Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Bjork stars as Selma, a Czech immigrant and single mother working in a factory in rural America. She is losing her eyesight and her 10 year-old son stands to suffer the same fate if she can't put away enough money to secure him an operation. (FilmFour)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. 100
    One of the most searing experiences to be had at the movies this year.
  2. 88
    It is a bold, reckless gesture.
  3. 80
    I was astonished to find myself weeping copiously over von Trier's latest, which is another parable of monomaniacal sainthood.
  4. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    70
    Slow and depressing, but ultimately haunting film.
  5. What is meant to be an innovative, cutting-edge musical melodrama is so jumbled, irrational and amateurish that it makes dinner theater look like the Old Vic.
  6. Like a naive modernist hymn made by someone who doesn't, deep down, believe in hymns.
  7. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    20
    A 2½-hour demo of auteurist self-importance that's artistically bankrupt on almost every level.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This movie is utterly depressing, but you can't help feeling its wonder of the musical. It's very inventive and compelling. Yet, the story is making us frustrated. It is very unique in its own way. See it, and i dare you not to cry at the end! Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    Dancer in the Dark is one of my favourite films ever. I cannot help but cry every time I watch it. The excellent performance by Bjork (surprisingly excellent, might I add) and the genius direction of Lars von Trier work perfectly to make one of the best films that have graced the film screen. Intensely disturbing, yet intensely gratifying and rewarding. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    If you think all this movie has is depression and really nothing else, I think you don't even have emotion. You can see the cast and director put so much of feelings and effort into the film. The film is equal to humanity. The themes of the story are love, compassion, greed and ignorance, and what else the human mind works. Lead actress Bjork acts and sings so impressively, the director chose the right actress to star and the correct composer who was Bjork. Sad film but many lessons learned from it indeed. Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    9
    Dancer in the dark is a fantastic and touching musical drama with stunning interpretation of Bjork. I would love see her in another movie because she was simply perfect. Expand
  5. May 7, 2011
    8
    The movie is shot like a documentary which magnifies the sadness of the ending. It is a sad sad movie and has no moral message to offset the tragic ending. Its a movie that i will always love but its always a movie that i would never recommend giving its fatalistic ending. Only for the strong at heart. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    Dancer In The dark by visionary film director Lars Von Trier is one of my favourite films, yes what my favourite film is doesn't matter, but this film is quite simply exquisite. This film uses all of the wonderful techniques seen in Dogme 95 films, to create a deeply immersive filmic experience. The handheld style helps to feel like you are watching a woman's life unfold tragically before you. As it may not be to everyone's taste i'm sure, it is certainly a heart breaker, you cannot help but sympathise with Selma, and a powerful award wining performance certainly contributes to your emotions. For some reason I enjoy the musical/drama, a unique blend. I find it hard to find flaws, and to me it will be a narrative and aesthetic masterpiece. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2010
    2
    A movie that will tear your heart apart - that is if you don't tear your eyes out first. It's too bad, because Björk showed so much promise as an actress in the beginning - but by the end her performance just relies on viewer sympathy and nothing else. To give it some credit, the musical sequences are very well done on their own, but they have no stylistic place in this movie Collapse

See all 48 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.