FilmDistrict | Release Date: March 8, 2013
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 254 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
213
Mixed:
30
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LobsterMar 8, 2013
A strong character piece filled with developed and visually distinct characters in this police-less gangland. The romance is genuine and the acting is to a tea. Everyone succeeds in their prospective roles interestingly and with panache.
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
9
Winged11Jun 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was done an injustice by critics, I found the movie highly emotional, dynamic and intelligent. I felt the scars on my face when Beatrice looked at them in the mirror and when she ran her fingers down her reconstructed face, I felt victor's pain when he mailed the picture squares and watched the home videos. The movie had a lot of plot twist and dramatic moments that were not predictable in the slightest. Great movie, would have gotten a 10 if not for the a few minor things. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 8, 2013
Director Oplov has done it again! Dead Man Down is unusually brilliant. The paced movie packs up a lot in its 2 hours but it keeps you hanging till the end. Terence Howard is the actor that nailed it in the film. And when this movie ends youDirector Oplov has done it again! Dead Man Down is unusually brilliant. The paced movie packs up a lot in its 2 hours but it keeps you hanging till the end. Terence Howard is the actor that nailed it in the film. And when this movie ends you don't want it to. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
7
sanyrubDec 13, 2013
This is one of the very few cases I strongly disagree with the critics. I can´t believe such a low rating as 39/100 for a film like this. It´s not the best and it´s not very original, but it´s still good. The worst part would be the done toThis is one of the very few cases I strongly disagree with the critics. I can´t believe such a low rating as 39/100 for a film like this. It´s not the best and it´s not very original, but it´s still good. The worst part would be the done to death revenge story the male character is planning. But the rest are good things: great acting, both Colin Farrel and Noomi Rapace show commitment and deliver what we expect from them. Both have a really great career at this point. Noomi is particularly fascinating to watch in any role she takes. The thing I´ve seen people hating on the most is the pace, and I have to say I didn´t have a problem at all with it, perfect to me. At the end you also get big action scenes, so that should make action lovers happy too. Good film. One of the few cases it is better than what you expected. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
WayneThomas412Mar 8, 2013
"Any Movie that comes out of WWE Studios cant be good." That's usually my response when I see the WWE logo during a film trailer. This film however is nothing like any film that has come out of that studio. Dead Man Down is smart, WAY smarter"Any Movie that comes out of WWE Studios cant be good." That's usually my response when I see the WWE logo during a film trailer. This film however is nothing like any film that has come out of that studio. Dead Man Down is smart, WAY smarter than I thought it was going to be. I decided to take chance and catch the midnight premier of this film because of the Cast, I just had this feeling that Noomi Rapace wouldn't take an awful roll. I was right. The pace is fantastic, It's not a full throttle action film. The action is placed perfectly between good character development and pleasing dialog. Noomi Rapace is BRILLIANT. After seeing her in Prometheus and Dead Man Down, I can confidently say she's one of my favorite actresses. She captures emotion like no other. Something about her performances just captivate you. My one complaint would be that I wanted better, cleaner kill shots. The violence is kind of Teen Rated video game like, Not that it doesn't work, Like i said the action is just right, but the execution is a little off. Being an action film fan maybe I'm spoiled by such violence in the Expendables and Django. Bottom line, This movie is a hell of a lot smarter than the critics are saying it is. If you want a film that keeps you entertained in all the right ways, give it a shot! It may have you leaving thinking the same thing that was in my head: That was a WWE Film?!" Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
RUSTMar 30, 2013
Farrell is solid and difficult to criticise as the dark avenger, while his lover and cohorts help push this badly paced story of revenge across the finish line with mixed success. The fact I don't think it wasted my time is probably the bestFarrell is solid and difficult to criticise as the dark avenger, while his lover and cohorts help push this badly paced story of revenge across the finish line with mixed success. The fact I don't think it wasted my time is probably the best merit I can pin on it, and it's shockingly good for a film that is endorsed, but not blatantly influenced, by WWE studios. I suggest you sit down and digest it with a smatter of salt. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ClayMerrittJul 21, 2013
Despite all of its hate, its a pretty good movie. Oplov takes all the good actors that he has corralled around him and manages to insert mean & gritty action, along with its revenge plot. All of it clicked and worked to make a very enjoyableDespite all of its hate, its a pretty good movie. Oplov takes all the good actors that he has corralled around him and manages to insert mean & gritty action, along with its revenge plot. All of it clicked and worked to make a very enjoyable film. It wasn't the best, by any means, and certainly could have been better, but for what it was, it was exciting and fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
NavQMar 24, 2013
Colin Farrell certainly knows how to pick good projects as he's done so since 2009. I've enjoyed the last seven of his movies including this rather interesting gangster flick with the talented Noomi Rapace co- starring. There are two reasonsColin Farrell certainly knows how to pick good projects as he's done so since 2009. I've enjoyed the last seven of his movies including this rather interesting gangster flick with the talented Noomi Rapace co- starring. There are two reasons for me seeing this Niels Arden Oplev film because he directed Noomi in the well known 'Girl With the Dragon Tattoo' then there is the fact that he's in production on a Stephen King film 'Under The Dome' and being a 'King' fan I was keen to see how it might be handled. The Dane is definitely one of the better directors out there and done a great job on 'Dead Man Down'. It certainly had a strong eastern European look and feel which made for a tight, gritty action laden thriller that had me enjoying every minute.

The bottom line is, well acted and directed, the writing was great with enough depth to keep it interesting and exciting with the overall production rounding it off nicely. A solid action/thriller. Highly Recommended Score: 7.4/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
audreythomas25Jan 4, 2016
Dead Man Down is Oplev demonstrating the same great cinematic sense he did with Millenium Series, and that revenge is never a straight line, it's a thorny bramble.

Watch this movie online
Dead Man Down is Oplev demonstrating the same great cinematic sense he did with Millenium Series, and that revenge is never a straight line, it's a thorny bramble.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29ca00-Dead-Man-Down-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews