IFC Films | Release Date: June 19, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 86 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
20
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
maciejsOct 30, 2009
This movie was awesome, a real cult and revival of the old school zombie movies, and also gorelike movies overallz. Nazi zombies reminds me of a classic film entitled Surf Nazis Must Die.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DarcyIJun 30, 2009
This film is lots of fun, between the stunning mountain vistas, the comic violence, and the sheer absurdity of a zombie Nazi troop. The opening scene gives a good idea of what's to come, before switching to the standard setup with a few This film is lots of fun, between the stunning mountain vistas, the comic violence, and the sheer absurdity of a zombie Nazi troop. The opening scene gives a good idea of what's to come, before switching to the standard setup with a few hapless, naive young people going on vacation. A stranger warns them of a danger in the woods, which slowly but surely makes its presence known. Though not precisely blood-chilling, the slow introduction of the zombie horde does have some scary moments. About halfway through, the film quickly switches gears from suspense and paranoia ("I think something's out there") to gloriously campy gore ("Yes, zombie Nazis are out there"). Normally I'm not a fan of running zombies, but for some reason it works in this film. Partly because people move slow enough as it is when they're knee-deep in the snow. While in a city or another more claustrophobic area the slow zombie shuffle works, it's hard to be that worried about something moving at normal zombie pace in such a wide open area. Also I was nearly able to convince myself that a corpse will remain much more well-preserved in the far north of Norway than most places, keeping the zombies lean and mean. Lots of blood, gore, terror, and moments of sheer awesome, with obvious but tasteful tribute paid to the genre's originators. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeG.Aug 13, 2009
This movie is one of the best horror comedies i have seen all year. It starts of a little slow prior to the first killing, but it gets better. It has some comedy mixed in with a lot of blood and gore. This group of actors are perfect for This movie is one of the best horror comedies i have seen all year. It starts of a little slow prior to the first killing, but it gets better. It has some comedy mixed in with a lot of blood and gore. This group of actors are perfect for this movie, it's a comedy but they take it seriously all throughout the movie. A tad bit predictable at some parts(when the army of zombies came from the snow). But all in all a great movie, a great watch if you would like to see a gory movie without getting scared silly. I give it a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Oct 15, 2009
What a great horror movie, it is a familiar tale but at least it has a unique approach and plenty of unexpected twists. The acting is good, the atmosphere is excellent. Great zombie effects. The cinematography is excellent as is the score. What a great horror movie, it is a familiar tale but at least it has a unique approach and plenty of unexpected twists. The acting is good, the atmosphere is excellent. Great zombie effects. The cinematography is excellent as is the score. Plenty of blood and gore for those into that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HalfwelshmanAug 13, 2011
What do you get if you take equal parts Wes Craven, Sam Raimi and Edgar Wright, and transport the resulting concoction to a chilly Nordic landscape? Dead Snow, thatâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ILHMJan 31, 2013
Martin and his friends head out to the mountains for some hijinks in the snow, but their weekend trip turns in to a bloody battle for survival when they take from a cache of Nazi gold that holds a terrible curse. Now, they bare the wrath ofMartin and his friends head out to the mountains for some hijinks in the snow, but their weekend trip turns in to a bloody battle for survival when they take from a cache of Nazi gold that holds a terrible curse. Now, they bare the wrath of the undead as the Nazi foot soldiers come back from beneath the mountain to reclaim their stolen treasure! Tommy Wirkola's cult-sensation, DEAD SNOW, immediately sets the tone with its frequent genre references and familiar settings. Sam Raimi's unmistakable influence and signature form of splatstic humor is clearly felt in every moment. Unlike the many other homages to THE EVIL DEAD, however, DEAD SNOW stays fresh, fast-paced, and exciting, while scoring big points in the make-up department with several winning zombie designs and a slew of ridiculously gory gags that shock as much as they entertain. Whatever shortcomings exist in the plot or characters are more than made up for in mindless carnage, making DEAD SNOW a real treat for gore fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KMrhinoApr 5, 2012
Great movie loved it! If you're in a zombie flick mood, Dead Snow is a great choice. Unique story line, funny violent scenes. The characters are a little bland but you don't go for great character development when watching a zombie flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Javike7Oct 30, 2012
Watch it! Zombie fans out there will not be disappointed.I thought it was a well thought out combination of horror and action, with a gore in tones of the old style movies. There is plenty of reference to great Zombie films such as Evil Dead,Watch it! Zombie fans out there will not be disappointed.I thought it was a well thought out combination of horror and action, with a gore in tones of the old style movies. There is plenty of reference to great Zombie films such as Evil Dead, Braindead, among others. It is by far one of the very best zombie movies I've watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NickR1214Aug 22, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to try my best to keep as much of the plot out of this review as possible as to not give any spoilers. Dead Snow is a 2009 Norwegian Horror Comedy film about a group of friends and hopeful lovers going to a cabin in the snow covered mountains for a get away trip that promises fun and hopefully, a little bumping uglys. The opening of the film sets the tone perfectly for what you're going to be watching and is an easy highlight to the feature. From there on we are introduced to the characters. To be quite honest, they're a little bland and really only serve to give us a forward look at the menu. The movie kind of drags the first 20 minutes or so, with the introduction of an outsider character that delivers a monologue about evil, as all crazy old men must do in horror movies. The first real kill doesn’t come in until about 30 minutes in, and the movie has the traditional false finish situations. You know the old cliche type situations in movies where someones looking for something, the scenery gets all dark and the music kicks up. Then a cat jumps out or something. Yeah there are a few of those kind of situations here. I will say though, once the action begins, it keeps up rather well, not feeling too rushed but not making you wait too long between scenes of violence and gore. And on another note, with so many movies today using CGI effects when it isn't necessary, it's good to see a horror film with a rather traditional focus on practical effects to get across the gore and death scenes. And that being said, there are a few death scenes in the movie that are a bit standard for this sort of thing, but some that are really good and throwbacks to good old 80's horror. The movie sort of downplays our main characters, in a way which makes them zombie bait and nothing more. The male characters are all portrayed with a harsh stupidity and the female characters as almost helpless. We don't root for them very well and as I said before, just wait for them to be chewed up. But this severe lack in character development kind of plays into another of the movies strengths, comedy. Dead Snow has a subtle sense of comedy from hilarious character reactions, to legitimately funny dialogue and moments that made me laugh, well chuckle really, out loud. This sort of haplessness portrayed by our victims makes the films second act pick up work even better than had it just been tons of blood. There’s even a couple solid homages to the Evil Dead Films in there. One real highlight to the movie is a hand to hand fight scene between one of the campers and a few of the zombies that comes across as a mix between a 1980's Hulk Hogan wrestling match, Shaun of the Dead and the Captain Kirk vs Lizard Man fight that's become such a popular internet meme. There's even a little classic 007 thrown in there just for good measure. Some other good moments are the very interesting scene where one of the girls in the film is getting eaten, with the camera in first person as she comes to. But this buffet session has a nice comedic twist. Another good mention is a particular Zombie death that brings back to mind the “Put your face on the curb” moment from American History X. Now being a movie about Nazi Zombies (a topic that is at large relegated to Video Games), it's kind of hard to not include some solid sense of humor. The zombie make up is solid for the most part and with the exception of one or two of the undead national socialists, they all for the most part look good. And as the films director Tommy Wirkola said “they are Nazi's first, then Zombies”. In case you are interested to know, we're not dealing with shuffling brain munchers in German WWII fatigues, we have fast, vicious, organized, Third Reich supporting, flash chopping, throat cutting all around evil bastard, full on Aryan and Nazi brain munchers. Another thing that needs to be mentioned is the music. To be honest it;s kind of hard to place. You see, because this is a foreign film, we get foreign music. So I’m doubting that anyone will recognize any of the songs present. But the movie crosses over a few different genres. And that;s definitely a problem. The Norwegian Scream metal song just doesn't work in this film. But for all of the music that doesn’t work, there are some moments that have songs that are just perfect. The noteworthy opening and when our cannibal chow heroes gear up for their final battle against the SS from hell. Overall, this movie is pretty well done. It has a good balance of comedy and gore, even if there isn't a scare to be found. It's definitely a film I would recommend, especially if you liked films like Tucker and Dale vs Evil, the Evil Dead series, Cabin in the Woods, and Shaun of the Dead. And by the way, the last 15 minutes of this movie are great. So take the time and check out Dead Snow. It's absolutely worth a rental or a watch on Netflix, and pick it up if you can find it for under $20.

My Final Rating: 82%
Not as Good to me as: Dead Alive
On Par to me with: Tucker and Dale vs Evil
Better to me than: Survival of the Dead
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeJul 4, 2015
This is a really good zombie movie.Good acting,great but unoriginal story and a lot of gore.The movie is never boring and can even be considerate as a "classic".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews