Cowboys & Aliens

Cowboys & Aliens Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 393 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: 1873. Arizona Territory. A stranger with no memory of his past stumbles into the hard desert town of Absolution. The only hint to his history is a mysterious shackle that encircles one wrist. What he discovers is that the people of Absolution don't welcome strangers, and nobody makes a move1873. Arizona Territory. A stranger with no memory of his past stumbles into the hard desert town of Absolution. The only hint to his history is a mysterious shackle that encircles one wrist. What he discovers is that the people of Absolution don't welcome strangers, and nobody makes a move on its streets unless ordered to do so by the iron-fisted Colonel Dolarhyde. It's a town that lives in fear. But Absolution is about to experience fear it can scarcely comprehend as the desolate city is attacked by marauders from the sky. Screaming down with breathtaking velocity and blinding lights to abduct the helpless one by one, these monsters challenge everything the residents have ever known. Now, the stranger they rejected is their only hope for salvation. As this gunslinger slowly starts to remember who he is and where he's been, he realizes he holds a secret that could give the town a fighting chance against the alien force. With the help of the elusive traveler Ella, he pulls together a posse comprised of former opponents—townsfolk, Dolarhyde and his boys, outlaws and Apache warriors—all in danger of annihilation. United against a common enemy, they will prepare for an epic showdown for survival. (Universal Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 28, 2011
    83
    This movie, saddle sores and all, is a lot of fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 27, 2011
    75
    A hell-for-leather action film with a healthy serving of scares. It really is "Aliens" on the open plains, "Independence Day" for the nation's centennial, and what the movie lacks in originality and stick-to-your-ribs Western authenticity, it makes up for in pell-mell multiplex entertainment.
  3. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Jul 28, 2011
    75
    The movie is plainly entertaining, with a terrific cast and a fast-moving story helping you overlook the dialogue's frequent failure to crackle.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    The movie never makes much of a case for its own existence; it's a mediocre western clumsily welded to a mediocre alien shoot-'em-up, and if you allow yourself to think about its treatment of history for as long as one second, you'll feel insulted.
  5. Reviewed by: Josh Levin
    Jul 29, 2011
    50
    Instead of merging the Western and the sci-fi genre to form some new, transcendent class of popcorn fare, Cowboys & Aliens just regurgitates the conventions of both genres. Double the high concept, quadruple the clichés.
  6. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Jul 29, 2011
    45
    Based on a graphic novel, Cowboys & Aliens never quite transcends the flat dimensions of its source material.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 26, 2011
    25
    Brandishing a literal-minded title as laughable as the rest of its action, Cowboys & Aliens mashes up genres with a staunch dedication to getting everything wrong, making sure that each scene is more inane than the one that preceded it.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 144
  2. Negative: 22 out of 144
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Cowboys & Aliens is very entertaining. Is it art? No. It's just great commercial entertainment. It's an exciting, funny, scary way to spend aCowboys & Aliens is very entertaining. Is it art? No. It's just great commercial entertainment. It's an exciting, funny, scary way to spend a couple of hours. It's shot beautifully. The casting is first rate. The faces on the old west guys are worth the price of admission. It's not nearly as good a film as the first Alien movie, but it has a lot of the same scary/entertaining qualities. If you want to have a fun ride on a Friday night or Saturday afternoon this the movie to see. Should you see it now or wait until it's available to rent? See it in a theater. The sound and visual effects demand a big screen. You can rent it later. Because you'll want to see it again. Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    As far as genre mashups go, Cowboys and Aliens pretty much takes the cake. The plot is absolutely ridiculous in a fun way, and the novelty ofAs far as genre mashups go, Cowboys and Aliens pretty much takes the cake. The plot is absolutely ridiculous in a fun way, and the novelty of cowboys shooting aliens is unforgettable. Add in some comedic scenes and a wonderful cast mainly dominated by Daniel Craig, and you've got yourself one rollicking good time. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford are fantastic and with a supporting cast including the likes of Sam Rockwell,I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford are fantastic and with a supporting cast including the likes of Sam Rockwell, you can't go wrong. Then there are huge missteps like casting Oliva Wilde, who should stick to mediocre television shows. The plot was lacking in many places, but the fresh concept along with Crag and Ford makes this idea easier to deal with. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    I actually read the GN before watching the movie so I would have a good idea of what to expect and could see what did not translate. I don'tI actually read the GN before watching the movie so I would have a good idea of what to expect and could see what did not translate. I don't read many GNs but I have never been so disappointed at the end of one as I was with this GN. So, by comparison, the movie is really good! They basically had an idea to work from, as provided by the GN, and then had to create everything else to make the movie. This is one where the movie is actually much better than the original book! Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    5
    It was Better than I thought but still was not good. Cowboys a Aliens 5.5/10
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    Cowboys & Aliens is certainly a movie. Itâ
  7. Aug 4, 2011
    0
    I really feel this was one of the most boring and uneventful films I have ever seen. Why Would anybody make this film. I just don'tI really feel this was one of the most boring and uneventful films I have ever seen. Why Would anybody make this film. I just don't understand. BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  3. Dual Threats: Actors Who Direct Movies

    Dual Threats: Actors Who Direct Movies Image
    Published: June 27, 2011
    This week, star Tom Hanks returns to the director's chair with "Larry Crowne." We profile 20 other established actors who have made the leap to film directing, for better or worse.
  4. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.