Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Distributing Corporation (MGM) | Release Date: November 22, 2002
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 297 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
226
Mixed:
43
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
FilipeNetoFeb 19, 2018
Directed by Lee Tamahori and produced by Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson, has script Robert Wade and is the twentieth film in the franchise. In this film, Pierce Brosnan plays 007 for the last time, next to Halle Berry, in the role ofDirected by Lee Tamahori and produced by Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson, has script Robert Wade and is the twentieth film in the franchise. In this film, Pierce Brosnan plays 007 for the last time, next to Halle Berry, in the role of Jinkx, Rosamund Pike, in the role of Miranda Frost, Rick Yune, in the role of Zao, John Cleese, in the role of Q and Toby Stephens, in the role of Gustav Graves.

In this film, James Bond returns to active after being captured and tortured in North Korea, where he remained abandoned by the country he served. He will try to pursue those responsible for his arrest, in particular the traitor who he suspects exist within MI6's ranks. For this, he will have to investigate a network of smuggling of blood diamonds and an eccentric millionaire who has a reputation for never sleeping.

This is undoubtedly the worst film of Bond franchise, to date. If there is any Bond movie where everything went wrong, is this. Pierce Brosnan, who in this film says goodbye to 007, was never convincing as James Bond. He tried, did his best and that's positive, but he never truly fit in the role. And if his previous films had been saved by the excellent quality of the villains and other stuff like that, it doesn't happen in this movie. Toby Stephens works well as Graves, but his character proved to be an unlikely villain. The public simply don't believe in his character or the history around it. Rosamund Pike is a terrible choice for a Bond-girl, as her character tried to be, at some point. She is the antithesis of any bond-girl, but the script was able to make up for it in the end, when Miranda showed not be as friendly as she (ever) seemed. Finally, we have the worst participation of all: Hale Brest... ops, Berry! This actress simply has no talent. She has big breasts, only that. And if that is enough to be a good bond- girl, the world is lost. The script is another problem: despite giving focus to strong and relevant subjects such weapons and diamonds trafficking or the constant military tension in North Korea, the way the film deals with it is simply unacceptable, unlikely and far-fetched. We could accept that in the early films of the franchise, but now the public expects more and that was simply forgotten. Last but not least, the film continues to suffer from continuity errors, paradoxes and faults unworthy of cinema professionals, in addition to the massive advertising sponsors, showed in all sequences and almost every scene. Bond is a action character or a pretty face to sell things?! The opening theme of this film, sung by Madonna, was very trendy to be precisely Madonna's. But even that could have been better and more interesting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
WalkingDead5640Jul 10, 2013
Just pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced actionJust pure rubbish. The director loves to give us over the top set pieces, action and characters, dodgy CGI and the story is forgotten and action becomes way too over the top for a Bond movie. It feels like a video game or over produced action movie. There's too much of what we don't want in a Bond movie. Entertaining but I really do and have always never had anything great to say except for Brosnan gives another grand performance and the regulars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Dangerman1973Nov 24, 2012
This has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces andThis has to be the absolutely WORST Bond film in all of its' 50 year franchise! Too much emphasis on stunts, gadgets, and overwhelmingly BAD CGI. That CGI tsunami surf scene made m cringe to the point of human tolerance. And ice palaces and invisible cars? UGH! It's a real... REAL shame the Piece Brosnan left the Bond series on this abomination of a movie! If it weren't for Daniel Craig saving the franchise from total oblivion four years later, I've would have left the series permanently! Since I'm a sad owner of the Blu-ray from the Bond 50 set, I'll try my best to ignore it. Message to all Bond fans: avoid this at ALL COSTS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DoctorSpacemanJul 5, 2012
It's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she'sIt's the greatest Christmas movie of all time. And it's worth watching just to hear Pierce Brosnan try to say "mojito" and for Halle Berry's ridiculous one liners (for example: "Who sent you?" "Yo mamma. And she wanted me to tell you she's very disappointed!") Other than that, it's a ridiculous movie with an absurd plot and more bad CGI than has a right to exist. But watch it on Christmas Eve, right before "It's a Wonderful Life"- it's a great tradition! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
marwood87May 23, 2012
Starts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is theStarts of promising, but as the film goes on, you want it to end, the questionable special effects when bond is sufing, and hanging off a cliff are terrible, the bond villan is by far the worst villan ever, the last 1/3 of the film is the worst minutes of James Bond ever, just so bad, and I love James Bond, and have for many many years but most of this film is unforgivable, from having Madonna in it for her self promotion to all the dodgy special effects, to the worst Bond villan - just an unplesant experience! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Commander_JimDec 14, 2011
The worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that areThe worst Bond film of them all. There really is no excuse for such a poor excuse of a film from such talented people with so much money to spend. An incoherent story, a script that seems to be comprised of nothing but bad sex puns that are too low brow for an Austin Powers movie and instead of the famous Bond stunts we get CGI that looked to have been done by the local High School AV club. Just check out Halle Berry's s CGI dive of a cliff, the most unintentionally funny thing Ive seen in a long time. A very, very poor movie. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MartinP.Mar 14, 2008
There is no excuse for a movie to be this bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KrisK.Feb 5, 2008
This movie sucked balls! Bad acting, bad direction, bad special effects. The Batman & Robin of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeAverageFeb 5, 2008
Ow! My eyes! I'm blind! This movie was so bad it blinded me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesCoolFeb 5, 2008
What were they thinking?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AllenT.Feb 5, 2008
This was possibly the worst film I've ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful