Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 13, 1978
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
9
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AndrewG1999Jan 31, 2017
Terrence Malick's Days of Heaven is an evocative piece of visual poetry about love and murder. The story is perspicaciously, and so effortless told through the understandings of the narrator and undisputable blessings of nature; giving theTerrence Malick's Days of Heaven is an evocative piece of visual poetry about love and murder. The story is perspicaciously, and so effortless told through the understandings of the narrator and undisputable blessings of nature; giving the film an emotional as well as an aesthetic approach. As we journey through the flamboyant liveliness of the Texas prairie, we learn underlying themes of love, betrayal, deception, grief, and even death through an unforgiving and a contentious love triangle. Eloquent, imaginative, visionary, and superb are some of the words that significantly define this movie. Days of Heaven is one of the most beautiful films I have ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
FortifierJan 26, 2017
By 1978, we had wonderful films released such as "Star Wars", "Jaws", "The Exorcist", "Halloween", and so many masterpieces. This film, however, is a huge step backwards from what has been accomplished in cinema by the time of its release,By 1978, we had wonderful films released such as "Star Wars", "Jaws", "The Exorcist", "Halloween", and so many masterpieces. This film, however, is a huge step backwards from what has been accomplished in cinema by the time of its release, and for that reason is incredibly overrated. While the film no doubts accomplishes a beautiful mise-en-scene, literally making every shot worthy of a painting in a museum, it is the story's uneven and misplaced narrative that ruins the experience for the viewer. This is especially true when it comes to the "voice-of-God" narrator who is rambling-on like a three-year-old about all these random facts that seldom connect with the current events on-screen. If this was a film released around the early 1900s when cinema was still in its primitive form, this would be completely understandable. Yet considering how far film has come when this film was released, it is simply a huge disappointment. This film only has the high review that it has because of the "elitists" who automatically dub every piece of art that cannot be understood easily and immediately as "the best art humanity has to offer". Yet in reality they cannot admit that while this film has its beautiful moments it lacks the key element all proper films need; a clear narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwJul 5, 2016
Outstanding. My second favourite Malick film next to Badlands. I'm not sure anyone has ever been better at photographing fire. The only other of his films I have seen thus far is 'To the Wonder', but it's films like this that make me such aOutstanding. My second favourite Malick film next to Badlands. I'm not sure anyone has ever been better at photographing fire. The only other of his films I have seen thus far is 'To the Wonder', but it's films like this that make me such a lover of cinema. I'm not a Richard Gere fan in the slightest (though I have always loved Brooke Adams), but it's roles like this that cement his reputation as a cinematic icon in my books. I didn't say 'actor' because I'm not really sure that's his strength--it's more a presence, such as Alain Delon in 'Le Samourai'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
1978's Days of Heaven was Terrence Malick's second feature, and last featue before he took an abrupt 20 year leave to teach Philosophy in France, and then came back smashing with The Thin Red Line.
However. Days of Heaven is a great film,
1978's Days of Heaven was Terrence Malick's second feature, and last featue before he took an abrupt 20 year leave to teach Philosophy in France, and then came back smashing with The Thin Red Line.
However. Days of Heaven is a great film, right after he made Badlands which was also impeccable, the performances are great, Richard Gere as an up and coming star shines as the hot-tempered lover, and Brooke Adams is impeccable as the lover of both Bill and ''The Farmer''. The script is intelligent, but might be predictable, as i thought aswell, but it isnt, it keeps you guessing as of how the movie is going to flow, and how it is going to end.
Terrence malick's beautiful masterpiece has to be a must watch for true cinema lovers. Another malick masterpiece into his reduced filmography. Considered at that time an instant classic and a rare and beautiful film, still now absorbs that tittle with its infinite imagery and vision. Probably richard gere's best film alongside Primal Fear, Hachi, and the infoumasly loved Pretty Woman.
Days of Heaven is an achingly tragic love story, filmed in a strange yet appealing quasi-documentary style. A beautiful masterpiece composed of breathtaking cinematography, subtle acting, smart writing, and ingenious direction. Malick is known and revered for his cinematography, and elements of nature within his movies, but this is where it all began. His second movie, Days of Heaven is a visual feast. Stunning landscapes, minute images of nature and incredible use of light. Even 35 years later it cannot be faulted, cinematographically.

You could hang almost any shot of this movie on a wall and call it art.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 21, 2016
This is the first time I've ever seen a 1978 Paramount flick to actually be enjoyable on a discount on all ages. With Days of Heaven, it makes me feel like these days just making reviews on movies feel like it's already over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJan 27, 2014
Beautiful cinematography does not make a movie good and this film is a perfect example of that. It is quite boring and feels like nothing more than an exercise in showing the most beautiful images possible over and over. The film has a heartBeautiful cinematography does not make a movie good and this film is a perfect example of that. It is quite boring and feels like nothing more than an exercise in showing the most beautiful images possible over and over. The film has a heart and an interesting story upon examination, but it never truly hooks you in and for that reason, I cannot praise this film. However, it is a phenomenal film that should continue to be seen as a masterpiece of cinematography. If only Malick put as much effort into making the story less dry. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
theseparatorDec 30, 2013
One of Terrence Malick's first features. Amazing portrait of the United States agricultural machine in 1918. This film is a masterpiece that captures the early 1900's exactly as it was. Added to that a terrific script and cast. Visually Stunning!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cnrcnrApr 23, 2013
Simply one of the most beautiful movies ever made. Malick has a particular touch, which makes his films exceptionally stunning, and one of the greatest film directors of all time. Days of heaven centres around a story of struggle, love andSimply one of the most beautiful movies ever made. Malick has a particular touch, which makes his films exceptionally stunning, and one of the greatest film directors of all time. Days of heaven centres around a story of struggle, love and all of the consequences that come with it. Sensational! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cmacFeb 9, 2013
Just beautiful cinematography, settings, music. Wonderful poetic film making. The actors are very good but over- shadowed by the element mentioned. This is a beautiful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JMHMay 7, 2012
Days of Heaven is a confounding film. One thing it is not is a complete, fully formed masterpiece. Elements of the film are among the most impressive in the history of cinema; notably, the cinematography and the score. On these merits alone,Days of Heaven is a confounding film. One thing it is not is a complete, fully formed masterpiece. Elements of the film are among the most impressive in the history of cinema; notably, the cinematography and the score. On these merits alone, Days of Heaven is in the realm of "must-see" cinema. The film's crutch rests in its narrative, or lack thereof. The plot is a bare-bones outline, plucked all but directly from Henry James' The Wings of the Dove -- a love triangle of a particular sort. Many viewers will likely find themselves asking: (1) whether this bare-bones plot outline amounts to a story, and (2) if it does, whether that story is well told. I'm inclined to answer (1) in the negative, making (2) a moot question. A film can be excellent without a rich plot or deeply mined story in the traditional narrative sense. In this regard, films such as Breathless, The Exterminating Angel, and In the Mood for Love come to mind. Days of Heaven is not among such excellent films. The absence of narrative in Days of Heaven feels, literally, like absence -- a thing missing. And Malick's significant achievements in the film do little if anything to justify or fill this critical gap. Watch the film because too much in it is too good not to see. But don't expect a compelling masterpiece, because Days of Heaven isn't one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMar 1, 2012
Although the film is mainly dominated by sight and sound the film also delivers an intricate story more than what meets the eye. There are so many allusions present in the film that the story becomes more meeningful and so do it's images. AAlthough the film is mainly dominated by sight and sound the film also delivers an intricate story more than what meets the eye. There are so many allusions present in the film that the story becomes more meeningful and so do it's images. A wonder ful film one of the best of all time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
adhibanSep 10, 2011
I can simply say, Music and Cinematography are the major aspects of the film. One can easily mesmerised with Texas prairie's serene beauty. Days of heaven did not seemed to be greatest story, but Terrence Mallick's way of film-making made itI can simply say, Music and Cinematography are the major aspects of the film. One can easily mesmerised with Texas prairie's serene beauty. Days of heaven did not seemed to be greatest story, but Terrence Mallick's way of film-making made it so. The entire story narration is clear, articulate and poetic at times. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
[Anonymous]Apr 24, 2006
Poetic, lyrical, langorous masterpiece. Some flaws yet it will stay with you long afterward. The cinematography and score are both peerless; yet the print shown at Film Forum was oddly a bit washed out and the volume was down too low.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliC.Apr 14, 2006
Like all of Malick's films, this is pure genius. Utterly beautiful with a sad love story at its heart. It does take patience but that doesn't mean it's slow, we're just used to less thoughtful and more shallow films Like all of Malick's films, this is pure genius. Utterly beautiful with a sad love story at its heart. It does take patience but that doesn't mean it's slow, we're just used to less thoughtful and more shallow films nowadays. Oh, and the music is wonderful too. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful