Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 11, 2013
    100
    One of the rare films that directly responds to and expresses modern anxieties, this debut feature from director Henry Alex Rubin interweaves the stories of three sets of people, whose lives are upended through various bad things that happen over the Internet -- including bullying and identity theft. A fascinating and riveting thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 12, 2013
    75
    Disconnect is by turns frustrating and fascinating.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Disconnect is naturally gripping. Using unforgiving closeups, Rubin pokes into unexpected corners— not least the different ways in which men and women respond to calamity — and never forces his story's social-media scares to improbable heights.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 11, 2013
    63
    Disconnect is far from a bad movie. It’s just better at melodrama than drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 18, 2013
    63
    If this strikes you as vaguely familiar, you’re right: Disconnect is a computer “Crash.”
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Alas, the flick can't resist overheating. Paradoxically, when people finally do jump in their cars, curl their fists and grab their guns, we wish they'd retreat to the safety of their monitors.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Apr 7, 2013
    25
    Fails not so much because of its occasional self-seriousness or didacticism than it does from a scattered plot that makes the story's overriding theme or message difficult to grasp.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 7, 2013
    10
    This movie was brilliant. The concept was imaginative and thoughtful and the acting wonderful. I've rarely cared about characters so much. It's the best movie I've seen this year. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    I looooved this. Great cast. I liked the overlap of the different story lines. A friend told me about it. I knew nothing about it and was pleasantly surprised. Collapse
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    With great performances and a story that not only works as a lesson about the technological world we live in, but also works as a riveting piece of film making. This is one of my favorite films of the year so far. A Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    Anybody remember the 2010 movie 'Trust'? Well, this is another version consisting of many different and connected stories. Very nicely written script about cyber crimes. This kind of movie is much needed in the present world because the nuisance growing rapidly everywhere. You would get many similar movies to this like 'Identity Thief' etc., but not serious as the reality. So this movie is one of the kind that the modern world had seen with the concept of existing online culture.

    How the common people are affected by the identity theft, cyber bully and illegal activity is what the movie revolves. A teenage loner was tormented because of misused online friendship that put his life on a stake. A hard working couple fall in a deep sorrow state after their savings were snatched by a hacker. A local tv journalist gives a career best news report, but that severely hurts her source. All these incidents are interconnected in some way, but how is the remaining.

    The story also states the father's and husband's failed responsibility in their respective families. An orphan who has to take an alternative route to survive the odds, which is against the law. Very few scenes were intense, instead call it an intense I would say the reality of lifestyle. All these tales were packed with sufficient quantity of melodramas. You would enjoy whole movie, but the ending scene will put you on your seat's edge. Purely the 21st century's movie and a must see by who familiar with the world of internet.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    I really liked this movie! it was really interesting I liked the stories and how they were putted together the acting was great especially bateman I recommend it to all. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Disconnect tell 3 stories of people trying to cope with life all of which turn to the internet. Really interesting and new concept the three stories are all very different from each other all reaching to different problems from cyber bullying to internet fraud, definately worth watching Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    This Movie really makes you think about all the things that happens to people everyday, and how all kinds of problems can appear by just doing click on something... A Thriller! Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers