Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Bad Blake is a broken-down, hard-living country music singer who's had way too many marriages, far too many years on the road and one too many drinks way too many times. And yet, Bad can’t help but reach for salvation with the help of Jean, a journalist who discovers the real man behind theBad Blake is a broken-down, hard-living country music singer who's had way too many marriages, far too many years on the road and one too many drinks way too many times. And yet, Bad can’t help but reach for salvation with the help of Jean, a journalist who discovers the real man behind the musician. As he struggles down the road of redemption, Bad learns the hard way just how tough life can be on one man’s crazy heart. [Fox Searchlight] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    Jeff Bridges is a virtual certainty to win his first Oscar, after four nominations.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    100
    On first viewing, Crazy Heart seemed like a pretty good movie with one great performance. After a second time through, it's sneaking up on the title of my favorite film of the year.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Crazy Heart gets to you like a good country song--not because it tells you something new, but because it tells it well. It's the singer, not the song.
  4. Reviewed by: Nev Pierce
    80
    A phenomenal, heart-breaking performance from Jeff Bridges powers this simple but affecting redemption story.
  5. 78
    Bridges makes this sozzled and desperate ex-desperado – a cliché by any other name – as fresh and vital as one final shot at cowboy-poet redemption. It may sound crazy, but it's true.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    Crazy Heart, based on a 1987 novel by Thomas Cobb, also has great music. Even if you're not a country music fan, the songs, by T Bone Burnett and the late Stephen Bruton, are infectious.
  7. A manufactured kid-in-jeopardy climax and Blake’s rehab stint blow the mood. Until then, this is great American acting.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    I rented this movie on blue ray. I had to turn it off 1/2 way through the picture and send it back - it was that bad! This type of movie getsI rented this movie on blue ray. I had to turn it off 1/2 way through the picture and send it back - it was that bad! This type of movie gets publicity from review whores who all jump to try to outsmart the other critics, but in the end, the critics are all full of s--t! This movie sucks! Expand
  2. DerekB.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    A perfectly crafted film. Beautifully written, acted, and directed. Bravo.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    You take a thoroughly realistic yet original plot, combine it with brilliant acting, and you get a stunning motion picture. Jeff BridgesYou take a thoroughly realistic yet original plot, combine it with brilliant acting, and you get a stunning motion picture. Jeff Bridges deserved the Oscar and then some. I really loved this. Expand
  4. FranceL.
    Dec 29, 2009
    8
    Featuring an Oscar worthy performance by the talented, underrated Jeff Bridges, this is the painful story of one man's path from self Featuring an Oscar worthy performance by the talented, underrated Jeff Bridges, this is the painful story of one man's path from self destruction to self redemption. Maggie Gyllenhaall and Colin Farrell add solid backup and the soundtrack is a winner. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    Of course, Bridges steals the show. He IS the show. That's the whole point of this film.....following this country legend all around the westOf course, Bridges steals the show. He IS the show. That's the whole point of this film.....following this country legend all around the west and feeling the envy he feels while witnessing the perfection he once had. We then witness his gains only to feel them ripped from his life after the mistakes me makes. The film never quite spikes with enough energy aside from Bridges singing the same song over and over throughout the duration. The performances are all there, but the energetic undertones are stagnant which can make this film drag depending on what mood the audience is in. Bridges makes this film interesting, and that's that. Expand
  6. Cat
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    I don't think throwing up and reeling around drunk all the time necessarily qualifies one for an automatic Oscar nomination, but maybe I don't think throwing up and reeling around drunk all the time necessarily qualifies one for an automatic Oscar nomination, but maybe I'm wrong. Also, I'm totally sick of seeing 30 year old women moon around after old men on screen. These old guys making the movies are dreaming at our expense. The film was completely beautiful, kudos to the cinematographer, but the script was wandery and boring. I like Bridges, but I don't see what the big deal is all about. He was much more interesting in the Big Lebowsky. Expand
  7. JamesS
    Dec 26, 2009
    2
    Another one of those movies where the sexy smart young woman falls for a charming unrepentingly drunken, crusty, pasty skinned, gut bag of a Another one of those movies where the sexy smart young woman falls for a charming unrepentingly drunken, crusty, pasty skinned, gut bag of a bitter vulgarian whose career has self destructed. Spare us next time. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14