Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: October 26, 2007
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
35
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
SusanG.Oct 22, 2007
Way over the top and predictable...unlikeable characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
OtmS.May 6, 2008
Pap. The characters exist only to create dilemmas for the romantic leads. Steve Carrell does his best, but the writing is uninspired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KenanH.Nov 23, 2007
Not Steve Carrel's best at all. But still a funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JaredC.Oct 27, 2007
It's one of those Steve Carell PG-13 allright romantic comedies. It's not the greatest film of all time but it is worth seeing. But don't expect to go to the theatre and laugh your brains out, it's truly not that funny. It's one of those Steve Carell PG-13 allright romantic comedies. It's not the greatest film of all time but it is worth seeing. But don't expect to go to the theatre and laugh your brains out, it's truly not that funny. But ... I recommend only to people who enjoy short romantic comedies with not a lot of innaproprate elements. It's ment for 46-year-olds with good mature taste. Though, it's not meant for us young viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ColeMJul 9, 2009
This movie was sooooo......I don't know. Such a normal, mediocre movie. It is something I could see becoming my mom's favorite movie. I love Steve Carell in The Office and Little MIss Sunshine but I absolutely hated this movie. I This movie was sooooo......I don't know. Such a normal, mediocre movie. It is something I could see becoming my mom's favorite movie. I love Steve Carell in The Office and Little MIss Sunshine but I absolutely hated this movie. I give it a 4 because a) everyone loves it and b) Steve Carell is in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LewisP.Nov 12, 2007
There's little to get excited about "Dan in Real Life". First off, the whole setup is incredibly contrived. Did you really believe that during that very long first meeting conversation at the restaurant, Marie wouldn't have told There's little to get excited about "Dan in Real Life". First off, the whole setup is incredibly contrived. Did you really believe that during that very long first meeting conversation at the restaurant, Marie wouldn't have told Dan where she was going? And since Dan did all the talking during that conversation, why would she be so attracted to him? For that matter, I never figured out why Marie was so attracted to Dan throughout the movie. He's very narcissistic and does little to convince us that he's truly a good guy (for example he lies to Marie in the bookstore, ridicules his brother about his past girlfriends and tries to make Marie jealous with a 'blind date'). There's more contrivance such as that ridiculous scene at the bowling alley where Dan and Marie are caught making out by the whole family. Yeah like that could really happen. Dan in Real life is slow-paced, sappy and manipulative. Even chick flicks like The Jane Austen Book Club get higher marks than this predictable "tearjerker". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PhilMar 1, 2008
I can see how they tried to stray from the standard romantic comedy here, but generally speaking.. pretty transparent. Despite the poor plot, I enjoyed Carell's comedy, so it was an ok film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Mar 9, 2008
Juliette Binoche is such a charming actress, and she adds a lot to this film. It's a good story, but I don't think families are really like this, that aspect does not ring true. It's nicely written and I liked the score a lot. Juliette Binoche is such a charming actress, and she adds a lot to this film. It's a good story, but I don't think families are really like this, that aspect does not ring true. It's nicely written and I liked the score a lot. A pleasant feel good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisCNov 10, 2007
There were a lot of good things about the movie. A lot of good performances, and they somehow managed to make Dane Cook not annoy me. They also managed to take the romantic comedy formula and breathe a little life into it it doesn't There were a lot of good things about the movie. A lot of good performances, and they somehow managed to make Dane Cook not annoy me. They also managed to take the romantic comedy formula and breathe a little life into it it doesn't usually have. But, they also adhered way too much to the formula without really doing anything unique or original with it. And what kills it for me is how obviously they primed you to root for the ending to happen. They took a morally gray situation and imposed a really superficial moral compass on it that trivialized the entire plot, then justified it with a lot of cheap forgiveness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Nov 23, 2007
Dan in Real Life would have been a script Steve Martin would have turned down 10 years ago, instead we get Steve Carell trying to become an actor instead of a comedian in movies and he does show promise in what is essentially Parenthood 2. Dan in Real Life would have been a script Steve Martin would have turned down 10 years ago, instead we get Steve Carell trying to become an actor instead of a comedian in movies and he does show promise in what is essentially Parenthood 2. It's a nice little comedy that comes to life when Juliette Binoche is on screen, who doesn't do nearly enough American films, but always radiates warmth and honesty in all her roles. Dianne Weist and John Mahoney are wasted in little roles and Dane Cook just wastes his role (He really needs to stick to stand up). Dan in Real Life is an enjoyable way to kill an hour and a half of your real life or you could save 10 bucks and do a crossword puzzle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomG.Mar 14, 2008
I have never been to bible camp but watching this movie made me feel as if I had. If I had to spend 1 hour with this family at their cabin I would hope that there were no sharp objects around because i would do myself in .Very undeserving of I have never been to bible camp but watching this movie made me feel as if I had. If I had to spend 1 hour with this family at their cabin I would hope that there were no sharp objects around because i would do myself in .Very undeserving of a 65 rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarioS.Mar 21, 2008
Nothing real about this movie: cliched, cloying and annoying. What is intended to be full of feeling and romantic comes across as idiotic and unlikely. And the movie is not funny! It's attempts to be so, in the shower scene for example, Nothing real about this movie: cliched, cloying and annoying. What is intended to be full of feeling and romantic comes across as idiotic and unlikely. And the movie is not funny! It's attempts to be so, in the shower scene for example, are pathetic. Binoche is the only bright spot but one ends up feeling sorry for her being stuck in this loser. Dan in Treacle land would be a better title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Despite numerous emotions thrown together all at once, Dan in Real Life is a curious look at life and family. Steve Carell proves to be much more than a simple television actor and surely much more than Michael Scott.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews