Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 6, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 586 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
520
Mixed:
32
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
BrendaRMay 10, 2005
Great movie! It's so dead-on accurate about real life.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeyM.May 22, 2005
Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes and great acting from all. Ryan Phillippe, all is forgiven. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelV.May 7, 2005
I just came home from seeing this movie, and must say it is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Not very often such a special movie like this is made. One word: MASTERPIECE. Go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelaB.May 7, 2005
As you watch this movie you can see yourself in the characters. it is so real and when you leave the theatre you can't stop thinking about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveN.May 9, 2005
Amazingly emotional and all too real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorC.Jun 2, 2005
Simply one of the best films ever made. This has joined my top-five favorite films. It's deep, emotional, touching and true. It hits home in every aspect and addresses a current problem with our society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesHJun 27, 2005
Superbly acted, beautifully written -- with the kind of insight and lyricism that is powerfully poetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
drewL.Jul 31, 2005
The best movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamL.Apr 29, 2005
This film was amazing! Pure excellence, it kept me at the edge of my seat better than any horror movie made in the last 10 years and Crash isn't even a horror film. The most amazing part was that this is Paul Haggis' directoreal This film was amazing! Pure excellence, it kept me at the edge of my seat better than any horror movie made in the last 10 years and Crash isn't even a horror film. The most amazing part was that this is Paul Haggis' directoreal debut. Much better than XXX state of the union got that andrew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimN.May 11, 2005
Best movie about race that I've ever seen and probably will ever see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunB.May 12, 2005
The performances are electrifying Matt Dillion is wonderful as the racsit cop and the movie as a whole will stand the test of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraT.May 15, 2005
AMAZING!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PetroM.May 15, 2005
It's funny, or rather ironic to see such a great range in ratings amongst viewers, and that s exactly what makes this movie amazing. Not everyone will like it, not everyone will be able to take all the racism issues in and truly It's funny, or rather ironic to see such a great range in ratings amongst viewers, and that s exactly what makes this movie amazing. Not everyone will like it, not everyone will be able to take all the racism issues in and truly understand what is going on out there. This movie isnt another Hollywood blockbuster, it rather shows the twisted reality of our society in its true uglyness. It also shows that racism in this country goes either way...Well done, it is definately worth every penny i spent on it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tealh.May 17, 2005
I loved loved the movie, as stated above, the best i've seen in a long time...as a music junkie, the soundtrack is HOT and a must have also. it is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, most of which are sad and unfortunately realistic. at I loved loved the movie, as stated above, the best i've seen in a long time...as a music junkie, the soundtrack is HOT and a must have also. it is truly a rollercoaster of emotions, most of which are sad and unfortunately realistic. at times a bit extreme, but then again, it's Hollywood and it drives the point(s) home about colors, racial slurs, and stereotypes. as being a minority, i can identify w/ many of the characters' frame of mind and ignorance that is conditioned (by family others and environment) and mostly ignorance out of choice to remain ignorant. i NEED to include the overall greatest theme in the movie is the "Depravity of Mankind" from the eyes of God. this is a true depiction of how most people (of all colors) view other peoples of other colors and how it is only going to escalate - even though we are in a day and age of "political correctness" - it still remains that the overall existing problem(s) in all these character's lives is the on-going heart condition of SIN. yes, sin...it is the crux of where we speak and how we feel towards others. there was no divide in color and language at one point in history, back to the Old Testament Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.May 21, 2005
Awesome film. It simply takes a step back and shows our society not only how we act, but how, if not checked, our natural human nature can cause us to easily stereotype without thinking twice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackF.May 7, 2005
A must see movie! The racial dialogue and prejudice is so piercing you may even consider walking out, but stick with the film, because it is one of the best Hollywood made movies about race. The multiple parallel events and its characters is A must see movie! The racial dialogue and prejudice is so piercing you may even consider walking out, but stick with the film, because it is one of the best Hollywood made movies about race. The multiple parallel events and its characters is shocking and astonishing. Especially how it all comes together. The actors are superb, especially Matt Dillion, Terrrence Howard and even Ludacris. I have read some critics who felt the film was too obvious, over the top, and puffed up conclusion. If so, it only adds to some of the toughest talk even seen on the American screen. The final scene tells it all. Paul Haggis the director/writer also was the screen write for "Million Dollar Baby," and Clint has signed him up for his next two films. What does that tell you? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristanR.May 7, 2005
Wonderful emotional roller-coaster ride examining people's prejudices and fears. See it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshE.Jun 20, 2005
Superb in all ways and yet again chedelle will go un-noticed because its not a cartoon-based movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexMJun 30, 2005
What's all this racism crap about? Its no more racist than Do The Right Thing. Yes there are people like that in the world. So why not have a movie that throws them together through coincidences. The acting, story, and everything else What's all this racism crap about? Its no more racist than Do The Right Thing. Yes there are people like that in the world. So why not have a movie that throws them together through coincidences. The acting, story, and everything else was great. Definitely this and Batman Begins by far the best this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethH.Jul 3, 2005
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything about it rang true, making it a very powerful film. The acting is great, especially Matt Dillon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamKAug 18, 2005
Truly excellent. I entered with few expectations and was blown away. The two carjackers first conversation was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanG.Aug 4, 2005
One of the best movies of the decade absolutely phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Aug 8, 2005
Definitely one of the most riveting, impactful dramas in our age. Some scenes I can't even get out of my mind, and although, I have seen movies like these, this succeeds in its emotional sincerity. Should be in the running for an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanD.May 11, 2005
Best movie I have seen since American Beauty!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevynS.May 10, 2005
Very thought Provoking Movie. One of the Few Movies out there that I think all races and creeds can relate too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasMay 16, 2005
This movie was a breath of fresh air. I did not just play on one race it took all of america's race problems and made you see how stupid they really are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyE.May 18, 2005
A perfectly acted and beautifully directed film. Among the best screenplays since Pulp Fiction, and one of the most and more importantly best racially charged films since American History X. While it was the racial tension the carried this A perfectly acted and beautifully directed film. Among the best screenplays since Pulp Fiction, and one of the most and more importantly best racially charged films since American History X. While it was the racial tension the carried this movie to a level of one of the best dramas in years, it was the exceptional screenplay and unbelieveably well-written twists and turns that makes Crash one of the best movies in years. Even if you are ignorant and think that the racial tension in this movie was anything short of spectacularlly included, you could manage to look past it and see this as an fanastic screenplay with a maze of beautifully scultupred twists. Anyone who rated this movie anything short of a Seven is either too ignorant to be touched by the dramatic side of this movie, or too stupid to be dazzeled by the plot, either way none of you should ever be allowed to vote or even see another movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 6, 2005
Here is the most provocative scene: two African-American males run over a Chinese man, trying to unlock his curbside vehicle. They refer to him as a "Chinaman", as in "there's a Chinaman under my car" with the same irreverence Here is the most provocative scene: two African-American males run over a Chinese man, trying to unlock his curbside vehicle. They refer to him as a "Chinaman", as in "there's a Chinaman under my car" with the same irreverence you'd find in "Pulp Fiction" or a David Chapelle sketch. It's played for laughs as a means to bait some of the audience into laughing. Politically incorrect humor can often be funny but you need to consider the context. Some people will find it funny, and some people will be horrified at the lack of acknowledgment that the man they hit needs a label. Much will be said about the rescue and the divine intervention scene, but this is the real heart of the film. You find out who you are. This scene doesn't tell you how to react. "Crash" swings for the fences, and clears them, with authority. Walking out of the theater, I was reminded of being baffled by ESPN Radio's Rob Dibble bashing of Ichiro Suzuki as being a poor leadoff hitter because the Japanese native didn't look at enough pitches. Suzuki's batting average was .372. I wonder if that was one of the reasons why his contract wasn't renewed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelD.May 6, 2005
Wow. Everyone is justified, no one is innocent. Racism is at once validified and in the next scene damned. Sometimes the friction created by this dichotomy erupts: CRASH. Wow. Great movie. At times its a little manipulative and staged, but Wow. Everyone is justified, no one is innocent. Racism is at once validified and in the next scene damned. Sometimes the friction created by this dichotomy erupts: CRASH. Wow. Great movie. At times its a little manipulative and staged, but it works. I cannot recommend this movie enough. Sometimes, when you get this much talent into one movie, the result is a flop. This is definitely not one of those times. Wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeG.May 7, 2005
Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joel.May 8, 2005
Great movie. A real life type movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimmadownNowMay 8, 2005
Very rarely does a movie allow me to embrace being a decent human being. It has become de rigueur to be obnoxious, rude, or to bully others. Not realizing that that unkind deed or word may be the trigger the pushes someone over the edge. Very rarely does a movie allow me to embrace being a decent human being. It has become de rigueur to be obnoxious, rude, or to bully others. Not realizing that that unkind deed or word may be the trigger the pushes someone over the edge. Think road rage or internet flaming. This movie conveyed this beautifully with out being preachy and overbearing. As I was watching it, I had different outcomes playing in my head for just about every confrontational situation. Someone in an earlier post called this a masterpiece. I am obliged to agree. This movie will succeed by word of mouth. I will definitely be encouraging my friends to see it. Ludacris turned in a surprisingly efficient performance considering how much screen time he was given. The top notch cast delivered. The critics got it wrong. Again! Almost all the women/girls in theatre were crying, some even sobbing loudly. Especially at the scene, "He's not wearing it!" You could hear the guys breathe out at the conclusion of this scene. I will own this movie the day it is released on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankPMay 9, 2005
This was the best movie this year, without a doubt. Don Cheadle and Matt Dillon were great and the rest of the cast, especially the little girl, were perfect pieces to this intricate puzzle. Definitely a movie to watch more than once to This was the best movie this year, without a doubt. Don Cheadle and Matt Dillon were great and the rest of the cast, especially the little girl, were perfect pieces to this intricate puzzle. Definitely a movie to watch more than once to catch the many subtle nuances throughout. See It!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mrxJun 17, 2005
Best movie of the year so far and by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SKJun 19, 2005
This is the BEST movie I have seen in a LONG time! I loved it. I found it to be amazingly honest and accurate, especially involving truths most Americans want to forget or dismiss. It portrays our sub-conscious (or conscious) deeply This is the BEST movie I have seen in a LONG time! I loved it. I found it to be amazingly honest and accurate, especially involving truths most Americans want to forget or dismiss. It portrays our sub-conscious (or conscious) deeply ingrained intolerance and racism, and gives a voice to a large percentage of people who are discriminated against, even by seeming "politically correct" minded people. I also liked how it shows how we are intricately connected, and how everything we do affects many other people without our full awareness. THANK YOU for this amazing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 24, 2005
The best movie that I have seen this year...so far. Great acting, especially from Matt Dillon, Terence Howard, Thandie Newton, and Sandra Bullock. Deserves to be considered for major awards next February when Oscar nods are announced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mary-CatherineS.Jun 30, 2005
In the genre of Robert Altman films. It's smart and interesting and complex and insightful. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChicoSJul 22, 2005
I've noticed that all the negative reviews on here say the same thing......"This film is racist!!" Well duh! That was the whole point of the film.....a portrayal of how racial and ethnic sterotypes are universal among all races. So many I've noticed that all the negative reviews on here say the same thing......"This film is racist!!" Well duh! That was the whole point of the film.....a portrayal of how racial and ethnic sterotypes are universal among all races. So many films that touch on this topic only use the black and white viewpoint. This film took the topic and infused it into other racial backgrounds (asian, hispanic, indian). I felt the point of this movie was how things come full circle to everyone. In other words you reap what you sow. You were supposed to be emotionally riled up because if you didn't then something is tragically wrong with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PonR.Jul 30, 2005
How could I give this anything short of a 10? This film takes an extreme, but it's one that has two things going for it: entertainment and thoughtfulness. I've never seen such a theme taken to such a level and had such a good time How could I give this anything short of a 10? This film takes an extreme, but it's one that has two things going for it: entertainment and thoughtfulness. I've never seen such a theme taken to such a level and had such a good time throughout. If Crash goes overboard with it's dialogue and irony that's because it wants to show us a relevant story without taking any shortcuts. And it doesn't want us to look away until it's over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorB.Aug 12, 2005
Beautiful and heartbreaking. Joins "Short Cuts" and "Grand Canyon" on the list of great urban dramas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankAug 13, 2005
Awesome! How good is this film. Very moving and thought provoking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YossiAug 20, 2005
Great Film!!
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
LarryR.May 15, 2005
Although all performances are wonderful, Matt Dillion has become an Oscar contender.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaslynR.May 16, 2005
Crash is the best film I,ve seen since Memento. Bold, Powerful and Intesnse. A Film that everone needs to see because it deals with racism which is a prevailing subject in our society today. The film also stimulates extreme dialogue and Crash is the best film I,ve seen since Memento. Bold, Powerful and Intesnse. A Film that everone needs to see because it deals with racism which is a prevailing subject in our society today. The film also stimulates extreme dialogue and discussion amongst people which is something that is missing in most films today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
larrys.May 24, 2005
An outstanding film. Way better than the 69 metacritic score. Has so much to say. Run to see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolJ.May 28, 2005
Excellent movie. Very well written. While the topic is disturbing, the movie goes full circle in the lives of many people. Each event leads to a lesson of life....this movie makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeJun 22, 2005
Really is one of the most heart-wrenching films i've ever seen. Everyone I know absolutely loved it. We're all professors and college students in Pa, maybe geographical location does play some role in whether or not you will like Really is one of the most heart-wrenching films i've ever seen. Everyone I know absolutely loved it. We're all professors and college students in Pa, maybe geographical location does play some role in whether or not you will like the movie. Over-all, you need to watch it and decide for yourself. I hope you do see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mathewd.Jun 24, 2005
Best movie so far this year, great script. people that gave this a bad review, all i can say is the truth hurts. sometimes when you put racism in fron of the screen it definitely strikes a nerve.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LlilaclilyS.Jun 25, 2005
What an awesome movie. I came in kicking and screaming thinking it was going to be about car chases. It is not often one comes out different after watching a movie than when they came in. This is one that every person should see. The only What an awesome movie. I came in kicking and screaming thinking it was going to be about car chases. It is not often one comes out different after watching a movie than when they came in. This is one that every person should see. The only other movie that has dealt with bigotry as honestly is Spike Lee's movie. You think you know what will happen and then it surprises you. It is not flawless, but the subject is so good and its brutally honest with whites, blacks, Chinese Spanish. No one gets spared. Should have been in my sociology class. It does not come down only on whites or only on blacks but reflects what many people are thinking but do not say outloud to anyone but "their own kind." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JOEB.Aug 15, 2005
Simply the best screen play I have experienced in a very long time. If you love David Mamet, wait till you witness the dialogue in this crisp and honest portral of my home town.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JobadkinsJul 14, 2012
You will probably never see a movie this good ever in your life,your fathers life and his fathers life.Trust me you have to watch it over and over just to appreciate the perfect acting.Simply stunning!.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
homandavoodiJul 23, 2011
there are a few movies that can improve our living situation on earth. crash offers to us to be kind and clement to other people. any color or any nationality.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelDNMar 3, 2015
People are judging this movie for the wrong reasons. I usually hate when people say something like, "If you didn't like this movie, you didn't understand it," but I'm actually reading the reasons people don't like, and they seem to indicatePeople are judging this movie for the wrong reasons. I usually hate when people say something like, "If you didn't like this movie, you didn't understand it," but I'm actually reading the reasons people don't like, and they seem to indicate just that. They say the message is obvious, and then they go on to say the message is that racism is bad. That's not the message. It's already assumed that racism is bad. The movie is pointing out where it exists in seemingly normal circumstances. It challenges the viewer to question how they would've handled certain situations; if they would've been as prejudiced as the characters. The dialogue is thought provoking and interesting. Some say it isn't natural, but neither is Shakespearean dialogue, or the characters singing conversations in movies. It's used to challenge the viewer, and to make them think about important issues that we don't think about. It's not just racism, it's the details of racism's effect on various different people. The discussions may not be natural, but they're based on very real issues.

The movie is also, as Ebert said as well, more about ideas than people. For those who want more character depth, it's not really about the people themselves, but about how people in general are conditioned by society to handle certain situations. It's better that the people be as generic as possible, to show that the way they're acting isn't because of their specific personalities, it's because they are normal people, acting as an average person would. It challenges you to question yourself, instead of showing you a person who has a specific personality that is nothing like yours. Basically, this movie is good in a way that doesn't follow the formula of what traditionally makes a movie good. That's why people have a problem with it. The use of connecting the storylines is not just made for poignancy, it's to show how closely we are connected to each other; how our thoughts and actions have effects on people, and we don't even realize it. It's about how society's views creep so easily into our minds and become our own views, without us thinking anything of it. And to the person who said this writer is in high school, no. He's actually a three time nominee for writing. Two of his movies one Best Picture, another was nominated, and two others got rave reviews and made a ton of critics' lists. He knows what he's doing, even if some people don't understand it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 5, 2013
As 'Crash' unfolds and more and more characters are shown, it's clear that this is a realistic yet problematic study of human behaviour, it addresses various issues of how we react to various cultures and beliefs, but also shows the dark sideAs 'Crash' unfolds and more and more characters are shown, it's clear that this is a realistic yet problematic study of human behaviour, it addresses various issues of how we react to various cultures and beliefs, but also shows the dark side and dangerous capabilities of our fellow man. In the ensemble cast include Brendan Fraser as the District Attorney, his opinionated and perhaps paranoid wife played by Sandra Bullock, who are both carjacked by the talkative and philosophical Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges who has all the answers to the racial problems that sweep America, along with his friend.
We also have a racist LAPD officer in Matt Dillon, who cuts a hardened and bitter man with his own personal grief, which he takes out on others, especially a black couple on their way home one night who have did nothing wrong, these two are played by Thandie Newton and Terrence Howard. In the bigger frame of it all we have recurring character Don Cheadle, a detective in Los Angeles. Of course these stories intertwine in often dramatic circumstances, some become unspoken enemies while others become unlikely heroes. The exact point here is the perception of the individuals being shown, many times there is no intent involved in this wide variety of characters, but their race is enough for other people to judge or be judged by, this message is relatable for the fact that this is still a problem, a problem which is addressed with the fullest attention by Paul Haggis, director and co-writer, who links these very different stories in the most unlikely yet understandable of ways, who could have thought that racist cop who basically molests an innocent woman, ends up saving the exact same woman from a burning car on the highway. Each of these people interact with each other one way or another, sometimes with tragic results.
There is retribution, however, to be had with these characters, who learn the error of their ways through luck, chance, drastic circumstances or just talking to others, saying that, there are those who feel that they are indeed being discriminated against and want to take matters into their own hands one in particular being a Persian shop owner, played by Shaun Toub.
The scope and detail that goes into making each character as interesting as the next, they all have hate and opinions, but all this proves is that they are human. A wonderful, calm and fitting score accompanies the film, highlighting pivotal points and shining moments. With a cast that also includes Ryan Phillippe, Jennifer Esposito and Michael Peña, there are some emotional and finely executed performances in the film, they each play a role that demands attention for the message they are sending, a problem is not necessarily being addressed and sorted, but it is being shown in plain sight for the world to see.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give crash a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is really good. Terrence Howard and matt dillion I think were the best in the movie. Score is good. Story is really good. Telling the story of discrimination and the racist side is justFirst off, I would give crash a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is really good. Terrence Howard and matt dillion I think were the best in the movie. Score is good. Story is really good. Telling the story of discrimination and the racist side is just happy, but at the same time powerful. Overall, this is a great movie. Highly recommended for everyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
critic_calApr 24, 2012
This movie is a must see. It is simply phenomenal. The plot is engaging and the acting is fantastic. It tackles complex social issues directly. Anyone who does not feel uncomfortable at some points of this movie should check their pulse.This movie is a must see. It is simply phenomenal. The plot is engaging and the acting is fantastic. It tackles complex social issues directly. Anyone who does not feel uncomfortable at some points of this movie should check their pulse. It's deep (in a good way). Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
axelkochNov 30, 2012
Perfect movie. It's absolutely stunning all the time. It left me happy but sad at the same time; assuaged but also distraught. Superb actors, and screenplay and editing that totally deserved the Oscar. In my opinion, the music should've alsoPerfect movie. It's absolutely stunning all the time. It left me happy but sad at the same time; assuaged but also distraught. Superb actors, and screenplay and editing that totally deserved the Oscar. In my opinion, the music should've also got one. It underlays all these varied scenes with such feeling, it's just fantastic! One of the best movies I know! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NoxiousJul 29, 2013
Just in case anyone reads this, I ask if anyone has a direct line to Mick LaSalle? He's the critic for the San Fran Chronicle, and the guy is a complete douchebag-moron. He's left probably 50+ reviews that are so far from what he says aboutJust in case anyone reads this, I ask if anyone has a direct line to Mick LaSalle? He's the critic for the San Fran Chronicle, and the guy is a complete douchebag-moron. He's left probably 50+ reviews that are so far from what he says about great films. This movie is not a 50/100. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
A compelling and compulsively watchable piece of work with several great performances and some incredible sequences that will shake you to the core. It also gives a much needed message, and should serve as a wake up call to many Americans.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
A great film. Crash really struck a chord with me, it's one of the most thought-provoking films I've experienced. Each character in the film is stripped completely to where every flaw is obvious to the audience. You'll relate to a characterA great film. Crash really struck a chord with me, it's one of the most thought-provoking films I've experienced. Each character in the film is stripped completely to where every flaw is obvious to the audience. You'll relate to a character in the film much more than you would probably want to admit, but it's in this way that Crash effectively delivers a powerful punch. The film is hard, honest, realistic, and uncomfortable, but it absolutely works; the film gets right to the core of racism and so many other problems that plague our society. Features stunning work from a stellar cast. Deserved Best Picture in my mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RBradzMar 1, 2013
Don Cheadle's performance totally changed my perception of black people. They're the best. He's the best. Racial tension More like sexual tension, every time sexy Brendan Fraser is on screen. Watch it. Love it. Rewatch it. Peace. p.s WhenDon Cheadle's performance totally changed my perception of black people. They're the best. He's the best. Racial tension More like sexual tension, every time sexy Brendan Fraser is on screen. Watch it. Love it. Rewatch it. Peace. p.s When are we going to see another George of the Jungle sequel? I mean, HELLO! TARZAN! peace. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysMay 14, 2014
Crash is one real exceptionally well-done film. The theme of racism really slaps you in the face, but it is followed by other underlying messages, such as redemption. The exposés to the first two vignettes are a tiny bit forced, but theCrash is one real exceptionally well-done film. The theme of racism really slaps you in the face, but it is followed by other underlying messages, such as redemption. The exposés to the first two vignettes are a tiny bit forced, but the transitions are smooth for all of them and the script is sharp and deliberate. Where the movie lacks it makes up for in acting, screenplay, and direction. Haggis knows what he's doing. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
9
EdS.May 7, 2005
A little too pat to be great, but plenty of very powerful and affecting moments nonetheless - some genuinely funny moments, as well. The intertwining of the various stories is, for the most part, pretty clever; and things often turn out A little too pat to be great, but plenty of very powerful and affecting moments nonetheless - some genuinely funny moments, as well. The intertwining of the various stories is, for the most part, pretty clever; and things often turn out quite differently than you'd expect. Very good acting all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
kkMay 9, 2005
This film is suprisingly moving and Los Angeles in a nutshell. Matt Dillon is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
natalieJun 20, 2005
A rare movie where the hard feelings existing across ethnic groups are all put on the table. Perhaps their exposure to the light of day will begin a withering process; the antidote to the growth produced by nurturing our prejudices privately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jerib.Jun 5, 2005
This movie is a brilliant snapshot of RACE in America. So compelling at times that you hold your breath and forget it's a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LynnM.Jun 6, 2005
This is one of the first movies I have scene that honestly portrays people as people. Not necessarily good or bad, but people. I loved it. I believe that every adult should see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
paulAug 9, 2005
Anyone who says this movie is a slap in the face for white people seriously needs to have his head examined. More than once, white cops are portrayed as heroic and life-saving figures. You'd almost think this film were sponsored by the Anyone who says this movie is a slap in the face for white people seriously needs to have his head examined. More than once, white cops are portrayed as heroic and life-saving figures. You'd almost think this film were sponsored by the LAPD. "Crash" shows both sides of the coin and anyone who'd freak out because they're afraid of that inescapable truth needs to wake up and start living in the real world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesR.May 15, 2005
An ammazing movie. Definitely my favorite of 2005 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanB.May 15, 2005
Really made me think and assess my own latent prejudices. I enjoyed the convoluted ride, sort of like the whirly seat rides at fairs... round and round, back and forth, all the while orbiting around on the larger perimeter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenM.May 24, 2005
I'd have to say that this movie was the most racially plot-driven movie I've ever seen, and having said that, Haggus pulls off quite a gem. I believe few races can watch this film, and not empathise with numerous scenes. I was I'd have to say that this movie was the most racially plot-driven movie I've ever seen, and having said that, Haggus pulls off quite a gem. I believe few races can watch this film, and not empathise with numerous scenes. I was shocked that there were no Jewish references though. Overall, powerful film, strong acting performances, including Sandra Bullock pulling out of the type-cast role of "always a bride's maid, never the bride." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EagleNo4May 7, 2005
Crash is a compelling drama that examines the cultural, ethic and racial conflicts in American society. Most of the characters in this film are angry ... angry at the seemingly lack of control they have over their own lives, a circumstance Crash is a compelling drama that examines the cultural, ethic and racial conflicts in American society. Most of the characters in this film are angry ... angry at the seemingly lack of control they have over their own lives, a circumstance they blame on everyone who is not racially identical to themselves. Appropriately, the movie begins with a car operated by an Asian woman crashing into the rear of a car operated by a Latino woman and in which a black man is a passenger (symbolically, a clash of cultures). As the Asian confronts the Latino, claiming that the other "blaked" too fast, the Negro reflects that modern day society has separated people into areas protected by "glass and steel" so that they no longer are in touch with each other and eventually people become so angry with this situation that they feel compelled to crash into someone just to have contact with another human being. In a typical scene where the characters are angry at the stereotypes that others categorizes them in, while not realizing they are as equally guilty, there is this exchange between a black man and a Latino woman: He: "I told my mother that I was having sex with a white woman because I knew that would upset her; if I told her it was a Mexican, she would hardly care." She: "My father is from Puerto Rico, my mother's from El Salvador, neither of which is Mexico." He: "Well, then, I guess the big mystery is, who gathered up all of those different cultures and taught them all how to park their cars on their front lawns." The movie takes the threads of the lives of several people and slowly interweaves them over a two day period to make a tapestry of racial prejudice that forms when you see not the person before you but only the color of his skin. While the characters literally see each other in black and white, the movie beautifully portrays how there is no such easy division between "good and evil" and that these qualities exists in us all; we all are really just shades of "gray", more alike than any of us would care to admit. A unique, imaginative, unpredictable movie; the tension of the characters is effectively transmitted to the audience and magnifies your anticipation. Not everything turns out "right" in this film ... because that's how life really is. I give this one a 9.25. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikeh.May 8, 2005
Excellent! Too bad there aren't more films these days that are about actual human beings and emotions like this one. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KishoreK.Jun 1, 2005
Original idea very well thought and developed. Amazingly, nobody saw contemporary America with such perspective, until now. Should be nominated for original screenplay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonPJun 5, 2005
This film bravely looks rasicm in the eye and exposes it for what it is - cultural insensitivity and misunderstanding that becomes generalized to a set of people defined by color or race or whatever. There are a number of scenes where a This film bravely looks rasicm in the eye and exposes it for what it is - cultural insensitivity and misunderstanding that becomes generalized to a set of people defined by color or race or whatever. There are a number of scenes where a person of one race or background doesn't get what a person of another race or background is doing, saying, or intending with his actions and the results are tragic (or potentially so). Sure it's unrealistic in terms of too many coincidences but the whole idea is he's telling the story of people who's lives were intertwined by the various car accidents. To suggest that Haggis was supposed to offer a solution to the racial conflicts in this film, misses the point. By showing how insensitivities balloon into true danger (or in a few cases how being sensitized can help defuse a difficult situation) he is giving us all a mirror into which we can look and ask ourselves: do I do that? And if enough people asked that, and dealt with it, we'd have a less racist society. There is no other solution that could be offered. I never saw the "Magnolia" movie people mention here but I did see parallels to "Amores Perros" and to "21 Grams". Tthe method of story telling is a fairly effective way to draw together all these disparate people into a series of mini-dramas that you could follow in one film. Finally I was surprised by Sandra Bullock, who I thought was great, and thought all the performances were superb. Tell everyone to see this movie. We the public need to support efforts like this out of Hollywood, there are far too few of them! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeffO.Jul 8, 2005
People don't touch in the streets,well,well,well. writing on the edge acting on the marks covers a lot of ground in Los Angeles of today. I understand paying your own way to grab on to this winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarolP.May 17, 2005
Hard to watch at first, but well worth seeing. Gave me hope that people can change . Also showed how we are all connected. Things are not always what they seem. Lots of spiritual truths. Wake up, people!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JudyT.May 18, 2005
Thought provoking, funny and sad all at the same time. Hard to sit through because we like happiness at the movies. Real life reflected in most of its scenes and that's always uncomfortable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rbMay 19, 2005
Outstanding. Loved this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jonathano.May 9, 2005
This movie was such a captivating film. Given that many events were quite coincidental, it still demanded your attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimD.Jun 17, 2005
Great storytelling, with an excellent cast who give some truly fine performances. A perfect film? No, but it is affecting, complex and compelling, with a sly sense of humor, and it produces some indelible images along with scenes of real Great storytelling, with an excellent cast who give some truly fine performances. A perfect film? No, but it is affecting, complex and compelling, with a sly sense of humor, and it produces some indelible images along with scenes of real intensity and power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnCarrJun 5, 2005
Manipulative, yes. But never preachy. Grabs you and never lets go. There were genuine screams from the audience. Everyone in the country can appreciate this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LaviniaA.Jul 18, 2005
The weird aftertaste lasted hours. My mind was racing in thoughts. I was not thinking about the racial topics. I was thinking about cause and consequence. Even karma if you may. I liked seeing various people dealing with a common topic in The weird aftertaste lasted hours. My mind was racing in thoughts. I was not thinking about the racial topics. I was thinking about cause and consequence. Even karma if you may. I liked seeing various people dealing with a common topic in such different ways, and the results were different everytime. The strongest one was Dillan the racist cop who after molesting Newton, the wife of the director, almost couldn't save her life in the car accident, because she didn't trust him, cause she had been abused and humiliated by him due to her color. Maybe I would have prefered her to die. The endings were a bit more positive then I had expected. But overall, if it leaves me with a weird aftertaste I like it, I like it a lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.Jul 4, 2005
Wonderful writing, wonderful against type acting, the words and the story are everything. what movies should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kizAug 12, 2005
Great film !!! definately a big film of 2005 !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeonS.Aug 6, 2005
Inventive, thought provoking, brilliantly constructed script. Direction and performances impeccable. One of the best films of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TravisC.May 13, 2005
All in all, a solid, powerful, gripping film. Some of the intensity was a little hokey, but not entirely unbelieveable. "Magnolia" is hands-down a better film, but this film is definitely pretty good. Even Sandra Bullock managed to pull off All in all, a solid, powerful, gripping film. Some of the intensity was a little hokey, but not entirely unbelieveable. "Magnolia" is hands-down a better film, but this film is definitely pretty good. Even Sandra Bullock managed to pull off a good performance. Most of the cast did, with the possible exception of Brendan Fraser. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillC.May 14, 2005
Yes , it's racist , if you can't handle a even handed and balanced look at all races and the baggage that accompanies predudices. This film does and excellant job of showing what results from pre judging someone, when you get it Yes , it's racist , if you can't handle a even handed and balanced look at all races and the baggage that accompanies predudices. This film does and excellant job of showing what results from pre judging someone, when you get it wrong. How this could offend anyone only demonstrates how some people can't handle the truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinC.May 31, 2005
Sometimes I wonder if we're all talking about the same movie. There were only a few slip-ups (literally, when referring to Bullock's hokey slow-mo fall) and the biggest thing you can fault Crash for is ripping off Magnolia (right Sometimes I wonder if we're all talking about the same movie. There were only a few slip-ups (literally, when referring to Bullock's hokey slow-mo fall) and the biggest thing you can fault Crash for is ripping off Magnolia (right down to the precipatation and girl-on-piano soundtrack at the end). However, at least Crash didn't take 3+ hours to tell its story and packed just as much - or more - emotional punch. I cannot stop thinking about this film, it's just fantastic and worth every dollar of admission (as a bonus, you won't have to wait in long lines of Star Wars fans). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Jun 18, 2005
This is a fantastic, satisfying, challenging film for people who like character and dialogue over car chases and shoot outs. I was deeply moved several times, without ever feeling manipulated. Don Cheadle is one of the finest actors in film This is a fantastic, satisfying, challenging film for people who like character and dialogue over car chases and shoot outs. I was deeply moved several times, without ever feeling manipulated. Don Cheadle is one of the finest actors in film today and shows it here. Matt Dillon is superb as a bad guy whose badness is explained, if not justified. I was transported and enthralled by this film. A real achievement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradAJul 11, 2005
Very thought provoking movie that demonstrates how distrusting and misinformed people can be about others from differing ethnic backgrounds. It still shows there is a great ethnic divide in this country.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
Paul Haggis made this picture with a great passion flowing in his veins, fashioning honest, smart and true characters out of nothing, while winding them together in a plot that ennobles the cinema.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24May 27, 2013
With "Crash" a beautifully fable-like story is executed with some heavy-handed thematics, but the film is still unquestionably top shelf on a technical and performance-centric level.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SusanM.May 10, 2005
I really enjoyed this movie, there is really no beginning, middle and end, it's more like you get a brief glimpse into the lives of so many people who, on the outside, appear to be very different, but inside they are all struggling with I really enjoyed this movie, there is really no beginning, middle and end, it's more like you get a brief glimpse into the lives of so many people who, on the outside, appear to be very different, but inside they are all struggling with the same issues. Just to be fair, I will say that my boyfriend thought it sucked. Incidentally, he thinks 'Sniper 3' was a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidMMay 25, 2005
Crash is a powerful, emotionally wrenching film. It's about how people can be racist without realizing it, or even wanting to, because it has become a part of society. "Duh..." you say? "Why make an ugly movie about racism?" You have Crash is a powerful, emotionally wrenching film. It's about how people can be racist without realizing it, or even wanting to, because it has become a part of society. "Duh..." you say? "Why make an ugly movie about racism?" You have just answered your own question--because we gloss over racism nowadays. Instead of celebrating our differences as diversity, we use them to keep anyone "not of our kind" at arm's length. All of the characters in this movie are flawed human beings, with their own backgrounds, motivations and fears. We see them "crash" into each other, unaware (or unwilling to be aware) of how we are all connected as a society. The behavior and actions of each character has far-reaching effects into the lives of the other characters who then are in a position to effect them back. Ultimately these are anti-heroes to begin with, and we see the havok their actions create, leading downward and downward as recriminations and retaliations pile up. Although this is a dark and depressing film, we do catch glimpses that some of these people are realizing the effects their prejudice is having on themselves and the people around them. It's not a total redemption--the final scene brings the story full circle--but ultimately the movie has shown us that racism is bitterly self-consuming and self-defeating, but there *is* turning back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickD.May 31, 2005
Moving and poignant, but overrated. It seems to me that this movie is getting so much hype because it's the first good movie to come out this year. Also, within 15 minutes, I found myself thinking the following - A LOT: "OK, I get it, Moving and poignant, but overrated. It seems to me that this movie is getting so much hype because it's the first good movie to come out this year. Also, within 15 minutes, I found myself thinking the following - A LOT: "OK, I get it, you're racist." That said, my friends and I talked about it for hours afterwards. Great acting, great dialogue, great drama. I just wanted to be shocked, I guess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EveCJun 21, 2005
About misconception, fear and miscomunication between us, humain beings... A stunning and moving film If only it could open our eyes, about the uselessness of guns and much more... a beautiful message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMay 14, 2005
At last, a movie with no heroes and no bad guys. Only proves that we all can be a bit of both.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
dougb.May 23, 2005
A tad bleak, but the first intelligent movie I have seen this year, with believable dialogue and some riveting scenes. Would have warranted a 9 but for the, um, excessive coincidences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VinceH.May 25, 2005
Crash is certainly more intelligent and has much more to say about post-millenium life in America than any American movie since "The 25th Hour", and I would also argue that this is the best movies about racial tension in L.A that I've Crash is certainly more intelligent and has much more to say about post-millenium life in America than any American movie since "The 25th Hour", and I would also argue that this is the best movies about racial tension in L.A that I've seen (many people in other cities may not relate to the class/race differentiation, which makes this at heart a regional film). The acting is across the board fantastic (esp. Terrence Howard (Oscar-worthy), Michael Pena, Thandie Newton, and Matt Dillon). Haggis is clearly a sensitive director of actors and the way he is able to maintain the tension and drama throughout the film shows him to be a natural-born storyteller. My only problem with the film is pretty much the same as what Michael Atkinson of the Voice said - everyone seems to have some sort of "rap" or "spew" that they openly talk about in public, which is just very hard to believe. But overall there are moments in this film of such truth and such directness that it is the equivalent of a punch to the gut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful