Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 16, 2005
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 454 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
357
Mixed:
67
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
FilipeNetoFeb 22, 2018
This film, very popular during Halloween, tells a funny story which runs around a young woman who was murdered in her own wedding day, and that still hasn't lost hope of getting married. Directed by Tim Burton, has a screenplay by CarolineThis film, very popular during Halloween, tells a funny story which runs around a young woman who was murdered in her own wedding day, and that still hasn't lost hope of getting married. Directed by Tim Burton, has a screenplay by Caroline Thompson, Pamela Pettler and John August, and the voices of Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Emily Watson, Albert Finney and Christopher Lee.

Tim Burton has a taste for strange and "out of the box" films, with unusual scenarios and bizarre characters. This is a well made script, with original ideas but functional, where everything fits as it should be. The selected voices belong to actors who usually collaborate in projects of this director, especially Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter, director's wife and herself an actress of great vocal talent. None of them stayed behind expectations, having done an excellent vocal performance. The animations are very well done, using the stop motion technique, a lengthy process that, in this case, obtained a final result of high quality, which certainly benefited from the experience previously performed in "Nightmare Before Christmas". The integration of musical themes in the plot was well done, making us remember the tradition of musicals. The soundtrack, by Danny Elfman, makes here a very interesting result.

Despite being a animation film, is for adolescent and adult audiences, and blends harmoniously animation, morbidity, joy, music and romance. Worth seeing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersJan 24, 2018
Sometimes, a good stop-motion film is what we need. Stop-motion animated films never fail to inject a much-needed "weird" charm and delight audiences with something more than just a traditional "kid's flick." Tim Burton's "Corpse Bride" doesSometimes, a good stop-motion film is what we need. Stop-motion animated films never fail to inject a much-needed "weird" charm and delight audiences with something more than just a traditional "kid's flick." Tim Burton's "Corpse Bride" does exactly that, injecting whimsy, weirdness, and dark humor in a film that's definitely quite enjoyable. With animation that absolutely pops off the screen, some nice music numbers, wonderful emotional scenes, and fantastic characters, "Corpse Bride" is a well-crafted animated film that overcomes it's slightly clich├ęd structure, occasionally groan-inducing jokes and sometimes-creepy character animation to become an enjoyable animated film. It's not for everyone, and I wouldn't advise showing it to a young child, but all in all, this is certainly worth checking out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LzrtagwinaBurneApr 13, 2016
The movie is set to quite a dark theme, which lifts as soon as Johnny Depp enters your life...I mean voices victor on the screen. It has the sort of humor that will make you have a little giggle even on the second watch of it....giggling onThe movie is set to quite a dark theme, which lifts as soon as Johnny Depp enters your life...I mean voices victor on the screen. It has the sort of humor that will make you have a little giggle even on the second watch of it....giggling on the third time? I'll watch & write another review tomorrow, as I really wanna know! The corpse bride (eye popping out, maggots on her face & worst of all she doesn't shower!) is dubbed pretty by my 'ladyfriend'.... yet she herself would rather not go out without her make-up on....not realizing her own beauty? Should I get her some Maggots? Please comment below, help?

So THIS story ends with a huge plot twist!! ** Spoiler ALERT**

- You fall asleep just before half-way & wake up near the credits
- You end up using your imagination on how the movie went or asking an attentive 'ladyfriend'

Dark, JD, Giggling, Drop dead 'gorgeous' CB, maggots - All THIS combined gets a SOLID - 'Meh'

10/10!!!

*Update 3rd time still a giggle, stay tuned for a 4th update.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 9, 2015
Wow, Corpse Bride truly shocked me. Ultimately, what we got was a beautiful blend of Tim Burton's creepy gothic look, a Halloween-esque backdrop, and a wonderful meditation on love and marriage. Featuring brilliant voice acting from theWow, Corpse Bride truly shocked me. Ultimately, what we got was a beautiful blend of Tim Burton's creepy gothic look, a Halloween-esque backdrop, and a wonderful meditation on love and marriage. Featuring brilliant voice acting from the entire cast, especially Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Emily Watson, and Albert Finney, the film strikes many a chord throughout, but never ceases to be visually stunning. Honestly, this may be one of the best animated films I have ever encountered. The attention to detail and true visual splendor, is incredible. The final sequence may be one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen in a film before. Just...wow. In addition, the music is stellar, but all things created by Danny Elfman have to be, no? I think that is a rule at this point. Overall, Corpse Bride is a wonderful animated film that is funny, romantic, charming, and magnificently animated and created. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Parappafan1996Jan 13, 2015
The best animated love story to date, a beautiful animated classic and a must watch for Valentines Day or Halloween (I guess The Nightmare before Christmas ain't the only film with two holidays included)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscSep 29, 2014
"Johnny Depp and Helen Bonham Carter are the best animation couple in a tim burton film". Tim Burton is like a book with gotham stories that seem strange at first you'll it as you get to know the characters also the story much better once"Johnny Depp and Helen Bonham Carter are the best animation couple in a tim burton film". Tim Burton is like a book with gotham stories that seem strange at first you'll it as you get to know the characters also the story much better once you see his movies. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jul 21, 2013
A story about the dead seems so fresh, alive, and beautiful. This is among Burton's best work. His brilliance for creating imagery and tone is why he is one of Hollywood's most distinguished directors.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dante_finnNov 22, 2012
Tim Burton carries on his dark, romantic tradition
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanSep 17, 2012
Corpse Bride is sweet and sincere, dark and funny, and perhaps the most technically accomplished and beautiful example of stop-motion animation ever. A great British voice cast fronted by Johnny Depp (OK he's not British but plays theCorpse Bride is sweet and sincere, dark and funny, and perhaps the most technically accomplished and beautiful example of stop-motion animation ever. A great British voice cast fronted by Johnny Depp (OK he's not British but plays the cripplingly shy young English gent Victor Van Dort well) and featuring Emily Watson, Joanna Lumley, Albert Finney, Paul Whitehouse, Tracey Ullman, Jane Horrocks, Michael Gough, Christopher Lee and Richard E. Grant simply astounds - few directors other than Tim Burton would be able to command the respect of such an array of talent. Helena Bonham Carter blows all away however with her tender performance as Emily, the tragic character of the title. She's a compelling, rounded protagonist and Bonham Carter takes her characterisation in many directions, from child-like immaturity, to bitterness at her situation to eventual dignified acceptance of her untimely demise, and every emotion in-between. The contrast between the sombre, formal and grey world world of the living and the lively, colourful and free land of the dead is striking and effective - Burton has retained his go-to theme of not belonging in the world you are born in, and still has a unique view of death and a distinctive and individual use of cheerfully macabre imagery. In addition to the detail and expressiveness of the puppets and the energy of the animation (supervised by the film's incredibly talented co-director Mike Johnson), Danny Elfman's rich soundtrack and catchy songs, particularly the jazzy "Remains of the Day" and the rip-roaring "Wedding Song" breathe real life into the film. Though the film has much to say about life, death, class, family, love and loneliness, what makes it so memorable is that Tim Burton has provided us with such an entertainingly oddball piece of fantasy escapism. The world of Corpse Bride is a real pleasure to spend time in, and you really grow attached to the weird and wonderful cast of misfits, be they corpse or not. Burton's kookiness and abundance of unusual ideas can sometimes get in the way of telling a coherent, evenly paced story (most noticeably in his recent efforts Alice in Wonderland and Dark Shadows), but not so here - Corpse Bride is a pleasingly simple tale well-told, and characters and their performers are allowed to make a real emotional connection with the viewer. For a film manufactured using an archaic form of animation that seems to aim to actively reject reality, and which prominently features the reanimated dead, it's an oddly human, and miraculously heart-tugging experience, and is probably the most balanced and immaculate of all Tim Burton's films. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PeterWhatAug 31, 2011
When I was going to watch this movie for the very first time, I thought it would be bloody awful. The movie flattered me: it's so beautiful, so full of content, and so carefully made! Tim Burton is yet to make a bad movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I myself am not a big fan of the Gothic style of Tim Burton's animated films. Rarely are there any shades of orange or yellow or any bright, non-depressing colors. However, I think Burton uses these different shades and hues as a metaphor; the living world contains most of the black and gray and the world of limbo (after reviewing the movie, I was surprised by the idea that the world Victor had been dragged into was limbo, rather than the world of the dead) contained more bright colors and happier characters. This film shows what love really is, not typical beauty and infatuation, but actually finding something in common with someone. The realization of the bride at the end of the film and her transition into the afterlife was illustrated very well. In short, this film is a nice love story and has an ending that isn't as typical as I thought it would be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nintendoid13Oct 31, 2010
Well, I thought it was great but Nightmare Before Christmas was just a tad better. The songs were good, and the characters just gave it that Tim Burton twang that we all know and love.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DevonSApr 27, 2008
Who would've thought that the love story of a timid man and a corpse would touch our hearts?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyC.Nov 28, 2007
This is the best movie that i have even seen, in my option it is MUCH better than the nightmare before Christmas. i do not understand why people are judging the two movies they are totally different. sure they are Tim Burton's movies This is the best movie that i have even seen, in my option it is MUCH better than the nightmare before Christmas. i do not understand why people are judging the two movies they are totally different. sure they are Tim Burton's movies but still you don't see a skeleton trying to kidnap Christmas in the corpse bride and you don't see a man marrying a corpse in the nightmare before Christmas. overall I LOVE THIS MOVIE Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
DeannaHAug 3, 2007
A really good movie i like it a lot. I like Johnny Depp a lot!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClausV.Jan 4, 2007
Stop-motion animation may be a dinosaur, but can still be technically superb. I didn't believe they used real puppets in this film. Very good plot and characters. Fell in love with the Corpse Bride -what a sweet, unselfconsciously Stop-motion animation may be a dinosaur, but can still be technically superb. I didn't believe they used real puppets in this film. Very good plot and characters. Fell in love with the Corpse Bride -what a sweet, unselfconsciously erotic darling! I would happily die to marry her and play four-hand classic piano without a score for eternity! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethC.Dec 20, 2006
Johnny Depp and Tim Burton are an awesome team.... I loved this movie!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KevinHOct 22, 2006
It's no Nightmare Before Christmas, but a great movie regardless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
alvaroSep 24, 2006
A beautiful dark story, which amazing characters, and a beautiful ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RavenX301Apr 12, 2006
I loved this movie. Maybe not as much as Nightmare Before Chrismas but close.... Just watching Time Burtons films leave me with a warm loving feeling no matter how off beat they are and darkly twisted. Still, Why Johnny Deep? more than likly I loved this movie. Maybe not as much as Nightmare Before Chrismas but close.... Just watching Time Burtons films leave me with a warm loving feeling no matter how off beat they are and darkly twisted. Still, Why Johnny Deep? more than likly more of a sales reason I'm sure sense Johnny Deeps Voice for the charater has no bearings on the film. Thou I love Johnny Deep....for a leading anamation actors he's not much outside of 'ordinary' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.DalviMar 26, 2006
Excellent animation. All the people look cute. The voices also are very good.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
MichaelL.Mar 14, 2006
Musicals are fun, Animated movies are generally fun. This kinda brought both together with a story lacking true conflict. It would be nice to see movies where men (animated or not) are not displayed as complete wusses. I found the dead bride Musicals are fun, Animated movies are generally fun. This kinda brought both together with a story lacking true conflict. It would be nice to see movies where men (animated or not) are not displayed as complete wusses. I found the dead bride hotter than warm-blooded one. anyone else? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyG.Feb 5, 2006
if you truly love tim burtons style, then you will fall in love with this masterpiece. if you like stupid, commercialized, crappy, trendy,spoiled brat films like most people, then stay away from this movie. if you have a great imagination if you truly love tim burtons style, then you will fall in love with this masterpiece. if you like stupid, commercialized, crappy, trendy,spoiled brat films like most people, then stay away from this movie. if you have a great imagination and dare to go where most don't, then this is for you. extreamly creative, classic type story. if you get the dvd go to the extras and just see for yourself just how much mind power was put into this film. hats off, 2 thumbs up, 3 snaps in a circle to tim burton and his crew for making an instant classic. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KodeeD.Jan 9, 2006
I loved this movie. You gotta LOVE Johnny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 5, 2006
Its official. Johnny Depp is the best actor both on screen and off screen. He plays the role perfectly, and we didnt even see him in person! That guy is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanC.Jan 4, 2006
Visually is a sublime, but the plot is really predictable and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SammyZeeJan 1, 2006
I've always thought that Tim Burton was great. And now he's back for another movie. I'm giving this an 8 instead of a 10 becuase it's not only a movie for little kids, the animation is but if you watch it there was a I've always thought that Tim Burton was great. And now he's back for another movie. I'm giving this an 8 instead of a 10 becuase it's not only a movie for little kids, the animation is but if you watch it there was a deeper meaning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregF.Dec 25, 2005
I giveing it a 10 because tim burton has out done him self this time hey always has a way of toping every flim he has ever done and he gose above and beond the call on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KingdomH.Dec 7, 2005
I think the story doesn't suit little children. The animation and the character do, but some part of the story need adult understanding. Just take a look yourself, and you'll understand what I mean. Other than this is just magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
The best animation of the year. Burton pulls it off once again and creates a majestic work, of inner beauty and of dazzling visual. A classic, Romeo + Juliet on gothic roots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful