Orion Pictures Corporation | Release Date: November 9, 1990
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 164 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
155
Mixed:
8
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
UsmanA.Jun 6, 2006
its a briliant film. explains the civil war and how america split up because of slavery. 1 man changes from being a hero to being a traitor.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ECJul 1, 2007
A marvelous film. Many powerful sequences, some memorable characters, lush and evocative cinematography in the right places. Not too many movies leave you feeling enriched, but this one does.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
4
BennettM.Dec 20, 2003
New-Agey garbage.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Dany:)Apr 22, 2004
The best film of kevin costner with no doubt. 'hair in the wind' saying: "dancing with wolves, don't you see I'm your friend? don't you see I'll always be your friend?" in last sequence riding his horse in top The best film of kevin costner with no doubt. 'hair in the wind' saying: "dancing with wolves, don't you see I'm your friend? don't you see I'll always be your friend?" in last sequence riding his horse in top of a mountain maybe is the very best sequence i've seen in years. (hope you understand my poor english). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Jan 9, 2004
This is the one where Costner got it right. Got being Costner right, anyway. OK, so, it only works where Union Army service provokes suicidal tendencies, and because, as any Native American can tell you, there are good Indians and bad This is the one where Costner got it right. Got being Costner right, anyway. OK, so, it only works where Union Army service provokes suicidal tendencies, and because, as any Native American can tell you, there are good Indians and bad Indians. Wait, Costner's geekish sense of proportion is just getting started. In a fit of sanitary decorum he builds a 5-alarm campfire to roast inedible wild game. He can't preserve enough of his belongings, the army's stockpile of munitions, or his sense of discretion on how to enter an armed camp to avoid desertion charges. The only moment approaching comedy quickly ensues as his brothers-in-arms kick his ass, presumably for being a total incompetent in the event he is not a deserter. Or perhaps they read ahead in the script and saw he was going to off them for initiating the inevitable reckoning. Then there's his "Hey, Babe. I'm quite a catch, how come you're not buying it - oh, wait, you are buying it" escapist romanticism in full bloom. And the wise Chief 10 Bears is reduced to incoherent mutterings lest he call B.S. on Costner's dysfunctional presumptions. Hokeyness on an epic scale. Little Big Man without those annoying reality checks. You gotta love it. The Academy sure did. So let's remember the goofballs who helped tame the West, and embrace this fumbling revisionist history which, while tepid and uncomfortable, still has way more authenticity than John Wayne's legacy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
LiJan 30, 2007
This grossly overrated film works only if you live in some strange reality where being extremely naive and foolhardy doesn't get you immediately killed and poo-pooed at. The protagonist evokes neither awe nor sympathy, just sad pity for This grossly overrated film works only if you live in some strange reality where being extremely naive and foolhardy doesn't get you immediately killed and poo-pooed at. The protagonist evokes neither awe nor sympathy, just sad pity for a deluded has-been. However, the cinematography is admittedly beautiful (but not stunning). Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AtHomeWithGilbertMulroneycakesJul 16, 2003
A Good Film. Only problem I have is that it chickens out a little by making Stands With A Fist white. It would have made more thematic sense to have the love interest a Proper Native American Lady - though maybe it transgresses Sioux law A Good Film. Only problem I have is that it chickens out a little by making Stands With A Fist white. It would have made more thematic sense to have the love interest a Proper Native American Lady - though maybe it transgresses Sioux law else, I don't know. Anyway, it's a Good Film - a Great Film, and brilliantly directed by Costner to boot. It's a good start. Then again, hindsight's a wonderful thing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Preachy and predictable, sentimental washing of hog than dancing with wolf, a sort of revisionist New Agey fantasy of white man befriending, indeed playing, Indian. Still, grand vistas and attention to authenticity make it worth at least one Preachy and predictable, sentimental washing of hog than dancing with wolf, a sort of revisionist New Agey fantasy of white man befriending, indeed playing, Indian. Still, grand vistas and attention to authenticity make it worth at least one viewing, but only on the big screen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamA.May 20, 2004
This is an excellent movie showing the various veiws of the plain indians and the buffalo hunting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JenniferM.May 24, 2005
I think the film was very interesting. It had a wonderful story line. The acting was great, one of Kevin Costners greatest films ever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PenniS.May 18, 2003
The greatest western in movies. An awesome pictorial of how the west was won. Kevin Costner is truly the best actor, director, and movie maker.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndrewMAug 12, 2004
This is simply fine quality storytelling. It has a highly entertaining narrative coupled with scenes of visual splendour and populated throughout by authentic characters. Costner isn't much of an actor, but this role really wasn't This is simply fine quality storytelling. It has a highly entertaining narrative coupled with scenes of visual splendour and populated throughout by authentic characters. Costner isn't much of an actor, but this role really wasn't too demanding - it's the handling of the film that is so impressive. Solid script and excellent directing style by Costner lift this film above the routine, seen one-seen 'em all historical westerns. It doesn't score greatly from an edifying point of view, and because it obviously attempted to it lowers the film's rating, but this is still a highly entertaining expose of American culture and technically it is very well done. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulApr 26, 2005
My all time favorite movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 13, 2004
Beautiful and intresting. ONE OF THE BEST FILMS EVER!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
its like Avatar with indians in this entertaining movie.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 1, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A great story with great acting and directing. Although it has conflict with Native Americans it was really nice to see a story with such great humanity and friendship with them. It is seriously long andI thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A great story with great acting and directing. Although it has conflict with Native Americans it was really nice to see a story with such great humanity and friendship with them. It is seriously long and honestly, I don't think I could ever watch it again but it was great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ShahmeerJun 18, 2011
Dances With Wolves is the 1990s version of Avatar. Wait, let me rephrase that; Avatar is a 2000's version of Dances With Wolves. It's well-done, exciting, and truly emotional. It's Kevin Costner's best film,for none of his other's can beatDances With Wolves is the 1990s version of Avatar. Wait, let me rephrase that; Avatar is a 2000's version of Dances With Wolves. It's well-done, exciting, and truly emotional. It's Kevin Costner's best film,for none of his other's can beat it. It gets you emotionally drawn to the film throughout, and you never want any of the characters to be forgotten. While watching the film, I quickly realized it resembled many characteristics that I had seen in previous movies. The cinematography, the acting, and the story had all been recreated in films that had come out after the movie, and this was a basic beginner of many films in Hollywood. Itââ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
asbeloliverMar 6, 2012
a great film where you look, with a technical section that nothing blockbusters envy, besides being a heartwarming story of valuesâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jakub02Jan 12, 2012
A very good, even though a little bit naive movie. Kevin Costner is one of the worst actors I've ever seen, but he seems to work well for this particular one - plus the supporting cast really did their best. The plot is really simple, but itA very good, even though a little bit naive movie. Kevin Costner is one of the worst actors I've ever seen, but he seems to work well for this particular one - plus the supporting cast really did their best. The plot is really simple, but it can keep the viewer interested, and the part when Dunbar got to be friends with the Sioux was heartwarming. Beautiful visuals and music complete a movie that is definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleFeb 25, 2014
Phenomenal film. First off, the cinematography is breathtaking. Just absolutely stunning. The mise en scene, as a whole, is great as well as the scenery was top-notch. In addition, the soundtrack made me absolutely swoon. If I had not alreadyPhenomenal film. First off, the cinematography is breathtaking. Just absolutely stunning. The mise en scene, as a whole, is great as well as the scenery was top-notch. In addition, the soundtrack made me absolutely swoon. If I had not already been swept off of my feet, the soundtrack would have swept me off my feet, but in the end, it just serves as further evidence of the sheer beauty of this film. Just wow. In terms of the story, I thought it, as well, was beautifully presented. From the early encounters to the very end, there is a certain beauty to the interaction between the characters as Dunbar adjusts to his new situation. In terms of the acting, Kevin Costner and a cast of relative unknowns did a great job. Initially, I was unsure about Costner and did not like his performance that much in the beginning, but as the film progressed, he won me over completely. The final note I want to make is on the length. It is three hours, so it is up there in terms of time, but it never really shows its length. Instead, it almost tricks you into thinking it is much shorter in the way it utilizes every second to tell its story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
With its great direction and extremely well acted and written plot, Dances With Wolves suceeds in all standards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GiroJun 15, 2014
Dances with Wolves is maybe THE masterpiece of Costner's career. As producer and leading role, he manages to reproduce the magnificent western atmosphere that we find in the book written by Michael Blake. The story is centered on the meetingDances with Wolves is maybe THE masterpiece of Costner's career. As producer and leading role, he manages to reproduce the magnificent western atmosphere that we find in the book written by Michael Blake. The story is centered on the meeting of two cultures -Indian and American- in a context of civil war, in a part of the country not conquered by the army yet. Although the four and half hour of the long version may seem too much, don't expect you to fall asleep! I suggest you to reserve your evening to enjoy this masterwork, both visually and audibly, thanks to John Barry's music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mustang25827Jun 24, 2014
Dances with wolves is something that you don't see in movies now a days and it speaks to you In away that movies should this without a doubt one of my favorite movies of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FlickLoverMay 29, 2015
Marvelous storytelling. An epic movie that drew me in, and made me one with it's leading character as he became one with the land and its people. It is romantic, adventurous, war-torn, violent, peaceful, and lovely. It is full of love,Marvelous storytelling. An epic movie that drew me in, and made me one with it's leading character as he became one with the land and its people. It is romantic, adventurous, war-torn, violent, peaceful, and lovely. It is full of love, hate, misunderstanding and guidance. Dances with Wolves is a picture of mankind at both its best... and worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Aug 25, 2016
Dances with wolves is a great classic. The only reason I'd give it a eight is because after the second act, it just isn't as engaging as the first two acts. Besides that, I enjoyed this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 9, 2016
In his directorial debut, Kevin Costner brings a rare degree of grace and feeling to this elegiac tale of a hero’s adventure of discovery among the Sioux Indians on the pristine Dakota plains of the 1860s.

Costner stars as Lt. John Dunbar,
In his directorial debut, Kevin Costner brings a rare degree of grace and feeling to this elegiac tale of a hero’s adventure of discovery among the Sioux Indians on the pristine Dakota plains of the 1860s.

Costner stars as Lt. John Dunbar, a Union officer in the Civil War invited to choose his own post after an act of heroism. Opting for the farthest reaches of the frontier because he “Wants to see it before it disappears,” he transplants himself from a weary and cynical war culture to the windswept clarity of the Dakota plains.

Arriving at the remote outpost assigned him by an insane major (Maury Chaykin), Dunbar finds it deserted and, to the disbelief of his wagon driver (Robert Pastorelli), opts to unload his provisions and stay.

His only company as he passes the days are his horse, a gangling wolf who keeps a nervous distance, and, finally, a Sioux Indian who tries to steal the horse and is frightened off by Dunbar.

Because whites and Indians automatically killed each other upon meeting, each party lived in ignorance of the other. Dunbar’s virtue is that he resists violence, putting himself at risk with the Sioux until they trust him and accept him.

Dunbar keeps a journal, hoping to create “a trail for others to follow.” He discovers a culture so deeply refreshing to his spirit, compared with the detritus he’s left behind, that, by the time the U.S. Army bothers to look for him, he has become a Sioux and his name is Dances With Wolves.

Of course, the Union soldiers completely misunderstand his purposes, giving pic the tragic cast this saga historically deserves.

Script by Michael Blake portrays the Sioux culture with appreciation, establishing within it characters of winning individuality and humor. Design team accents the diverse beauty of the actors (all Native Americans) with striking combinations of paint, feathers and deerskin in costuming.

Unfortunately, the script seems to have run out of understanding by the time the Union soldiers arrive to do a job on the “traitor” Dunbar, and portrayal of this loutish and brutal mob, who refuse so much as to hear him out, is pic’s weakest and most manipulative passage.

Still, it makes effective drama and, if interpreted metaphorically, the scene conveys the spirit of rape and plunder that had vanquished the Sioux culture within a mere 13 years of this story’s unfolding, according to the screen epilogue.

Lensed on location in South Dakota over 17 weeks, pic is infused with the natural grandeur of the plains and sky, captured in all their variance by cinematographer Dean Semler

Score by John Barry makes a major contribution, varying from the elegiac tone of the main theme to the spirited adventure of classic Westerns, to the heart-racing primal rhythms of the buffalo and scalp dances.

From its three-hour length, which amazingly does not become tiresome, to its bold use of subtitled Lakota language (the Sioux tongue) for at least a third of the dialogue, it’s clear the filmmakers were proceeding without regard for the rules. Their audacity in doing so, because they knew what they had, is as inspiring as the film itself.

Costner’s directing style is fresh and assured. A sense of surprise and humor accompany Dunbar’s adventures at every turn, twisting the narrative gently this way and that and making the journey a real pleasure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews