Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 15, 1988
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 644 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
333
Mixed:
111
Negative:
200
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
StevenSMar 9, 2007
Just really one of the greatest action movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Feb 9, 2006
This action thriller relies as much on suspense as it does on action. No doubt this will entertain most anyone who watches it. And where else do you get an action film that doubles as a Christmas movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcusL.Jan 5, 2009
The best of the four Die Hards. Bruce Willis as John McClain was great. /the action and humor made this movie great and the best Die Hard.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JamesM.Dec 20, 2005
Absolute garbage. Andrew M., yes, I did enjoy it, when I first saw it when I was 8. Quite a few years down the track, now that I am past puberty, I find to to be trash.
4 of 29 users found this helpful
10
CoryH.Jul 4, 2006
Anyone watching Die Hard expecting philosophical expostion will be horribly dissapointed. Anybody who just wants to have a great time watching a good movie will get there just desserts. I have lost track of how many times I have seen this Anyone watching Die Hard expecting philosophical expostion will be horribly dissapointed. Anybody who just wants to have a great time watching a good movie will get there just desserts. I have lost track of how many times I have seen this flick, and truly don't even remember the first time since it has been so long, but I do know that I get a thrill out of watching it every single time! That is what makes a movie good. And John McTiernan, where o where have you gone? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 12, 2007
Bruce Willis, well done, your humor is flowing with the character and makes everyone in the audience at least smile, laugh, or find it funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CoreyJ.Jul 10, 2008
One of the best action movies ever made. I'm 22 and just saw it for the first time. I'm kind of a movie buff, and I'm interested in all genres. The people who bash this movie seem to be pretentious jackasses. Die Hard is what One of the best action movies ever made. I'm 22 and just saw it for the first time. I'm kind of a movie buff, and I'm interested in all genres. The people who bash this movie seem to be pretentious jackasses. Die Hard is what it is: an action movie. If features ridiculously large explosions, brawls that would leave any real human being dead or permanently crippled, and unbelievable stunts. Everything that's expected from an action movie, but it also has a bit of heart. You care about the characters and the villains are trite but still believable and not completely one-dimensional. Excellent acting. It also gives us one of the best movie lines ever: " Yippee-ki-yay, motherfucker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickB.Nov 23, 2007
One of the best Christmas movies ever made. Also one of the best action flicks ever made. Well thought out plot, with great dialog and character interaction. If you think about it, there hasn't been a better action movie made since. One of the best Christmas movies ever made. Also one of the best action flicks ever made. Well thought out plot, with great dialog and character interaction. If you think about it, there hasn't been a better action movie made since. It's arguable that it's the best ever as I can't think of one that rocks as much as this while staying realistic. I'd be amazed if Hollywood ever tops it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeOct 27, 2010
just a fun film thats over the top and the king of 80s action films . bruce willis comes off as the every man who is **** , funny , and just in over his head but just plods on through this fun action packed adventure .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
An action film at it's peak finesse and a perfect Christmas movie. Action; absolutely awesome, acting; memorable and quotable- need I say more about this film? It is too damn good to give it the highest praise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MasternoFeb 20, 2011
This movie is absolutely awesome. Only idiots will deny it. If you didnt knew when this movie was made then you could have thought it was made in 2000 and up since its so awesome made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheNewSpielbergApr 2, 2011
German terrorists, a skyscraper, Christmas Eve and LA. When these elements are combined, you get Die Hard, a 1988 rip-roaring action epic that shot Bruce Willis to international fame. The plot is delightfully simple; John McClane is a NewGerman terrorists, a skyscraper, Christmas Eve and LA. When these elements are combined, you get Die Hard, a 1988 rip-roaring action epic that shot Bruce Willis to international fame. The plot is delightfully simple; John McClane is a New York cop who is visiting his wife Holly in LA during Christmas Eve. He meets up with her at her business company's Christmas party. All goes well until a few uninvited guests in the form of creepy terrorists seize control of the building and take all 30 of the guests hostage, demanding a ransom. McClane, in the bathroom at their time of arrival, escapes into the unfinished skyscraper armed only with his standard issue 9mm at his disposal. His main objective; find out what the hell is going on. His only help is a flatfooted cop on the ground played by Reginald VelJohnson of Family Matters. Along the way, he is listening to radio messages between the villains with a stolen walkie talkie in an attempt to figure out their nefarious plan. Alan Rickman is great as Hans Gruber, leader of the baddies, and delivers a performance he echoes in the Harry Potter films as Prof. Severus Snape. One of the best movie villains of all time. This festival of explosions, guns and epic battles was directed by John McTiernan, famous already for the original Predator. He delivers a movie that entertains as well as it shocks. In particular, the sequence in which one of the hostages attempts to save his own life by offering McClane to the terrorists. Correctly anticipating a liar, Hans shoots him in the head. The film was one of the biggest box office hits of the 1980s and spawned three sequels throughout the 1990s and 2000s, firmly placing John McClane as an action hero alongside the Terminator and Rambo. Also, it is the best Christmas movie ever made. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonApr 12, 2014
When off-duty New York City Police officer John McClane (Willis) finds himself trapped inside an LA skyscraper by a group of highly organized criminals he mounts a one man war to stop them and save the hostages being held captive, hostagesWhen off-duty New York City Police officer John McClane (Willis) finds himself trapped inside an LA skyscraper by a group of highly organized criminals he mounts a one man war to stop them and save the hostages being held captive, hostages that include McClane's wife.

I don’t think anyone would disagree that the Die Hard franchise has now been completely run into the ground but this original movie remains one of, if not the, greatest action movie of all time. The action set pieces are superb, the script is fast paced and even darkly comic at times and in Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman) you have one of the best movie bad guys of all time. It’s no coincidence that this made Bruce Willis into a true movie star.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMaximalistApr 10, 2013
This is the perfect action movie. Bruce Willis is the witty action hero every movie wishes it had and Alan Rickman the classy badass villain every movie wishes it had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
Director John McTiernan's "Die Hard" is one of those original one-man macho action movies that have brainless fun and a surprisingly deep character depth. It certainly is a masterpiece.
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Dec 14, 2011
There is a reason that Die Hard is a classic and that's because it is just so very entertaining. It has a good story, a claustrophobic setting, a dynamic lead, wonderful villain and action that holds up even now, 23 years after its initialThere is a reason that Die Hard is a classic and that's because it is just so very entertaining. It has a good story, a claustrophobic setting, a dynamic lead, wonderful villain and action that holds up even now, 23 years after its initial release.
Sure it's a man's film but it doesn't try to be anything other than that. It does its job and in the process creates one of the best movie villains of all time. Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman) is a terrific antagonist with everything from his demeanour to his delivery being spot on. He plays well off of Bonnie Bedelia who is great as the strong female presence of the film. Bruce Willis takes his place as one of the best action stars of this generation, taking the reigns from the likes of Stallone and Van Damme. It's a great movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SachiNov 20, 2011
Die Hard is flat-out amazing, it is a great action movie that is nice for the holidays. The plot is great and Bruce Willis' acting is hands-down amazing along with the antogonists' acting, this creates for an intense and gripping movie. TheDie Hard is flat-out amazing, it is a great action movie that is nice for the holidays. The plot is great and Bruce Willis' acting is hands-down amazing along with the antogonists' acting, this creates for an intense and gripping movie. The dialogue is all great and I kept wanting to know what would happen next as it is that intense. The violence and action is well-played out and very entertaining, it is a great watch. The flaws are that the story sometimes slows down and this can be annoying but this happens rarely and is uncommon. Overall "Die Hard" is a great movie that action junkies must watch as well as a great entertainment fix for anyone that watches it. Breakdown for "Die Hard": Presentation: 9.2, Plot: 9.0, Acting: 9.5, Dialogue: 8.7, Lasting Appeal: 9.2, Verdict: 9.1 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AllAroundGamerDec 25, 2012
This movie is great. Bruce Willis plays an amazing character in this one. He's very witty and funny. There are so many ups to this movie. I don't want to spoil it so I will just say get the DVD and watch it pronto. I am now going to watch theThis movie is great. Bruce Willis plays an amazing character in this one. He's very witty and funny. There are so many ups to this movie. I don't want to spoil it so I will just say get the DVD and watch it pronto. I am now going to watch the rest of the films in the series and waiting for the newest installment which comes out next year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eTurkeyJul 25, 2012
Many critics have noted over the years that 'Die Hard' is one of the greatest action movies of all time. I would be partial to that sentiment to a certain degree. It isn't one of the best films ever made but it is top of its class in itsMany critics have noted over the years that 'Die Hard' is one of the greatest action movies of all time. I would be partial to that sentiment to a certain degree. It isn't one of the best films ever made but it is top of its class in its respective genre, which is good enough for me. Bruce Willis is a terrific hero but It's Hans Gruber (played by Alan Rickman) who is the standout character of the flick. He's simply everything you ever look for in an evil villain - and the accent only helps. If you're looking for a fantastic popcorn feature to enjoy then look no further. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Ven-WedeFeb 28, 2012
In spirit, this is the simple story of a man who saves Christmas; a kind of Santa Claus Conquers the Martians scenario, in which the greedy German terrorists are defeated by the noble and just bullets of Bruce Willis' MP5 - delivering theIn spirit, this is the simple story of a man who saves Christmas; a kind of Santa Claus Conquers the Martians scenario, in which the greedy German terrorists are defeated by the noble and just bullets of Bruce Willis' MP5 - delivering the meaning of sharing and caring right into their heads. Of course, trying to define Die Hard as nothing more than a hollow-day (!) movie would be doing it a great disservice. The characterisation of both McLane and Gruber (or Grinch - a coincidence? You decide) is done superbly by their respective actors. They draw you in with their personalities so well, that you find yourself cheering both of them on, just to see them continue to snap at each other. It's like a bizarro buddy-cop routine that took the 'good cop, bad cop' play a little too seriously. It's not incidental that the characters themselves often refer to cowboys and Westerns - this is a veritable wild-west duel, taken at a number of vertical paces rather than a standard back-to-back reflex test. That being said, however, some of the best moments are when McLane is just talking to himself, cracking wise while in the middle of a seemingly impossible situation. You don't have to convince anyone that you're a badass when you've just jumped off an exploding rooftop, Roy. You could try and make a case for the ending being cheesy and unnecessarily joyous, or that there are many implausible moments, but that would just be ill-spirited pedantry. This is action at its finest, and you better take what Mr. McTiernan gives you. There's no CGI or giant robots flying around - just good old-fashioned action, and it quickly becomes very obvious that films these days are just plain old doing it wrong. So sit back and plug in for two hours; you'll be yippie-kai-yaying in no time. Written for: www.webbinghaus.tumblr.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobDec 7, 2012
How can you not like Die Hard? As I said for First Blood, It's one of the best action movies of all time and is a must watch for all action film fans.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
The ultimate Bruce Willis action-flick straight out of the 1980s. Die Hard is no doubt a roller coaster of thrills, but it is all a bit familiar. Nevertheless, Alan Rickman's villainous portrayal will long be remembered.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is great. The villian is great, and Bruce Willis is awesome. The story is really good, and the score is really good. The action sequences are great. This is such a great, intense, actionFirst off, I would give this a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is great. The villian is great, and Bruce Willis is awesome. The story is really good, and the score is really good. The action sequences are great. This is such a great, intense, action movie. Overall, this is a great action movie. It's really good. You should go see it. Highly recommended. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DinozzoJun 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It may look like a stupid action movie to judgmental snobs, but if you payed attention and/or read the book you would be see the depth of this movie, from John doing quick scan of all the empty floors as he's escaping from the terrorists at the beginning of the movie, to the genuine look of horror in Alan Rickman's eyes as he falls. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleMar 2, 2016
Many people love Die Hard. I, however, am not one of those people. Packed to the brim with bad ideology (anti-European and sexist) and action genre cliches, Die Hard is boring, derivative, and just generally predictable. Bruce Willis isMany people love Die Hard. I, however, am not one of those people. Packed to the brim with bad ideology (anti-European and sexist) and action genre cliches, Die Hard is boring, derivative, and just generally predictable. Bruce Willis is entertaining in the lead role, but beat-for-beat, I have seen this movie before many many times and that is excluding releases since 1988. The direction from John McTiernan is uninspired and he is practically invisible while his movie falls apart thanks to unrealistic sequences and being overlong. Honestly, this whole movie is pretty damn unrealistic. That being said, there are positives. Willis is charming, Alan Rickman is phenomenal, and the action is appropriately thrilling and largely well-directed. Those positives are enough for me to say Die Hard is middle of the road, but I do not really understand the acclaim. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
johnmcclaneJan 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is truly an piece of cinema. Bruce Willis was excellent as the perfect NYPD detective John McClane. That Hans Gruber got what was coming for him. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorFeb 25, 2015
Em 1988 um ano após o excelente filme policial Máquina Mortífera,Era criado mais um excelente filme e franquia policial com ótimas sequências.
Duro De Matar um suspense de ação,Arrasador cheio de ação e com excelentes atuações do até então
Em 1988 um ano após o excelente filme policial Máquina Mortífera,Era criado mais um excelente filme e franquia policial com ótimas sequências.
Duro De Matar um suspense de ação,Arrasador cheio de ação e com excelentes atuações do até então novato Bruce Willis,Alan Rickman incrível como o antagonista Hans Gruber,Reginald VelJohnson como Al Power,e Bonnie Bedelia como Holly GeNerro.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LaMagiadeVirueAug 16, 2013
La mejor película de acción de la historia. No hay mucho mas para decir, solamente que es una sinfonía de Bethoven la película. Que buen rato pasé mirándola por primera vez, así que decidí verla de nuevo y me puso los pelos de punta con losLa mejor película de acción de la historia. No hay mucho mas para decir, solamente que es una sinfonía de Bethoven la película. Que buen rato pasé mirándola por primera vez, así que decidí verla de nuevo y me puso los pelos de punta con los tiros. Un lujo. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
dyshpoJul 30, 2013
Best movie of the hostage action shooter movie cool fast hitting scope and range u actually feel the chemistry between the characters and cast not like some recant bull
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Die Hard has to be one of the greatest Christmas movies of all time the fact that its also a brilliant action film makes it absolutely amazing. Of course this is the best Die Hard in the franchise and after you watch the newest one it makesDie Hard has to be one of the greatest Christmas movies of all time the fact that its also a brilliant action film makes it absolutely amazing. Of course this is the best Die Hard in the franchise and after you watch the newest one it makes you love this movie even more but also sad to see how the franchise dwindled. Bruce Willis and Alan Rickman are phenomenal together they brought both of their characters to life with their amazing acting to a point where you want to root for both of them to win. Bruce Willis as John McClane was so enjoyable because of how real the character felt rather then a normal super hero main character that you dont care for they made him just a regular guy so that you connect more with him then you would with a emotionless main guy out for blood like many movies in this genre. Die Hard was Alan Rickman's first movie and what an impression he made with his slick acting as the main villain Hans Gruber a guy you start to love throughout because of how cold and calculating he is. He later went on to be in many high profile movies and is now one of my favorite actors.

Overall i give it a solid 10 This is for sure the best Christmas action movie of all time i dont care what anyone says. I watched it when i was young and i plan to watch it when im old no doubt about that.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews