Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 19, 2010
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
37
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
It is cliche, but it is also very funny and sometimes touching. Oh but it isn't good enough to recommend to adults but it is a solid experience in the movie theater. I give this movie 73%.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
robguy222Sep 4, 2011
I loved this movie and knew there was gonna be a sequel! I think this was a great movie! Thanks to everyone out there that made the movie! Very entertaining movie. I'm not a long writer so i'm done!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
watithink123Apr 26, 2012
It's a lot like the book and was better then I thought but for me left out a few key bits from the book but don't buy it, rent it The diary of a wimpy kid 6.5/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
thefishslapJan 5, 2015
firts off, that preview picture is SOOF AKE i can see him right there yor not trikling me i can see him he doesn't look like that hes not there or holly either what your just gonna walk in? diary of a pig made me hate that one thing forfirts off, that preview picture is SOOF AKE i can see him right there yor not trikling me i can see him he doesn't look like that hes not there or holly either what your just gonna walk in? diary of a pig made me hate that one thing for seconts, 3th, i really dont think high scool goes like that im in highn scool right now and evry time i cannot find a good reason to tell you the movie there to watch the movier! NEVER AGAIN I SWEAR! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KarenP.Mar 21, 2010
Fantastic movie! The cast - especially the kid actors were great, the jokes were actually funny and the movie has the saem charm as the book had. And the movie did a goof job of putting in the drawings from the book. Book fans will love Fantastic movie! The cast - especially the kid actors were great, the jokes were actually funny and the movie has the saem charm as the book had. And the movie did a goof job of putting in the drawings from the book. Book fans will love that. This is an awesome movie for kids in a long while, very entertaining and of course, a lot of fun. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Mar 19, 2010
Great movie, very entertaining and fun for the whole family....Great acting, especially the kid who played Greg Heffley, he was so believable. The fat kid Rowley was like a "dufus. Probably like that in real life. The rest of the cast did an Great movie, very entertaining and fun for the whole family....Great acting, especially the kid who played Greg Heffley, he was so believable. The fat kid Rowley was like a "dufus. Probably like that in real life. The rest of the cast did an excellent job. Good fun for anyone of any age. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Mar 20, 2010
Very entertaining i was very shocked i thought it would be bad but it wasn't it was awesome great cast 1 word amazing :)
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AveryL.Mar 20, 2010
I thought Diary of a whimpy kid the movie was better than the book because the people are real and I think Rowley did the bet acting next to Greg.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
HollySMar 26, 2010
This movie is just a realistic celebration of how funny childhood can be, especially from a boy's point of view. I also like that the Protagonist is kind of an anti-hero. It's not The Hangover, but I found myself laughing outloud This movie is just a realistic celebration of how funny childhood can be, especially from a boy's point of view. I also like that the Protagonist is kind of an anti-hero. It's not The Hangover, but I found myself laughing outloud through the entire movie. To me, this franchise rivals Harry Potter for telling stories about kids. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
RickAMar 25, 2010
Dittos on Good movie for all the family Also dittos on good acting .. Reminded me of an updated leave it to beaver type of theme. Fun clean entertainment.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
shepardnSep 3, 2010
was a good movie that you can watch with the family. i would add it to my movie library. rowley in my book was the best actor of the flick. good all around flick was not to funny was not sad. no love story involved unless u count best fiendwas a good movie that you can watch with the family. i would add it to my movie library. rowley in my book was the best actor of the flick. good all around flick was not to funny was not sad. no love story involved unless u count best fiend love.. and i thought the story line was unusual so i give it a 7 out of 10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jan 5, 2011
It wasn't my favorite movie of the year, but good thing the comedy saved the entire movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
nintendoid13Nov 6, 2010
It gives me great pain to give this film a one. Not that I feel sorry for it, just that I can't leave any zeros. This was a HUGE disappointment. For one thing, Greg in the book (the real genius) is supposed to be 13!!! The actor is like 7!It gives me great pain to give this film a one. Not that I feel sorry for it, just that I can't leave any zeros. This was a HUGE disappointment. For one thing, Greg in the book (the real genius) is supposed to be 13!!! The actor is like 7! I'm sure anyone could have been a better actor for Greg. ANYONE!! Left stuff out, added CRAP in. Wow! Congratulations FOX, you just brought out a stinker! Oh, by the way, THANK YOU, MikeJ., for your words of wisdom! Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
blagoongaOct 16, 2010
Diary of a Wimpy Kid rocks!! Zach Gordon and Robert Capron form a great duo, and I loved Chloe Moretz. All the other stars were nothing, especially Rodrick! The plot is amazing, and the dialogue was even better! I hope all of the books become films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
KateY.Apr 2, 2010
The whole family went to the movie and all of us were dissipointed. After the first half hour of the movie you start to like Rowley and hating greg. Left out characters and put new ones in. And my son had an nightmare about the cheese. One The whole family went to the movie and all of us were dissipointed. After the first half hour of the movie you start to like Rowley and hating greg. Left out characters and put new ones in. And my son had an nightmare about the cheese. One of the worst movies i saw,I only liked Rowley and Manny. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
4
RyanLopezDec 15, 2011
This movie was decent, but it could of had a lot of improvement, the plot was good but the acting and the script just did not flow well with my point of view, THE SECOND ONE IS BETTER
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
ChadS.Mar 20, 2010
Two boys in a crowded cafeteria, amidst a galaxy of cliques, the slightly cooler kid surveys the lunchroom, then glances back at his pal with new eyes. "Try to look like you're having fun," begs Kevin Arnold(Fred Savage) to his nerdy Two boys in a crowded cafeteria, amidst a galaxy of cliques, the slightly cooler kid surveys the lunchroom, then glances back at his pal with new eyes. "Try to look like you're having fun," begs Kevin Arnold(Fred Savage) to his nerdy seatmate Paul(Paul Sorvino), because he knows that his middle school social life depends on it. Winnie Cooper was taking algebra in 1967, now she has her own math theorem. In 2010, the cafeteria is even more ofl a battlefield, and Greg Heffley(Zachary Gordon) would like a little help from his best friend Rowley(Robert Capron) in manufacturing wonder years out of their journey through intermediate school. Unfortunately, Rowley lacks the guile to conform with the herd; he believes that you should "come as you are", so the accidental iconoclast comes to school on a girl's bike with pink tassels in full-blown Guatamalan regalia. But nobody kicks his ass because "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is no dollhouse: the improbable junior high has no mean girls to ostracize this rotund misfit. Greg, always hatching new plans to rule the school, would have left Rowley in the dust had he any athletic talent or marketable attribute to impress the adolescent jetset. When the two boys "play"(Rowley-speak for "hang out"), Greg is always the quartrback. It's made clear that he assizes the protocol in their day-to-day affiliation together, where he's the leader and his protege is the follower. Through a chance occurence, however, Rowley becomes popular, on his own terms, in which it's cool to dance with your mom at a school function, and a dorky punchline for a comic strip becomes an infectious catch-phrase in the hallways. "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is harmless, innocuous fun, perfect for its demographic, but it does give tweeners the wrong impression about the societal actualities of teenaged girls and boys. If you show up to class in a "serape", having the "cheese touch" will be the least of your problems. They'll call you "Wiener Dog" for the rest of your middle school life, but you just might grow up to be Marilyn Manson. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ChrisBSep 1, 2010
Saw this film on a flight (sadly a captive audience), when I say "saw" I mean pulled out the headphones & started reading a book after 20 minutes or so.
The acting was poor, the story was not engaging (as a 29 year old man I'm not really the
Saw this film on a flight (sadly a captive audience), when I say "saw" I mean pulled out the headphones & started reading a book after 20 minutes or so.
The acting was poor, the story was not engaging (as a 29 year old man I'm not really the target audience though), there was nothing in the film to make me want to watch it.
Now I know it's based on a book & perhaps it's a better read (hopefully without the stupid "cheese" angle), But this film is to me far from watchable for an adult, even children on the plane showed little to no interest in the film.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
MikeJ.Mar 25, 2010
I took my son to see this movie as he is a fan of the books. Funny thing is, at 5 years old, even he hated this movie as much as i did. He was sitting there whinning "can we go home" the whole time. The movie has no humor and was a waste of I took my son to see this movie as he is a fan of the books. Funny thing is, at 5 years old, even he hated this movie as much as i did. He was sitting there whinning "can we go home" the whole time. The movie has no humor and was a waste of time. This was the first time i ever left the theater before the movie was over. Do not see this with your kids as it is bad. Your whole family will hate it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
796712Nov 15, 2010
one of the wors films ive seen i was being kind to give it a 2 i wanted to give it a one its gets worse as the film goes on it was a waste of money i have no idea what roger ebert was thinking giving it 88 he must have been drunk
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
kylerawksDec 25, 2012
This is the worst movie ever and i regret ever seeing this movie. This is worse than Despicable Me. Omigod this movie made me feel like i was the stupid wimp. Thank jesus i am not one. This movie had very many STUPID parts, including theThis is the worst movie ever and i regret ever seeing this movie. This is worse than Despicable Me. Omigod this movie made me feel like i was the stupid wimp. Thank jesus i am not one. This movie had very many STUPID parts, including the stupid cheese touch. i hate to say this but @*#^%&@*()^)!#*&^%&@!^%#)&*(@#*%)^ %&*#%^*(&%%%@#%&&^#%@)&#%^&#*(%^@#()^%&)#!%*!@(#&*%^!@&# all at once. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Mar 7, 2011
I'm a 19 year old college student, and admittedly, I love reading the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series! This movie was a good adaptation of the first book, although I wish the sequels would be more faithful to the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerJun 20, 2012
Funny with a good cast. It teaches kids to just be themselves, and not to think too highly of themselves. It's also got a lot of charm. The actors really bring the whole thing to life. A great movie for kids that parents will also like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelDFeb 5, 2012
I love reading the books but I have to admit the movie didn't live up to my expectations. It isn't the worst I've ever seen but definitely not the best either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
The best example that for to make laugh doesnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellNov 15, 2011
Great film. It seems to follow the novel but it is even better than I expected it to be. I liked the acting which really made the story and characters convincing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Aug 1, 2016
Like most adults, I was under the impression that the wimpy kid series was nothing more than the latest fad in youth literature to hit the big screen. I figured it was just another kids movie and passed it off as such, but recently at aLike most adults, I was under the impression that the wimpy kid series was nothing more than the latest fad in youth literature to hit the big screen. I figured it was just another kids movie and passed it off as such, but recently at a family event, I was forced to see parts of it and found it interesting, so I queued it up and as it turns out, this film was legitimately funny! Greg Heffley (Zachary Gordon) is about to start middle school, where all he wants to do is become popular, like his older brother was. Greg goes to extremes and displays some very odd behavior, as he and his best friend, try to enter the elite club of popularity. What's really interesting about these films are that most of the cast members have limited to no experience what-so-ever before being cast in a major motion picture. Some of them, like Gordon, are really talented, while others like Robert Capron are just awkward kids, who are just naturally funny in the way they carry themselves. The dynamics of a family film are always a very difficult thing, because if you don't take a few risks, it's a kids movie that the adults with be bored with. On the other hand, if you go too far, the film will get a PG-13, which means the kids won't be allowed to see it and your audience becomes very limited. The writers of Diary of a Wimpy Kid found the magic formula however, as they managed to create a cult classic, that is fun for kids, teens, and adults alike. The film has it moments and at least a few things that every single one of us can relate to. It certainly isn't goodfellas, but I thought this film was a lot of fun, and I can't believe I'm saying this, but I'm actually looking forward to checking out the sequels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
This made me laugh once or twice, and it didn't make me mad. But it still harks upon other influential teen movies a bit too much for it to become worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
geedupNov 11, 2012
Obviously not made for adults, but I think the biggest disconnect for this Wimpy Kid movie and the others to follow is the main character and family. In the wildly successful books, the Wimpy Kid is not illustrated or given a distinct faceObviously not made for adults, but I think the biggest disconnect for this Wimpy Kid movie and the others to follow is the main character and family. In the wildly successful books, the Wimpy Kid is not illustrated or given a distinct face and so the reader can create one in their own mind. ON the screen that face is no longer imagined and may not match the reader's conception. I didn't find the movie cute nor identifiable to my youth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PlaystationguyMar 29, 2013
The story is completely different, and doesn't provide the humour that the series has always delivered so well. The characters are hard to like. Rowley in particular is extremely annoying and there's really no reason to like the characters.The story is completely different, and doesn't provide the humour that the series has always delivered so well. The characters are hard to like. Rowley in particular is extremely annoying and there's really no reason to like the characters. Moments of emotional weight however did succeed in trying to grab me, and if you can ignore the changed plot, find a few funny moments with the characters, and ignore Rowley, then you may possibly enjoy the movie for the first time. I just can't promise that you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZombieAxeHeroSep 8, 2014
As a fan of the original books, I was really looking forward to seeing this movie, and I certainly wasn't disappointed. I'm not going to say it accurately represents life in middle school (let's face it: nothing can really get that right),As a fan of the original books, I was really looking forward to seeing this movie, and I certainly wasn't disappointed. I'm not going to say it accurately represents life in middle school (let's face it: nothing can really get that right), but I can say that the life of Greg Heffley is one life that I'm glad to watch unfold before my eyes.

The story follows the events of the first book in the series, showing how Greg Heffley deals with life now that he's in the sixth grade, having to deal with trying to become popular while dealing with his best friend Rowley Jefferson, his screwball family (particularly his jackass older brother Rodrick), his nemesis Patty Farrell, and Fregley who has to be the weirdest kid I've ever seen in fiction. Needless to say, some liberties were taken when turning the book into a movie, but I think those liberties worked out well. No major events are taken out, but they have been rearranged slightly. What I really like is what they did with the characters. Greg is pretty much exactly the same as he was in the book along with most of the other characters, but there have been a few changes which I liked. Rowley isn't quite as gullible as he is in the book and doesn't let Greg push him around so much, and making Patty Farrell Greg's nemesis when she was just a minor annoyance in the book is a very welcome idea. The only character I didn't like was one they made up for the movie, Angie Steadman. Not really from a personality standpoint, but more due to the fact that she doesn't really have a point in being there at all. Minor complaint, but I think they could have run the movie without her and no one would notice. The movie,however, keeps the focus where it should be: Greg's mishaps in middle school and his friendship with Rowley. Can't ask for much more than that.

The casting for this movie is ideal. Zachary Gordon is great as Greg and so is Robert Capron as Rowley. A lot of people complain that Greg is kind of unlikable as a main character (though that would be more the fault of the book than the movie), and yeah, I will agree that his hairbrain schemes and how he just pushes Rowley around can get very irritating, but that's how a lot of boys his age are. He's just a wimpy kid, but this wimpy kid and his movie shouldn't be passed up, especially if you enjoyed the original books like I did.

Oh, and ZOO-WEE, MAMA!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
M0vieAddictMay 9, 2013
Unfortunately the first 'Diary Of A Wimpy Kid' strays too far away from it's best characters. Rodrick, Frank Heffley and Rowley would shine if given more light and room to explore. This is a solid movie as the humor and laid-back attitude goUnfortunately the first 'Diary Of A Wimpy Kid' strays too far away from it's best characters. Rodrick, Frank Heffley and Rowley would shine if given more light and room to explore. This is a solid movie as the humor and laid-back attitude go hand in hand, but Greg Heffley becomes extremely big headed, leaving nothing but a sour taste in the mouth of this fan. Luckily this can be overlooked by the extremely brilliant (mostly unexperienced cast) who play their parts well with what they have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jeff_reviewsJul 9, 2013
While I'm not a huge fan of the book, the movies seems to display its themes, with a young teenage point of view working to maybe the younger audiences in the crowd. It's not incredibly dumb either, as it has elements of bullying in as well.While I'm not a huge fan of the book, the movies seems to display its themes, with a young teenage point of view working to maybe the younger audiences in the crowd. It's not incredibly dumb either, as it has elements of bullying in as well. Although it's not the best, as the book appealed to kids more than it would to adults, but fans of the book will enjoy the roles of their favorite characters on the big screen. All in all, it's fine, and slightly exceeded my expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticMay 27, 2014
Being a moderate fan of the books, which is a brilliant series, the adaptation differs enough that it loses the charm the books possess. The choices of actors were mediocre at best, painful at worst. And no real acting talent whatsoever, saveBeing a moderate fan of the books, which is a brilliant series, the adaptation differs enough that it loses the charm the books possess. The choices of actors were mediocre at best, painful at worst. And no real acting talent whatsoever, save for Fregley. It takes bravery to be typecast in those roles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
Although this movie goes into Napoleon Dynamite levels of kid gloving (No middle-schoolers say darn), this movie is very relevant to how a kid might feel when he's arrogant, not popular, and hasn't hit puberty. So, kudos to the filmmakers forAlthough this movie goes into Napoleon Dynamite levels of kid gloving (No middle-schoolers say darn), this movie is very relevant to how a kid might feel when he's arrogant, not popular, and hasn't hit puberty. So, kudos to the filmmakers for getting that aspect right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 23, 2016
In 2010, my 6th grade self was a gigantic fan of the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" books, so much so that I read through the series (Books 1-4, since those were the only ones back then) three times in my 6th grade year. Getting me to read throughIn 2010, my 6th grade self was a gigantic fan of the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" books, so much so that I read through the series (Books 1-4, since those were the only ones back then) three times in my 6th grade year. Getting me to read through one whole book is never easy, but reading four books three times in one school year? That's when you know you're doing something right! And as soon as the movie was announced, I HAD to see it. So, I did. And I don't regret it. Even with creative liberties, it feels like the book, it's got the same great characters, it's pretty funny and it's pretty solidly-acted considering all the lead stars are kids. You might not get the same enjoyment out of it if you didn't read the books, but all in all, "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is a fun watch that should leave you walking away satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KooledudNov 17, 2014
good movie, but the stuff in the movie is very different from the book. And the parts in the movie are out of order, but it is funny and great. and it is very boring in the beginning but gets better. 9/10 on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JohnKristoferDec 25, 2014
Diary Of A wimpy Kid is an entertaining movie.Join Greg Heffley as he goes to middle school where he faces lots of problems and lot's of bullies.Diary Of A wimpy Kid is cliche but still entertains us,It's a good movie to watch with your family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SonicDudeNov 14, 2015
A movie that will make you wanna watch the sequels. The movie itself is lively, has a good sense of humor, A well thought story, amazing acting, and fun for all ages. The one major lag of the movie is that three quarters of the movie is basedA movie that will make you wanna watch the sequels. The movie itself is lively, has a good sense of humor, A well thought story, amazing acting, and fun for all ages. The one major lag of the movie is that three quarters of the movie is based on the book but maybe with detail and a few changes hear and there. It's movie for all ages and you will be more than satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
teddylukeApr 22, 2015
an ok movie to an good book. the films ending is way better then the other 1 hour or so to the film. the charter where ok maybe the acting was ok everything was just ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
QuinnIsAGamerAug 28, 2015
If metecritic did books, I'd give the book a good rating, but this is pure trash! It's gross (visually), it's not funny, it barely has to do with the book, Rowley is like Ralph Wiggum, Greg is much more like Wheatley (Portal 2), don't watchIf metecritic did books, I'd give the book a good rating, but this is pure trash! It's gross (visually), it's not funny, it barely has to do with the book, Rowley is like Ralph Wiggum, Greg is much more like Wheatley (Portal 2), don't watch this. Characters occasionally have different names, oh god.. I'm not going to go any further, this is garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 29, 2016
In order to make a true movie based on the same book, you must get everything right in it. If it's not a diary anymore, then shouldn't you call it, "Movie about a Wimpy Kid" and nothing gets changed about it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
This movie is so true in many ways. It tells how a boy who observes middle school as some type of trouble, boring, and a mess, which is true. Plus the main character, greg, is really relatable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorApr 17, 2016
Diary of a wimpy kid explores the reality on the real secondary, with human characters and funny story-telling, despite the not-efficient-enough work with its predesesors. It also brings a family-friendly message and contents.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
reviewfrom19842Oct 9, 2016
Diary of a Wimpy kid is a find little kids movie.

Pros: it can be funny sometimes and some of the charters are likeable Cons: but the main charter is very unlikeable and it can be stupid somethings Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a fine
Diary of a Wimpy kid is a find little kids movie.

Pros: it can be funny sometimes and some of the charters are likeable

Cons: but the main charter is very unlikeable and it can be stupid somethings

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a fine movie for kids
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StannyCartvskiOct 29, 2016
Honestly, this isn't super bad it's actually ok. I really enjoyed this but I would have liked this movie better if:
1. If Holly was in the movie.
2. If Rodrick was in the movie more and actually had a flashback. 3. If Manny wasn't so
Honestly, this isn't super bad it's actually ok. I really enjoyed this but I would have liked this movie better if:
1. If Holly was in the movie.
2. If Rodrick was in the movie more and actually had a flashback.
3. If Manny wasn't so annoying.
4. If Susan and/or Frank actually grounded Manny.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews