User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 94
  2. Negative: 16 out of 94
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeH
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Get's better and better every time you watch it!
  2. RichardC.
    Oct 12, 2007
    2
    Did these critics see the same film I saw? Are they so disenchanted with American cinema that they will fool themselves into thinking this crud is "hilarious" and "outrageous"? I was appalled to be sitting in a screening with strangers who were guffawing at this decidedly low-brow humour. I agree with what another user wrote - I am all for Farrelly Bros.-type comedy if it's billed as Did these critics see the same film I saw? Are they so disenchanted with American cinema that they will fool themselves into thinking this crud is "hilarious" and "outrageous"? I was appalled to be sitting in a screening with strangers who were guffawing at this decidedly low-brow humour. I agree with what another user wrote - I am all for Farrelly Bros.-type comedy if it's billed as such - but I can't abide this unquestioning Anglophilia that gives dreck like this a passing grade just because the actors don't sound like us. At times, I thought I was trapped at home on a Saturday night in mid-winter, grazing on those execrable PBS Britcoms that make up-state NY bourgeoisie feel superior to their neighbours. Expand
  3. MattM
    Apr 18, 2008
    2
    Shocking bad, bland British 'comedy' at its worst. Shallow carbon cut out characters, empty plot, dismal acting, and moves slowly and feels stilted in the direction. Never waste your time, not worth a rent. We should expect so much more from British comedy.
  4. MinS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    Wow. British black comedy at its best. We loved it. From us its a definitely must see.
  5. DZ
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    A little British comedy gem. One of the three times I've seen it, someone started choking during the hysterical roof scene. Let that be a lesson to you: eat anything that could choke you before this movie starts. Otherwise there could be a death at Death at a Funeral.
  6. StevenG.
    Oct 9, 2007
    0
    I would have walked out, but my wife who chose this dog would have had hurt feelings so her pride kept us in the theater. A total waste of time (ours) and talent (a good cast).
  7. ChadS.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    Dwarf. Gay dwarf. Gay dwarf on acid. Peter Dinkage plays Peter, the gay dwarf on acid in "Death at a Funeral", a Belgian production(hopefully, Hollywood will welcome Grover back after the "Stepford Wives" fiasco; were those "wives" humans or fem-bots?) that is suggestive of a Peter & Bobby Farrelly film on afternoon tea and crumpets. When Peter is immobilized, so many things could've Dwarf. Gay dwarf. Gay dwarf on acid. Peter Dinkage plays Peter, the gay dwarf on acid in "Death at a Funeral", a Belgian production(hopefully, Hollywood will welcome Grover back after the "Stepford Wives" fiasco; were those "wives" humans or fem-bots?) that is suggestive of a Peter & Bobby Farrelly film on afternoon tea and crumpets. When Peter is immobilized, so many things could've gone wrong with "Death at a Funeral"; after all, Peter is a gay dwarf. The filmmaker risks angering two sectors of the human politic. But the film deftly averts mean-spiritedness, because Dinkage makes you forget about Peter's sexuality and vertically-challenged stature. He's flat-out hillarious, as are the rest of this uniformly excellent ensemble. There's no victims in "Death at a Funeral"; we laugh with, not at the sibling rivalry between writerly brothers, the old man with the loose bowels, the insecure boyfriend who's afraid he doesn't measure up to the woman he loves, even the dead dad. Movie. Irreverent movie. Irreverent movie with heart. "Death at a Funeral" is an irreverent movie with heart; a movie that inspires genuine laughter procured from drollery in which its audience isn't asked to be unfeeling. "Death at a Funeral" is edgy, but not that edgy. Expand
  8. ChristopherJ.
    Aug 31, 2008
    8
    Great characters, great twists, no message--just for laughs.
  9. Allison
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A very funny black comedy.
  10. AndyQ
    Dec 6, 2007
    5
    I went to this movie after hearing the good reviews, but I was worried by the overlong opening credits and that initial unease wasn't lifted. If it was to be farce and slapstick, I wanted them to go all the way; instead, the recycled and over-familiar jokes lacked life. Mistaken pill-taking? Funnier in Six Feet Under. Wacky zealous suitor that doesn't get the hint. See any I went to this movie after hearing the good reviews, but I was worried by the overlong opening credits and that initial unease wasn't lifted. If it was to be farce and slapstick, I wanted them to go all the way; instead, the recycled and over-familiar jokes lacked life. Mistaken pill-taking? Funnier in Six Feet Under. Wacky zealous suitor that doesn't get the hint. See any sitcom. Graphic fecal matter. Way better in trainspotting. Crotchety old uncle. Sibling rivalry. Bumbling upper crust Englishmen. A stirring eulogy. Actually, I can't think of anything original. I did think the cast was likable, and Alan Tudyk's performance saved the film for me. But one last thing: it's not enough to have a secret gay lover? Now it has to be a secret midget gay lover? Please. Expand
  11. LemmyO.
    Aug 20, 2007
    2
    This movie is stealth-marketed as a high-mannered British farce in the tradition of Fawlty Towers, Four Weddings and a Funeral, when in fact, it is crass, lewd, stupid, loud, ridiculous and poorly written in every way. Do not be fooled by the marketing, this movie features nothing but foul language and quite literal toilet "humor" in place of the clever dialogue, wit, inventive plotting, This movie is stealth-marketed as a high-mannered British farce in the tradition of Fawlty Towers, Four Weddings and a Funeral, when in fact, it is crass, lewd, stupid, loud, ridiculous and poorly written in every way. Do not be fooled by the marketing, this movie features nothing but foul language and quite literal toilet "humor" in place of the clever dialogue, wit, inventive plotting, misunderstandings and mistaken identities you would expect. This film is lowbrow to the point that I expected a Wayans brother to appear. I'm fine with that kind of humor (Something About Mary, etc.) as long as I know what I'm getting. This movie tries to be something it is not. A good opening sequence, score and one or two good jokes is the only thing that kept me from walking out. Collapse
  12. HenryA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    1
    The level of humor seems to be spiraling downward rapidly. These are all easy, cheap laughs and I can't believe it received as many good reviews as it did.
  13. KenG
    Sep 9, 2007
    8
    Very funny black comedy, that also has heart.
  14. GrantC.
    Mar 1, 2008
    1
    No, Chad S., as someone who works as a comedian and a writer, and who is also gay, I found this movie repellent in the extreme. We have entered a new era where it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression. And if anyone reading this thinks "oh, can't No, Chad S., as someone who works as a comedian and a writer, and who is also gay, I found this movie repellent in the extreme. We have entered a new era where it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression. And if anyone reading this thinks "oh, can't they just take a joke?", the answer is NO. Queer people are still killed throughout the world for their sexuality, and crap like Death at a Funeral trivializes their reality and humanity. Apart from the question of characterization, the movie becomes less and less funny as it progresses, as it attempts to top itself in outrageousness. The brainless twerps who created this have obviously never even heard of Joe Orton. Expand
  15. GerronK.
    Mar 31, 2008
    8
    I fail to understand, why Grant C. is having a problem with the gay character in the movie. First of all, have we watched the same movie? The movie doesn't once criticize homosexuality. The characters are surprised by the character's homosexuality, maybe BECAUSE HE WAS MARRIED AND HAD TWO CHILDREN. That's all. At no moment does the film try to ridicule homosexuality. The I fail to understand, why Grant C. is having a problem with the gay character in the movie. First of all, have we watched the same movie? The movie doesn't once criticize homosexuality. The characters are surprised by the character's homosexuality, maybe BECAUSE HE WAS MARRIED AND HAD TWO CHILDREN. That's all. At no moment does the film try to ridicule homosexuality. The two brothers show no contempt for the small gay dude, and of course the wife's going to get pissed. While I agree that it's wrong to ridicule queers, you need to chill out. I understand that you hate this movie, but frankly the only reason you gave was the movie openly ridiculed gays, when it didn't at all. Expand
  16. JohnL.
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    what a refreshing film :) i highly recommend it to anyone who is tired of the typical American parody garbage that comes out every few months.. here we have a funny cast that unknown to most north American audiences and that makes it so easy to delve into the story and just enjoy it for what it is..it can be dark at times but it has a positive message, and even though i watched it alone what a refreshing film :) i highly recommend it to anyone who is tired of the typical American parody garbage that comes out every few months.. here we have a funny cast that unknown to most north American audiences and that makes it so easy to delve into the story and just enjoy it for what it is..it can be dark at times but it has a positive message, and even though i watched it alone it still had me rolling with laughter :) go rent it or if its reasonable buy it ....worth seeking out. Expand
  17. ToGrant.C
    Apr 18, 2008
    0
    "it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression." Okay, you're reading into this piss poor film way too deeply. It's not oppression. It's bad characterization. Take yourself a bit less seriously and stop thinking everyones out to hate "it is socially acceptable to openly ridicule queers as some kind of warped acknowledgment of their existence - it's not acceptable, and is in fact another form of oppression." Okay, you're reading into this piss poor film way too deeply. It's not oppression. It's bad characterization. Take yourself a bit less seriously and stop thinking everyones out to hate 'queers'. Expand
  18. ClaireD.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    The funniest comedy I've seen in years. Working from a script by Dean Craig, the ensemble of crack British actors cannot be praised enough, with standouts to include Alan Tudyk, Daisy Donovan, Peter Dinklage , Andy Nyman and especially Matthew Macfadyen, whose nuanced performance as the the uptight son trying to give dad a dignified send-off anchors the entire movie while remaining The funniest comedy I've seen in years. Working from a script by Dean Craig, the ensemble of crack British actors cannot be praised enough, with standouts to include Alan Tudyk, Daisy Donovan, Peter Dinklage , Andy Nyman and especially Matthew Macfadyen, whose nuanced performance as the the uptight son trying to give dad a dignified send-off anchors the entire movie while remaining hysterically funny. Director Frank Oz is at his best here, working on a small scale with a talented but non-star cast. Filmed at Ealing Studios in England, DAAF does this heritage proud. Highly recommended. Expand
  19. Joey
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    This was hilarious. Not a typical British comedy, in that it had some definite American influences, but that did not make it any less humorous. My only objection was that on a couple of occasions I could see what was coming next, which spoil it a bit. The humour is fairly low brow, but, atypically, this does not make it any less funny. A must-see.
  20. Michelle
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Soooooooo funny! It starts out a little slow but then you don't stop laughing until the very end! Incredible!
  21. RobertI.
    Aug 19, 2007
    7
    As wacky as real life, "Death" offers a Mod spritz of English farce with the spirit of the classic Ealing Studio comedies, all strong characters on a collision course, colliding.
  22. KevinK.
    Sep 2, 2007
    2
    I sat in astonishment as the crowd around me laughed hard throughout this unfunny dreck. The writing was poor and rushed, and the jokes never delivered.
  23. JayB.
    Sep 2, 2007
    2
    This movie tries to be Four Weddings and a Funeral, and attracts an audience of psuedo-sophisticated Frasier intellectuals that laugh on cue at the "ribald British humor". Here's the secret - it's not funny at all, and your high school English teacher is sitting next to you.
  24. JasperL
    Jan 5, 2008
    0
    Drawn-out, laboured jokes. Predicable plot. Terrible dialogue. Awful, prissy, characters dipped in starch. Terrible acting. Soundtrack attempts to be offsetting but it evokes more the feeling of strangulation than comedy.
  25. JayH.
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Enjoyable and offbeat comedy with a British flair. Great cast and very well written. The movie has a good pace, numerous amusing situations. I liked the spontaneous feel of the film.
  26. JoshF
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    Grant c you need to take a chill pill. Gerron k was right, this isn't bashing homosexuality, everyone was freaking out in the movie because the dad was cheating on his wife, the gay thing was a shock to them too but that is just because they were under the assumption for many many years that there dad was straight, they never said anything bad about homosexuality. my brother is gay Grant c you need to take a chill pill. Gerron k was right, this isn't bashing homosexuality, everyone was freaking out in the movie because the dad was cheating on his wife, the gay thing was a shock to them too but that is just because they were under the assumption for many many years that there dad was straight, they never said anything bad about homosexuality. my brother is gay and he loved the movie, he thought it was hilarious, so I'm not sure why grant c is freaking out. lighten up. Seriously. Expand
  27. Nutella
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    On one hand, the movie could be criticized on abusing that "valium" thing, by like, producing one fourth of the material on it. Next to that, it could be said that it employs some above average humour. On the other hand, the dark part it constitutes, especially the improvised speech given at the end, especially the phrase "being thrown to the world" states some mercilessly true nature in On one hand, the movie could be criticized on abusing that "valium" thing, by like, producing one fourth of the material on it. Next to that, it could be said that it employs some above average humour. On the other hand, the dark part it constitutes, especially the improvised speech given at the end, especially the phrase "being thrown to the world" states some mercilessly true nature in which we actually dwell; the whole schema of existentialism, the inevitable truth of our mortalities. Blended its humor, the movie actually has an attempt to give a perspective of death, in a "no big deal" way. What i mean is, the casket just stays right there whole movie, all there is around death itself, like the way it is in our non funeral lives, as we carry our mortality every single moment we live around the world. To sum up, it narrates somethings beyond that could be rated or voted, worth a watch without hesitation nevertheless, and deserves to invoke the reaction it aims; "what can be more serious where death there is". Expand
  28. JustinH.
    Apr 8, 2008
    7
    Funny, crass at times, but definitely worth a rent.
  29. LOLgrantCCod
    Jul 27, 2008
    7
    Grant you give homosexuals a bad name. Hell, you give human beings a bad name. Please develop a sense of humor and try not to set us back any more years. kthnxbi The movie was decent; not meant for british comedy snobs.
  30. TiagoM.
    Mar 29, 2009
    8
    The most hilarious film ever made!!! Perfect!
  31. JoeyW.
    Apr 26, 2009
    10
    Quite possibly the most side splittingly hilarious film I have ever seen.
  32. RobS.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Not designed for an international audience, especially not for Americans. Black comedy where the humor rotates around possibly too many characters, (however well selected they may have been) if a few of one liners from the wives or extra guests at the funeral had been cut out and given to the main cast the interaction would have been better. Firefly and Serenity's Alan Tudyk steals Not designed for an international audience, especially not for Americans. Black comedy where the humor rotates around possibly too many characters, (however well selected they may have been) if a few of one liners from the wives or extra guests at the funeral had been cut out and given to the main cast the interaction would have been better. Firefly and Serenity's Alan Tudyk steals the show , brilliance with comic timing, reactions and nudity. A clever comedy, a pacey hilarious mide section building to the sentimental moderately mental climax. Expand
  33. PatG.
    Aug 18, 2007
    7
    A few slow spots may mar this movie, but I laughed out loud many a time. I certainly do recommend it to those who enjoy British farces. And I think Alan Tudyk does the most brilliant drug-induced hallucinating I've ever seen. I cannot imagine anyone doing it better. The other actors were all very good.
  34. JackS.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Hilarious!! If you want to laugh, go see it.. I went with 3 others and they loved it also.
  35. LloydE.
    Sep 13, 2007
    9
    Skillfully written funny story with a hilarious bathroom scene. Definitely better than how the critics rated it.
  36. Will
    Sep 24, 2007
    1
    This movie was terrible. A far cry from the jaunty, witty British comedy that I thought I was going to see. A better name for this movie would have been "National Lampoon goes to England". I love black comedy, British humor and good writing. This movie had none of that.
  37. OtherG.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    Wow, that was weird, I thought maybe I had reviewed this and didn't remember. Weird. Except I liked the movie unlike that other Grant C. This was a great example of British comedy in its prime. Care free, not like one of our American comedies that are purely about stupidity. And the deal about gays in this story was not to insult gays, just as a small humorous piece of the story.
  38. CarolynP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and spent a good deal of it laughing hysterically. I would highly recommend it if you are into dark British humour.
  39. RonS
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Not really laugh-out-loud humor (except for a few parts) but very funny nonetheless. British comedies in general usually have that particular sense of humor that is fun to watch. "I *knew* it!" That was great.
  40. Jun 8, 2014
    6
    Despite swindling in its title – naming the film Death at a Funeral without anyone actually dying – Frank Oz’s black humour comedy is in fact quite an honest film, fusing realistic funereal incidents to a considerably less realistic whole and letting the audience experience it through the eyes of not all too clever, successful or likeable Joe Publics.

    However, Dean Craig’s script will
    Despite swindling in its title – naming the film Death at a Funeral without anyone actually dying – Frank Oz’s black humour comedy is in fact quite an honest film, fusing realistic funereal incidents to a considerably less realistic whole and letting the audience experience it through the eyes of not all too clever, successful or likeable Joe Publics.

    However, Dean Craig’s script will not be the one winning the prize for the wittiest, most intelligent or most amusing script of the century. Or of the year. Or of the opening weekend. Yet the British writer demonstrates flair in creating just slightly exaggerated characters that feel exactly like someone you’ve met yourself at some time. A top-tier ensemble cast is assisting him, especially uproarious with the likes of Alan Tudyk and Peter Dinklage, the duo primarily responsible for the burial going awry. But as other flaws, such as the archetypal comedy dialogue, the clichéd ending, and the unneeded scatological “humour” remain unresolved, the acting can’t elevate Death at a Funeral to any more than average.

    With good characters and slapstick gags, there is some fun to be had, but you’ll need more if you aspire to shape a good film. Death at a Funeral opts against that and therefore doesn’t furnish more than the occasional laugh.
    Expand
  41. Jan 17, 2013
    5
    If the film is so close to the original as to also be pretty much disposable once its over for sharedsorrows.com, at least it as well serves up a healthy amount of laughs during its very brief and brisk run time.
  42. Jun 16, 2014
    8
    It really had to be a British to dare to do a movie about death ... and be successful. Indeed, if most of the recent comedies I have seen just made me smile, this one brought me to hilarity. I specifically wanted to congratulate Alan Tudyk, who plays his role with an exquisite humour. He plays a guy that is on drug without meaning to. It could almost be a masterpiece but unfortunately someIt really had to be a British to dare to do a movie about death ... and be successful. Indeed, if most of the recent comedies I have seen just made me smile, this one brought me to hilarity. I specifically wanted to congratulate Alan Tudyk, who plays his role with an exquisite humour. He plays a guy that is on drug without meaning to. It could almost be a masterpiece but unfortunately some of the subordinate actors don't bring much to the story ( such as the crazy dredge man ).
    It's a movie that I would particularly recommend to see when you're in a morose mood, this one might cheer you up!
    Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. It goes soft, but even a gelded traditional farce is more potent than most of our slob comedies.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    63
    The dumbness doesn't kill Death at a Funeral, but it certainly weakens it.
  3. 75
    The film's climax is nothing short of hilarious. And Death at a Funeral doesn't discriminate when it comes to the type of humor it embraces it. Everything is in there, from physical hijinks to verbal repartee to naked man jokes to drugs and gross-out stuff.