Fox Family Films | Release Date: October 6, 2000
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
7
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TKFeb 2, 2010
The movie is pretty lame; but I'm voting for the series really. It's amazing. Can't choose between it and Pokémon. The critics that voted are idiots. Bet they top rate all that pixar nonsense as well. Lame a**s American The movie is pretty lame; but I'm voting for the series really. It's amazing. Can't choose between it and Pokémon. The critics that voted are idiots. Bet they top rate all that pixar nonsense as well. Lame a**s American animation films should go die. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
8
EmanuelD.May 20, 2006
I think "digimon the movie" is one of the bests movies i have never saw, because there are cool digimons like: diaboromon and rapidmon (gold version) but the other digimon are cool too. Congratulations to japanish people, they know do very I think "digimon the movie" is one of the bests movies i have never saw, because there are cool digimons like: diaboromon and rapidmon (gold version) but the other digimon are cool too. Congratulations to japanish people, they know do very well the animes. Bye bye. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
LoganSMay 23, 2009
Yeah, the first and last third of the movie were not very good, but the part on the internet was so epic and awesome, that even now, at 17, I still get goosebumps whenever I see it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
TaiY.Apr 14, 2001
This movie is great; people think its for little kids but they are wrong. It has alot of violence and its for kids 11 and over, any younger and patents should watch the movie with them. But to watch it you should be eleven because I know This movie is great; people think its for little kids but they are wrong. It has alot of violence and its for kids 11 and over, any younger and patents should watch the movie with them. But to watch it you should be eleven because I know people and they are 18 and they like it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AngleJun 29, 2002
I love very cool! If you watch the series it helps to understand.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NeoS.Oct 7, 2003
If you arent into the genre then you arent going to like it (duh!) But I happen to be and i enjoyed the movie. The hell with what the rest of you people say.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EddyF.Feb 21, 2006
Oustanding. But you will only understand it if you watch digimon. I can certainly see why the mivie would be terrible if you hadn't seen digmon before; it merges the first season of episodes to the second.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KirstenS.Apr 29, 2001
I really loved the movie. I thought it was funny and action-packed all at the same time. I'm a major digimon fan, and i think your never to old to like cartoons. Old people can get lost in childeren's worlds.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JenH.Jun 6, 2001
I would give it an 11, all of your "important people" don't count!! You say it's brainless and sickly animated and the voicework is terrible and even that only a six year old could understand... well I've got news for you, the I would give it an 11, all of your "important people" don't count!! You say it's brainless and sickly animated and the voicework is terrible and even that only a six year old could understand... well I've got news for you, the story line is very choppy because the American editors chopped it up into little 40 minute pieces... but that's not the problem, the problem is that you don't understand because you only review movies, you, most likely, do not follow the television PROGRAM (yes it IS on TV) and therefore you don't understand the character structure... the voice work is VERY good and the jokes are hilariously funny, the "mindless violence" is for the older children (hence it's PG rating probably of which you rated it!!) I enjoy watching Digimon, and although I am (and personally know people who are) a tad too 'old' to be watching a childrens show, i'm going to have to disagree, it's what is in your heart, I know Mothers who like this show because unlike your "Pokemon Wonder" Digimon has a story line and it doesn't revolve stricktly on repetitiveness (unlike Pokemon) Digimon WAS created before Pokemon so maybe next time, before you poorly rate great movies, you should check a little on the background. Thanx. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Jul 19, 2001
I have to disagree with everyone that gave this a low mark. This movie has everything for a great movie such as action, comedy and drama. I loved this movie and so did my best friend Jones we both had a great time watching this. Although I I have to disagree with everyone that gave this a low mark. This movie has everything for a great movie such as action, comedy and drama. I loved this movie and so did my best friend Jones we both had a great time watching this. Although I don't think the producers put that much work into it. "Pokemon the Movie" looks like there was lots of time put in it, but for Digmon there was not. But I don't care. I love Digmon although I'm 12 turning 13 in October, but when I get down to it this movie rocks... my friends Jones and Bennie both loved it. We really like when Augimon turns into Greymon cause that is cool. I don't really have that many friends, but watching this movie makes me feel like I do. So I say watch this movie. By the way, I also think Dark Greymon is the strongest and could take everyone on except for Mew from Pokemon cause Mew is too strong. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Jul 19, 2001
I have to disagree with everyone that gave this a low mark. This movie has everything for a great movie such as action, comedy and drama. I loved this movie and so did my best friend Jones we both had a great time watching this. Although I I have to disagree with everyone that gave this a low mark. This movie has everything for a great movie such as action, comedy and drama. I loved this movie and so did my best friend Jones we both had a great time watching this. Although I don't think the producers put that much work into it. "Pokemon the Movie" looks like there was lots of time put in it, but for Digmon there was not. But I don't care. I love Digmon although I'm 12 turning 13 in October, but when I get down to it this movie rocks... my friends Jones and Bennie both loved it. We really like when Augimon turns into Greymon cause that is cool. I don't really have that many friends, but watching this movie makes me feel like I do. So I say watch this movie. By the way, I also think Dark Greymon is the strongest and could take everyone on except for Mew from Pokemon cause Mew is too strong. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ZachE.Dec 30, 2002
It really gave me a different view on life. Now I am not a slob, but part of a great group of sevenn kids. I have also seen every episode that has been made, including the Japenese series 4. Thanks!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
matthewB.Jul 17, 2005
It's amazing! I have never seen a digimon movie so incredible as that.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
catherinea.Jul 5, 2005
It was Awsome!!!! I'll give it a 1000.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MohdSyafiqI.Sep 26, 2003
So good.The best of the best ind the world.That is not Digimon The MovieII...ha, cam'na?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Mar 15, 2006
This movie is the best movie i never seen for kids movie and it look so cool i wish i was in it so i could be in the action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardD.Nov 19, 2002
Hey if you havent seen the series dont bother to see this movie either, however i've seen the series and this movie adds alot of answers to things in the series. And skip the "Digimon is a childrens anime" hey so is Sailor Moon to and Hey if you havent seen the series dont bother to see this movie either, however i've seen the series and this movie adds alot of answers to things in the series. And skip the "Digimon is a childrens anime" hey so is Sailor Moon to and poke mon and they are really popular! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DWP102589Nov 19, 2004
This film is NOT a "spinoff" of Pokemon. Digimon in fact came first and their nothing alike. Just understand that you need to be a fan of the series to get it. But still, I'll admit it sort off deserved some bad reviews because it was 4 This film is NOT a "spinoff" of Pokemon. Digimon in fact came first and their nothing alike. Just understand that you need to be a fan of the series to get it. But still, I'll admit it sort off deserved some bad reviews because it was 4 perfect Japan films cropped badly together and cut by greedy, impulse film wreckers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Mar 3, 2009
How can this movie be rated by ADULTS? this is a kids movie and it should be rated by kids. When I was a kid, I loved this movie to death. and the nostalgia keeps me loving it. Seriously, if adults are rating kids movies, then what's the point?
6 of 7 users found this helpful
10
Jake1177Apr 14, 2012
This is quite possibly the greatest movie ever made.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
RyanB.Mar 9, 2004
If you know the source material this film is from; and you know how it was assembled for the american audience (this film was actually 4 shorter films "cleverly" edited together) and treat it as such, it's passable entertainment. Some If you know the source material this film is from; and you know how it was assembled for the american audience (this film was actually 4 shorter films "cleverly" edited together) and treat it as such, it's passable entertainment. Some story aspects could be better, and the whole thing does come off as slightly confusing, the animation style is fresh and breathes a different sort of life into the Digimon universe. Still, unless you're a hardcore fan, this deserves only a rental. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RyanT.Jan 15, 2005
As per before, only fans of the series can get it. The original Japanese movies actually befitted the series well - but, this is a case where blending the first three movies together proved unsuccesful. Had each movie been released As per before, only fans of the series can get it. The original Japanese movies actually befitted the series well - but, this is a case where blending the first three movies together proved unsuccesful. Had each movie been released individually as a TV special or such, it might have been better recieved. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
"Digimon: The Movie" is nothing outstanding. It's merely a serviceable animated film that should be entertaining enough to please fans of the source content. It's got some charm, some action, and some pretty solid characters. It won't break"Digimon: The Movie" is nothing outstanding. It's merely a serviceable animated film that should be entertaining enough to please fans of the source content. It's got some charm, some action, and some pretty solid characters. It won't break any records or set any new landmarks, but it's a solid diversion if you enjoy the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews