Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 17, 2014
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
8
Mixed:
8
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Zaphod20212Jan 18, 2014
I saw this with a friend and spent most of the afternoon waiting for something to happen... A waste of time and money in my opinion. They show have made it an 18 certificate and a injected a bit of life into it, no pun intended! Do not evenI saw this with a friend and spent most of the afternoon waiting for something to happen... A waste of time and money in my opinion. They show have made it an 18 certificate and a injected a bit of life into it, no pun intended! Do not even bother to rent this on Dvd. Carrie was a better and scarier film, as was 'The Exorcism Of Emily Rose'. Very disappointed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Leo9127Feb 3, 2014
This is awful, everything is wrong with it the acting is bad, the scares are not scary, the premise is tired, and hammered to death a million times, some people say it's Paranormal Activity meets Rosemary's Baby, and it is true, as this movieThis is awful, everything is wrong with it the acting is bad, the scares are not scary, the premise is tired, and hammered to death a million times, some people say it's Paranormal Activity meets Rosemary's Baby, and it is true, as this movie takes everything wrong with those movie, and multiplies that a million times, and creates **** Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
firsttimeJan 18, 2014
just seen devils due and this is my first time ever writing a review and felt the need to do so. THIS MOVIE IS HORRIBLE SO HORRIBLE TILL IT WENT BEYOND HORRIBLE SMH A WASTE OF FILM TIME AND MONEY. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN SOMETHING WHEN THE MOVIEjust seen devils due and this is my first time ever writing a review and felt the need to do so. THIS MOVIE IS HORRIBLE SO HORRIBLE TILL IT WENT BEYOND HORRIBLE SMH A WASTE OF FILM TIME AND MONEY. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN SOMETHING WHEN THE MOVIE THEATRE WAS SHOWING IT IN ONE OF THE SMALLEST ROOM THEY HAVE THAT MAY SEAT 30 PEOPLE. SMH ME AND MY GIRL COULDNT EVEN DISCUSS THE MOVIE WE JUST TALKED ABOUT THE WEATHER THATS HOW POINTLESS IT WAS. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
MissDraeMar 2, 2014
An aweful movie. A GIANT WASTE OF TIME. A GIANT WASTE OF MONEY. A USELESS MOVIE WITH TERRIBLE EFFECTS. ITS JUST PLAIN STUPID. I DONT THINK IVE MET SOMEONE WHO ACTUALLY LIKED THIS MOVIE.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
BasticJan 20, 2014
It was the perfect recipe for horror, but it never built to anything. And maybe that was the point. But the advertising and hype of the movie would lead you to believe otherwise. You kept waiting for something, anything to happen, there wereIt was the perfect recipe for horror, but it never built to anything. And maybe that was the point. But the advertising and hype of the movie would lead you to believe otherwise. You kept waiting for something, anything to happen, there were a couple aha moments but nothing worth repeating. I would rather have watched anything else. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
mds03Jan 25, 2014
What a steaming piece of garbage. So here is the basic plot, a couple go on a honeymoon and the wife gets pregnant despite taking Birth Control Medicine. Then, of course, things start happening around the house. So the husband decides toWhat a steaming piece of garbage. So here is the basic plot, a couple go on a honeymoon and the wife gets pregnant despite taking Birth Control Medicine. Then, of course, things start happening around the house. So the husband decides to document it ALL on a hand held camera. I've never heard that one before. This movie consists of the STUPID characters walking around and talking for 10 minutes then they here a noise, then they investigate, then there is a jump scare. Then the cycle repeats for about an hour and 20 minutes straight until the inevitable ending. Do yourself a favor and don't pay to see this crap. Watch some good "Found Footage Movies" like "The Last Exorcism or "Cloverfield." This movie is only about an hour and a half long, but boy it feels like three... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGoer14Jan 26, 2014
Devil's Due has some decent ideas, but for most of the time it lacks originality, scares. If it was digging enough into the characters, I would pass it as a strange gothic, but it is not. I will say it is probably a guilty pleasure, becauseDevil's Due has some decent ideas, but for most of the time it lacks originality, scares. If it was digging enough into the characters, I would pass it as a strange gothic, but it is not. I will say it is probably a guilty pleasure, because the last 10 minutes of the film makes it entertaining to watch although hard with the cliched found-footage style, but what I sighted of the last 10 mins was good enough to pass the movie as a 4 out of 10. Although deserving less, but I have something for these found footage movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
moviemitch96Feb 2, 2014
Although I'm a sucker for found-footage movies (especially the "Paranormal Activity" franchise), the genre has hit an all-time low with this one. Everything about this film is just so terrible! The story is silly and predictable. The actingAlthough I'm a sucker for found-footage movies (especially the "Paranormal Activity" franchise), the genre has hit an all-time low with this one. Everything about this film is just so terrible! The story is silly and predictable. The acting is worse than ever, and the ending is ridiculous and completely stupid! And the worst part: It's not scary!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
SolarGamingFeb 20, 2014
While not so bad to be a "Devils Due" in sin for how bad the movie is, this found footage film is FILLED with unscary bland moments, (Like the Paranormal Activity franchise) the acting is average at best, the reason I gave this a 3 us becauseWhile not so bad to be a "Devils Due" in sin for how bad the movie is, this found footage film is FILLED with unscary bland moments, (Like the Paranormal Activity franchise) the acting is average at best, the reason I gave this a 3 us because it does, decent in the department of "found footage" the Devil's Due was overhyped due to the genuinely good trailers, and I don't know the fact that it's actually got a couple decent parts. Go spend your money on a dvd of "The Conjuring" if you're looking for a horror film, or "Paranormal Activity" if you want a found footage... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
BevanMar 16, 2014
Pointless movie. The story went nowhere threw out the movie. Don't waste your money, and even worse your money. People were getting up and leaving it was so bad. I only stayed because I had nothing else to do all day.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ThegodfathersonJan 17, 2014
Devil's Due has a decent enough premise, and a few neat ideas, most based on the extremes of pregnancy, but it continually fails to wring the most out of them. What's worse, some of its choices – particularly the use of the found footageDevil's Due has a decent enough premise, and a few neat ideas, most based on the extremes of pregnancy, but it continually fails to wring the most out of them. What's worse, some of its choices – particularly the use of the found footage approach and the absence of a strong force for good – actively undermine the film's narrative and the intensity of its scares. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
captaindangerJan 26, 2014
Pretty cool movie. Not very scary, and I'm really tied of this "found footage" trend in horror movies, but the acting was good and the effects were nice.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 1, 2014
This is one of the most not so scary movies i seen. but its a great horror film . Gilford and Alison millers, performance is amazing . And Devils Due is Thrilling, Freaky , Enjoyable . Grade A
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
quincytheodoreJan 25, 2015
There hasn't been a movie that's so predictable, it makes rewatching Paranormal Activity a fresh experience. This is mediocrity in scene by scene basis. It's almost surprising, if it's not so sad that the producer or director once thoughtThere hasn't been a movie that's so predictable, it makes rewatching Paranormal Activity a fresh experience. This is mediocrity in scene by scene basis. It's almost surprising, if it's not so sad that the producer or director once thought imitation of other horror films could be a substitute for real tension. Furthermore, displaying it in found footage style doesn't add anything, let alone mask the unoriginality.

The lackluster story is about two couples who happily spend their honeymoon, but in the end meet with dubious characters. After some bizarre forgettable occurrence, the bride is pregnant. No, this is not Hangover, although it would’ve been better. What follows is a mix between pregnancy scare and overused gimmicks. The theme has been used before, but this is acceptable, many movies use already proven formula and produces new material. Devil's Due, on the other hand, cobbles together pieces of other works in hope of anyone who hasn't watched horror movies in years will find it amusing.

Its use of found footage mechanic further confuses the plot, because some of the scenes shouldn't have been captured in the first place. It uses all security cameras which are in vicinity of the story, it's not only one vlogger type, yet it still feels unauthentic and staged to capture certain scenes. It probably would've been slightly better if it's done in simple third person view.

There's not much excellence in acting either, the usual scream and frantic gaze. As an intimate experience of maternity, the movie could've depicted more personal issue. The scares aren't much better, often showing people in trance or shouting randomly. Every part of the movie is dull, any horror it has is watered down because it's near exact replica of others.

Granted, those who had or having the delicate 9 months marathon could appreciate it better, but why would they watch this movie, why would anyone for that matter?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Jul 26, 2014
With nearly every element borrowed - scratch that - copied from other films that have almost always done it better, "Devil's Due" renders no legitimate frights, leaves the most of the audience scratching their heads and the others bored to tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cool1707Jan 23, 2014
Devils Due could have been much better and it had its problems but it was a good movie may not of been as scary that it could have been but in my opinion it was way better than Paranormal Activity The Marked Ones. Overall an OK film couldDevils Due could have been much better and it had its problems but it was a good movie may not of been as scary that it could have been but in my opinion it was way better than Paranormal Activity The Marked Ones. Overall an OK film could have been better don't rush out to see it but it is a watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BrianMcCriticMay 1, 2014
A dull, cheap, clichéd, horror film that fails on almost every level. Every scene is predictable and not chilling. A good horror film keeps you up at night this one puts you to sleep. D-
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Johnluna1Mar 5, 2014
Overall this movie is a tad above average. The plot is kinda interesting and some of the scenes are interesting but the movie got a tad boring over time. I would recommend if you like these types of movies, but if you don't. you wont beOverall this movie is a tad above average. The plot is kinda interesting and some of the scenes are interesting but the movie got a tad boring over time. I would recommend if you like these types of movies, but if you don't. you wont be getting much special Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LowbrowCinemaJan 25, 2014
DEVIL'S DUE is definitely no masterpiece but this combo of ROSEMARY'S BABY and BLAIR WITCH is quite fun until it all falls apart. But the lead up is pretty good. Not much horror out there so this fills the void nicely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
La Película en sí es una combinación de The Last Exorcism con Paranormal Activity., una combinación que a pesar de que la mayoría la consideró muy pobre, en mi opinión logra resaltar y dar unos destellos mientras avanza el film, que logra serLa Película en sí es una combinación de The Last Exorcism con Paranormal Activity., una combinación que a pesar de que la mayoría la consideró muy pobre, en mi opinión logra resaltar y dar unos destellos mientras avanza el film, que logra ser interesante y eficiente. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SushiStonerDec 19, 2014
Yet another tedious found footage style "horror" film, manages to bore me throughout the majority of the runtime, the first act was tiresome and the resolution made minimal sense, it has a weak atmosphere and forgettable characters the filmYet another tedious found footage style "horror" film, manages to bore me throughout the majority of the runtime, the first act was tiresome and the resolution made minimal sense, it has a weak atmosphere and forgettable characters the film fails to deliver any scares with cheap jump scares and horrendous acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emeraldcitySep 4, 2014
Kind of a typical movie these days in the horror style-not particularly good and not particularly bad. A young couple you will like comes upon misfortune at the hands of a bunch of voodoo like weirdos in some tropical travel getaway honeymoonKind of a typical movie these days in the horror style-not particularly good and not particularly bad. A young couple you will like comes upon misfortune at the hands of a bunch of voodoo like weirdos in some tropical travel getaway honeymoon destination. The movie trudges on carrying you along with it to its predictably bleak empty and no hope conclusion which bugged me since I hate no hope endings. Someone might actually leave this film feeling worse than they did when they went in to see it. I wish they would make better movies personally. After you have seen 1500 people scream and gush blood from every pint possible the whole things gets really old. What helps this film is the way the couple are portrayed as genuinely being in love with each other. Their bond does not survive the onslaught of evil doers-so why even make the film? Mix it all down and you get a five out of ten. And it probably cost what a small country makes in a year to film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
NerdConsultantDec 30, 2014
This is an unoriginal, poorly shot and horribly acted waste of time even by the standards of found footage movies. it was released in January with the hopes that people wouldn't realise what a lame Rosemary's Baby clone it was and make aThis is an unoriginal, poorly shot and horribly acted waste of time even by the standards of found footage movies. it was released in January with the hopes that people wouldn't realise what a lame Rosemary's Baby clone it was and make a quick buck from the lack of new films and have it be forgotten but this film really made me realise more than ever that this practice and the genre of found footage movies both need to go away for a very long time and possibly never come back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Devil's Due" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

The Good: They were few and far between, but there were a couple of well-done moments that were legitimately creepy. The last 10 minutes or so are pretty good and makes you wonder where this
"Devil's Due" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

The Good: They were few and far between, but there were a couple of well-done moments that were legitimately creepy. The last 10 minutes or so are pretty good and makes you wonder where this was for the rest of the film.

The Bad: For a "found footage" style film, it just didn't make sense as the director seemed to forget what type of movie he was making. Far too often, the camera would shift to a second, third, or even a fourth camera during a scene. It begs the question: Who was filming this!?!? It seemed like there were cameras hovering and crawling everywhere. The film also has LONG stretches where absolutely nothing happens. In fact, little to nothing happens during the first hour. Forgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Zach and Samantha McCall didn't expect to become new parents - but even though they can't remember it, one night in their honeymoon brings on an unexpected pregnancy. Recording everything - Samantha begins exhibiting strange signs - and soonZach and Samantha McCall didn't expect to become new parents - but even though they can't remember it, one night in their honeymoon brings on an unexpected pregnancy. Recording everything - Samantha begins exhibiting strange signs - and soon these changes take a much more sinister turn. This movie was a lame horror movie with no brains at all with laughable Jump scares and Bad acting from the cast and crew. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
UrbanlistenerNov 24, 2015
Wow that was bad, very bad. This movie is do dumb and poorly executed. Everything is highly predictable, nothing original, nothing scary just bad performances, dull dialogue and an overly lazy ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews