Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 16, 2005
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 416 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
326
Mixed:
61
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
csw12Jun 30, 2013
Corpse Bride is good not great. Joyfully brilliant animation and wonderful music are unfortunately muddled by a boring plot and depressing and empty characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AaronG.Apr 1, 2009
I've been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while, but I was really looking forward to not much. The movie, itself, reminds me a lot of Tim Burton's extremely celebrated Nightmare before Christmas. However, I was crushed I've been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while, but I was really looking forward to not much. The movie, itself, reminds me a lot of Tim Burton's extremely celebrated Nightmare before Christmas. However, I was crushed about halfway into the rather short movie by boring, uninteresting characters, a twist ending that only an idiot couldn't see coming, and music that just doesn't quite hit the high note. It makes me very sad to say this movie was very "ok", but the fact is that it's just too much like it's main character. Short, timid, and vaguely uninteresting. If there's one thing I have to praise, it's the excellent atmosphere and animation. Otherwise, I have not much but disappointment for this movie. Oh, and it was really fun watching the blu ray disc freeze up. I sent for another one, but that one froze up too. Coincidence? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
VelourJan 13, 2007
This movie, like Burton's " Nightmare Before Christmas" has a familiar style, but the storyline doesn't intrigue me enough to watch 75 minutes. I found it to be less capturing than Nightmare. But, it is better than the title This movie, like Burton's " Nightmare Before Christmas" has a familiar style, but the storyline doesn't intrigue me enough to watch 75 minutes. I found it to be less capturing than Nightmare. But, it is better than the title suggest's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
I feel strongly that The Nightmare Before Christmas was one of the great films of my lifetime, and that the charm and unrepressable... oomph it had cannot be reproduced in any way. Not even, or most specifically by the original director. I feel strongly that The Nightmare Before Christmas was one of the great films of my lifetime, and that the charm and unrepressable... oomph it had cannot be reproduced in any way. Not even, or most specifically by the original director. Yes, Corpse Bride had the same demi-goth elements that have made Tim Burton who he is today, and Danny Elfman didn't do a completely shoddy job with the music, but it's no longer a first. Nightmare was just that- comepletely unique and overwhelming. I still get cold shivers up and down my body when I listen to the songs, and the concept, however basic, just fit like a jigsaw puzzle to make a master-piece. Corpse Bride very conciously felt like a rip-off, like Burton wanted desperately to have another go with the medium, and thought somehow he could make another classic by just utilizing the same elements. Nope. Sorry. Didn't work. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't really good, either. I almost worship the ground Burton and Elfman walk on, and I even loved Big Fish, but I love Burton's films because although each retainting a flavor that very clearly indicating Tim's touch, each movie still remains a completely seperate entity and holds it's own charm. It almost feels like Corpse Bride is a badly disguised sequel to Nightmare, but cops out at the last. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
EthanM.Mar 5, 2006
This movie, while looking like a movie that would leave a mark for many years, sadly fell quite short of what I had been expecting. It was a bland, heapless mess with good animation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
vixiMar 2, 2006
It looks beautiful...sadly the characters are boring and hollow and do not capture you in any way to make you feel something from this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CaptainSpauldingJan 31, 2006
Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" again and leave this one (along with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) at the video store. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
HoobyD.Jan 6, 2006
The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the well-endowed women. BOOO!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RichardJ.Nov 29, 2005
Definitiely not Tim Burtons finest (see Nightmare before Christmas). The story was slow with only a couple of scenes a joy to watch e.g. the marriage speech. OK for children?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ClayNov 20, 2005
Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The animation itself was fine, but too clinical. Mr. Burton, your time is up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SeamusSNov 15, 2005
I normally love Tim Burton movies, but never has he crossed soo far into style over substance. This one gets really boring after all the jokes fall flat and the songs lose their schtick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SangheeJ.Nov 9, 2005
A good film, but none of the genius of 'Nightmare Before Christmas'. it was entertaining, but not too memorable, but a good movie nonetheless, but I guess I expected more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Oct 19, 2005
Like "Mulan", "Corpse Bride" would've been a better film without the music. Danny Elfman's songs don't measure up to his work on "The Nightmare Before Christmas", but the allusion to one of Elfman's better known Like "Mulan", "Corpse Bride" would've been a better film without the music. Danny Elfman's songs don't measure up to his work on "The Nightmare Before Christmas", but the allusion to one of Elfman's better known compositions with his former incarnation as lead singer of Oingo Boingo is mildly amusing. Another problem is that the corpse bride (Helena Bonham-Carter) never quite engages us like Victoria (Emily Watson) does. The way Victor captures Victoria's heart with his prowess at the piano is the film's highlight, and it's the ultimate failure of "Corpse Bride" that there's no scene which equally enchants, involving the groom and corpse. Victor's fatalistic love towards Victoria also has to be more convinving in a crucial scene, so his drastic action feels more organic than a requirement of the screenplay to create suspense. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NicoVOct 19, 2005
Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does he redeems himself. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
MarkB.Oct 10, 2005
The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass Christmas TV specials...as well as the one-dimensional cartoons and illustrations of Charles Addams, Ronald Searle and Arnold Roth. Burton's reputation for making the classic horror material and settings he obviously loves palatable for family audiences may have finally caught up with him here; Corpse Bride is unquestionably handsome and heartfelt--and I really liked Burton's depiction of BOTH of Victor's potential wives, Victoria (Emily watson) and Emily (Helena Bonham Carter) as sympathetic, appealing and attractive characters (even the dead one)--but the movie is STILL a frustrating, tantalizing near-miss. Danny Elfman's songs aren't bad, and add to the atmosphere, but they seem tossed off and aren't nearly as long as they need to be; the instant one of the musical numbers begins to envelop the audience, it's over. Ironically, that's the opposite problem of the rest of the movie; even at only 78 minutes, it's frequently as draggy and slow-moving as a George A. Romero walking zombie. Most problematic of all is that despite the morbid subject matter and vivid visuals, the humor is nowhere near as bracingly edgy or "sick" as you'd expect; it's tempting to blame the PG rating, but The Nightmare Before Christmas was a perfect entertainment of its kind that wasn't at all hampered by it. I don't have the heart (or spleen or intestines) to try to talk anyone out of seeing this, and I wish I could get my very own Scraps the Dog at a McDonald's or Burger King mear me, but in all honesty, this movie's current rival, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, has all its virtues plus a much faster pace and a far more successful humor-horror blend that leaves Corpse Bride...well, buried. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeG.Oct 10, 2005
All of the credit in the world for the animation and the look and feel for the movie. But the plot was paper thin and the only plot "twist" in the entire movie was obvious from the second it was not-so-subtly introduced. Enjoyable for the All of the credit in the world for the animation and the look and feel for the movie. But the plot was paper thin and the only plot "twist" in the entire movie was obvious from the second it was not-so-subtly introduced. Enjoyable for the animation, but that's about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
eyebrowOct 8, 2005
Pros: visually stunning, wonderful cast. Cons: aimed too much towards children 6 and under, bland plot. Overview: It can't match Tim Burton's earlier work, but i guess i just expected too much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
gabersh.Oct 6, 2005
Don't get me wrong I loved Sleepy Hollow, Nightmare before Christmas, and Big Fish. This was predictable, not clever, and not worth Tim Burton Johnny Depp or Helena. No good and when the end hits you its like, that was it? Not worth 5 buck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NikiCOct 2, 2005
Akward music inserts and the lack of plot make this hard to bare at times. The only thing going for it is that it brings new lighting to animation and is truely original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
chuckOct 1, 2005
Cute but blah.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
DestroyAllGenresSep 27, 2005
This movie was half-baked and formulaic. The songs where boring and the jokes were infantile. My four point rating breaks down like this: 1 for exposing children to dark themes in a sweet light, 1 for the few, but genuinly good, chuckles, 1 This movie was half-baked and formulaic. The songs where boring and the jokes were infantile. My four point rating breaks down like this: 1 for exposing children to dark themes in a sweet light, 1 for the few, but genuinly good, chuckles, 1 for the first five minutes of goodness, and 1 for taking the time to make a stop-motion mivie in a world of CGI. Minus six points for execution. The world of the dead lacked even a hint of the imagination that went into the world of Nightmare Before Christmas. Any half awake goth could have written the script. Tim Burton has officially lost any kind of original vision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TracyRSep 25, 2005
Not bad, but a little over-rated for what is not much more than a short film. The animation is brilliant and the jokes aren't bad, but the story is beyond flimsy and really not all that interesting if one is over 10 years of age. Felt Not bad, but a little over-rated for what is not much more than a short film. The animation is brilliant and the jokes aren't bad, but the story is beyond flimsy and really not all that interesting if one is over 10 years of age. Felt like something you'd see at an Animation Show rather than a full length feature film. Probably most appealing to children, animation geeks and Hard-core Burton fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GarrettH.Sep 25, 2005
Well its ok.. Its no Nightmare Before Christmas... It has several flaws. To start the songs are like your typical Disney movie songs. They aren't really necessary and advancing the story they are just kinda thrown in there just to be in Well its ok.. Its no Nightmare Before Christmas... It has several flaws. To start the songs are like your typical Disney movie songs. They aren't really necessary and advancing the story they are just kinda thrown in there just to be in there. On top of that half the songs are impossible to understand. And they are not good songs either. I still sing NIghtmare before chistmas songs as so many of them are just great tunes... These songs are not I just got out of the movie and i've basically forgotten most of it already. Another big flaw was that fact that I just didn't feel any kind of connection to the charachters. They didnt' captivate me at all and I really could care less what happened to them. I was fairly bored throughout the movie. My final verdict is that I would have been perfectly content renting but, I don't feel its worth theater prices. Its not bad... It just not even close to great. The reviews are just to nice to this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrianL.Sep 25, 2005
Yeah, saw it last night . . . Don't get me wrong, it's cute. I liked it okay, and everything. But ultimately, not memorable. 5, average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful