Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Aug 15, 2012
    Everything matters in Cronenberg's Cosmopolis, but not everything is necessarily the same as DeLillo's book. And that makes the film, as a series of discussions about inter-related money-minded contradictions, insanely rich and maddeningly complex. We can't wait to rewatch it.
  2. Reviewed by: Bud Wilkins
    Aug 12, 2012
    Diamond-hard and dazzlingly brilliant, David Cronenberg's film plays like a deeply perverse, darkly comic successor to Videodrome.
  3. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Aug 16, 2012
    A cold, funny number about the erotics of money and the seduction of death.
  4. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 16, 2012
    Conventional it is not. Engrossing it is.
  5. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Aug 15, 2012
    It's Cronenberg's most willfully weird movie since "Spider," and it should prove a tough sell despite Pattinson's ample star power.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 7, 2012
    An eerily precise match of filmmaker and material, Cosmopolis probes the soullessness of the 1% with the cinematic equivalent of latex gloves.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 7, 2012
    Director David Cronenberg - who knows a thing or two about bodily expressions - understands, finally, what to do with the Twilight star, turning his zombified handsomeness into a stark canvas upon which we can project our own anxieties.
  8. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 24, 2012
    Cosmopolis may be a cerebral mood piece, but it is loaded with strong performances that connect on an emotional level.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 16, 2012
    This mesmerizing mind-bender ought to prove two things: (1) Robert Pattinson really can act; (2) Director David Cronenberg never runs from a challenge.
  10. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Aug 16, 2012
    Since 2005's "A History of Violence," Cronenberg has ventured beyond the grotesque allegorical interests of his earlier movies, a shift that has led some longtime fans to assume he has softened up. As an enjoyably peculiar anti-capitalist indictment, Cosmopolis proves otherwise.
  11. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 15, 2012
    Pattinson does a quietly marvelous thing in finding vulnerability in Eric without making it seem like softness.
  12. 75
    The trouble with Cosmopolis, David Cronenberg's faithful-to-a-fault adaptation from Don DeLillo's 2003 novel, is that it's more metaphor than meat.
  13. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 23, 2012
    Cosmopolis is frustrating, funny, thought-provoking, weird, maddening, worthwhile. It isn't a great movie. Sometimes it's not a good one. Sometimes it is. Ultimately, it is one worth working through, a valuable exercise if you're willing to make the effort.
  14. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Aug 20, 2012
    Cronenberg has made an eccentric and beautiful-looking movie - a languid, deadpan, conceptualist joke.
  15. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 18, 2012
    Cosmopolis is often beautiful, but at times it feels like a movie sealed off from itself.
  16. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Aug 17, 2012
    Because I've long been captivated by Cronenberg's keen intelligence and highly personal cinematic vision, I took a strange pleasure in submitting to this movie's stilted but weirdly poetic rhythms. But I freely acknowledge that for others, enduring Cosmopolis may be less fun than a backseat prostate exam.
  17. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Aug 23, 2012
    The journey on which he takes us may not satisfy in the ways we normally ask of movies, but if it did it wouldn't be a Cronenberg, would it?
  18. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 22, 2012
    As a portrait of both man and society in exquisitely poised decline, it's harrowing, hilarious, and horrific in equal measure.
  19. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 7, 2012
    The rapid dialogue is dry and mannered, like a David Mamet play, there's virtually no story and Cronenberg's visual scheme is cold and claustrophobic.
  20. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 23, 2012
    I just wish Cronenberg hadn't adapted the book on his own. Behind the camera, he does remarkable things, turning Packer's limo into what Cronenberg himself has described as an upscale version of "Das Boot." But the playlets constituting the whole are thick, stubbornly undramatic affairs; the verbiage is lumpy, self-conscious.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. Aug 17, 2012
    It makes me cringe when people mention Videodrome and Cosmopolis in the same sentence (And yes, I did just that... bear with me). One isIt makes me cringe when people mention Videodrome and Cosmopolis in the same sentence (And yes, I did just that... bear with me). One is infinitely entertaining, bizarre and thought-provoking. The other bores me to tears. However, I will say that in my West LA theater, about 20 people got up and left within the first half hour - but a substantial group who made it till the end gave it a hearty round of applause. Then again, they may have just been happy it was over. As a Cronenberg fan, I was so fired up to see this film. Sadly, the last time I was this let down by a filmmaker I love was when I endured David Lynch's Inland Empire. That sucker was a doozy. Full Review »
  2. MkM
    Aug 21, 2012
    Actually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had someActually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had some things to say about the ending). Either way, they gave it a "B" by their rating system. Now it's been a long time since I attended high school, but from what I remember a "B" was an 80% to an 85%. Yet for some reason Metacritic has them scoring the film a 50%. Just thought it should be addressed. Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2012
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. After watching Bel Ami, Robert Pattinson returns in this new Cronenberg movie with Cosmopolis, a movie that be based on the Don DeLilo's book. The story of Cosmopolis is the next, the billionare Eric Parker (Pattinson) rides slowly across Manhattan in his limousine that he uses as his office while on his way to his preferred barber, even though there are traffic jams. The development of the story is very interesting, have much impressive moments. The Pattinson's performance is really amazing, after we watch he on Water for Elephants, Remember Me and Bel Ami we watch that this is his best performance. The screenplay is great. Cosmopolis is an amazing movie. Full Review »