Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A provocative, unflinching look at the complexities of racial tolerance in contemporary America. Diving headlong into the diverse melting pot of post-9/11 Los Angeles, this compelling urban drama tracks the volatile intersections of a multi-ethnic case of characters' struggles to overcome their fears as they careen in and out of one another's lives. (Lions Gate Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Hunter
    Feb 15, 2011
    100
    This is the rare American film really about something, and almost all the performances are riveting.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 15, 2011
    100
    Haggis writes with such directness and such a good ear for everyday speech that the characters seem real and plausible after only a few words. His cast is uniformly strong; the actors sidestep cliches and make their characters particular.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 15, 2011
    88
    The acting is dynamite, notably by Dillon and Newton in their shocking second encounter. Despite its preachy moments, the film is a knockout.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Kaufmann
    Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Ultimately, Crash succeeds in spite of itself. Its color war starts to feel obvious and schematic. Its coincidences and clich├ęs become like a pileup on the 405 freeway, but there it is -- you find yourself rubbernecking and can't manage to look away.
  5. Reviewed by: Stanley Kauffmann
    Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Haggis has made a safe picture. It is familiar enough that it slips easily into our film-watching faculty without any fuss, yet his handling of it--his muscular belief in what he is doing--makes us hope that his next screenplay will be a bit less safe.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 15, 2011
    50
    These interlocking stories don't move along as swiftly or as urgently as they should, and much of the dialogue thumps along on square wheels.
  7. Reviewed by: Jami Bernard
    Feb 15, 2011
    40
    Concludes in a shower of ashes, which is fitting because this movie is a billowing bonfire of ugly human behavior. Rarely have there been so many characters in need of timeouts, cold showers or house arrests.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 141
  1. Yossi
    Aug 20, 2005
    10
    Great Film!!
  2. JoeyM.
    May 22, 2005
    10
    Without giving anything away, allow me to say that the last scene with Sandra Bullock stunned me - I found myself all choked up. I didn't see this simple, moving moment coming. Excellent cast, some wonderfully tender, unexpected scenes and great acting from all. Ryan Phillippe, all is forgiven. Expand
  3. drewL.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen.
  4. jonathano.
    May 9, 2005
    9
    This movie was such a captivating film. Given that many events were quite coincidental, it still demanded your attention.
  5. natalie
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    A rare movie where the hard feelings existing across ethnic groups are all put on the table. Perhaps their exposure to the light of day will begin a withering process; the antidote to the growth produced by nurturing our prejudices privately. Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    7
    While I did find the message incredibly overbearing and overexaggerated, especially at the beginning, the character and plot development is so touching and poignant in places that it nearly nullifies my earlier concerns. Great performances from the majority of the cast and overall a pretty solid film in my view. Expand
  7. CarolAnn
    May 10, 2005
    0
    In a nutshell, this is a very derpressing racist movie demonstrating racial intolerance. It was so depressing that I walked out halfway through this film as did the few other people in the theater. Despite these glowing reviews that seemed to have loved it, I found it exploitative and very derogatory toward all races. Avoid. Collapse

See all 141 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.