Focus Features | Release Date: February 6, 2009
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 625 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
526
Mixed:
52
Negative:
47
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JimS.Feb 7, 2009
The extra money for the rich 3D is absolutely a must. I was sad when the movie ended that's how much I enjoyed my experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobTFeb 8, 2009
This is one of the best movies I've seen in a very long time. Coraline has stunning animation, and a very original plot. I saw the 3-D version, which was just awesome. This movie is not Bambi 2, so don't bring your three year old This is one of the best movies I've seen in a very long time. Coraline has stunning animation, and a very original plot. I saw the 3-D version, which was just awesome. This movie is not Bambi 2, so don't bring your three year old to this movie. In short, this movie is fantastic if you like animation, and dark toned movies. I read one review that complains because a character said 'oh my god.' Frankly, that's a very typical and common expression, and is an integral part of the English language. What's funny is that those three words popped into my head about half a second before the character said it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseM.Apr 14, 2009
This was the best movie of the year thus far. I don't know why I am so in love with it. It was so creative and just very well done. It's quite amazing. Can't wait for it on Blu-ray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrelRFeb 10, 2009
Delight, creative and artfully executed. Unlike most stop action animation, this production left me completely unaware of the techniques used to make the visuals, and focused my attention on the magic of the story, Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Feb 7, 2009
This is a beautifully brilliant film. So much thought, time and labor went into this, it's mindblowing. It's stop-motion animation at it's finest and the 3-D puts the whole thing over the top. If you find time, stay through This is a beautifully brilliant film. So much thought, time and labor went into this, it's mindblowing. It's stop-motion animation at it's finest and the 3-D puts the whole thing over the top. If you find time, stay through the credits for the last 3-D sequence! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OttoO.Feb 7, 2009
Visually stunning and ultimately the best what 3D has brought us so far. Some say it's dragging at times, but I beg to disagree. Everything is so well crafted is mind boggling. Wouldn't chance a thing. I newer knew stop motion Visually stunning and ultimately the best what 3D has brought us so far. Some say it's dragging at times, but I beg to disagree. Everything is so well crafted is mind boggling. Wouldn't chance a thing. I newer knew stop motion animation could be done this beautifully. It's gonna be a classic. No question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirstenJ.Feb 8, 2009
I'm a college student, so for financial reasons and time constraints, I rarely go to the theatres for movies. This one was an exception. I had read the book, and it had blown my mind. I saw the very first tiny clip released online in I'm a college student, so for financial reasons and time constraints, I rarely go to the theatres for movies. This one was an exception. I had read the book, and it had blown my mind. I saw the very first tiny clip released online in which Coraline met the ghosts, and I was fairly unimpressed. One line, the last line in the clip, changed that. "We don't remember our names." It sent chills down my spine, and I was hooked. So, I had my father take me to see it on opening night. I was once again swept off my feet. I was a little unsure at first whether the movie would compromise the story in order to play to the 3D clichés as so many had before it, but my fears were put at ease. Only once in the entire film, during the opening credits, did anything come off the screen straight for the audience, and even that was an amazing artistic decision that foreshadowed with its foreshortening. The artistic direction and the cinematography were mindblowing. I had been impressed with Sweeney Todd's artistic direction, but Coraline puts it to shame. One scene explores a garden with plants so exotic and whimsical that one might expect to find them in Willy Wonka's chocolate factory. The 3D made it so tangible that it was almost impossible not to feel the thick waxy petals and leaves. The flawless marriage between Neil Gaiman's incredible story and the meticulously created masterpiece was what made this work so well. The entire reason that the 3D was not a tacky disappointment was because Selick didn't shove it in the audience's faces. So yes, the movie was visually a treat. But Coraline was much more than eye candy. The story was incredibly true to Mr. Gaiman's book. One or two differences obviously existed, but overall, I don't think I've ever seen a more accurate book adaptation. And so it, like the book, was filled to the brim with the odd mixture of characteristics that Mr. Gaiman intended. It was eerie, bizarre, delightful, funny, cute, and downright frightening. Sure, plenty of movies have parts that are scary and parts that are funny and so on... But it's a rare movie indeed that can incur all of those feelings in the same instant. Mr. Gaiman himself put it best, in a sneak peek interview: "If audiences take away terror and joy in roughly equal doses, I will be very happy." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GradyP.Feb 8, 2009
If this had been released last year, it could easily give WALL-E a run for its money for the Oscar. It's an amazing film that's sure to become a classic, and it easily rivals The Nightmare Before Christmas (which in and of itself If this had been released last year, it could easily give WALL-E a run for its money for the Oscar. It's an amazing film that's sure to become a classic, and it easily rivals The Nightmare Before Christmas (which in and of itself is one of the best animated movies of all time). Well worth seeing, can't wait for the Blu-ray release!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoelleB.Feb 8, 2009
A beautifully frightening story; gracefully rendered. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Thanh-TamHFeb 8, 2009
Coraline was fabulous to see in 3D, and possessed a fanciful sort of creepiness that both scares and delights. It's a movie both parent and child can enjoy equally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieLFeb 9, 2009
Fun story and very artfully done- awesome in 3-d!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShannonW.Mar 4, 2009
I really can't wait til this movie comes out on blu-ray. It was absolutely beautiful and stunning, and I left the theater in complete awe. The story was wonderful and I'd now like to read the book. The producers of this movie made I really can't wait til this movie comes out on blu-ray. It was absolutely beautiful and stunning, and I left the theater in complete awe. The story was wonderful and I'd now like to read the book. The producers of this movie made a real treasure and I honestly can't wait til I can see it again. And for all the parents out there that brought their kids...didn't you read the rating? It's PG because of the "thematic elements, SCARY IMAGES, some language and suggestive humor." Responsible parenting and movie selection should be exercised here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmanuelTMay 4, 2009
AMAZING!!!!!!! Scary even for the adults. The animation was breath taking and the horror was truly for every age. Must see and i need to see it again!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamS.May 9, 2009
Some have called this movie Burtonesque, but I actually found his lack of association with the movie a strong point. The movie knows how to contrast the fantastical and the drab in its visual department and the story is so universal that it Some have called this movie Burtonesque, but I actually found his lack of association with the movie a strong point. The movie knows how to contrast the fantastical and the drab in its visual department and the story is so universal that it reaches adults and kids with an equally immerse impact. I felt like this movie knew how to get back to the old magical realism aspect that was prevalent in The Nightmare Before Christmas. It was thoroughly enjoyable the entire way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Aug 29, 2009
Interesting that it appears that all those giving this movie a bad score didn't watch the whole thing but just 'assumed' it was going to be bad. what a bunch of idiots. if you're stupid enough to walk out of a movie Interesting that it appears that all those giving this movie a bad score didn't watch the whole thing but just 'assumed' it was going to be bad. what a bunch of idiots. if you're stupid enough to walk out of a movie without watching it all don't waste space with your comments. i, also, thought this movie was going to be bad, and i didn't like it even up till about 20 minutes through it, but it improved... a lot! at the end i was actually very pleased with the way it turned out. i almost didn't watch Coraline because the concept of the movie seemed so stupid, but I'm very glad i did go out and see it. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelaC.Jan 3, 2010
The people that said the movie was boring and dull are really saying that they don't want to watch something different and new but just want to stay in their comfort zone of totally predictable movies at least its a fresh change from The people that said the movie was boring and dull are really saying that they don't want to watch something different and new but just want to stay in their comfort zone of totally predictable movies at least its a fresh change from all those other movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BillyFeb 7, 2009
Excellent. Incredibly creative and one of the most entertaining and fun films I have been to in years. The stop motion is incredible. A must see at a theater, I wish my area had 3D, it would have been amazing. 2D was incredible enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedU.Feb 7, 2009
Best use of 3D ever. You really can't grasp the quality of the experience on a flat screen. And the creepiness is profound. Like E.T.A. Hoffman animated by Miyazaki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Feb 7, 2009
Brilliant, dark, adventure movie. Strong plot, wonderful characters, and beautiful visual effects. Coraline is an instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomNFeb 9, 2009
A brilliant piece of animation. Sets a new standard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.May 15, 2009
One of a very few times where I liked the movie better than the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkMMay 29, 2009
Awesome! The most detailed stop motion film ever. Fun, exciting, and creepy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidMJun 14, 2009
This is the best movie I have seen since "The Nightmare Before Christmas" and it's even better than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThaliaTSep 10, 2009
This is a coming of age movie. It is original in that it uses puppets not unlike Pinocchio to illustrate what one's real values should be. Not always getting what you want, but living with real life, flawed parents who truly love one. This is a coming of age movie. It is original in that it uses puppets not unlike Pinocchio to illustrate what one's real values should be. Not always getting what you want, but living with real life, flawed parents who truly love one. There may be scary bits for children below a 6 or 7, but most other kids and grownups should be able to handle the imagery just fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaFeb 28, 2009
Amazing movie. The people who give it a "0" simply have no appreciation for beauty/artistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayCJun 21, 2009
This is one of the best movies i have seen in a very long time. Unlike all the happy go lucky movies of the our times its nice to see something a little darker, more brothers grim like. Yes its scary but it holds a lesson in it, also the tag This is one of the best movies i have seen in a very long time. Unlike all the happy go lucky movies of the our times its nice to see something a little darker, more brothers grim like. Yes its scary but it holds a lesson in it, also the tag line for the movie, be careful what you wish for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClankaMay 13, 2011
It's surprisingly dark to be called a family film but it seems to go well but is could be better than it actually is that said it was one of my favourites from 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RastrellyJan 26, 2014
Wonderful movie based on great reimagining of Alice in Wonderland. Perfect animation accompanied by stunningly atmospheric soundtrack. Great characters. I was really impressed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalDec 14, 2012
Coraline was one of my favorite books in middle school. When I heard that there was going to be a movie version, I was excited. And the movie did not disappoint.

The story has an Alice in Wonderland vibe since it involves a young girl
Coraline was one of my favorite books in middle school. When I heard that there was going to be a movie version, I was excited. And the movie did not disappoint.

The story has an Alice in Wonderland vibe since it involves a young girl ending up in topsy turvy word. It reminds me of Corpse Bride in the designs of the two worlds where the real world is grey and drab while the alternate world is colorful and fantastical. I love the design of the Other Mother's world. It's bright and colorful and everything is made to please Coraline. However, as Coraline starts to resist, everything becomes darker and the Other Mother looks less and less human. And I don't know about anyone else, but the climax scared me to death.

I also enjoyed the characters. Coraline is a believable kid. She's kooky and weird and has strange taste in fashion. She gets on her parents nerves but she just wants them to to pay attention to her. The parents are also believable. There are times when my parents are so wrapped up in their work that they don't have time for me. They aren't bad people. They're just unbelivably stressed. The Other Mother is freaky as hell. She really seems like the kind of mother we all wish we had. She's funny and loving and gives you whatever you want. Too bad she's doing it so that she can ensnare and kill you. The other characters are mostly hit or miss.

Fans of the book might not like the changes made, but I think there were for the better. The book lacked detailed descriptions about Coraline's appearance. I really liked the blue hair. It fits her character. I also like the addition of Wybie. While he wasn't a HUGE part of the plot, they made his character relevant. And thank god they didn't make him a love interest.

I can understand why people wouldn't like it as much. It does have a lot of slow moments, but I liked those scenes because they were used to show us what kind of person Coraline is and about her relationship with her parents and Wybie.

I'm not sure if it will appeal to Tim Burton fans. It doesn't strike the same balance between macabre, comedy, and whimsy, but it's not trying to be The Nightmare Before Christmas. The only things it has in common with it is stopmotion and director Henry Selick. If you like stopmotion, this is a good movie to see.

And if you liked this movie, watch Laika's other major stopmotion film, ParaNorman.
Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyFeb 15, 2012
A masterpiece i have watched this movie at least 25 times the originality is amazing. They changed things from the book for the better things actually seem to come together better in the movie then the book which never happens. The claymationA masterpiece i have watched this movie at least 25 times the originality is amazing. They changed things from the book for the better things actually seem to come together better in the movie then the book which never happens. The claymation and voice acting are done amazingly and you can relate to the main character thoughout the whole movie all and all this is what movies should be like in the future A+++ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sayomgwtfDec 3, 2012
My favorite movie ever. I loved the story and its dark humor, the animation, the lightning was beautiful and most of all the voice acting (mostly from Teri Hatcher, she was the best!). I can't believe this movie would get bad reviews! :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedMay 17, 2013
"Coraline" is described in one word, which is "Magical", but to be fair, it is more than that, wonderful and amazing, beautiful and new "original", it is creepy and scary but it is still my favorite movie of the year, my favorite animation,"Coraline" is described in one word, which is "Magical", but to be fair, it is more than that, wonderful and amazing, beautiful and new "original", it is creepy and scary but it is still my favorite movie of the year, my favorite animation, and one of my favorite movies of all time PERIOD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 26, 2013
Many reviewers said that Coraline is boring and dull, as it turns out, Coraline is one of my favorite animated movies of all time, it is original and so meant for kids, it deals with a lot of mature themes (murder, child abuse) it is visuallyMany reviewers said that Coraline is boring and dull, as it turns out, Coraline is one of my favorite animated movies of all time, it is original and so meant for kids, it deals with a lot of mature themes (murder, child abuse) it is visually dazzling and the plot is enchanting, original and thrilling, this is one of the best animated movies ever made. I Love Coraline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jun 30, 2013
Coraline is a masterpiece with insightful and clever stop-motion animation that will entertain you like never before. The 3D is absorbing and intelligent, Athena wise 3D use. The plot is original and riveting, with a pleasant and fascinatingCoraline is a masterpiece with insightful and clever stop-motion animation that will entertain you like never before. The 3D is absorbing and intelligent, Athena wise 3D use. The plot is original and riveting, with a pleasant and fascinating ending that you will never expect it coming. Coraline easily is imaginative, powerful and surprisingly, one of the greatest works done in a long time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersNov 18, 2016
There's no two-ways about it, "Coraline" is absolutely magnificent. In a year that featured some pretty amazing animated films, "Coraline" definitely stands out in the crowd. It's brilliantly crafted, wonderfully written, and superbly acted,There's no two-ways about it, "Coraline" is absolutely magnificent. In a year that featured some pretty amazing animated films, "Coraline" definitely stands out in the crowd. It's brilliantly crafted, wonderfully written, and superbly acted, all the while feeling unique, fun, fresh, creepy, and above all, entertaining. The stop-motion animation genre has been home to a number of great films, and "Coraline" is definitely chief among them. Do not hesitate, make it a point to watch "Coraline." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Brandy2001Jan 14, 2014
This movie excceded my expectation
Is one of the few good animated films
Mysterious, interesting and well made.
I think this Is a simple but a good film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscSep 26, 2014
this movie continues to scare me and gives me nightmares i still think about it. from the director of Tim Burton's Nightmare before Christmas and James and the giant peach). Basically Henry Selick directs the same exact motion in animationthis movie continues to scare me and gives me nightmares i still think about it. from the director of Tim Burton's Nightmare before Christmas and James and the giant peach). Basically Henry Selick directs the same exact motion in animation as Nightmare Before Christmas but i am not sure if he's a copy cat of Tim Burton or if he wants to do the same thing as he did in 1993. Lets Talk about the movie Dakota Fanning is Caroline which she has amazing performance as Caroline, including the rest of the cast. its a creepy eye button film that has Henry Selick's direction where it needs goes it has a complete imagination from the director. ( Henry Selick is the perfect animation director keep doing good films). Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NAQURATORApr 3, 2014
Breathtaking images, a hell of a story and a kind of a dark twist that just adds to the quality of this masterpiece. candy for the eye and a captivating story that puts you in the universe/fantasy of coraline. This again isn't just a movie,Breathtaking images, a hell of a story and a kind of a dark twist that just adds to the quality of this masterpiece. candy for the eye and a captivating story that puts you in the universe/fantasy of coraline. This again isn't just a movie, it's a masterwork in its genre. It had that same feeling as nightmare before christmas but didn't have all the songs (I'm not a fan of musicals,...), so for me it was that much better!
A must watch for everyone (I say this a lot), but this is one of those animated pictures that even adults will fully enjoy!

Just my opinion
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
elsylorenaAug 23, 2014
Una película hermosa, con una animación increíble, una magnifica historia y trama, con una gran dirección, una película entretenida que te mantiene al tanto.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
This stop motion animation creates an eerie but unimaginable visuals, sinisterly dark and extraordinary with a fantastic plot, by far one of my favorite children movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Sep 29, 2014
"Coraline" is one of my all-time favorites. I've seen the movie over fifty times because I would watch it nearly every day when I was younger, and I've read the novel five times. The animation is twisted yet breathtaking, and the 3D is"Coraline" is one of my all-time favorites. I've seen the movie over fifty times because I would watch it nearly every day when I was younger, and I've read the novel five times. The animation is twisted yet breathtaking, and the 3D is innovative and absorbing. The plot is very original, intriguing, and even a little scary which makes for a thrilling experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverJul 3, 2016
This movie is an endless cycle of creativity and spookiness. This movie just makes me wonder sometimes. The animation is pretty cool to be honest. I do recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mrkrambeckFeb 13, 2017
“Coraline” Makes You Want to Get Your Butt-on Your Couch to See It “Coraline,” a dark fantasy movie, in my opinion was a fantastic movie. The movie was produced by Lakia Pandemonium. The director is Henry Selick, and the characters are“Coraline” Makes You Want to Get Your Butt-on Your Couch to See It “Coraline,” a dark fantasy movie, in my opinion was a fantastic movie. The movie was produced by Lakia Pandemonium. The director is Henry Selick, and the characters are Coraline (Dakota Fanning), Other Mother (Teri Hatcher), Miss Spink (Jennifer Saunders), Miss. Forcible (Dawn French), and Mr. Bobinsky (Ian McShane).
The movie “Coraline” follows Coraline Jones, an 11-year-old girl as she moves to the Pink Palace along with her parents. Coraline spends a lot of time outside since her workaholic parents neglect her, and meets a geeky and weird boy named Wybie and his black cat who lives with his grandmother who is the landlady of the Pink Palace Apartments. Coraline also meets Mr. Bobinski, the Russian acrobat, and Miss Spink and Forcible the retired actresses. Wybie gives her a doll that strongly resembles Coraline that she keeps with her. One night, Coraline follows a mouse that leads her to the small door that she found that day while exploring and travels through the hole that leads her to another, parallel world. Her parents in that world love her and do nice things with her unlike her real parents. These button-eyed characters are called Other Mother and Other Father. As Coraline goes to the other world, she is told not to go through the door, but she doesn’t understand why since that place has everything she ever wanted. But the more time she spends there, the more “creepy” things get and Coraline finally realizes that the other world may not appear as it seems. Some of the pros are that it’s able to be more enjoyable at a higher age, something can pop out of nowhere very unexpectedly, and the animation is stop-motion which is not too often seen in a movie. It also has very unique and diverse characters, like a talking cat or 80 year old show women. The only real criticism is that it can be very creepy for young children, and the plot can be stagnant at times. I thought that Coraline was a little scary at the part where her other mom and dad had buttons sewed to their eyes in the parallel world. The general feel to the movie however, like how it’s animated was very pleasing to look at. This movie also has a really interesting and engaging soundtrack that can make you want to move to it, or even be a little creeped out, like when Coraline is laying in bed trying to go to sleep. Another thing that I noticed is that strange customs like stuffing dead dogs so that you would not have to part with them. While “Coraline” may have a PG rating, you may want to consider if you would want your child to see it or not. I would recommend that the age groups that should watch it are around 13 and up. The reason for this recommendation is that kids may be scared of some intense scenes like jump scares and creepy events. Kids might not also understand the storyline, for it is very intricately written. But overall, for most people, this will be a very interesting movie to watch for a delicate story yet filled with action.
Final Movie Rating Out of Five Stars: Four Stars: * * * *
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sarail2021Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sweet “Coraline” We watched “Coraline” in class, and we found the movie to be very interesting. Laika Entertainment presents a creepy but funny story of a girl experiencing a whole different world, which can be good and bad. The movie is sure to give you a fright. From the almost falling down the well, to the bug-eating other mother, you never know what is going to happen next! Most of us were really engaged in the plot and it kept us wanting to see the next scene. The story starts off with a doll being made that looks identical to Coraline. Then, the real life Coraline and her family had just moved into a new house. While she is exploring, she meets Wybie, who lives with his grandma and his cat in a nearby house. He later gives her the Coraline look-alike doll. On her way home, she finds that her mail was mixed up with her neighbor Mr.B’s mail. She visits his house and delivers his mail to him. Then, Coraline was looking through her new home when she came across a small door behind the wallpaper. At first, there was only bricks behind it. But, during the night she woke up and there was a mouse that lead her to the door. Behind it was another world where she met her other parents with button eyes. She experiences different things like a performance at Mr. B’s house and amazing feasts made by her other parents. Behind the door, her life is everything she ever wanted. But, everything turns upside down when she finds out what her other mother really wants from her.
There were lots of things we liked, and some things we didn’t like as much. Something we particularly liked about the movie was all of the details in the characters and the scenery. The first scene when Wybie and Coraline first met, kept us on the edge of our seats. Another thing we liked was the stop-motion animation. The portal to the other world was really detailed. One of the most liked characters was the cat because it can talk and he helps Coraline in the movie. We found that the buttons for eyes was a really creepy touch to the story, and we didn’t really enjoy it. But, we understood that it was an important touch to the story. Something else that was really creepy was when the mice that showed Coraline the doors turned into rats.
Although the movie was really interesting, we wouldn’t recommend the movie for children under the age of eight. The story can be a little frightening to it’s target audience. There are lots of scary characters and scenes that could not be the best for kids under 8. But, we think adults and kids older than eight would really enjoy the movie. The movie’s MPAA rating is PG because it has some scary images. We would say that this movie is great and really interesting. We give this movie 5 out of 5 stars. We gave it this rating because the suspense and action kept us wanting more.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
dejad2021Feb 13, 2017
Sweet “Coraline” We watched “Coraline” in class, and we found the movie to be very interesting. Laika Entertainment presents a creepy but funny story of a girl experiencing a whole different world, which can be good and bad. The movie is sureSweet “Coraline” We watched “Coraline” in class, and we found the movie to be very interesting. Laika Entertainment presents a creepy but funny story of a girl experiencing a whole different world, which can be good and bad. The movie is sure to give you a fright. From the almost falling down the well, to the bug-eating other mother, you never know what is going to happen next! Most of us were really engaged in the plot and it kept us wanting to see the next scene. The story starts off with a doll being made that looks identical to Coraline. Then, the real life Coraline and her family had just moved into a new house. While she is exploring, she meets Wybie, who lives with his grandma and his cat in a nearby house. He later gives her the Coraline look-alike doll. On her way home, she finds that her mail was mixed up with her neighbor Mr.B’s mail. She visits his house and delivers his mail to him. Then, Coraline was looking through her new home when she came across a small door behind the wallpaper. At first, there was only bricks behind it. But, during the night she woke up and there was a mouse that lead her to the door. Behind it was another world where she met her other parents with button eyes. She experiences different things like a performance at Mr. B’s house and amazing feasts made by her other parents. Behind the door, her life is everything she ever wanted. But, everything turns upside down when she finds out what her other mother really wants from her.
There were lots of things we liked, and some things we didn’t like as much. Something we particularly liked about the movie was all of the details in the characters and the scenery. The first scene when Wybie and Coraline first met, kept us on the edge of our seats. Another thing we liked was the stop-motion animation. The portal to the other world was really detailed. One of the most liked characters was the cat because it can talk and he helps Coraline in the movie. We found that the buttons for eyes was a really creepy touch to the story, and we didn’t really enjoy it. But, we understood that it was an important touch to the story. Something else that was really creepy was when the mice that showed Coraline the doors turned into rats.
Although the movie was really interesting, we wouldn’t recommend the movie for children under the age of eight. The story can be a little frightening to it’s target audience. There are lots of scary characters and scenes that could not be the best for kids under 8. But, we think adults and kids older than eight would really enjoy the movie. The movie’s MPAA rating is PG because it has some scary images. We would say that this movie is great and really interesting. We give this movie 5 out of 5 stars. We gave it this rating because the suspense and action kept us wanting more.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
dylanm2021Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline will have you trapped in a web of mystery”
I watched “Coraline” in English class, for an assignment. It’s a Stop Motion movie, meaning the company, Laika Entertainment, used clay figures to make millions of pictures move every
“Coraline will have you trapped in a web of mystery”
I watched “Coraline” in English class, for an assignment. It’s a Stop Motion movie, meaning the company, Laika Entertainment, used clay figures to make millions of pictures move every frame. They also implement backgrounds using technology. A girl named Coraline moved into the Pink Palace Apartment from Michigan and hates everything about it. In an act of boredom her father tells her to count the windows around the house, and she accidentally discovers a door behind the wallpaper that was blocked off by bricks. The day after Coraline finds the door, Wybie gives her a doll that looks suspiciously like herself. She keeps the doll by her bed and that night she goes into a better version of her life. The other world includes her Other Mother, Other Father, and her other neighbor Wybie. The main characters include Coraline Jones played by Dakota Fanning, Both mothers were played by Teri Hatcher, Mr. Bobinsky was played by Ian McShane, and Wybie was played by Robert Bailey Jr. I liked the movie because it had a unique style and was different than most other animated movies. It was well put together and each scene was very whimsical. I like the scene in the garden when all the flowers bloomed and created Coraline’s face. One of my favorite parts is when the piano is playing the Other Father and he says something that he wasn’t suppose to say.

Overall the movie is rated PG and I agreed with that. But, this movie should be on the older end of PG meant for children who are 8 and older because it involves scenes with suspense and then people or things jumping out at the screen. It also includes people changing into different “things” that might frighten young children. This movie had a good overall feel to it but, I would not recommend this movie to anyone under 2nd grade. I recommend this movie to anyone 4th grade or higher.

Rating out of 5: * * * * * 5 Stars
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
abcdefgaaaFeb 13, 2017
I watched “Coraline” in English class, for an assignment. It’s a Stop Motion movie, meaning the company, Laika Entertainment, used clay figures to make millions of pictures move every frame. They also implement backgrounds using technology.I watched “Coraline” in English class, for an assignment. It’s a Stop Motion movie, meaning the company, Laika Entertainment, used clay figures to make millions of pictures move every frame. They also implement backgrounds using technology. A girl named Coraline moved into the Pink Palace Apartment from Michigan and hates everything about it. In an act of boredom her father tells her to count the windows around the house, and she accidentally discovers a door behind the wallpaper that was blocked off by bricks. The day after Coraline finds the door, Wybie gives her a doll that looks suspiciously like herself. She keeps the doll by her bed and that night she goes into a better version of her life. The other world includes her Other Mother, Other Father, and her other neighbor Wybie. The main characters include Coraline Jones played by Dakota Fanning, Both mothers were played by Teri Hatcher, Mr. Bobinsky was played by Ian McShane, and Wybie was played by Robert Bailey Jr. I liked the movie because it had a unique style and was different than most other animated movies. It was well put together and each scene was very whimsical. I like the scene in the garden when all the flowers bloomed and created Coraline’s face. One of my favorite parts is when the piano is playing the Other Father and he says something that he wasn’t suppose to say.

Overall the movie is rated PG and I agreed with that. But, this movie should be on the older end of PG meant for children who are 8 and older because it involves scenes with suspense and then people or things jumping out at the screen. It also includes people changing into different “things” that might frighten young children. This movie had a good overall feel to it but, I would not recommend this movie to anyone under 2nd grade. I recommend this movie to anyone 4th grade or higher.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ALEXANDERD2022Feb 13, 2017
Coraline The Door You don’t Want To Leave.

The stop motion movie known as “Coraline” has a unique plot in which a little girl goes through a door where all of her dreams come true. Henry Silick’s great casting and screen play writing along
Coraline The Door You don’t Want To Leave.

The stop motion movie known as “Coraline” has a unique plot in which a little girl goes through a door where all of her dreams come true. Henry Silick’s great casting and screen play writing along with Neil Gaiman's clever book created the very unique and brilliant plotted movie.

Coraline and her family arrive at the “Pink Palace Apartments”. After Coraline, her mother, and her father unpack. She is approached by a neighbor named Wybie and gives her a doll that in which resembles her. As Coraline explores the house the finds what appears to be a cloth door sown into the wall. During the day as she settles in she tries to get her parents attention but they don't listen and she begins to grow a bitter taste in her mouth for them. As she sleeps she is awoken by mice in her door and follows them downstairs and through the door in the wall and discovers the “other world” where everything is better and her “other parents” which are the complete opposite of hers now want her to live with her forever. But she soon finds out she should appreciate what she has and accept that not everything is perfect.

“Coraline” is a decent movie. Sure it didn’t really stick with its MPAA rating but still they put a lot of work into plot, however but not as much in the soundtrack. Coraline has one of the best plots I have heard in a long time. In the movie she moves into a new house and gets very interested in a peculiar door made of cloth. Unknown the door holds mysterious secrets and the young girl named Coraline learns to be careful of what she wishes for. Coraline’s plot is pretty complex and mysterious and that’s what I like about it. The theme to Coraline was “to be happy of what you have” but in this movie they took that in different perspective. Something in Coraline that I hate is the repeated soundtrack. It’s like they work so much in the inside of the movie but didn’t do as much work on the outside. People who like interesting plots and spine-chilling animations would definitely take interest in this film. Although the film is rated PG and is an animated film, you should check the most recent reviews because the film has caused some problems with younger kids. “Coraline” the movie is one door to adventure that you don’t want to leave. The total rating on most websites and reviews is 4 out of 5.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DavidM.Feb 28, 2009
A true labour of love, which bore gorgeous fruit, visually and stylistically. Not likely to appeal to a crowd looking for singing fish and dancing zebras. Why anyone would expect this to be a Disneyesque, inane sunshine and lolipops venture A true labour of love, which bore gorgeous fruit, visually and stylistically. Not likely to appeal to a crowd looking for singing fish and dancing zebras. Why anyone would expect this to be a Disneyesque, inane sunshine and lolipops venture for a SMALL child and then complain after the fact is a bit of a mystery. It is INTENDED to be dark and yes, disturbing. The artistry and execution left me at a loss for words after viewing, but perhaps that is because I am just a "moran" (sorry Bill C) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
kairiCFeb 7, 2009
It was really visually stunning, the 3d was a little distracting in a few places, it was really spot-on the spirit of the book, even with the changes. It was fun and creepy and me, my husband, and my 12 year old daughter all enjoyed it. It was really visually stunning, the 3d was a little distracting in a few places, it was really spot-on the spirit of the book, even with the changes. It was fun and creepy and me, my husband, and my 12 year old daughter all enjoyed it. Amazing stop-action like I've never seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
amelindasMay 16, 2009
At first I felt like a child again, discovering how "wierd" evil was rather than scary or threatening. It than dove right in to the insanity and came out squeaky sane on the other side. The resiliency of a child's mind is astonishing At first I felt like a child again, discovering how "wierd" evil was rather than scary or threatening. It than dove right in to the insanity and came out squeaky sane on the other side. The resiliency of a child's mind is astonishing and the movie brought that all back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanielM.Feb 21, 2009
This movie may have been weird, spooky and meant to be played in October. Also, the way that everything went, ( how thematic it was and how scary it was, and to mention one clip of the movie was suggestive enough that it was meant for This movie may have been weird, spooky and meant to be played in October. Also, the way that everything went, ( how thematic it was and how scary it was, and to mention one clip of the movie was suggestive enough that it was meant for teenagers instead of children. ) But other than what I just said this was the best movie that I saw that was not meant for toddlers, or adults. The story was surprisingly awesome in an adventurous way, and how they set up the movie was classic. Even better, the movie was definitely appropriately timed, when the movie was ending, I was getting a little antsy. This movie is a must see to any teenager out there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AlenSFeb 27, 2009
What a magical experience, not a movie at all, but a brilliant adventure. Very creepy... Truly creepy and unsettling... If the movie is too scary for your kids, then don't watch the whole thing! Just because it is spooky doesn't What a magical experience, not a movie at all, but a brilliant adventure. Very creepy... Truly creepy and unsettling... If the movie is too scary for your kids, then don't watch the whole thing! Just because it is spooky doesn't equate it with being bad. The rich visuals were right on. Way better than Nightmare. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
davidkFeb 7, 2009
Excellent animation and story... I saw it in 3D and was blown away by the quality of the imagery...not for the little ones...but for teens and up it's a great film going experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnaP.Feb 7, 2009
This was gloriously filmed in 3D, with great depth and astonishing color. Yet it's subtle - not many of the "gotcha, 3D!" moments in this, which was nice. The story is solid, although I prefer the book version to the movie version. This was gloriously filmed in 3D, with great depth and astonishing color. Yet it's subtle - not many of the "gotcha, 3D!" moments in this, which was nice. The story is solid, although I prefer the book version to the movie version. Nevertheless, it's a great movie for kids of all ages, and for their parents too. A breath of fresh air compared to the normal kids fare, for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveOFeb 7, 2009
One of the most visually entertaining experiences of my life. It's a strange, fun trip!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LoganMFeb 8, 2009
It hardly comes as a surprise, but Neil Gaiman has done it again! With the help of screenwriter/director Henry Selick and Laika, Coraline has become a major success. For good reason. The star power of Dakota Fanning, Teri Hatcher, and It hardly comes as a surprise, but Neil Gaiman has done it again! With the help of screenwriter/director Henry Selick and Laika, Coraline has become a major success. For good reason. The star power of Dakota Fanning, Teri Hatcher, and arguably They Might Be Giants add a lot to the film's success, as do their talents, but this is far and away a writer's movie. Don't mistake me, the movie's a visual feast. The modelers, "costumers" and animators at Laika are best in class. The cinematography is astounding. The 3D can sometimes be jarring, but no more so than in any other production using the technology. Many of those effects are just tremendous, however. The organic pixelizations, animated gardens and looms (of all kinds) add a great deal to a feel of enchantment viewers of all ages can really enjoy. As I said, this is a writer's movie, and that's one of the esteemed Mr. Gaiman's great talents; breaking the age barrier. It's a tradition in animation, of course, layering adult humor into child-friendly themes, but this is a writer who doesn't need animation, or even illustration, to accomplish the feat. I haven't read the book. Sorry, Neil. But rest assured I shall! In fact, I may just order it now. While I was tremendously disappointed with the screen treatment of Stardust (2007), I expect less was changed here. It would certainly make sense as Mr. Gaiman's Hollywood clout continues to grow. It's good to see genius and persistence rewarded in such a big way. The merit is clearly visible in Coraline. This movie is so charming I can hardly stand it. There are scenes that melt the heart, and few that make it skip a beat. The imagery is eternal, as are the well-stated themes of love, disaffection and fear. Layer into that timeless story the aforementioned visuals, an excellent musical score, great voice acting and Burton-beating production values and what do you get? A film like the perfect layer cake. A cake with creamy frosting, and the words "Welcome home" ringed in candles. Or a deep forgotten well surrounded by a faerie ring. Either is good. Better than good: superlative. You must not miss this film! I give it 9 of 10 points! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulD.Mar 5, 2009
Excellent script and stellar animation makes this a winner. I saw it without 3-D, but it was still very impressive. Imaginative and beautiful animation, but suspense and menace keep it from being syrupy. Kept my interest and attention till the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanKJul 22, 2009
Can someone please tell me why the Coraline dvd uses the old, crappy red and blue 3D glasses that make your head hurt instead of the amazing, mind-blowing technology that made the theater 3D experience so incredibly fun? I loved this movie, Can someone please tell me why the Coraline dvd uses the old, crappy red and blue 3D glasses that make your head hurt instead of the amazing, mind-blowing technology that made the theater 3D experience so incredibly fun? I loved this movie, and I am so frustrated that I will never be able to share the movie experience that I had in the theater with anyone because the studio execs wouldn't spend the extra two bucks on more expensive glasses!! Please help me understand this!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnRSep 9, 2009
Absolutely stunning. An original plot with a heroic little girl. I wouldn't recommend it for very young children, but age 9 and over should be fine. Adults will love it too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonySFeb 10, 2009
I love how the negative or mediocre reviews don't actually mention much about what they didn't like about the movie. If your going to say that a movie that is generally accepted as exceptional is mediocre, please explain why you I love how the negative or mediocre reviews don't actually mention much about what they didn't like about the movie. If your going to say that a movie that is generally accepted as exceptional is mediocre, please explain why you feel that way. I enjoyed this film. The characters were all well done. Is also has a TMBG song in it which is always nice! The 3D is breath taking. I will most likely see it again before it leaves the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SkyW.Feb 26, 2009
This was a really good movie. i went to see it with a friend in 3-D and to be honest it was so SCARY! none of my other friends believe us b/c it is animated bu this was one of the creepiest movies i have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisV.Feb 28, 2009
This movie is just great, i loved it from head to toes... it has a great message too.. the animation its cool, even tough i tought that the characters where gonna be a little less creepy, haha, and my little brother was cryingm but it was This movie is just great, i loved it from head to toes... it has a great message too.. the animation its cool, even tough i tought that the characters where gonna be a little less creepy, haha, and my little brother was cryingm but it was great to enjoy this movie.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaM.Feb 8, 2009
Very enjoyable movie. The 3D effect was worth the extra couple dollars admission. Incredible animation and imagination by the animators. Note the this is not a kids movie, or even a young teenager movie. Alot of the plot would just go over Very enjoyable movie. The 3D effect was worth the extra couple dollars admission. Incredible animation and imagination by the animators. Note the this is not a kids movie, or even a young teenager movie. Alot of the plot would just go over their heads. Bring your imagination, put on your 3D glasses and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenSMar 28, 2009
Dear Margaret S, I'm saddened by your review - and moreso by your particular lack of imagination. Or maybe you're just afraid of the dark. Either way, if you would've read the reviews earlier you may have concluded that it Dear Margaret S, I'm saddened by your review - and moreso by your particular lack of imagination. Or maybe you're just afraid of the dark. Either way, if you would've read the reviews earlier you may have concluded that it wasn't a family film, had several subtle intellectual undertones (anyone else catch all those sly winks to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind?) and dark themes throughout. This has easily been one of the most inventive, innovative and astounding films I've recently witnessed. It was an incredibly successful combination of all the best components of the HP franchise, El Laberinto del Fauno, and (as previously mentioned) EsotSM. Riveting. A little slow paced at times perhaps but always filled with a sense of either dread and gloom or wonder - and at it's best moments, all 3. The best film to come out of 09 so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Feb 12, 2009
The moment the girl and the cat reach a void in their walking, "Coraline" loses all pretenses of being a children's movie. An irony, to be sure, since the unrealized world yet to be determined by the Other Mother(Teri Hatcher), pays sly The moment the girl and the cat reach a void in their walking, "Coraline" loses all pretenses of being a children's movie. An irony, to be sure, since the unrealized world yet to be determined by the Other Mother(Teri Hatcher), pays sly homage to a classic children's story. Published in 1955, Crockett Johnson's "Harold and the Purple Crayon" told the story of a little boy who creates a world of his own making. When Coraline(Dakota Fanning) and the cat are thrown into stark relief against a white background, the mis-en-scene self-consciously turns into an empty canvas. The cat tells the girl that her faux mom created only what she needed, which echoes the genesis behind Harold's imagination; he too drew as a means to an end. Harold was an artist, and all artists are solitary by nature. Harold was no exception. "Coraline" suggests the emotional toll that creativity has on the aesthetically-minded. Some turn into tortured artists, just like the Other Mother. She's lonely. To what extent, this loneliness, can be measured by the elaborate, but demented flora she creates in her garden, and the wholesome meals she prepares for Coraline and her Other Father(John Hodgeman). When she gives Coraline the box containing her button eyes, it's a test of the little girl's love. Instead of living a real life with Coraline, the other mother would rather remains in her artistic realm transform the corporeal girl into a representational one. As aforementioned, this is no mere children's film. Not only does "Coraline" suggest "Harold and the Purple Crayon" gone dystopian, it also borrows heavily from a "Twilight Zone" episode entitled "It's a Good Life". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TharsoeFeb 28, 2009
very enjoyable. it's not a kiddy film but my kid sister enjoyed it anyway. one of the best of 2009 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sVc.Jul 26, 2009
This movie went far beyond my expectations. Even though I am a huge fan of "The Nightmare Before Christmas" I guess I still wasn't expecting this to be that interesting; and I was way off base. It is far creepeir than I assumed and the This movie went far beyond my expectations. Even though I am a huge fan of "The Nightmare Before Christmas" I guess I still wasn't expecting this to be that interesting; and I was way off base. It is far creepeir than I assumed and the animation is supberb. Sellick and Burton should keep making movies together so that Hollywood will always have something original to give its audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PedroAug 26, 2010
I thought Coraline was going to have very scary moments - but I was wrong. Coraline is a great movie, thrilling, exciting, everything! You have to see it. PG is reccomended, Coraline may create nightmares on most sensitive (New York Post,I thought Coraline was going to have very scary moments - but I was wrong. Coraline is a great movie, thrilling, exciting, everything! You have to see it. PG is reccomended, Coraline may create nightmares on most sensitive (New York Post, thanks) children. Coraline, a great movie deserves a great review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JacobSep 26, 2014
This is an excellent movie. It deviates from the book slightly but it is at the core still true to the story being not only a faithful adaption of a book but a great film in its own right. The story is really good with some great morals andThis is an excellent movie. It deviates from the book slightly but it is at the core still true to the story being not only a faithful adaption of a book but a great film in its own right. The story is really good with some great morals and is well paced and put together. The characters for the most part are likeable and relatable. The stop motion animation is fantastic and there is some great directing in regards to angles and lighting. The story is a little too streamlined at times and certain elements are added to the film that I could’ve done without but they don’t take away from the experience too much as the film is still faithful to the book and a great adaptation. This film made me feel like a kid again and this one of those great kids movies that children should see (although they should read the book first). Kids aren’t the only who will enjoy this adults will enjoy at as well for being well written and well put together. This is the first film from Liakala Studios and for a first film its really impressive. Cannot wait to see what this studio does next because this is a great film that I’d highly recommend watching if you haven’t seen it already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 29, 2010
this movie is by far an excellent stop-motion movie for kids and their families with the help of the supporting acting, nice visuals, and very amazing characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 24, 2012
I can understand the overall story very easily so this is really perfect for children aged 4-6. I love the creativity and the imagination of the whole movie. The graphics are great, so visually it has impact to people watching it. We can alsoI can understand the overall story very easily so this is really perfect for children aged 4-6. I love the creativity and the imagination of the whole movie. The graphics are great, so visually it has impact to people watching it. We can also learn something from this movie which I can relate to. An excellent movie for all ages.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 18, 2011
Henry Selick takes Neil Gaiman's imaginative story and makes wonders with it with thrills, dark humor, great stop motion animation, and a cool original score make Coraline one of the best animated films ever made in my opinion. I give this movie 93%.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
SatiricalewokNov 8, 2014
Good god this film is creepy. Forget actual horror films, I can safely tell you that this was scarier than any horror film I have seen since it's release. Aside from the near mental scarring I underwent, this film was fantastic, it containsGood god this film is creepy. Forget actual horror films, I can safely tell you that this was scarier than any horror film I have seen since it's release. Aside from the near mental scarring I underwent, this film was fantastic, it contains some of the best animation I have ever seen, and one of the most compelling heart warming stories. Just don't watch it at night. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ReubenIsAGodOct 31, 2016
Films a near masterpiece. I absolutely love stop-motion animation, and this is definitely one of the best. Everything that laika has been putting out is absolute astonishing, or at least a little lake-warm, but i absolute adore this film forFilms a near masterpiece. I absolutely love stop-motion animation, and this is definitely one of the best. Everything that laika has been putting out is absolute astonishing, or at least a little lake-warm, but i absolute adore this film for its dark horrifying storytelling and just being an absolute classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Very good movie that combines animation with terror child.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
There's nothing like being led into another world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gaurusMay 24, 2014
Having never read the novel, I just wanted to view this movie as soon as possible. Now I am happy that this movie carries a great message and also great animation. It is one of the best stop-animation I have seen and also a best dark fantasyHaving never read the novel, I just wanted to view this movie as soon as possible. Now I am happy that this movie carries a great message and also great animation. It is one of the best stop-animation I have seen and also a best dark fantasy animation. The originality of the plot and the beautiful animation may entertain the audience of every age group. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpeedArtDec 25, 2013
"Coraline" was a horror movie for kids. Not a great mix in some movies like "Munchies" or "Critters", but this was a movie that didn't just have a great plot, script, imagination and production, but also inspired kids to be brave and to stand"Coraline" was a horror movie for kids. Not a great mix in some movies like "Munchies" or "Critters", but this was a movie that didn't just have a great plot, script, imagination and production, but also inspired kids to be brave and to stand their ground, while being fun in the process. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwMay 3, 2016
Neil Gaiman is so contemporarily vital, both in literature and cinema, because he more than anyone else (with the possible exception of Terry Gilliam) notes that children and adults alike are fascinated with what lies outside our observableNeil Gaiman is so contemporarily vital, both in literature and cinema, because he more than anyone else (with the possible exception of Terry Gilliam) notes that children and adults alike are fascinated with what lies outside our observable and tangible realms of existence. He realized the reasons storytelling have been significantly important since the dawn of mankind, and devised, as the Brothers Grimm did, that fairy tales and children's stories had to be haunting and entertaining to be both memorable and timeless. This is a great film depicting the growing sense as a child approaches adolescence that their parents and their world aren't exactly as they seem, and that through their trials and tribulations (the 'rites of passage', if you will) they'll reach the 'happy medium' they need to in order to find true happiness in their lifetimes.

I definitely hope that all of Gaiman's books and graphic novels are made into movies (I most anticipate the 'Miracleman' graphic novels--both those by him and Alan Moore). Ones so well-written would truly be 'comic book movies' worth watching for me.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Kris511cFeb 5, 2015
i only have 1 problem with this movie, the mom is just to evil, in the book you could feel there at least was some love left in here, but in the movie is she just a **** ells is it a great movie, one of the best i seen, great art, atmosphere,i only have 1 problem with this movie, the mom is just to evil, in the book you could feel there at least was some love left in here, but in the movie is she just a **** ells is it a great movie, one of the best i seen, great art, atmosphere, and characters Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Parappafan1996Jan 13, 2015
Up there with The Nightmare before Christmas and The Lion King as one of the greatest animated films of all time, it's only dud being Coraline's mom, who is actually kinda of a... You know what.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
teddylukeApr 6, 2015
a great amazing movie with a good story and characters. this is one of my animated film of all time. I really think this movie is up there with all the Pixar film not cars 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JunelKeanJul 2, 2017
Animation has never been better with Laika as they have improved their stop motion technique over the past years from its movies like ParaNorman and The Boxtrolls. And one movie in particular, has been defined by history causing it to be anAnimation has never been better with Laika as they have improved their stop motion technique over the past years from its movies like ParaNorman and The Boxtrolls. And one movie in particular, has been defined by history causing it to be an animation milestone of our modern cinema and being Laika's first stop motion picture.

After Coraline (Fanning) moves on the Pink Palace with her parents (Hatcher & Hodgman) her life starts to become boring. But she is not aware that a portal to the Other World is opened and as she explores it, her life has been a dream come true. But little does she know, there are sinister secrets hidden behind its perfection.

The creativity and originality of this film is fantastically incorporated. The optimism could be observed all over the screen by using Henry Selick's eerie tone and bizzare techniques. But what makes Coraline so impactful, is its ability to reach to all of the ages, whether young or mature. It allows the audience to escape and be transported to a whole new universe of both exciting and exhilarating spectacle.

The nice musical score and beautiful visuals blend to form an appealing story that everyone would absolutely adore. Metaphorically moving with flying colors.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kierraa2021Feb 13, 2017
I recently watched this film and thought it wasn’t half bad. In fact, it was better than that. This movie wasn’t the best movie I’ve seen, and I may be slightly biased since this isn’t a genre I enjoy that much. “Coraline”, made by LaikaI recently watched this film and thought it wasn’t half bad. In fact, it was better than that. This movie wasn’t the best movie I’ve seen, and I may be slightly biased since this isn’t a genre I enjoy that much. “Coraline”, made by Laika Entertainment, made a unique, different type of stop motion film with a darker twist to it. The story is far different than any other traditional kid’s movie, and the film must’ve been a major risk considering that no one had made a movie like this for such a young audience.
The movie starts with the main character, Coraline, moving into an apartment for the summer. After exploring, she later finds a well, and not too long after she meets Wybie. Then Wybie tells Caroline that that house is haunted, because his grandma's sister went missing in the Pink Palace, the company that owns the apartment complex Coraline's living in. Coralline also finds out that Wybie has a doll that looks exactly like Coraline herself. The night Coraline found the doll, she went to bed, but was a awaken in the middle of the night and led to the secret door by a mouse, that is now open. The door acts as a portal, that leads to another dimension just like her own, yet there are a new set of parents. This dimension is mostly the same, but for one huge difference, they all have buttons for eyes. In this world, there is another version of her mother, and through a series of events she manages to gain Coraline’s trust, but It turns out that her other mother is an evil beldam that wants to be loved, forever. Through vigerous tasks Coraline eventually has to free her parents that the Other Mother has captured and escape the dimension she is trapped in. My favorite part about this film is the stop motion animation, and how unique it is for it’s making in 2009. For me personally, I love and absolutely adore unique art styles and indifferent animation styles, and that also goes for this film as well. There are plenty of stop motion films, but this catches my eye just for it’s unusually dark story. The animation was a little clunky at times, where the movements of the characters were a little choppy rather than smooth. I also like just how bizarre it can be, especially in a scene where the world seems to deteriorate. There are many scenes that are bizarre enough to reach my expectations. I wouldn’t recommend this movie to many younger viewers, most children seven or under should avoid this film. When I was around the age of five, I saw this film for the first time and it absolutely terrified me, and after that experience I never wanted to see it again because it scared me so badly. However, coming back to view the movie nine years later I can appreciate that it’s a good film. I’d highly recommend this to viewers of the age ten or older. Most young children wouldn’t even be able to appreciate the film for what it is anyway. Though the film is rated PG, it should’ve been a little higher or have some age restriction on the film. My view of the film is that it’s one I like, just not my favorite. However I am a slightly biased just since it’s not my favorite genre of film.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Carloso2021Feb 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just saw “Coraline” and I want to say something about it. This movie is like Wallace and Gromit meets Ghostbusters creepy. Laika Entertainment really liked to build up suspense and action whenever something big was about to happen to Coraline. This movie is about a girl named Coraline. She moved to an apartment complex called the Pink Palace. She goes exploring and meets a boy named Wybie with a strange stray cat. She runs into a weird and crazy circus ringleader named Mr. B. Also, she finds a pair of twins that own three dogs and live in the basement and they always argue with each other and can tell her the future. She explores the house and discovers a hidden door. The door at first was blocked by bricks but after she starts to fall asleep. She hears mice in her room goes of to chase them and the mice end up going to the door. She opens it and finds out that the door is a portal to an alternate universe controlled by Other Mother. She did everything to make Coraline’s life happier but just to take her because she “needs love.”

I thought the movie “Coraline” was a really good and interesting movie. It was really specific on how old and run-down the place was. The movie started out with Coraline having a rough time living in a new place. It is a really eerie movie because she was living with mysterious neighbors and there was a lot of minor things that helped like the fog and the setting. I just didn’t like the rating for it because it would be a little scary for younger kids. There is also a boy named Wybie with a stray cat that stalks her and she can’t do or have a lot of the things that she wants. I think the people who like scary or creepy movies would like this movie. I recommend not letting the littler kids see this. It’s more meant for kids about 11 and up. It is extremely creepy and would scare little kids. I would rate this movie PG-13 because 13 year olds would like this movie if they don’t get creeped out. I say “Coraline” is an overall good movie. I give it an A or 5 stars.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
riannac2021Feb 13, 2017
“Coraline Has Us Sewn In From The Beginning” We just watched the movie “Coraline” and Laika Entertainment hit us hard with an easy movie for older kids to understand. The animation style in this movie is amazing it goes it extreme detail.“Coraline Has Us Sewn In From The Beginning” We just watched the movie “Coraline” and Laika Entertainment hit us hard with an easy movie for older kids to understand. The animation style in this movie is amazing it goes it extreme detail. This movie isn’t really appropriate for younger kids but if kid enjoys creepy Tim Burton Movies then they would enjoy this movie. Laika Entertainment once again made a genius movie for people wanting to watch animated movies that are gloomy.
In the movie “Coraline”, Coraline moves into here new apartment called the Pink Palace in the middle of nowhere. At first she doesn’t like the Pink Palace because she thinks it is boring and there is nothing to do. She found somebody named Wybie and he gave her a doll that looked just liked her. Her parents always are working and never have time for her. She goes looking around the house and finds the door. She goes into the kitchen and asked her mom for the key, her mom finds the key in a drawer and goes to open the door Coraline was talking about. She opens the door and it's a brick wall. Then it was time for bed, she went to her room and fell asleep and mice came in her room and woke her up and lead her to the little door. She opened the door and found there was an opening and it lead her to her other mother, who is a creepy and controlling. Watch this movie in order to find out Coraline’s fate. I really enjoyed this movie and the actors and how they put emotion into this movie. One of my favorite parts was when they went into the alternate reality and met the other parents. The animation was so bright and colorful. The garden scene is vibrant and makes you want to be in a garden. Coraline is known for her blue hair an d daring personality.What i didn’t like was how it had too many plot holes for you to figure out as the movie went on. A plot hole is basically how you have to figure out what happened without the movie directly telling what has happened.
I would recommend this movie to the age of 8 and up. An 8 year old may not understand it as well but they would still enjoy it. A 13 year old would understand some of the difficult topics like the alternate reality. This movie might scare little children because there is some parts where it can or may scare them. Its rated PG because of the images and some of the language. I also think it was a great movie because it explained a perfected story and it explained things really well but some parts did get confusing that's why we gave it a four star rating. 4 out of 5 stars rating
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Gabe_BucherosFeb 13, 2017
I watched “Coraline” in English class, for an assignment. It’s a Stop Motion movie, meaning the company, Laika Entertainment, used clay figures to make millions of pictures move every frame. They also implement backgrounds using technology.I watched “Coraline” in English class, for an assignment. It’s a Stop Motion movie, meaning the company, Laika Entertainment, used clay figures to make millions of pictures move every frame. They also implement backgrounds using technology. A girl named Coraline moved into the Pink Palace Apartment from Michigan and hates everything about it. In an act of boredom her father tells her to count the windows around the house, and she accidentally discovers a door behind the wallpaper that was blocked off by bricks. The day after Coraline finds the door, Wybie gives her a doll that looks suspiciously like herself. She keeps the doll by her bed and that night she goes into a better version of her life. The other world includes her Other Mother, Other Father, and her other neighbor Wybie. The main characters include Coraline Jones played by Dakota Fanning, Both mothers were played by Teri Hatcher, Mr. Bobinsky was played by Ian McShane, and Wybie was played by Robert Bailey Jr. I liked the movie because it had a unique style and was different than most other animated movies. It was well put together and each scene was very whimsical. I like the scene in the garden when all the flowers bloomed and created Coraline’s face. One of my favorite parts is when the piano is playing the Other Father and he says something that he wasn’t suppose to say.

Overall the movie is rated PG and I agreed with that. But, this movie should be on the older end of PG meant for children who are 8 and older because it involves scenes with suspense and then people or things jumping out at the screen. It also includes people changing into different “things” that might frighten young children. This movie had a good overall feel to it but, I would not recommend this movie to anyone under 2nd grade. I recommend this movie to anyone 4th grade or higher.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
CAYDENB2022Feb 13, 2017
“Button” Your Seat Belts and Watch this Awesome Movie “Coraline”

I just saw the movie “Coraline” and in my opinion it was a very enjoyable movie. “Coraline” is a stop-motion film produced by Henry Selick. It is a very bland movie but you
“Button” Your Seat Belts and Watch this Awesome Movie “Coraline”

I just saw the movie “Coraline” and in my opinion it was a very enjoyable movie. “Coraline” is a stop-motion film produced by Henry Selick. It is a very bland movie but you barely notice while watching. He may have perhaps, the most effective stop motion-film with an enlightened, involving story that will attract any age above ten.

The story starts when Coraline and her parents move into an apartment. Coraline gets bored so she goes exploring in the garden. When she was exploring in the garden she finds a well, and she also meets a boy named Wybie. After exploring in the garden she starts wandering around the house, where she finds a secret small door. When she goes through the small door she finds herself in a different reality where her parents are nice and fun. Even though her neighbors who are Mrs. Spink, Ms. Forcible, and Mr. Bobinsky, said not to go through the door. After all the fun time in the different reality, she doesn’t want to go back anymore. The story is to show to be grateful for what you have. What I liked about the movie was the animation style was impressive because it was stop motion as well as 3-D. I also liked the plot because it always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I also liked the character development. They introduced the characters at the right time. What I didn’t like was the music that always played because it was really boring and slow. Another dislike was the parents weren’t as important until the end which I didn’t like as much because In my opinion if the parents were more of a big deal it would have been a little more interesting. If you like intense and happy ending movies then this is the movie for you.This movie was rated PG. I think it wasn’t appropriate for the targeted audience. You should talk to other friends that have seen it and ask them if it would be appropriate for you. If you want to take your kid to watch it, you should make sure they are mature enough and won’t be freaked out for awhile.

I thought this was a 3.5 star movie. I would watch it again but no more times after that. All in all it was a good movie with great animations.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JasonH.Feb 7, 2009
I REALLY enjoyed watching this movie, and my only gripe is a strange one: About half way through the movie, it starts seeming like it's a video game.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
RhettR.Feb 6, 2009
This rating is for the non-3D version. Parent section: First off, I would not recommend taking children under 8 to this movie. The plot is a bit complex and too deep to keep the attention of younger children, and it is borderline too scary This rating is for the non-3D version. Parent section: First off, I would not recommend taking children under 8 to this movie. The plot is a bit complex and too deep to keep the attention of younger children, and it is borderline too scary for children 6 and under. My children (8,6,3,3) love Nightmare Before Christmas. But I think this movie hits a bit too close to home since the main character is a young girl and story a twisted variation on her reality. NBC is fantastical. I regret bringing my younger children. Jury is out with the 6 YO boy. There are also a few scenes completely inappropriate for children. During the theater scene with the old ladies. one of the old ladies is in pastys and a thong. They sing about breasts, coraline points out how naked they are and even blurts out an OMG. The innuendo and nudity is completely unnecessary and adds nothing to the story. I was very taken back that this HAD to be in the story. Once again, a perfectly good family movie (albeit for older children) is ruined by a disconnected and ignorant writer, director, producer. why does hollywood find this necessary? It only creates an awkward moment for parents and children. Of all the money spent on marketing and demographic, where is the market research on this subject? OK stepping off my soapbox. Movie section: As far as the movie goes.Tthe stop motion is unbelievable. You will have a hard time comprehending how Selick and team accomplished what they did. And the textures and shadows created by the tangible medium cannot be matched with CG (I draw a similar comparison of the original star wars trilogy to the recent prequels. The magic and artistry of stop motion cannot be matched). There were a few choppy spots in the film (i.e. framerate) but perhaps it was a prob with our theater. The story is exquisite. it evokes thoughts of other stories of childrens' twists on reality (Alice in Wonderland, Wizard of OZ, Pan's Labyrinth) Here are my gripes: Character development is a bit rushed, but not so much you don't feel a connection with them.Tthe story development is bit rushed also, but at the same time, the movie feels a bit stretched out at some points. All in all a great movie for adults and older children. Fans of Selick and the like will not be disappointed. Those not interested in the genre will be impressed with the technique, but the story will not change their opinions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessicaF.Apr 17, 2009
Long ago, I read the original book Coraline and it freaked me out then. This film didn't seem to do the book justice. The addition of the character, "Wybie", altered the story just enough to make me dislike it. They made it too "fluffy".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WhoKnewFeb 18, 2009
Dakota Fanning is SOOOOO ANNNOOOOOYYYING!!! Her acting range goes from monotonous to barking, can't she nuance her words without always screaming them??? But other than that, the movie was pretty good--the animation is flawlessly Dakota Fanning is SOOOOO ANNNOOOOOYYYING!!! Her acting range goes from monotonous to barking, can't she nuance her words without always screaming them??? But other than that, the movie was pretty good--the animation is flawlessly inspired and subtle effects quite eye popping. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielWFeb 26, 2009
Well, "Bill C." must have seen this in a theater FULL of "idiots and morans" [sic]. My wife and I enjoyed it, as did the small crowd at the weekday matinee we attended. Can't speak for the small children, however, but I didn't hear Well, "Bill C." must have seen this in a theater FULL of "idiots and morans" [sic]. My wife and I enjoyed it, as did the small crowd at the weekday matinee we attended. Can't speak for the small children, however, but I didn't hear any of them screaming or crying. I'm a little tired of everyone complaining that this was too scary or creepy for kids. Why does every animated movie have to be suitable for small children? Anyway, good story, great animation and design, and really great 3D. It is a little slow, and Dakota Fanning is no great voice talent. There we many moments where the characters felt stiff, but I felt like that was pretty fitting with the overall dreamlike quality of the movie. I would highly recommend seeing this in 3D in the theater while you still can, but you probably want to leave your toddler with a babysitter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LizMar 1, 2009
I would actually give it 8.5, but I'm a bit jaded. Neil Gaiman is fantastic, and Coraline is the new Grimm's fairy tale. the book was lovely and disturbing, the movie...well, just listening to kids walking out of the theatre made I would actually give it 8.5, but I'm a bit jaded. Neil Gaiman is fantastic, and Coraline is the new Grimm's fairy tale. the book was lovely and disturbing, the movie...well, just listening to kids walking out of the theatre made it clear they'd have their lights on tonight. i can't wait for Sandman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewGMar 16, 2009
Much better than I expected. The first half of the movie was especially good in my opinion - when there's still a bit of mystery to the creepiness. The animation has a dreamy aesthetic that works really well. If you (or your kids) like Much better than I expected. The first half of the movie was especially good in my opinion - when there's still a bit of mystery to the creepiness. The animation has a dreamy aesthetic that works really well. If you (or your kids) like Nightmare Before Christmas, then you (they) will probably like this too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougMMar 21, 2009
To the nice lady in the user reviews who can somehow tell that "the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children", my 70-year-old mother absolutely adored this movie (and no, she To the nice lady in the user reviews who can somehow tell that "the people that really enjoyed this film were young adults who possibly enjoy video games and have no children", my 70-year-old mother absolutely adored this movie (and no, she doesn't enjoy video games). Didn't want any other middle-aged people to miss out because of her review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToddF.Mar 3, 2009
Very good movie, though I would think the kids would find it a bit too creepy or scary. But I dont have kids, so I dont care. The theater didnt have 3d, so that was a bit of a bummer, but I loved the visual effects and some of the characters Very good movie, though I would think the kids would find it a bit too creepy or scary. But I dont have kids, so I dont care. The theater didnt have 3d, so that was a bit of a bummer, but I loved the visual effects and some of the characters were great, especially the lady with the pasties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RachelS.Apr 25, 2009
Good movie even though it is not for kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RajDJun 14, 2009
Very good. the animation is excellent. also, the story is creepy and very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful