Deadfall

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 5, 2012
    50
    There isn't much to the characters in this morose thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 6, 2012
    40
    Some of the language is smart, sinister and ironic in just the right ways, particularly when Addison, Eric Bana's serial-killing mastermind, delivers it. In other cases, the dialogue is so ludicrously off - either unnecessary, or unnecessarily misogynistic if a cop is doing the talking - that it's hard to believe the same person wrote it.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 6, 2012
    40
    If Deadfall had more life, it might have been about more than just its wannabe edge. Ruzowitzky, whose 2007 film "The Counterfeiters" won a Best Foreign Film Oscar, understands the movie's simple plan. But it nonetheless puts us into a big sleep.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Dec 7, 2012
    55
    The movie's violence, although gruesome, flirts with slapstick, and the story appears bound for domestic comedy when all the major characters sit down for Thanksgiving dinner at June and Chet's grand Victorian farmhouse. But the meal becomes more freak show than satire.
  5. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Dec 23, 2012
    50
    Despite a super-dark noir plot and respectable cast, Deadfall is a thriller that never quite delivers on its promise.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 5, 2012
    42
    The best parts of Deadfall are absorbed into a scenario that frequently ditches the cat-and-mouse routine and tries instead to be about three dysfunctional families working toward reconciliation.
  7. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    Dec 6, 2012
    50
    Solid performances from veterans Sissy Spacek and Kris Kristofferson as Jay's parents, and Treat Williams as the sheriff, anchor the older generation, but the characters do tend to conform to stereotypes of hard, unforgiving men and loving, patient women.
  8. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 6, 2012
    50
    Deadfall, though, is a thing of pieces: splendidly efficient in its action sequences (car crash, knife fight, snowmobile chase), dawdling in dialogue scenes that should smolder with tension.
  9. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Dec 4, 2012
    50
    There are hints of a fun, trashy film beneath the surface, but that film is always subservient to the dull one Dean and Ruzowitzky were more comfortable making.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 11, 2015
    5
    The lack of likable characters, and depth of storyline made this film miss the mark. The most in depth character we had was the son who wasThe lack of likable characters, and depth of storyline made this film miss the mark. The most in depth character we had was the son who was released from prison, but he wasn't even the main character. There was no one in the film that I was rooting for. Maybe the female sheriff deputy, but even her back story was very short and underdeveloped. Why was she so hated among the force?

    The overall acting was good, they just didn't have much to work with. I really wanted to like it. I
    am a big Olivia Wilde fan. Unfortunately there wasn't enough to get me emotionally involved.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Deadfall" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Great cast that doesn't disappoint. I'm a little surprised that I didn't hear more
    "Deadfall" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Great cast that doesn't disappoint. I'm a little surprised that I didn't hear more about a film starring Eric Bana, Olivia Wilde, Kris Kristofferson, and Sissy Spacek. The film shows promise at times and the ending was mildly entertaining.

    The Bad: While it does indeed show glimpses of promise, ultimately there is nothing new here. Pretty straight forward and at times tedious, it feels like a direct to DVD release.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    It was a winter flick,so there was atmosphere,which delivers the viewer a warm feeling of security,sitting a closed environment.A crime hasIt was a winter flick,so there was atmosphere,which delivers the viewer a warm feeling of security,sitting a closed environment.A crime has been committed because of the elicit money.They are on the run,which delivers a taunt suspense.Then the crash.There is the mystery of the cause of the "accident".Hana delivers an evil,devil may care performance.There is an odd relationship between Wilde and himself,which is only hinted at,casting a darker noir aspect.A predictable ending,with a twist,was ultimately satisfying.Atmosphere made the film.I enjoyed it,somewhat surprisingly. Full Review »