New Yorker Films | Release Date: March 12, 2004
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 23 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
3
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Andys_ReviewsJul 21, 2013
I first have to say that it is beautifully shot with some truly excellent cinematography. The sound design is quite interesting too, with sounds that would normally be pushed right to the back taking centre stage as the visuals do their work.I first have to say that it is beautifully shot with some truly excellent cinematography. The sound design is quite interesting too, with sounds that would normally be pushed right to the back taking centre stage as the visuals do their work. I thought the performances of the two main characters were excellent but I felt it lacked a bit of direction. The narrative tended to drift along without really finding anything of any substance to bring it to life. Still, I felt it was a worthy effort and worth a look.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 6.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
theseparatorDec 30, 2013
A simple story from Turkish Director Nuri Bilge Ceylon: a man tries to cope with his life in the dismal conditions of an Istanbul winter. He's successful, but unhappy. Beautifully shot. Simplistic in story. Great performances by the cast. AA simple story from Turkish Director Nuri Bilge Ceylon: a man tries to cope with his life in the dismal conditions of an Istanbul winter. He's successful, but unhappy. Beautifully shot. Simplistic in story. Great performances by the cast. A must see for any Ceylon fan, or fan of foreign film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
adhibanFeb 17, 2012
When I watch the scenes where both lead roles did the same thing, It reminds me 'life is a cycle' and make me feel like 'this movie is touching the core of reality'. Entire cast is awesome and the theme is vivid. I bet, you will give aWhen I watch the scenes where both lead roles did the same thing, It reminds me 'life is a cycle' and make me feel like 'this movie is touching the core of reality'. Entire cast is awesome and the theme is vivid. I bet, you will give a honorable position in your mind to the director after watching this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
AndyR.Apr 1, 2005
I don't get it. I really don't. How can anyone rate this as nearly perfect? Great shots, yes. But does that equal a good/perfect movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DersinS.Sep 10, 2004
Nearly perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KenLApr 11, 2005
Long, slow, dull and and self-indulgent. Ceylan breaks the cardinal rule of film-makers...he shows boredom by boring his audience. zzzzzz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceH.May 3, 2005
Beautiful and haunting study of isolation and loneliness by a soon-to-be-master filmmaker. The way Ceylan shoots Emin Toprak's adventures around Istanbul (following women, sitting next to one on the train, etc.) is a beautiful and truly Beautiful and haunting study of isolation and loneliness by a soon-to-be-master filmmaker. The way Ceylan shoots Emin Toprak's adventures around Istanbul (following women, sitting next to one on the train, etc.) is a beautiful and truly real moment of what loneliness feels like. Ceylan gets to the real core and heart of his characters as welll as feelings. In this sense, he is closest to directors like Tsai Ming-Liang and Hou Hsiao-hsien in style and technique than the much-compared Tarkvosky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HalBJul 5, 2005
Happened across this in the video store. Intrigued by the cover reviews, decided to check it out. Starts very slowly, but after a while it dawned on me that the director was painting a wonderful, beautiful, sad canvas... against the backdrop Happened across this in the video store. Intrigued by the cover reviews, decided to check it out. Starts very slowly, but after a while it dawned on me that the director was painting a wonderful, beautiful, sad canvas... against the backdrop of the legendary city of Instanbul, hauntingly gorgeous in its wintry cloak. The photography and the performances are fantastic. A truly amazing film for those patient enough to be led through it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewB.Oct 23, 2004
The slowest dullest movie in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SKlattOct 23, 2004
A movie of non-events is putting it mildly. It's been a long time since I've looked at my watch so many times during a movie. I considered leaving, but thought that maybe the depression would turn into something uplifting if I A movie of non-events is putting it mildly. It's been a long time since I've looked at my watch so many times during a movie. I considered leaving, but thought that maybe the depression would turn into something uplifting if I stayed long enough. It didn't. The elderly Turkish gentleman next to me clapped when the final credits appeared - he told me it was because the movie was over. The only reason I can give it a 6 is because the cinematography was excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Mar 23, 2005
Yep, the slowest, dullest movie in history for slow and dull people. Otherwise, if you've got an ouce of culture in you, and an interest in some of the bigger questions in life, then, well you might even enjoy this film a little. Maybe Yep, the slowest, dullest movie in history for slow and dull people. Otherwise, if you've got an ouce of culture in you, and an interest in some of the bigger questions in life, then, well you might even enjoy this film a little. Maybe even get a little bit ecstatic about it. And I know that I am not alone in this. HA! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianC.Mar 25, 2005
Hauntingly beautiful and anchingly painful. Cinema at its best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanC.Nov 17, 2005
Beautiful and highly emotionally effective in parts, but the price to be paid is too high. Long stretches of no dialogue, no action, nothing but beautiful visuals or ponderously serious scenes of a man walking silently across a field.A film Beautiful and highly emotionally effective in parts, but the price to be paid is too high. Long stretches of no dialogue, no action, nothing but beautiful visuals or ponderously serious scenes of a man walking silently across a field.A film doesn't have to be so slow and take itself so seriously to be great or to say something important about life. At some point, the intentionally glacial pace becomes self-indulgent on the director's part. Yet somewhere within this flawed framework is a moving story with genuine power to captivate the viewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful