Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 1, 2013
    88
    The funniest kids’ cartoon of the summer.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jul 2, 2013
    83
    For now, the franchise has enough zip and humor to be worthwhile.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 2, 2013
    80
    There are so many ways Despicable Me 2 could have gone wrong, and so many things it does right.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 8, 2013
    75
    It's still a first-class charm assault.
  5. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    While I remain disappointed that the sequel gives me a subdued Gru and an uneven pace, I keep remembering things about Despicable Me 2 that make me smile. For every meh moment, there's almost 2 well-conceived gags or lines.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jul 2, 2013
    75
    The scope of the ’toon espionage-adventure goings-on is surprisingly limited. But the filmmakers so clearly love working on these characters, their creative joy is infectious.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jul 2, 2013
    75
    As in the original “Despicable,” masterful physical comedy is what raises this animated pic so far above most of its competitors.
  8. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 2, 2013
    75
    Despicable Me 2 provides a good bonding opportunity for parents and children with enough palatable elements to please members of both generations.
  9. 75
    An animated sequel that, despite not achieving the inspired lunacy of the first movie where Gru literally steals the moon, is smartly calculated to deliver squeals to kids and amusement to accompanying adults.
  10. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jul 5, 2013
    70
    Despicable Me 2 is far more entertaining than the disappointingly bland "Monsters University" and as a sequel stands level with the first film, and may have the edge on it.
  11. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 4, 2013
    70
    The script — by Ken Daurio and Cinco Paul — is erratic, to put it generously. Yet the 3-D animation is so stylish and, from time to time, so downright beautiful, that you hardly notice when the storytelling loses track of itself.
  12. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jul 3, 2013
    70
    Despicable Me 2 does have plenty of what made the first film so entertaining — its wedding of James Bond–like gadgetry and visual invention with goofy slapstick, and the dizzying fun had with shrink rays, piranha guns, elaborate evil spaceships, and the like.
  13. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 3, 2013
    70
    Even with slightly heavier issues, like its predecessor, Despicable Me 2 is light on its feet, visually inventive and very fast with the repartee. It requires actors who can pull off the many peppery lines at warp speed and in that the film is lucky with its voice cast.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jun 17, 2013
    70
    While not quite as charming or unique as the original, Despicable Me 2 comes awfully close.
  15. 70
    While the new edition doesn’t quite catch that inspired spark, there’s still plenty to enjoy here courtesy of those zippy visuals and a pitch-perfect voice cast led by the innately animated Steve Carell.
  16. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 2, 2013
    67
    There's enough here for a nice little movie, anyway, even if Al Pacino didn't think so. He was hired to voice the movie's arch villain but dropped out due to "creative differences."
  17. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 3, 2013
    63
    [A] remarkably tepid sequel to the surprise 2010 hit.
  18. 63
    If you're looking for quality prepackaged, predigested Hollywood family fun this summer, you could do a lot worse than Despicable Me 2.
  19. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    Despicable Me 2 is fun, especially near the culmination. Structural issues aside, it’s impossible not to like these characters, all of them, rendered with love, always entertaining even when the story around them doesn’t make much sense.
  20. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    This loony 'toon is dizzy with wonderments, especially in 3-D. The spindly-limbed character design owes more to Charles Addams' family than to Walt Disney's kingdom, while the story and settings evoke James Bond on laughing gas.
  21. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 2, 2013
    63
    It's a reasonably efficient baby sitter, done up in 3-D computer-generated animation of no special distinction. But the first one's weird mixture of James Bond bombast and hyperactive pill-shaped Minions (the protagonist Gru's goggle-clad helpers) had the element of surprise in its favor.
  22. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jul 10, 2013
    60
    Despicable Me 2 has its charms, in its spritely pacing, a rapid-fire gag-delivery system that hits as often as it misses, and especially in its innovative, expansive use of 3-D space.
  23. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    Easily the most enjoyable animated film of 2013 so far.
  24. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    A too-good Gru is a boring Gru. No matter how much you crank up the adorability factor or offer up the occasional laugh, there is no getting around that.
  25. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Guaranteed to charm anyone who’s out of school and already bored.
  26. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Carell and Wiig make a splendid vocal pair — Nick and Nora Charles with ice guns and lipstick Tasers.
  27. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    It falters in the middle and hesitates unnecessarily in setting up the love story, but Gru still has charm and kids will adore the Minions.
  28. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nothing here to challenge anything from the Pixar golden age, but Despicable Me 2 is a sweet-natured family film.
  29. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    The minions give good mayhem and the twig-armed animation’s lovely. Despite the coolest submarine-car since Bond’s Lotus Esprit, though, Despicable Me 2 is light on gadgets – and surprises, too.
  30. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    The one inspired idea here is what happens to the minions when they’re injected with serum by the film’s mystery baddie, and this is enough to give us at least a reel’s worth of anarchic pleasure.
  31. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Its repetitive qualities are beyond reproach. Every bit as amiable and disposable as its predecessor, it recycles everything from slapstick gags to its own voice cast.
  32. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jul 3, 2013
    58
    It's just a shame that the search for the missing formula ends up feeling so formulaic.
  33. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 3, 2013
    50
    This shallow sequel to 2010's much cleverer Despicable Me — the 10th-biggest animated movie in U.S. history — seems to be merely going through the motions.
  34. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Jul 3, 2013
    50
    Given the outlandish premise, you'll wish the film twinkled with a more savvy sense of humor and adventure, like the chapters of the "Toy Story" series, for example.
  35. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    Once again, the lesson that more is not necessarily better, something rarely learned by blockbuster sequels, is forgotten.
  36. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jul 2, 2013
    50
    What’s missing — and this was the crucial component of part one — is a little sour to undercut the sweet. Like its protagonist, a bad guy gone boringly good, Despicable Me 2 has no edge. It’s fatally nice and insufficiently naughty.
  37. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 26, 2013
    50
    By the end, every child in the audience will want his or her own monster-minion toy. Adults will just regret the way that Despicable Me 2 betrays the original film’s devotion to bad-guy gaiety.
  38. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 2, 2013
    42
    You just wish that the kind of attention lavished on the visuals of Despicable Me 2 could have carried over to its storytelling. Despicable Me 2 lacks emotion and depth, and all the minions in the world can't make up for that.
  39. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The script's jumble of plot asides and family-friendly pandering is enough to make you want to root for a hero.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 358 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    The movie is extremely funny and cute and the minions are hilarious! It is one of the best animated movies ever and though it may have a thin plot the movie is enjoyable for all ages and sure to be a BIG hit. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I'm glad to see that the critic scores are edging up, it really doesn't deserve any less than a 7 average.
    In a way they've followed the
    classic sequel-ruining approach of cramming in more plot threads, more characters, and bigger action, but in this case I actually found it to be the perfect way forward. The hyperactivity and loony-toons silliness works even better at a faster pace, and they still take time to breath for some surprisingly heartfelt moments in between. They certain crank up the cheese in these moments, but they spoof tired cliches and tropes so well that even then it manages to be consistently hilarious rather than nauseating.
    It also benefits greatly from a much better, less annoying villain this time around.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    This movie was flat. The story was very boring and banal. Throughout the film I felt little to no feelings for any character. I see that many people thought the jokes were funny, but I found them to be insisting upon themselves. As if they were funny simply because they were meant to be. The original pieces of the soundtrack were very stock sounding, and those few non-original songs were quite honestly bad. It didn't even sound like the voice actors were doing anything but reading directly from the script. For me, the biggest problem with this film was that the entire production felt too bland; when I was watching this I felt as if the writers and director had played a games of visual mad-libs from a passage that has been used far too many times.
    On the positive side the animation is good. That's about it.
    Full Review »