Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: December 16, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 175 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
33
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
GklkKApr 26, 2010
Sorry, Couldn't get into this story. What pretty smart young attractive, lady, would choose to be near a sweaty,smelly, dissipated, fat, boozy, old, traveling, drunk. Zero credibility for me. The story and the music was a drag.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
tommFeb 20, 2010
Hollywood continues with it's poor quality of film making. Today's new release would be "B" movies 30 years ago. Remakes, violence, & "chick" movies seem to the best efforts of the film industry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JamesSDec 26, 2009
Another one of those movies where the sexy smart young woman falls for a charming unrepentingly drunken, crusty, pasty skinned, gut bag of a bitter vulgarian whose career has self destructed. Spare us next time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
zig16Dec 23, 2010
I rented this movie on blue ray. I had to turn it off 1/2 way through the picture and send it back - it was that bad! This type of movie gets publicity from review whores who all jump to try to outsmart the other critics, but in the end, theI rented this movie on blue ray. I had to turn it off 1/2 way through the picture and send it back - it was that bad! This type of movie gets publicity from review whores who all jump to try to outsmart the other critics, but in the end, the critics are all full of s--t! This movie sucks! Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
6
MattDanielJan 27, 2013
Crazy Heart is a well directed film in which all the actors are doing a very good job. Some scenes are masterfully composed. The script, however, is slow and predictable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JimSMar 14, 2010
I was not impressed with Crazy Heart. It was an uneven and melodramatic portrayal of an implausible, depressing, and dysfunctional relationship. Revolting at times, even redemption was presented as a hollow and empty exercise. Scant I was not impressed with Crazy Heart. It was an uneven and melodramatic portrayal of an implausible, depressing, and dysfunctional relationship. Revolting at times, even redemption was presented as a hollow and empty exercise. Scant offerings at the cinema these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
roberti.Jan 17, 2010
A small film that captures the unlikely fire and light between two characters in need of each other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
carolsJan 8, 2010
Jeff Bridges is mesmerizing as Bad Blake. A movie about a down and out mid-lifer can be cliche but Crazy Heart, and more accurately Bridges, brings a realism and depth to the nuances of addiction. Will someone give this man an Oscar please?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BradFApr 16, 2010
I was really looking forward to this movie and even waited until I was in the mood to take in what I expected to be an emotive, raw roller coaster. Instead I was offered a Sunday afternoon matinee with little or no ride at all. Agree Bridges I was really looking forward to this movie and even waited until I was in the mood to take in what I expected to be an emotive, raw roller coaster. Instead I was offered a Sunday afternoon matinee with little or no ride at all. Agree Bridges did a great job in the role of Bad Blake though if no one had said he was Oscar material I wouldn't have suggested it after seeing it. Disappointing in my opinion. Flat. Miscast. Oh well. Big Lebowski was ace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ROBERTMJan 10, 2010
Jeff Bridges makes Bad Blake come alive. Maggie Gyllenhaal is the perfect victim who always falls for the "bad boy" who breaks her heart. Robert Duvall is the ideal vehicle for being the channel for Otis Blake's redemption. All in all a Jeff Bridges makes Bad Blake come alive. Maggie Gyllenhaal is the perfect victim who always falls for the "bad boy" who breaks her heart. Robert Duvall is the ideal vehicle for being the channel for Otis Blake's redemption. All in all a very satisfying movie. REM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekB.Jan 19, 2010
A perfectly crafted film. Beautifully written, acted, and directed. Bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LolMJan 24, 2010
Someone pulled this plot out of a drawer and decided to use it once more. It is hackneyed. Bridges was great. Scenery also. But the script was tired. Robert Duvall was an alcoholic country western singer in Tender Mercies -- great plot, Someone pulled this plot out of a drawer and decided to use it once more. It is hackneyed. Bridges was great. Scenery also. But the script was tired. Robert Duvall was an alcoholic country western singer in Tender Mercies -- great plot, great music. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethSFeb 15, 2010
I've seen and heard this story before many times, but Mr. Bridges' and Mrs. Gyllenhaal's performances seem both effortless and truly moving. They are the beating heart of a wonderfully written song which, in the end, is I've seen and heard this story before many times, but Mr. Bridges' and Mrs. Gyllenhaal's performances seem both effortless and truly moving. They are the beating heart of a wonderfully written song which, in the end, is neither happy nor sad, but everything in between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeanSFeb 21, 2010
What's all the hype about? A hackneyed plot,with little depth to flesh out the meager story-line. A hard-to-believe "relationship" between Bad and Jean - not just a lack of chemistry between the two actors, but also a lack of realness What's all the hype about? A hackneyed plot,with little depth to flesh out the meager story-line. A hard-to-believe "relationship" between Bad and Jean - not just a lack of chemistry between the two actors, but also a lack of realness about the young mom having any interest in the seedy musician - the middle-aged female fans in the bars made more sense and were more believable. I found myself watching Maggie G. with more interest then Jeff B in the early part of the movie. All in all, I couldn't get involved in the story - and I was totally distracted by thoughts all through the movie that Jeff Bridges looked skanky, and boy, whoever dressed Maggie Gyllenhal for this part did her a major disservice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LornaSFeb 28, 2010
A terrific character study from Jeff Bridges,in which he gets inside the skin of Bad Blake.Even the songs fit him perfectly. The one negative about this film,unfortunately,is a big one.It is the unconvincing love story,made worse by the cute A terrific character study from Jeff Bridges,in which he gets inside the skin of Bad Blake.Even the songs fit him perfectly. The one negative about this film,unfortunately,is a big one.It is the unconvincing love story,made worse by the cute kid storyline.More of Colin Farrell's character would have been more interesting,plus adding more to our understanding of Bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesHMar 15, 2010
The storyline of this movie is nearly identical to last year's "The Wrestler". Both movies are good, but "The Wrestler" is better, and Mickey Rourke's performance is amazing. This one doesn't quite reach that level but the The storyline of this movie is nearly identical to last year's "The Wrestler". Both movies are good, but "The Wrestler" is better, and Mickey Rourke's performance is amazing. This one doesn't quite reach that level but the writing and acting is good throughout. I'm a big fan of "the Dude" Jeff Bridges so I'm glad he won the Oscar for this performance. Way overdue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
duaneApr 25, 2010
There is more truth on the screen in this film than I've seen in years. At one point I could swear I smelled the alcoholic stench of Bad Blake (Bridges).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CatDec 25, 2009
I don't think throwing up and reeling around drunk all the time necessarily qualifies one for an automatic Oscar nomination, but maybe I'm wrong. Also, I'm totally sick of seeing 30 year old women moon around after old men on I don't think throwing up and reeling around drunk all the time necessarily qualifies one for an automatic Oscar nomination, but maybe I'm wrong. Also, I'm totally sick of seeing 30 year old women moon around after old men on screen. These old guys making the movies are dreaming at our expense. The film was completely beautiful, kudos to the cinematographer, but the script was wandery and boring. I like Bridges, but I don't see what the big deal is all about. He was much more interesting in the Big Lebowsky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FranceL.Dec 29, 2009
Featuring an Oscar worthy performance by the talented, underrated Jeff Bridges, this is the painful story of one man's path from self destruction to self redemption. Maggie Gyllenhaall and Colin Farrell add solid backup and the Featuring an Oscar worthy performance by the talented, underrated Jeff Bridges, this is the painful story of one man's path from self destruction to self redemption. Maggie Gyllenhaall and Colin Farrell add solid backup and the soundtrack is a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenD.Jan 12, 2010
A perfectly crafted film - Jeff Bridges is amazing and seamlessly transforms himself into the character - great music - great story - for me, the most satisfying film of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EdM.Jan 18, 2010
Not much new here -- seen this story before -- but well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
QwertyJan 24, 2010
That's an 8 for the film overall, a mere 6 or 7 for the plot, a 9 for Gyllenhaal, and an all-out 10 for Bridges and the music. It's a toe-tapper/thigh-slapper all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JudyF.Feb 12, 2010
A mildly disappointing film -- despite all the hoo-haw. The story of a down-and-out country singer who finds love and then redemption is too cliche and offers few surprises. Jeff Bridges is fine and fun to watch. Maggie Gyllenhaal, not as A mildly disappointing film -- despite all the hoo-haw. The story of a down-and-out country singer who finds love and then redemption is too cliche and offers few surprises. Jeff Bridges is fine and fun to watch. Maggie Gyllenhaal, not as much. For a real treat -- see the 1983 version "Tender Mercies" instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LisaC.Feb 15, 2010
So disappointed in this movie. I agree that Maggie G. was miscasted, as others do. Despite Jeff Bridges doing a good job in the role, the characters really don't evolve and it is drawn out. Had really looked forward to this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Feb 15, 2010
Jeff Bridges - that's all you need to know to go see this movie. The actor who's been around forever and forever doing Iconic performances from The Last Picture Show, Tucker, The Fabulous Baker Boys, Fearless, and "The Dude" in The Jeff Bridges - that's all you need to know to go see this movie. The actor who's been around forever and forever doing Iconic performances from The Last Picture Show, Tucker, The Fabulous Baker Boys, Fearless, and "The Dude" in The Big Lebowski now adds Crazy Heart to his resume, and it will be known as his Signature performance. Bad Blake is acting perfection and the Academy will finally engrave Jeff Bridges for Best Actor in a Leading Role on the Oscar he richly deserves and has been robbed of so many times before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jennymFeb 17, 2010
I loved this movie I think Jeff Bridges played the best movie role he ever has. This movie suited him like no other role ever has.If he dont get an award for this movie then he has been cheated. Even his voice when singing is amazing. I loved this movie I think Jeff Bridges played the best movie role he ever has. This movie suited him like no other role ever has.If he dont get an award for this movie then he has been cheated. Even his voice when singing is amazing. Wonderful job Jeff. I am going to watch it again which i seldom ever watch a movie twice. Loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimH.Dec 29, 2009
Jeff Bridges good, movie bad. Hackneyed theme or alcoholic leaving wreackage in his wake and gets religion too late to salvage anything. Includes a totally implausible relationship with an attractive young woman who ignores all the warning Jeff Bridges good, movie bad. Hackneyed theme or alcoholic leaving wreackage in his wake and gets religion too late to salvage anything. Includes a totally implausible relationship with an attractive young woman who ignores all the warning signs. Tries to a "the Wrestler" but not as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeB.Dec 31, 2009
I am a musician, and have much in common with the main character. I love all the actors. That is why I am so disappointed. the story is drawn out and the characters never change in a way that makes me feel different. I can't believe I am a musician, and have much in common with the main character. I love all the actors. That is why I am so disappointed. the story is drawn out and the characters never change in a way that makes me feel different. I can't believe Maggie in this role. Too pretty, too young, too intelligent. in short a pointless script and a directorial failure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimC.Dec 30, 2009
Outstanding film! Story line, characterization, dialogue, acting.... all believable, consistent, authentic... The film was deep, vivid, heartbreaking and hopeful. Bridges was outstanding, I felt like I knew Mr. Blake personally. AND the Outstanding film! Story line, characterization, dialogue, acting.... all believable, consistent, authentic... The film was deep, vivid, heartbreaking and hopeful. Bridges was outstanding, I felt like I knew Mr. Blake personally. AND the music and singing were top notch and I'm not a big fan of C&W Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thelordoffilmAug 13, 2010
Crazy Heart is a real American movie, it's not a remake or reboot. It's original work that needs to be seen. Of all the generic movies of violence and bad storytelling it's very refreshing to see a movie that cares for its characters andCrazy Heart is a real American movie, it's not a remake or reboot. It's original work that needs to be seen. Of all the generic movies of violence and bad storytelling it's very refreshing to see a movie that cares for its characters and plot. Crazy Heart tells the story of Bad Blake (Jeff Bridges) a washed-out country singer who's not a very likeable guy. He curses, drinks, and very lazy. He use to be the top dog in country but we can just tell he screw that up. His agent clearly forces him and yells at him to get up and do a performance and not to f@#k it up. He refuses to collaborate with another country singer named Tommy Sweet (Colin Farrell) which we get a notion of a disagreement between them from the past. Bridges performance is so good that we can tell the age of experience from his actions and mannerisms. We can tell his sadness from his actions with the way he acts and his judgments. All of these things start to change once he meet Jean Craddock (Maggie Gyllenhaal) a writer and her son. At first is sexual but then he starts falling for her and for his son. He decides to reinvent his life and people it's not easy for him. Bridge's performance is downright awesome and finally the recognition he deserves. He comes from a huge career of movies and he nailed this one. He created a character that was believable. There were times when we wanted to cry for him and when we were angry with him. The supporting cast was very good as well. Gyllenhaal was very good and gave a very good supportive role. Colin Farrell as well who does more action flicks shows that he has more meaning and dramatic depths. Yeah the plot is familiar with music stars but the performances form the actors rise to another level. I think this movie shines a light on movies where we lost the effect that movie does for us. This is a movie who has important things to say, films are suppose to be teach aspects of life and to entertain. Some movies are satires and some movies are protests. You want to know what Crazy Heart teaches, see it yourself and let it teach you. One of the best films of 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews