and relatable. The show Mr.B put on with his dancing mice we thought was cool. It showed how odd Mr. B really was. We liked that the “other”dad created Coraline's face in the garden. It made it seem that her “other” family really cared about her. Some things we didn’t like was parts of the animation because it was different than we were used to. We also disliked the way her real parents are so mean. We really didn’t like the button eyes on the “other”people. We thought they were odd and frightening.

People who like stop-motion animated, cartoon thrillers, or fantasy films.The MPAA of this film is PG. But we believe that this movie is more geared towards older children closer to the age of 10 and older. Our final word on this film is an okay movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
JOSEPHM2022Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline” Will Have You Wishing Your Eyes Were Sewed Shut

In this animated horror movie, a young girl finds an alternate reality to her real life. She learns that everything is not how it seems. It is so creepy that you’ll wish your eyes
“Coraline” Will Have You Wishing Your Eyes Were Sewed Shut

In this animated horror movie, a young girl finds an alternate reality to her real life. She learns that everything is not how it seems. It is so creepy that you’ll wish your eyes were sewn shut. Even the opening credits, in which a mechanical hand is sewing a doll, are freaky. In “Coraline”, a movie based on the book by Neil Gaiman, and directed by Henry Selick, Coraline learns a this very useful lesson. This film is a stop-motion animated movie from Laika Entertainment. The main character, a young girl named Coraline is trying to find something fun to do because her parents are strict and ignore her. Coraline’s friend Wybie isn’t allowed into the Pink Palace because his Grandma, the owner, doesn’t want him to go missing like her sister. Wybie gives her a creepy doll that he found in her grandma’s car. This particular doll was made to look just like Coraline. Coraline finds a portal through a small door in her apartment, hidden behind a shelf. Through that portal she shall find an alternate reality. She receives many warnings from Mr. Bobinsky, her neighbor, not to go back. She doesn’t listen to any of the warnings. Coraline finally understands why she shouldn’t have gone back until it was too late.

I liked that it taught kids a good lesson; to appreciate what they have- but they did it by scaring you. It is basically an animated horror movie that is not appropriate for young children. They may get scared by the appearance of the villain. There is also a part in the movie where the two animated elderly ladies’ lack of clothes may make you slightly uncomfortable.

I think middle schoolers would like this movie because they will be able to understand it better and it won’t frighten them. I would not recommend this movie to young children because they won’t be able to understand it and it will scare them. A lot of parents complained that their children were having nightmares for weeks after seeing this movie. The rating is PG, which is not a good rating, obviously.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
melissah2022Feb 13, 2017
This movie is a stop-motion animation film. “Coraline” is based off a book by Neil Gaiman. Laika Entertainment was the producer of this fantasy/thriller movie. This movie has a twisted, complex plot with many unexpected surprises. It’s quiteThis movie is a stop-motion animation film. “Coraline” is based off a book by Neil Gaiman. Laika Entertainment was the producer of this fantasy/thriller movie. This movie has a twisted, complex plot with many unexpected surprises. It’s quite interesting, but can get boring at times. But, follow along with Coraline as she unravels the mysteries of the Pink Palace Apartments. The movie “Coraline” took place at the Pink Palace Apartments. The main characters are Coraline, Wybie, Coraline's parents, Other Mother, Other Father, Cat, Ms. S, Mrs. F, Mr.B, and other Wybie. Coraline and her family move to the Pink Palace Apartments for her father’s job. On her first day she’s in her new home, Coraline meets a boy her age named Wybie. She doesn’t really like him at first. Then Wybie finds a doll that looks just like Coraline. That same night, she gets woken up by a mouse in her bedroom doorway. She follows it to the living room and behind the secret door to another world, where everything seems to be perfect. Coraline continues to go back to this “other” world. Little does she know, this “perfect” world is not what it seems.

One of the things we liked was the doll that looked like Coraline because it was odd that it looked just like her and it made you think that the doll might just be important. Also we liked the “other” Ms. S and Mrs. F downstairs because they were funny and relatable. The show Mr.B put on with his dancing mice we thought was cool. It showed how odd Mr. B really was. We liked that the “other”dad created Coraline's face in the garden. It made it seem that her “other” family really cared about her. Some things we didn’t like was parts of the animation because it was different than we were used to. We also disliked the way her real parents are so mean. We really didn’t like the button eyes on the “other”people. We thought they were odd and frightening.

People who like stop-motion animated, cartoon thrillers, or fantasy films.The MPAA of this film is PG. But we believe that this movie is more geared towards older children closer to the age of 10 and older. Our final word on this film is an okay movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Laurenm2022Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline” Will Have You Wishing Your Eyes Were Sewed Shut

In this animated horror movie, a young girl finds an alternate reality to her real life. She learns that everything is not how it seems. It is so creepy that you’ll wish your eyes
“Coraline” Will Have You Wishing Your Eyes Were Sewed Shut

In this animated horror movie, a young girl finds an alternate reality to her real life. She learns that everything is not how it seems. It is so creepy that you’ll wish your eyes were sewn shut. Even the opening credits, in which a mechanical hand is sewing a doll, are freaky. In “Coraline”, a movie based on the book by Neil Gaiman, and directed by Henry Selick, Coraline learns a this very useful lesson. This film is a stop-motion animated movie from Laika Entertainment. The main character, a young girl named Coraline is trying to find something fun to do because her parents are strict and ignore her. Coraline’s friend Wybie isn’t allowed into the Pink Palace because his Grandma, the owner, doesn’t want him to go missing like her sister. Wybie gives her a creepy doll that he found in her grandma’s car. This particular doll was made to look just like Coraline. Coraline finds a portal through a small door in her apartment, hidden behind a shelf. Through that portal she shall find an alternate reality. She receives many warnings from Mr. Bobinsky, her neighbor, not to go back. She doesn’t listen to any of the warnings. Coraline finally understands why she shouldn’t have gone back until it was too late.

I liked that it taught kids a good lesson; to appreciate what they have- but they did it by scaring you. It is basically an animated horror movie that is not appropriate for young children. They may get scared by the appearance of the villain. There is also a part in the movie where the two animated elderly ladies’ lack of clothes may make you slightly uncomfortable.

I think middle schoolers would like this movie because they will be able to understand it better and it won’t frighten them. I would not recommend this movie to young children because they won’t be able to understand it and it will scare them. A lot of parents complained that their children were having nightmares for weeks after seeing this movie. The rating is PG, which is not a good rating, obviously.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews