Triumph Releasing Corporation | Release Date: February 10, 1982
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 126 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
83
Mixed:
5
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
An Epic among epics, its one of the most important submarine films that must be take into account.

based on a heart pounding biography of life on a German U-boat in the middle of the atlantic during WW2, its so intense and chilling in war
An Epic among epics, its one of the most important submarine films that must be take into account.

based on a heart pounding biography of life on a German U-boat in the middle of the atlantic during WW2, its so intense and chilling in war combat you can imagine what it must be like stuck in a tin can in the bottom of the ocean waiting for fear to strike. In the end I had no whose side I was rooting for.

I think this a good film to tell the terror and agony the germans experienced from a better perspective in naval warfare, that you be hoping that at least we can live a happier lives than them in a safer world of peace and tranquility never again the horrors you will experience in this brilliant monumental epic C
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviematthewMar 6, 2015
I consider Wolfgang Petersen to be one of my favorite film directors, and "Das Boot" is probably my most favorite of his career. "Das Boot" portrays life on U-96, as accurate as possible, leaving no room for creative liberties, even if theI consider Wolfgang Petersen to be one of my favorite film directors, and "Das Boot" is probably my most favorite of his career. "Das Boot" portrays life on U-96, as accurate as possible, leaving no room for creative liberties, even if the submarine sank later in the war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AkashVijayJan 21, 2015
Brilliantly Gothic, Chillingly Sincere and Deeply Spiritual. Wolfgang Peterson has presented the audiences with one of the most brutally moving war movies ever made. The plot comes second, the exhaustive and asphyxiating battle comes, first.Brilliantly Gothic, Chillingly Sincere and Deeply Spiritual. Wolfgang Peterson has presented the audiences with one of the most brutally moving war movies ever made. The plot comes second, the exhaustive and asphyxiating battle comes, first. This is what every war movie should aim to be. True to its characters and true to the war. Poetry and Repugnance walk hand-in -hand here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMay 2, 2014
The Das Boot Director's Cut, a whopping 3h 28m, doesn't have much of a plot line, but instead is more of a documentary on U-boat life. It is so accurate in its happenings, and doesn't hold anything back. It doesn't sugarcoat the filth or theThe Das Boot Director's Cut, a whopping 3h 28m, doesn't have much of a plot line, but instead is more of a documentary on U-boat life. It is so accurate in its happenings, and doesn't hold anything back. It doesn't sugarcoat the filth or the fear that encompasses the ship. Petersen and company have crafted a fine film just short of a modern classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LouisaAndrewsNov 13, 2012
Wolfgang Petersen creates a wonderful and exciting film in Das Boot. I had never watched the film until today. I watched the equivalent aviation version 'Shady Lady' which was compared to Das Boot and hence my late arrival at the time.

Das
Wolfgang Petersen creates a wonderful and exciting film in Das Boot. I had never watched the film until today. I watched the equivalent aviation version 'Shady Lady' which was compared to Das Boot and hence my late arrival at the time.

Das Boot is so powerful, wonderful characters and tension. An excellent 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
This movie would have been awfully boring it wasn`t as scary as it is. The first time I watched it I had to take breaks because I couldn`t take the tension. The claustrophobia of this film is something really special. We sit in half- darknessThis movie would have been awfully boring it wasn`t as scary as it is. The first time I watched it I had to take breaks because I couldn`t take the tension. The claustrophobia of this film is something really special. We sit in half- darkness most of the time anticipating hull sounds. The story is simple, though it`s just secondary to the main part and that is the Uboat. This tin coffin reminds us of everything we`d like never to experience in our lives. And yet there were real poeple volunteering to serve onboard of those coffins. Right to the end that history showed most of them were destroyed in action. For some reason the German actors really play it well. I mean this couldn`t have been done so good if they were average. Everything is believable here - the effects (as few of them as there are) are great, the submarine external views underwater are outright scary, the music perfectly goes with the atmosphere. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
Absolutely the best sub movie of all time.... I could actually imagine the smells and rotten food. Terrific performances... terrific everything!!!!!!!

This is a must see or you have truly missed something great!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JDAug 17, 2007
Probably the best war movie ever made. Forget garbage like 'Saving Private Ryan'. This movie truly captures the futility of war no matter what side you are on. Claustrophobic, non stop action that literally had me cringing Probably the best war movie ever made. Forget garbage like 'Saving Private Ryan'. This movie truly captures the futility of war no matter what side you are on. Claustrophobic, non stop action that literally had me cringing throughout the long (nearly 4 hours) journey. You get so absorbed into the movie, you get to know the characters so well. Great acting, filming, dialogue and music. A masterpiece. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Mar 28, 2007
Just too drawn out, even though that's necessary to a point to develop the tension of the underwater attacks. But still rates a 10 as the best submarine warfare movie ever made. One of those rare movies that, once viewed, is never forgotten.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewH.Jun 28, 2006
One of the most suspensful movies I've ever seen. Great pacing. Simple story. Amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveC.Sep 24, 2005
Four hours edge-of-your-seat suspense. I didn't avert my eyes for a second. The audience is never asked to either sympathise or condemn these characters. Das Boot is instead a haunting testament to the futility of war.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]May 10, 2005
OK, but the 6 part, subtitled series is much, much better. (The film was made by just chopping up and dubbing the series) There is so much substance missing from the film that I cannot give it a good score. As for where you can find the OK, but the 6 part, subtitled series is much, much better. (The film was made by just chopping up and dubbing the series) There is so much substance missing from the film that I cannot give it a good score. As for where you can find the series ... Good Luck, It was on TV BBC a while back, or maybe amazon.de. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChimpOct 8, 2004
This is, without any doubt, the best submarine movie ever made. If you think otherwise than you dont understand anything. This is also one of the best war movies ever made, and one of the best movies ever made. From the haunting theme to the This is, without any doubt, the best submarine movie ever made. If you think otherwise than you dont understand anything. This is also one of the best war movies ever made, and one of the best movies ever made. From the haunting theme to the pinging sound of the british ASDIC device, this movie takes you to the depths and shows you what it was really like to be in a German U-Boat. The acting is perfect, especially the captain. You grow to know the crew, and feel what they are feeling. When they finally get the breath of fresh air after so long, i could.....well, feel the relief too. The dialogue is perfect, and the music is amazing. It is very long (especially the directors cut) but i dont think there should be one second of it taken out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherS.Oct 7, 2004
One of the best warfilms ever made. Accurately portrays the reality and horror of war, not to mention from a differant perspective that americans are used to seeing from hollywood. A long journey, but excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterJ.Jun 21, 2004
This is the best movie for portraying the horrors occured during a mission in the alantic by a german U-boat crew in the dark days between 39 and 45, absolutely outstanding 20 out of ten, Peter Jardine aged 18.
1 of 1 users found this helpful