Dawn of the Dead

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 497 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 497

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    Considered by many to be the precursor to the zombie-obsessed lives we live in today, Dawn of the Dead unfortunately is an average survival flick. This one never seemed to grab for me.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    I never watched the original, but what I would recommend for "Dawn of the Dead" is to make a survival horror game rather than a movie. The ideas are fresh and tense, but its displayed using the wrong techniques.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    If there was one zombie movie that really stood out in my head, It would have to be this one. Solid acting by the cast, Story fades as it goes on (the only negative imo), but the entertainment value more then makes up for it imo.
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    I've heard in the past that this film is awesome and scary. As a big The Walking Dead fan i can say that this film was not as I expected. Firstly, the characters are lame and boring with no good history. Secondly, The action was not impressive as i expected. You will like it if you are into these kind of films.. *The ending was worse than i expected. I expected everyone would die... tooI've heard in the past that this film is awesome and scary. As a big The Walking Dead fan i can say that this film was not as I expected. Firstly, the characters are lame and boring with no good history. Secondly, The action was not impressive as i expected. You will like it if you are into these kind of films.. *The ending was worse than i expected. I expected everyone would die... too much expectations i guess Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2010
    5
    the original dawn of the dead is easily the best zombie movie ever done ... the remake not so much . it does stick to the whole survivors holding out in the mall set up but thats really about it . its not a bad film but doesnt have the magic the original has . the zombie baby how ever was a creepy little thing .
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    Unfortunately, the Dawn of the Dead remake (original was made in 1978) didn't live up to the prior expectations I had placed on the film upon hearing how good it is from my friends. Character development was virtually non-existent as the director instead opted to introduce more unnecessary empty shells as the movie progressed. The blood and gore was fine yet the zombies seemed more humanUnfortunately, the Dawn of the Dead remake (original was made in 1978) didn't live up to the prior expectations I had placed on the film upon hearing how good it is from my friends. Character development was virtually non-existent as the director instead opted to introduce more unnecessary empty shells as the movie progressed. The blood and gore was fine yet the zombies seemed more human than any recent flick of the same genre that I've seen recently. There's also a few cheesy moments which could have been left out. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    4
    i like it but only problem is it no remero movie it remake of his classic movie but i prefer the original the zombie in this one are fast ones show in this movie decaying look of zombies. but no matter what i like remero ones
  8. Jan 14, 2013
    5
    Considered on its own merits alone, it's a passable zombie movie with a memorable opening and epilogue and a blandly forgettable everything else. Only one character that the audience knows or cares about fails to pull through, with all the other deaths happening to the cardboard cutouts that pass for 80% of the characters as an excuse to have gore for its own sake. Lots of interestingConsidered on its own merits alone, it's a passable zombie movie with a memorable opening and epilogue and a blandly forgettable everything else. Only one character that the audience knows or cares about fails to pull through, with all the other deaths happening to the cardboard cutouts that pass for 80% of the characters as an excuse to have gore for its own sake. Lots of interesting ideas that become mere filler due to superficial half-treatment. The movie is good for a few scares here and there, but it pales terribly when compared to the original. Gone is Romero's social commentary, replaced by admirable yet insufficient earnestness, and there lies the film's true failing: it takes itself more seriously than it lets the audience take it. Expand
  9. JoeBob
    Nov 7, 2009
    4
    Overrated. not much character development, pretty cheesy at times, but it did have some good points such as being funny. but is mostly mediocre and flat.
  10. CameronS.
    Jun 4, 2004
    5
    I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with the dead civilization. The characters are also well developed and the film is focused primarily on four stranded refugees in a vast mall, the pinnacle I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with the dead civilization. The characters are also well developed and the film is focused primarily on four stranded refugees in a vast mall, the pinnacle of the 20th Century, while also creating many comic zombie fellows roaming the mall. Absent are the things that made Romero?s film a great horror-comedy achievement. The poorly shot and imprudently edited actions scenes are incomprehensible to a point where it is hard to tell what?s going on. There are far many more characters this time around, whose sole purpose is to get killed violently by the films climax. However, something did survive into this remake, and that?s the comedy. The film is terribly funny, making for something of an entertaining piece. What I especially liked about the much better zombie movie ?Return of the Living Dead? was that the characters lived in a world where zombie movies existed, especially Romero?s films. The characters, as dumb as they were at times knew that they were dealing with zombies. I note this because there is a scene when all the excess characters show up they wheel in a woman who is clearly about to turn into the dead, with her gray skin highlighting and her dying green veins becoming clearly noticeable. I was just thinking how dumb these people would have to be to let someone they knew would be turning into the mall. Note to everybody: when somebody is greyly pale with their veins popping out and the smell of death, don?t let them into your place of refugee. The direction is quite sophomoric and the screenplay is a serviceable homage to the original while coming up with some original tact and wit of its own, though it plays with the usual thoughts and clichés of most modern horror films. That being understood, the acting is quite serviceable for this kind of movie, with Ving Rhames spouting lines so intrepidly panicky they come off exceedingly humorous. The film feels terribly inspired by the far superior 28 Days Later, but not stealing anything that would have made a difference, like the anti-cliché of instant infection. Now we have zombies that are faster but just as dumb who can tip mobile vehicles that weigh several tons but are unable to break through a glass door. I didn?t wholly dislike this film, but I am curious as to why anybody would want to see this picture over Romero?s own classic. But a good comment I would like to say about it, it is far better than Tom Savini?s trite, inane, and ghastly Night of the Living Dead remake or even Romero?s own humdrum, flavorless, spendthrift, feeble Day of the Dead. But then again, that?s not much of an accomplishment either. Expand
  11. LeeH.
    Mar 26, 2004
    5
    Don't - I repeat: DO NOT - open that door!!!
  12. BillR.
    Mar 30, 2004
    6
    Okay, so the zombies aren't the 'complex, pathos-infused' originals of Romero (whatever - I'll believe *that* sh*t when I see them open their mouths to emote) and they run, jump and scamper just like they did in the soulless, overpraised black hole that was 28 Days Later. But this remake is taut and deft enough, with fairly solid performances across the board; Polley, Okay, so the zombies aren't the 'complex, pathos-infused' originals of Romero (whatever - I'll believe *that* sh*t when I see them open their mouths to emote) and they run, jump and scamper just like they did in the soulless, overpraised black hole that was 28 Days Later. But this remake is taut and deft enough, with fairly solid performances across the board; Polley, Rhames, Weber, Phifer, etc. (though nothing superlative, of course - it's a frickin' ZOMBIE movie, after all). The drama isn't terribly potent, feels a wee too practiced at times for comfort, but what was there had me interested enough in the fates of these mallrats to keep watching. And that's a lot more than I can say for Boyle's movie. As usual, one too many characters are competing for adequate screentime for this yarn to be any better than it - in select scenes - aspires to be. Often feels like a power struggle between the commercial-minded and non-conformist too. But Dawn of the Dead '04 is surprisingly watchable overall - I would actually go so far as to say I liked it. Expand
  13. CameronS.
    Mar 24, 2004
    5
    I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with the dead civilization. The characters are also well developed and the film is focused primarily on four stranded refugees in a vast mall, the pinnacle I am a big fan of George A. Romero?s zombie classics Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead. The latter film is a fun action movie, it contains many great scares, gore galore, and has biting humor in a world where humor is dying with the dead civilization. The characters are also well developed and the film is focused primarily on four stranded refugees in a vast mall, the pinnacle of the 20th Century, while also creating many comic zombie fellows roaming the mall. Absent are the things that made Romero?s film a great horror-comedy achievement. The poorly shot and imprudently edited actions scenes are incomprehensible to a point where it is hard to tell what?s going on. There are far many more characters this time around, whose sole purpose is to get killed violently by the films climax. However, something did survive into this remake, and that?s the comedy. The film is terribly funny, making for something of an entertaining piece. What I especially liked about the much better zombie movie ?Return of the Living Dead? was that the characters lived in a world where zombie movies existed, especially Romero?s films. The characters, as dumb as they were at times knew that they were dealing with zombies. I note this because there is a scene when all the excess characters show up they wheel in a woman who is clearly about to turn into the dead, with her gray skin highlighting and her dying green veins becoming clearly noticeable. I was just thinking how dumb these people would have to be to let someone they knew would be turning into the mall. Note to everybody: when somebody is greyly pale with their veins popping out and the smell of death, don?t let them into your place of refugee. The direction is quite sophomoric and the screenplay is a serviceable homage to the original while coming up with some original tact and wit of its own, though it plays with the usual thoughts and clichés of most modern horror films. That being understood, the acting is quite serviceable for this kind of movie, with Ving Rhames spouting lines so intrepidly panicky they come off exceedingly humorous. The film feels terribly inspired by the far superior 28 Days Later, but not stealing anything that would have made a difference, like the anti-cliché of instant infection. Now we have zombies that are faster but just as dumb who can tip mobile vehicles that weigh several tons but are unable to break through a glass door. I didn?t wholly dislike this film, but I am curious as to why anybody would want to see this picture over Romero?s own classic. But a good comment I would like to say about it, it is far better than Tom Savini?s trite, inane, and ghastly Night of the Living Dead remake or even Romero?s own humdrum, flavorless, spendthrift, feeble Day of the Dead. But then again, that?s not much of an accomplishment either. Expand
  14. PJ
    Apr 15, 2004
    4
    [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] Anyone who gives this movie much more than 6 is about as 'quick' as the zombies themselves. OK, I have the seen the orginal and really enjoyed it, and no, this comment is not about the comparison between the two, I am judging this movie on its own merit. This is what happenes when hollywood runs out of ideas, 'hey, can we remake anything?, put some[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] Anyone who gives this movie much more than 6 is about as 'quick' as the zombies themselves. OK, I have the seen the orginal and really enjoyed it, and no, this comment is not about the comparison between the two, I am judging this movie on its own merit. This is what happenes when hollywood runs out of ideas, 'hey, can we remake anything?, put some new faces in it. new effects...with video and the overseas market, we'll recoup all costs' OK, the eye rolling factor is almost unbeliveable. It's just sloppy filmmaking, even the editing is poor, yes, even for a zombie movie. Hmm...I'll just pick a few things, cuz theres enough mistakes for me to go on and on.Lets take 'Andy' for example, the guy on the gun store roof, he's hungry, so we'll send him 'chip' the wonder dog to feed him..'oh, andy call him over with your whistle, hez been trained to move through zombies to deliver food to ppl trapped on rooftops. OK, then as we see, they communciate with andy through erasilbe whiteboards, fine, but then as they want to make a final break for it , they pick up the radio and talk to him then, huh?. The funniest moment, not intentional, is when they use the shopping mall shuttle buses to plow their way through the zombies. It then turns into a bad episode of The A-team, welding plows on the front..reinforcing this and that..welding things here, and dont forget the menacing painted teeth on the front, yeah..kickass! It's too bad, it kinda started out ok, then went down the proverbial hollywood crapper. If you wanna see a better zombie movie..with some humor and a better all around everything watch 'Return Of The Living Dead.' Expand
  15. Chuck76
    May 5, 2004
    5
    As a massive fan of the original "Dead" series I viewed this film with trepidation, but I'll try and give this movie a fair review without too many references to the original. After an initial moody slow opening couple of minutes the movie bursts into life with a fantastic opening sequence showing the downfall of society easily the best part of the film, I just wish it was a little As a massive fan of the original "Dead" series I viewed this film with trepidation, but I'll try and give this movie a fair review without too many references to the original. After an initial moody slow opening couple of minutes the movie bursts into life with a fantastic opening sequence showing the downfall of society easily the best part of the film, I just wish it was a little longer. Then after some excellent opening credits it quickly turns into a run of the mill blood bath, shooting gallery affair where the olympic sprinter zombies are no more than cannon fodder little time is given to the fact that the zombies used to be just like us. There are no sly references to our consumerism in fact, there's nothing at all smart in this film whatsoever. Some plotlines which you're desperate for the director to follow get left untouched and instead the characters do stupid things putting themselves at risk. Though some of the charcaters in the film are actually quite likeable and need developing, they're outnumbered by badly written stereotypes. There are also some glaring mistakes but you get the feeling that it wasn't in the studios plans to give it's audience anything more than a film with zombies in it and to hell with anything else the public are too stupid to want anything deeper. The sad thing is I can see where they're coming from, judging by other peoples reviews they seem to be blown away by it so who can blame hollywood for giving the people what they want for as little effort as possible. I could rant on all day about how it doesn't live up to the original but most wont care and would probably find the original movie and the zombies too slow. All in all there are some really shocking moments and computer effects used quite well, I just wish Romero could be let loose with all of these modern movie making tools that are used in even the lowest budget movies these days. But studios are scared to release so much control to a director so they stick with no-mark directors thay can push around to get the cheapest most bloodthirsty results. And that kind of sums the movie up it is very watchable and you will probably leave feeling satisfied that enough zombies were blown away, just make sure you leave your brain at home. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Mar 27, 2016
    20
    Director Zack Snyder choreographs this like a video game, emphasizing the body count over character.
  2. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Muller
    Mar 27, 2016
    80
    A frenetic movie that combines a video-game sensibility with cartoonish, whacked-out violence. As with all good modern horror, one minute you're laughing out loud and the next you're covering your eyes. [19 Mar 2004, p.1P]
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 27, 2016
    83
    Dawn of the Dead is very much its own movie, and a disturbing one at that. But it also realizes we're in the theater to have fun, either grotesquely or cleverly.