User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1268 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. criticsR
    Sep 23, 2009
    4
    Interesting idea. Bad execution. Gratuitous yuck moments. Super big storyline holes. Hoping for a good sci-fi film and it wasn't even close.
  2. DavidS.
    Aug 19, 2009
    1
    I could not wait for this to get over. I kept telling my wife maybe it will get better in a minute. She was about to loose her popcorn because of all the hand held camera scenes. After all the hype and the rave reviews we were very disappointed. I heard several people leaving the theater voicing the same.
  3. BeccaB
    Aug 23, 2009
    4
    I liked this movie while I watched it, but when I stepped out of the theater, I realized how stupid it is. Cat food being like a drug to the aliens? The fact that the aliens look like shrimp/lobster? Laughable! Let's not forget the fact that these shrimp ("prawns") communicate with humans easily - us humans know their language! Weird? Yeah. Ok the movie has a "message" but I I liked this movie while I watched it, but when I stepped out of the theater, I realized how stupid it is. Cat food being like a drug to the aliens? The fact that the aliens look like shrimp/lobster? Laughable! Let's not forget the fact that these shrimp ("prawns") communicate with humans easily - us humans know their language! Weird? Yeah. Ok the movie has a "message" but I don't think we needed a movie to tell us that racism/unequality is bad. Expand
  4. EricT
    Aug 24, 2009
    0
    Yet another pathetic allegory for the New World Order salivating to put humans in giant concentration camps after they pull the big false flag trigger to the next world war. Eat me, Hollywood propaganda turd movies.
  5. JoshC.
    Sep 3, 2009
    0
    How in craps name did this get any good ratings...it is the worst movie i've ever seen. I'd rather get kicked in the nuts three times before seeing this thriller again...
  6. retropump
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    I don't usually bother to review movies, but this one was soooo bad I felt compelled to have my say. I went with my partner to see it, and after 5 minutes my partner actually said to me "are you ready to leave yet"?? I said, "yes, but it got such good reviews maybe we should stick with it and see if it gets better". Boy was I in the dog box. The so-called "allegorical social I don't usually bother to review movies, but this one was soooo bad I felt compelled to have my say. I went with my partner to see it, and after 5 minutes my partner actually said to me "are you ready to leave yet"?? I said, "yes, but it got such good reviews maybe we should stick with it and see if it gets better". Boy was I in the dog box. The so-called "allegorical social commentary" was so blatant and poorly done that a 3 year old could have got it. The acting appeared to be off-the-cuff, with f**k thrown in whenever the script faltered, the attempt at amateur doco film making was so bad that it was worse than most amateur docos (and left us both feeling nauseous with the jumping swaying camera angles). The humor was there, sure, but it wasn't worth more than a slight smile to think, for instance, of aliens being addicted to cat food (including the can). The humor was neither subtle nor very funny. The action scenes were typical of all action movies, and the special effects were not anything new in this age of digital special effects offerings. The plot was incohesive and pretty much pointless with zero character development. The movie brings nothing new to cinema, just a mismashed rehash of the same old same old with plenty of gore thrown in. Expand
  7. EmmyG
    Jan 9, 2010
    1
    Worst. Movie. Ever. Seriously?!? From the first moment this movie was just LAME and beyond stupid! Oooh big lobsters arrive (why?!) and are put into a concentration camp that in reality should have been BOMBED from arrival. My husband (sci-fi, war movie superhero freak) said, and I quote " I would have rather watched Barbie Princess than that shit!" Luckily we didn't waste an entire Worst. Movie. Ever. Seriously?!? From the first moment this movie was just LAME and beyond stupid! Oooh big lobsters arrive (why?!) and are put into a concentration camp that in reality should have been BOMBED from arrival. My husband (sci-fi, war movie superhero freak) said, and I quote " I would have rather watched Barbie Princess than that shit!" Luckily we didn't waste an entire 2 hours of our lives on this movie... we fast forwarded and then after turning it off read the entire plot online and realized we REALLY weren't missing anything! How did this movie ever gain any popularity? I want to vomit now. Expand
  8. ToddO.
    Dec 22, 2009
    0
    If there was a lower score than ZERO, i owuld have gave it that. This might be the WORST movie I have ever seen, and I saw Battlefield Earth!! If I saw this in the Theatre, I would have walked out. The entire movie makes zero sense.......How did the lead learn how to understand crawfish language? The crawfish leaves by himself? .. Utterly stupid and I will never have those 2 hours back in If there was a lower score than ZERO, i owuld have gave it that. This might be the WORST movie I have ever seen, and I saw Battlefield Earth!! If I saw this in the Theatre, I would have walked out. The entire movie makes zero sense.......How did the lead learn how to understand crawfish language? The crawfish leaves by himself? .. Utterly stupid and I will never have those 2 hours back in my life. Expand
  9. LJH
    Oct 22, 2009
    2
    This isn't a film, it's a social commentary. There are a lot of holes in the storyline because it loses all sense of plot by getting too wrapped up in portraying apartheid. For example, how can the two species understand each other so perfectly when neither one can speak the others language? How does the main human character know how to use alien technology that he hasn't This isn't a film, it's a social commentary. There are a lot of holes in the storyline because it loses all sense of plot by getting too wrapped up in portraying apartheid. For example, how can the two species understand each other so perfectly when neither one can speak the others language? How does the main human character know how to use alien technology that he hasn't seen before? Why is the alien fuel only found on Earth and if the aliens are so desperate to get home why is only one of them looking for it? All in all this is a fairly terrible film, I expected big things from Peter Jackson after Lord Of The Rings but after looking at some of his other work it seems like he can't make a decent film without guidelines from a book. Very disappointing. Expand
  10. BarbaraW
    Dec 28, 2009
    1
    This movie was actually painful to watch. It is a sci-fi slow moving, slow paced boring piece. Do not waste your time. Nothing to see or experience here, we almost shut it off several times, but thought, there must be something here. There is not.
  11. ThePassingLane
    Aug 16, 2009
    3
    The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the lead, and even he was border-line unsympathetic because he was such an obvious moron. The main mercenary was somehow unkillable, and therefore highly The opening montage of talking head interviews was a waste of time, and a wasted opportunity. The inconsistency of the aliens' abilities, or lack thereof, was frustrating. The only character that was not a cardboard cut-out was the lead, and even he was border-line unsympathetic because he was such an obvious moron. The main mercenary was somehow unkillable, and therefore highly distracting as the film went to such pains to paint a "real" picture. And I agree that the film is not very original. Throughout D9 I could not stop thinking about how much better Cronenberg's The Fly and Spielberg's E.T. are, as narratives and cinema. Ultimately, this is another film, in an unfortunately growing number of films, that is not cinema, but rather feature length CGI exercise. The coolest thing about the movie was the spaceship looming over the city. Expand
  12. GregT
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

    If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at what alien contact might look like, well, you're better off just watching the short film (Alive in Joburg) and stopping there. As part of the
    If you want to see the trigger happy military jocks obliterated in blood explosions with the Laser Gun 9000 and a walking mech, this movie is for you.

    If you wanted an intelligent look at race relations or a new, more humanistic look at what alien contact might look like, well, you're better off just watching the short film (Alive in Joburg) and stopping there.

    As part of the second crowd, I was sorely disappointed to find that this film is essentially the premise of the short, which was well made, if not necessary enlightening, filled in with Hollywood nonsense to the point of incomprehension. The believable and intriguing sets of the original are discarded for the mind-numbing adrenaline fest of another cliche action movie.

    But judging by these reviews and the film's $35 million weekend start, I'm in the minority.
    Expand
  13. KCJ.
    Aug 17, 2009
    2
    First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Expand
  14. AdamK.
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    This is one of the corniest sci fi movies I've ever seen. an advanced race of beings that live in a ghetto and eat cat food like it's crack...c'mon.
  15. Alex
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    Nothing happens at the start, nothing happens at the end, and nothing worthwhile happens in between. The film was not intelligent, insightful, or interesting. The oh-so original message that the pseudo-intellectuals are harping about is the same one we've seen a thousand times: "Humans are more monstrous than the monsters." Are you surprised? Can you wrap your head around that? How Nothing happens at the start, nothing happens at the end, and nothing worthwhile happens in between. The film was not intelligent, insightful, or interesting. The oh-so original message that the pseudo-intellectuals are harping about is the same one we've seen a thousand times: "Humans are more monstrous than the monsters." Are you surprised? Can you wrap your head around that? How about if I repeat myself again... and again? Didn't Peter Jackson already make a movie about this? (King Kong) *Spoiler Alert* Lastly, nothing made sense. Why come to Earth? Why be addicted to cat food? Why be abused by humans if you have crazy-powerful alien weapons and super strength? Why do the humans and aliens understand each others' language? Why not converse in the same language? It takes an alien 20 years to radio the mothership directly overhead to beam him up? Once in the mothership, why fly away? To get help? You could have done that 20 years ago - ya know, instead of landing here and stranding your fellow aliens in a hell-hole. If someone is shooting you - with bullets - from a gun - and you're dying... why not shoot back!? I've saved the best for last: Why does a splash of alien fuel mutate a person into an alien? .Ask yourself that question one more time... then splash yourself with gasoline. These are not "plot holes" these are "plot chasms." They are stupid. The movie is stupid. Before you start with the "no, you're stupid!", let me assure you. I saw the movie. I understood it. It was stupid. No, really, I get it. I got it. Yes, apartheid, yeah, segregation, yeah humanity is evil and the aliens are the good guys. Sure, social commentary, satire, etc. I said "I get it!" That doesn't make it clever or original, and it most certainly does not make it entertaining. Expand
  16. ShaunM.
    Aug 21, 2009
    2
    There is nothing here. Some of my favorite movies of all time include Children of Men, the Matrix, Terminator 2, Demolition Man, and any other sci-fi movies with originality. In fact, they don't even have to be original.. BUT this movie does not have a descent plot and it's originality is spoiled in the execution. Maybe my hopes were too high... I don't know.
  17. MaryM
    Aug 21, 2009
    0
    After the first 5 minutes, all I kept wondering is when it would end. I would have made better use of my money to pay them to stop the movie. An absolute boring, mess. The theater was full at the beginning, but people left and didn't return. I should have followed.
  18. killdarren
    Aug 26, 2009
    0
    So sad, a shred and I do mean a shred of anything new in any film is seen as a great film. Shows how desperate people are for a film to break convention. We're all practically on our knees. Pretty standard fare,boring, not great at all. 1. Aliens come to earth. 2 People scared. 3. Aliens have feelings too. 4. Bang, Bang, Pow, Shoot, Shoot 5. Must understand/kill them. 6. Hero lives So sad, a shred and I do mean a shred of anything new in any film is seen as a great film. Shows how desperate people are for a film to break convention. We're all practically on our knees. Pretty standard fare,boring, not great at all. 1. Aliens come to earth. 2 People scared. 3. Aliens have feelings too. 4. Bang, Bang, Pow, Shoot, Shoot 5. Must understand/kill them. 6. Hero lives 7. End storyline with possibility for sequel. Expand
  19. GregB
    Sep 11, 2009
    2
    Comicbook? Or Headshooter movie. This film is absolute political crap. Notice all the "good" reviews nothing about story, filming, acting, just "it is great", "awesome", "best movie this year" my question is WHY?
  20. TheSwan
    Sep 11, 2009
    2
    Ok, lets be fair, this movie was crap. the alien special effects looked cheesy at the best of times and the main character's dialogue makes it sound as if someone had given him a vague idea of how to use the F word and left him to try it out. Also, the plot was a good idea but executed poorly. It could have been a real thought provoking film about the treatment of different looking Ok, lets be fair, this movie was crap. the alien special effects looked cheesy at the best of times and the main character's dialogue makes it sound as if someone had given him a vague idea of how to use the F word and left him to try it out. Also, the plot was a good idea but executed poorly. It could have been a real thought provoking film about the treatment of different looking creatures (mirroring real life events) and possibly even a cult classic...but thanks to bad execution, shocking main character dialogue, pretty bad action scenes towards the end and the fact that the african smuggler guys in the slum were portrayed as hysterical and crazy. come on, it was stereotyping african tribes as being almost bloodthirsty and superstitious! so...why a rating of 2? well, my mates and i pissed ourselves everytime somebody or something got shot and exploded. they even fired a cow at someone. also, the leader of the slum gang got an hilariously O.T.T death that made me almost cry at the stupidity of it. i actually thought it was a black comedy until i discovered otherwise. Expand
  21. AllenH
    Sep 11, 2009
    1
    The only reason this film got good critic ratings is the political message and unusual premise. Execution was a joke. Actors emoted, rather than acted. Dozens of holes, the fact that everyone could easily understand the alien's "language" only one of them, and the film suffered from the trendy "shaky camera syndrome" (please, learn to create real tension instead of using this tired The only reason this film got good critic ratings is the political message and unusual premise. Execution was a joke. Actors emoted, rather than acted. Dozens of holes, the fact that everyone could easily understand the alien's "language" only one of them, and the film suffered from the trendy "shaky camera syndrome" (please, learn to create real tension instead of using this tired trick). Don't waste your time with this movie unless you like grade B science fiction schlock, because that's all it is. When there is not even one big name actor in a movie, there is usually a reason. Expand
  22. LeighS.
    Sep 1, 2009
    1
    Totally revolting ! used all the typical tricks, racial issues got annoying. Gory and unoriginal. Uncomfortable throughout, leaves you feeling ill.
  23. NicolaD
    Sep 1, 2009
    1
    I have never had the urge to leave a cinema quicker! Totally unbelievable cat food eating prawns who have forgotten how to operate their own guns and ship and all so we can have an annoying commentary on racism! For crying out loud why must we be bombarded with such low energy nonsense! There should be an apology made for the harmful impact this film makes on the consciousness of all humanity!
  24. ToddG
    Sep 12, 2009
    4
    We really need to discourage this insane bouncing camera crap... 5 people walked out of the movie, it was almost unwatchable... The most intense movie had to keep looking away from... Wait for this to come out on a small screen, or prepare to get vertigo. F- for cinematrography B+ for plot ripoff, and A for actual makeup and CGI.
  25. MarvB
    Sep 16, 2009
    4
    Okay for teenagers, not so much for adults that did not grow up playing violent and graphic video games--too many body fluids featured (almost continuously) for my taste.
  26. cb
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    Some here have criticised those who didn't like District 9 on the basis that they didn't 'get' the film. So let's clarify what exactly there is to 'get' from this film. 1) Crazily good CGI 2) One good scene of things being blown to pieces, which is kind of just CGI, too. 3) Oh, and, it's a film about discrimination, yeah, like, set in South Africa, Some here have criticised those who didn't like District 9 on the basis that they didn't 'get' the film. So let's clarify what exactly there is to 'get' from this film. 1) Crazily good CGI 2) One good scene of things being blown to pieces, which is kind of just CGI, too. 3) Oh, and, it's a film about discrimination, yeah, like, set in South Africa, which is ironic, isn't it, because it's, like, a really discriminatory place, and stuff, and they're doing the same here only with aliens, which makes it a satire, apparently. nothing else. really. and that third point about its being a satire/allegory was sarcastic (the film goes about as far as to say "look, the aliens are being discriminated against, like black people", before then throwing in a bunch of wildly stereotypical, cocaine-addled black characters.) and..the second point was kind of the same as the first.. so essentially there was only one thing to 'get' in this film - that someone's really good with CGI, and should probably be using their talents to make better movies. This is the crux of my review, so you can stop reading here and go see the movie if you like, or alternatively save your money and your time and put them to better use. If you have nothing else to do, here are some more specific criticisms I wanted it to move in to something more farcical or darkly comic, as it gave hints that it might do, and it quickly became clear that it might be the only move that Expand
  27. GregH
    Sep 18, 2009
    1
    Wow, what were the critics watching when they gave this movie such high marks. I just walked out of this movie and received a refund, first time I have ever done that. This movie is a mess from beginning to end.
  28. dunk
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    District 9 is an insult to the African empire. And should be banned from showing in any African country. We Africans need to stop the exploitation of our African heritage.
  29. AshK
    Sep 19, 2009
    4
    Only went to see this movie because of all the great reviews on Metacritic. For once they were wrong. Yes the main actor was good but the camera work was hopeless, the plot flawed and ultimately the movie finishes up confused and torn between a Hollywood sci-fi action flick and a politicial drama about racism and prejudice. This movie could have been so much better if they picked a Only went to see this movie because of all the great reviews on Metacritic. For once they were wrong. Yes the main actor was good but the camera work was hopeless, the plot flawed and ultimately the movie finishes up confused and torn between a Hollywood sci-fi action flick and a politicial drama about racism and prejudice. This movie could have been so much better if they picked a direction and went with it. Another thing - Why did they need to use the F word so much? Were the writers really that lacking in skill that they had to plug large gaps in the script with all this swearing? Expand
  30. BatSands
    Sep 20, 2009
    0
    This movie was so bad there's not even anything worth saying about it. I think all these 10s in these ratings shows that movie makers are padding these review sites. I've never entered a review before but had to do it for this movie. This was a putrid movie. I went with four people with pretty varied tastes and every one of us thought it was totally a waste of time and money.
  31. ScratchMe
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    Great Idea! Beaten to a pulp. The lead actor didn't carry his role anywhere, of course the script didn't give him anywhere to take it. I liked the South African setting and political backstory and the social commentary, but that got old pretty quickly, the special effects were stunning, but that cannot save it.
  32. GregS
    Oct 11, 2009
    0
    Have you noticed how this movie's ratings are all 10 or 0? Shall I tell you why? Because the studio marketeers are rigging this board. I ams SICK of being tricked by the viral marketers! The next one upcoming is "Paranormal Activity", which I guarantee will be a complete POS. Same story with Cloverfield - great marketing, TERRIBLE film. PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$$ on Have you noticed how this movie's ratings are all 10 or 0? Shall I tell you why? Because the studio marketeers are rigging this board. I ams SICK of being tricked by the viral marketers! The next one upcoming is "Paranormal Activity", which I guarantee will be a complete POS. Same story with Cloverfield - great marketing, TERRIBLE film. PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$$ on a DVD rental. This movie is a joke, an insult. It is LITERALLY one of the worst flicks ever made. I made the mistake of going to the theatre to see this and - I swear to God - HALF the audience left. It is undiluted PIGSWILL from start to finish. Shame on the marketeers for their low cunning. It's tantamount to theft. But hey, we're all accustomed to being ripped off these days, huh? Sheesh. I despair. Expand
  33. GarethD
    Oct 23, 2009
    2
    Similar to Jackson`s pre-fame films - Bad Taste and Braindead. However, these were pretty much pure comedy and much more enjoyable because of this. This was neither funny or thought provoking.
  34. SV
    Aug 14, 2009
    4
    Honestly. Do not believe the hype. A dull mish mash of a film with an irritating lead and zero suspense and emotion. Very, very disappointing. Grossly overrated. Very good special effects though.
  35. MikeC.
    Aug 15, 2009
    4
    Special affects pretty good. Everything else about the movie was pretty bad.
  36. JoelP.
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    Do people really need to be forced into thinking about how horrible humanity is to itself and others? If this movie really "opened your mind" to the world, then you seriously need to get out more. Aside from shoving this message into our faces repeatedly, there wasn't much in this movie we haven't seen in a million other alien flicks.
  37. KCJ.
    Aug 17, 2009
    2
    First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad First and foremost why in the world would getting splashed in the face with there fuel source cause him to mutate into one of them. Even if i mutated him y would the mutation take their form. yes yes i know its alien but it is unfair to just try an explain everything a away with that simple fact. its like answering every question with by saying god did it. lets just chalk it up to bad writing. It Really did not make any since that the alien was looking for cans of their fuel on earth that means they had to have brought it with them when they left the ship and just discarded it y would they do this!!! Cause i think it would have been a lot easier to just look for it while they were on the ship. Second off there were many things in the movie that was not explained why could the understand each other so well but neither side could speak a single word of the others language. Third Why is there a super high tech ship with aliens that are dumber as dumb as a pack of wild dog and acted as such. even if they were just workers and they had a superior race then why would they give them a ship and deadly guns. Forth how did they become stranded when the only thing keeping the ship from leaving was the fact on one was on it. i mean why would he detach that control room from the bigger ship stranding them there. I just think this story line was just haphazardly thrown together for a quick buck after they canceled HALO and based on this movie im am elated Peter Jackson and the other guy did not make HALO they would have messed it up beyond belief Because when it does come out it will be about the prequel book by Eric Nylund like it always should have been. Expand
  38. RobertL.
    Aug 18, 2009
    4
    I'm actually starting to think that all these "10" votes are spam votes from a small group of people. Honestly, this movie was not good at all. It was claustrophobic, insulting to my intelligence, and video game fodder.
  39. EricM
    Aug 21, 2009
    2
    Awful, cram down your throat moralization. Characters and plot are shallow and cynical. Explosives mere ploy to distract from the gratuitous preaching.
  40. fredU
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Adding to the many tragedies of this film is that I could not rate it less than 0. It was horrible! The lame attempt at a documentary during the first 20 minutes left me on the edge of my seat..as in ready to get up and walk! The plot was pitiful, accented by the sotry line that the main charachter was to be discredited in the media by having interacial sex with Prawns....Oh man, I feel Adding to the many tragedies of this film is that I could not rate it less than 0. It was horrible! The lame attempt at a documentary during the first 20 minutes left me on the edge of my seat..as in ready to get up and walk! The plot was pitiful, accented by the sotry line that the main charachter was to be discredited in the media by having interacial sex with Prawns....Oh man, I feel like writing the director/producer and asking for a refund for my ticket and the waste of 2 hours of my life. Expand
  41. JeanR.
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please could we at least have a change of alien physique in future offerings, because the insect format is so hackneyed). I didn't care about any of One of the worst nights I've spent at the movies in a long time. Any social comment was rapidly submerged in the kind of gore-fest that seems to be obligatory for sci-fi in the Aliens genre, which this one much too obviously was (Please could we at least have a change of alien physique in future offerings, because the insect format is so hackneyed). I didn't care about any of the characters, which is the only thing that could have made me stay to the end, and there wasn't a single shred of genuine humour or lightness throughout. I think of the detail and subtlety of "MInority Report" and "Blade Runner", and wonder why Hollywood has to keep on churning out such lame-brained trash that obviously caters to the lowest end of the market. Peter Jackson, stick to hobbits! Expand
  42. JoeS
    Aug 16, 2009
    3
    This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a side comment to the movie as it transitions to a run of the mill fugitive story with every crappy alien movie cliche out there, despite the lack of This movie starts great with the very original premise of aliens that are being kept on earth against their will with a documentary feel that keeps the watcher feeling totally engrossed in the movie. Then, suddenly the aliens become just a side comment to the movie as it transitions to a run of the mill fugitive story with every crappy alien movie cliche out there, despite the lack of aliens. I was extremely disappointed. Expand
  43. MikeM
    Aug 18, 2009
    2
    My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully unaware of anything, and the filming with hand held cameras with graphic gore really does not go well with popcorn. Just didn't see what was so My son and I went to this movie expecting something awe inspiring, but were more struck by a yech feeling! It's like seeing Alien with the good guys being crewed by Dunder Mifflin. The lead "human" actor comes across as blissfully unaware of anything, and the filming with hand held cameras with graphic gore really does not go well with popcorn. Just didn't see what was so wonderful about this film. Will give it to the director that this was an ambitious idea, but it just did not work for me. Expand
  44. billb
    Aug 30, 2009
    0
    I beg you not to see this movie! I'm 60 years old,love sci fi, I'm smart,he he,worst movie Iv ever seen. I wanted to get up in the theater and say, isn't this movie a joke?" Jerking camera made me seasick.
  45. fabrinneh
    Aug 30, 2009
    0
    I really didn't kike this movie. Usually I like Sci-Fi, but this one not at all. I was also chock by the racial content of this movie. I am sure I am not the only one.
  46. BobH
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    Very bad movie, Spoiler Alert: All the movie comes down to is very bad acting followed by overgrown grasshopers with no reasonable explanation for arrivale or depart, that live in the ghetto and are bullied by humans. And a very annoying main character from which the beggining you hope dies, he doesnt. The only decent thing the movie had was the alien weapons and there is probly less than Very bad movie, Spoiler Alert: All the movie comes down to is very bad acting followed by overgrown grasshopers with no reasonable explanation for arrivale or depart, that live in the ghetto and are bullied by humans. And a very annoying main character from which the beggining you hope dies, he doesnt. The only decent thing the movie had was the alien weapons and there is probly less than 10 kills with them. Do not buy this movie, if you must see it just rent it, even then you are going to wish you had a couple dollars and a few hours of your life back! Expand
  47. LP
    Aug 20, 2009
    0
    I recognized the heavy handed social commentary but this movie was disgusting and boring. Wikus was convincing as the wimp turned hero but the movie has huge plot holes. At the end of the film you still don't know that much about the aliens, In this way the movie disregards the aliens and their culture just like the callous humans of the story. Creatures are the focal point --not the I recognized the heavy handed social commentary but this movie was disgusting and boring. Wikus was convincing as the wimp turned hero but the movie has huge plot holes. At the end of the film you still don't know that much about the aliens, In this way the movie disregards the aliens and their culture just like the callous humans of the story. Creatures are the focal point --not the story. I felt cheated out of my money and my time. Expand
  48. Jack
    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    OMG, how can everybody think this is so amazing? Its AVERAGE! The point of the film is so obvious that it loses any affect. The filming changes from a documentary to an action with no explanation. And the plot holes are frequent and annoying. Whoever rates this 7 above should consider that a good film actually has to have structure, not a cobbled together bunch of action that has no OMG, how can everybody think this is so amazing? Its AVERAGE! The point of the film is so obvious that it loses any affect. The filming changes from a documentary to an action with no explanation. And the plot holes are frequent and annoying. Whoever rates this 7 above should consider that a good film actually has to have structure, not a cobbled together bunch of action that has no relevance to the rest of the film. Expand
  49. DamieanP.
    Sep 10, 2009
    1
    It's 2009 and amazing that movies are completely dull, boring, non-entertaining. I feel most are just to "trick" you to spend money. My 6 year old could make a better plot. We in the U.S. are becoming numb.
  50. MikeB
    Sep 17, 2009
    1
    With all the high ratings and a great premise, and having loved the latest Star Trek movie, I had to go see this movie. Well, I finally did last night. Like someone else has already said, "What a piece of crap this movie is". As an entertainment movie, you know...acting, plot, production values, special effects, believability.....well, I give it a 1.5 out of 10, which I rounded down to a With all the high ratings and a great premise, and having loved the latest Star Trek movie, I had to go see this movie. Well, I finally did last night. Like someone else has already said, "What a piece of crap this movie is". As an entertainment movie, you know...acting, plot, production values, special effects, believability.....well, I give it a 1.5 out of 10, which I rounded down to a 1. Then to make it even worse, second grade preachy BS all through it in the same package. What a waste of my time. It starts with a great premise, and you think, wow, this movie is going to be great. You imagine where this movie could go and you anticipate something grand coming....as soon as they get over this boring introductory stuff. But, the whole movie stays in totally unbelievable boring step 1 phase, and never gets off the ground or goes anywhere. The biggest advantage of this movie is you can now look at those reviewers who gave it a 100, and know that their opinions are worthless for your future movie reviews. Expand
  51. DanielK
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    What a complete waste of time. I'm not sure if the naseau feeling was from the shacking cameras or the quality of the film. Stupid plot lines, the main character was an unlikeable tool, and the beginning put me to sleep. Probably one of the worst movies I paid to see at the theaters ever. The national critics must have some agenda to give such high praise. The funniest part of the What a complete waste of time. I'm not sure if the naseau feeling was from the shacking cameras or the quality of the film. Stupid plot lines, the main character was an unlikeable tool, and the beginning put me to sleep. Probably one of the worst movies I paid to see at the theaters ever. The national critics must have some agenda to give such high praise. The funniest part of the movie was how it is set-up for "District 10". They must be F-ing kidding! Expand
  52. Dan
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    I was really eager to like this film, but there were some major story problems. E.g., why have the aliens not rebelled in 20 years despite the fact that they have advanced weaponry? Why does the head of the multinational corporation place his son-in-law, a total doofus, in charge of the relocation (and what was the purpose of the relocation anyway)? And would the father-in-law really be I was really eager to like this film, but there were some major story problems. E.g., why have the aliens not rebelled in 20 years despite the fact that they have advanced weaponry? Why does the head of the multinational corporation place his son-in-law, a total doofus, in charge of the relocation (and what was the purpose of the relocation anyway)? And would the father-in-law really be so evil that he doesn't stop the grotesque medical experiments on his son-in-law? How come the prawns mysteriously vanish from District 9 only to resurface abruptly at the end? And why are the humans so incredibly stupid and gullible about the corporation's true intentions? Also, why does the film adopt a mockumentary format but repeatedly shift to a more cinematic tone? How do the aliens and the humans communicate, anyway? I could go on, but it was these and other problems that prevented me from taking the film's "message" seriously (well, that and that not-quite-convincing CGI, which makes the aliens seems slightly cartoonish). Suffice it to say, it's actually something of a relief when the film becomes another stupid action movie in the final act, if only because the movie drops any pretense of being a deep and profound meditation on prejudice and economic inequality. As an audience, you really just want to see heads explode, which the movie delivers in spades. One final word of advice to the director: it's not necessary to explain via voiceover absolutely everything that we see on the screen. Thanks, I have a brain and the plot isn't really that complicated. Expand
  53. JohnC
    Jan 9, 2010
    0
    Badly conceived story, although, well filmed and assembled. It was just goofy, full of conceptual holes, not well thought out. There was no believable science in the thing, they just expected you to suspend your disbelief because they were showing this pseudo documentary. Really stupid. It has been a while since I have seen a film that brings out such diametrically opposed views. Badly conceived story, although, well filmed and assembled. It was just goofy, full of conceptual holes, not well thought out. There was no believable science in the thing, they just expected you to suspend your disbelief because they were showing this pseudo documentary. Really stupid. It has been a while since I have seen a film that brings out such diametrically opposed views. It's like a Rorschach test. I can't figure out what it is about the film that makes so many people go nuts for it. I thought it stank. Expand
  54. PeterT.
    Oct 8, 2009
    0
    I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone would bother to watch more than 20 minutes of this unmitigated mind raping dross. What sheer fun it is to watch a video game, normally interactively played, unfold lazily before your very eyes with the same absence of storyline, acting or logical resolution to its various silly plot points. An allegory to the the human drama know as I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone would bother to watch more than 20 minutes of this unmitigated mind raping dross. What sheer fun it is to watch a video game, normally interactively played, unfold lazily before your very eyes with the same absence of storyline, acting or logical resolution to its various silly plot points. An allegory to the the human drama know as apartheid? If it was an allegory to that, you surely wouldn't want to set it in Johannesburg would you? that's like making an allegory to Nazi Germany while filming a tale set in Nazi Germany.... This kind of stupidity doesn't bother anyone anymore? Aliens who eat cat food as an allegory to drug use? Do all you ten-voters also still watch Sesame Street or something? D9 is nothing less than a completely farcical and generic action fodder hailed as the second coming of Christ featuring the most nauseating and lazy style of filming known as mockumentary with actors bereft of any professional acting skills and a script which is roughly made up on the spot with an f-bombs galore to hide the fact that the screenwriter signed off when he was told to quit being such a pain in the butt. "It's only a movie man!", or so he was told. No, no one is bothered by this. We turn off our brains as we laud the FX puppeteer for serving us yet another upgrade in CGI rendering as we cry ourselves to sleep from the joy that is living in these blissful times where real emotion is thankfully replaced by bandwagon hype and comfortable contrivances that won't occur in real life anyway. How terribly complacent it is to not have to worry about an actual sensical three act structure when you've got all this marketing budget to throw around allowing you to already cash in on the prefabricated acclaim and Pavlov conditioning of the crowds way before the movie is even actually screened. Seriously, why bother making the movie at all? Oh wait, I almost forgot, they never actually did... Expand
  55. AlexS
    Aug 14, 2009
    3
    Everything starts out great but then becomes an action flick with no pulp. At first there are notes of apartheid and deep social suggestions, but by the end it turns into an incoherent BIONIC COMMANDO trying to save his relationship by betting it all on an infantile alien. It starts out feeling smart, and ends feeling dumber than dirt. Alien racism is halfway thought through, and what is Everything starts out great but then becomes an action flick with no pulp. At first there are notes of apartheid and deep social suggestions, but by the end it turns into an incoherent BIONIC COMMANDO trying to save his relationship by betting it all on an infantile alien. It starts out feeling smart, and ends feeling dumber than dirt. Alien racism is halfway thought through, and what is up with the ever changing accents? Expand
  56. MM
    Aug 15, 2009
    2
    How boring was this movie? Parable or not, it was only for my friends being with me that I did not walk out of it. I'm actually kind of glad I did not because it gained its two point rating at the end when something actually happened. Aliens getting stranded on earth is a pretty lame premise for a movie in the first place and, even though the special effects were great and the CGI How boring was this movie? Parable or not, it was only for my friends being with me that I did not walk out of it. I'm actually kind of glad I did not because it gained its two point rating at the end when something actually happened. Aliens getting stranded on earth is a pretty lame premise for a movie in the first place and, even though the special effects were great and the CGI truly impressive, it could not overcome that "Haven't we seen this all before?" feeling. And that feeling is hard to accept for over two and a half hours at a time. Expand
  57. John
    Aug 17, 2009
    4
    I walked into District 9, Niell Blomkamp
  58. MartinK
    Aug 22, 2009
    3
    Visually impressive for the CGI. Other than that, it was silliness. If you have a brain, you'll be insulted. The script is absurd and seems like it was written by the same person that scripted the Transformers. If you're a SciFi fan you'll be embarrassed if you want anything more intelligent. I hate to agree with Ebert, but this is nothing more than poor space soap opera Visually impressive for the CGI. Other than that, it was silliness. If you have a brain, you'll be insulted. The script is absurd and seems like it was written by the same person that scripted the Transformers. If you're a SciFi fan you'll be embarrassed if you want anything more intelligent. I hate to agree with Ebert, but this is nothing more than poor space soap opera with emotional manipulation and little care to actually producing anything intelligent. I got the point of the movie. It's been done a million times and much better and without a need for an excuse to focus on apartheid, which didn't even make sense. It makes me realize that movies have deterioriated into such unoriginal trash that throw any new CGI trick in front of them and they'll scream how awesome it is. Expand
  59. TimP
    Aug 26, 2009
    3
    Was I watching the same movie as some of these critics? Not a very good movie, if you must see at all please wait for the dvd rental.
  60. TechHead
    Sep 19, 2009
    3
    This is one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen. We were on the verge of walking out, but figured we have to recoup as much of our $9.00 per seat admission as we could. The acting and the special effects were the only thing good about this flick. The story line was weak and cliche - your typical "fill in the blanks here" story telling. In its effort to teach a social message, it This is one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen. We were on the verge of walking out, but figured we have to recoup as much of our $9.00 per seat admission as we could. The acting and the special effects were the only thing good about this flick. The story line was weak and cliche - your typical "fill in the blanks here" story telling. In its effort to teach a social message, it comes off borderline racists and a bit preachy if you ask me. Spare yourself. Wait for the video. Expand
  61. steve
    Sep 3, 2009
    2
    Best part of this movie was its marketing campaign. The rest is Hollywood at its dumbest.
  62. SeanJ.
    Sep 5, 2009
    3
    From the opening 5 minutes it promises lots, but the subsequent 1hr 45mins fails to deliver on them. The direction, unfortunately, falls heavily towards the Hollywood action movie style even though it clearly has pretenses about being a more cerebral, thought provoking affair.
  63. EricA
    Feb 11, 2010
    0
    This movie was extremely disappointing, the plot was so dumn and unbelievable. I love sci-fi movies but, this one dropped the ball big time.
  64. FrankH
    Dec 16, 2009
    3
    Calling this a science fiction movie is stupid in the extreme. If it's supposed to be a comment on the United Nations treatment of refugees in their refugee camps, then I like it, but it lacks all which makes a movie spectacular. It has no humour, no soul, and depicts realistic looking ailiens with unrealistic low IQ. if this is a good one in all elses' eyes then it is proof Calling this a science fiction movie is stupid in the extreme. If it's supposed to be a comment on the United Nations treatment of refugees in their refugee camps, then I like it, but it lacks all which makes a movie spectacular. It has no humour, no soul, and depicts realistic looking ailiens with unrealistic low IQ. if this is a good one in all elses' eyes then it is proof that the genre is dying. good sci fi makes one want to see more, this movie made me feel angry that I wasted money on the Blue-Ray. The special effects was amazing though. Collapse
  65. LauraS
    Dec 30, 2009
    0
    It was the worst movie i've ever seen. I dont see how anyone could like such a horrible movie.
  66. DrewK
    Aug 15, 2009
    2
    This movie was terrible. Going in with high expectations, I was utterly disappointed. I understand this movie is a statement about our society but I can't think of a single scene I truly enjoyed. It's beyond me why critics and users are giving this movie such good reviews. The exposition was incredibly boring and took far too long. The amount of gore was completely unnecessary. This movie was terrible. Going in with high expectations, I was utterly disappointed. I understand this movie is a statement about our society but I can't think of a single scene I truly enjoyed. It's beyond me why critics and users are giving this movie such good reviews. The exposition was incredibly boring and took far too long. The amount of gore was completely unnecessary. If you enjoy watching people get their heads literally blown into a thousand bloody pieces over and over again I guess this is your type of movie. Add in an incredibly predictable story and you've got District 9. In fact the only positive I could find would be the CGI. The aliens look completely believable and their technology is very interesting to look at. Still, this was by far the worst movie I have seen this year. Expand
  67. Richard
    Aug 15, 2009
    2
    I was stunned at what I saw after seeing the rating. The movie made an effort to draw on the hypocrisy of how society deals with minority or marginalized groups; however, there was no emotional ties to the main character. It really eroded into a buddy/alien action flick towards the end. Avoid it if possible.
  68. BillR
    Aug 17, 2009
    2
    This is a dramamine movie. Anyone who gets motion sickness beware because the hand held camera technique will carry you through maybe twenty minutes of the movie before you have to head for the door. For the short length of time I could stand the show I enjoyed it but the cinematagraphy was nauseating. Beware if you get motion sickness.
  69. AmberD
    Aug 21, 2009
    3
    I've seen more storyline, character development, action, and suspense with Transformers franchise and Starship Troopers trilogy than with this movie. District 9 combines those two movies in a slapped-together mishmash. After the evictions, it's practically a free'for'all. A lot of the gore was unnecessary, as it could have been implied, not an in-your-face, I've seen more storyline, character development, action, and suspense with Transformers franchise and Starship Troopers trilogy than with this movie. District 9 combines those two movies in a slapped-together mishmash. After the evictions, it's practically a free'for'all. A lot of the gore was unnecessary, as it could have been implied, not an in-your-face, blood-spattered camera shots. I know it's just a movie, but some of the action, like blowing up a human, the pieces will be cooked, not bloody, scientifically/biologically speaking. The heat and force of the alien weapons would make it so. All in all, it was a slapped together, mishmash with obvious homage to Starship Troopers and very little or none at all morals or ethics which would have made the movie greater in character development. I watched it once, wanted to walk out halway through, but I watched it to the end. Won't do that again. Expand
  70. MikeW
    Aug 21, 2009
    3
    Its seems different at first look, but underneath it, it is no where to the level of though to compare to matrix , terminator, alien all of which it derives elements of its idea. I am not sure i see it having vision as much as a montage of ideas thought as cool. But in fair it served its point and was fun to watch.
  71. TimothyM
    Aug 21, 2009
    0
    Unique idea, very bad acting. It couldn't end soon enough.
  72. KevinA
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    I wanted to love this movie, but in the end was just bored. I could not get over the gaping plot holes, the lazy plot devices (switching back and forth between documentary and film), etc. I could see how someone could buy into the premise; unfortunately I just wasn't one of those people. Massively disappointing. And Harvey, I hate Michael Bay films, so where does that put me?
  73. RockyS.
    Sep 2, 2009
    0
    Stupid and slow.
  74. jonathans
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    The most annoying lead actor ever!...cant you guys come up with an alien that does not look like your typical predator looking creature....come on use some imagination! also im tired of the evil african drug lord bad guy...seems like there is one in every movie these days. how could that gorgeous woman marry that annoying guy anyways...and was i supposed to feel sad or have any emotional The most annoying lead actor ever!...cant you guys come up with an alien that does not look like your typical predator looking creature....come on use some imagination! also im tired of the evil african drug lord bad guy...seems like there is one in every movie these days. how could that gorgeous woman marry that annoying guy anyways...and was i supposed to feel sad or have any emotional reaction at all at the end where the annoying guy finally turns into the alien and makes her a flower out of metal or whatever it was...point is i did not care at that point...movie is cliched...and i wanted to see the lead guy get his butt kicked in anyway. i just get baffled sometimes when i see a movie like this and consider all the money that must have been wasted including my 8 dollars! Expand
  75. SteveG.
    Sep 3, 2009
    3
    Not so good, predictable and slow. Nice special effects.
  76. NerijusD.
    Sep 4, 2009
    3
    Transformers-like action with all its cliches and ugliness, an incredibly stupid plot and a LOT more other bad things.
  77. Ted
    Sep 7, 2009
    3
    This movie could have been the best film of 2009, but the writers ruined it by putting in corny dialogue and music.
  78. BarbaraM
    Jan 15, 2010
    0
    Rented this garbage! Couldn't wait to return it. Most inane,boring movie I've seen in years.
  79. %Play
    Feb 25, 2010
    2
    The good: special effects are top quality throughout. The bad: logic is no where to found - plot and character inconsistencies abound. Example: The aliens are bigger, much smarter, much more technologically advanced than the humans AND they have access to their own advanced weaponry. The writers of this movie would have you believe that the aliens are forced to live in a concentration The good: special effects are top quality throughout. The bad: logic is no where to found - plot and character inconsistencies abound. Example: The aliens are bigger, much smarter, much more technologically advanced than the humans AND they have access to their own advanced weaponry. The writers of this movie would have you believe that the aliens are forced to live in a concentration camp, and are trading in their weapons so they can satisfy their addiction to cat food rather than killing every last human being on earth which they could easily do. Stupid, stupid movie. Expand
  80. JaneB
    Dec 25, 2009
    3
    I found this movie to be racially offensive towards the jewish, negros, and indians and highly gorey. It's a clear rip off of any holocoust movie I've ever seen, just with aliens thrown in. Think about it, they live the ghettos (or slums), are numbered and are about to sent to a camp (a concentration camp). All in all the movie is a straight forward story line with no twist and I found this movie to be racially offensive towards the jewish, negros, and indians and highly gorey. It's a clear rip off of any holocoust movie I've ever seen, just with aliens thrown in. Think about it, they live the ghettos (or slums), are numbered and are about to sent to a camp (a concentration camp). All in all the movie is a straight forward story line with no twist and an extremely dark and open ending. It was outrageously stupid, I am ashamed to give it even a 3. Expand
  81. NomadB
    Dec 29, 2009
    4
    Really? 81? I'd give this a 4. The character is plainly stupid in this movie. It's like watching a horror film where a girl gets trapped in a house and what does she do? she hides under the bed. Enough with this garbage. 4 for the idea of making district 9 and 0 for everything else.
  82. MonteB
    Dec 31, 2009
    0
    Awful. Filmed on a home video camera.
  83. DWilly
    Aug 16, 2009
    2
    It is an misleading outrage that this dirty little turd of a movie would rate so high a score; and dilute the market for the great subject of alien/human contact. A badly acted, ugly (brimming with the Peter Jackson bent for unpleasant goo), nonsensical bore. You know, I don't even feel like wasting anymore of my time thinking about this movie, I just wanted to warn you.
  84. JonathanC
    Aug 18, 2009
    2
    I thought this was the worst movie since Lesbian Vampire Killers. The action scenes were entertaining and the social commentary well played out but it tried to be funny and wasn't really, and nothing really happened. We all thought it was crap.
  85. JayB
    Aug 18, 2009
    0
    Peter Jackson went out on a limb...and the limb broke The critics are on crack. Most mentally insane movie I've ever seen in my life, and not in that artsy sundance sort of way.
  86. ChristianP
    Aug 21, 2009
    3
    Great premise. But the promise of a sci-fi Apartheid allegory remains unfulfilled. The film opens interestingly enough, but soon turns into hacky sci-fi/Hollywood explosion/gore fest. Some odd half-plot emerges...but it seems tacked on when the writers couldn't figure out how to take a good idea and make a story of it...I don't understand what everyone loved about it.
  87. Chris
    Aug 26, 2009
    1
    Was hoping it would turn out great, got sucked up by all the hype. Was disappointed by all of the mish mash of different sci fi flavors. Seriously was it a faux docudrama? or did they forget half way through... action was pretty decent and had 2 funny scenes, but it was all over the place and didnt know what it wanted to be. Plus seriously were they paid by how many times they uttered the "F word"
  88. Mar 15, 2012
    0
    This movie is so bad I couldn't finish it. If I want to watch raw news footage I can go to YouTube.
  89. LucaSegafredo
    Sep 29, 2009
    2
    This film is crap. The worst First Person Shooter has a better plot than this one. What you learn is that white South Africans are bad but Nigerians are the dregs of humanity.
    Despite what a lot of people think there is not a single new idea in this messed up movie.
    Good intentions and good actors are not enough to make a movie. You need writers.
  90. LoriS
    Feb 21, 2010
    0
    The New York Post's review was spot on! "The movie falls into the same uneasy category as "Eight Legged Freaks": too tongue-in-cheek to be thrilling, not funny enough to be a comedy."
  91. RyanS
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    THIS MOVIE FAILS... HARD!
  92. BruceX
    Oct 4, 2009
    3
    Special effects good, but story trite and relied on implausible premise that all aliens needed to be moved from one place to another and hostility was grossly underestimated. More interesting story would have been how the situation requiring move arose in the first place. I just didn't buy it.
  93. GregT
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    I'm amazed this film gets as many high rating as it does. The simple things is what it lacks. #1 A story. There was no discernible plot for an hour and half... Then by the time a story surfaced, it was over. I'd say it was the longest trailer I'd ever seen... Can't wait for D-9 part 2. With all the loose ends, and only costing 30m to make, there is really no way around I'm amazed this film gets as many high rating as it does. The simple things is what it lacks. #1 A story. There was no discernible plot for an hour and half... Then by the time a story surfaced, it was over. I'd say it was the longest trailer I'd ever seen... Can't wait for D-9 part 2. With all the loose ends, and only costing 30m to make, there is really no way around a sequel. Sad. Expand
  94. SusanL
    Jun 3, 2010
    0
    Only Pot Heads would say that they liked this movie! Sad to say, my boyfriend enjoyed this movie. His name is Simon Brooks & yes he's a Pot Head!
  95. BillT
    Aug 14, 2009
    0
    This movie is a slap-dash bunch of action sequencies genetically merged with political allegory. Don't see it. 0 out of 10.
  96. RobinL
    Sep 26, 2009
    3
    Had some funny parts and some interesting parts, but overall the movie was a gore-fest that just wasn't necessary.
  97. CarolynN
    Aug 14, 2009
    1
    No redeeming value. I have a headache.
  98. Sep 5, 2010
    2
    I won't lie, I was expecting a great movie when I went to see this. It was terrible. The thing is, it's easy to trick americans into liking a movie with an original premise and neat special effects, not to mention the documentary filming style which made viewers feel intelligent. This movie is like the product of an intelligent person writing down a good idea, and giving it to mentallyI won't lie, I was expecting a great movie when I went to see this. It was terrible. The thing is, it's easy to trick americans into liking a movie with an original premise and neat special effects, not to mention the documentary filming style which made viewers feel intelligent. This movie is like the product of an intelligent person writing down a good idea, and giving it to mentally challenged filmmakers. Everyone seems to overlooked the annoying flaws of this movie: The behavior, the dialogue, the use of the line "I'm not leaving without you" and various other cliches that you wouldn't expect to find in such an "original" film. There were dozens of moments of annoying stupidity that I kept trying to ignore. And there is no real excuse for all the discomfort in the movie. I usually forgive films for being stupid because they are still enjoyable. This movie had little to enjoy (except for when the robot shoots a man with a dead pig, I got a good laugh out of that) . Just the fact that it was original, the fact that it had allegories to apartheid and racism, and the fact that it was filmed like a documentary seems to have everybody won over. But I can't forgive all the stupid dialogue and behavior. I could just see through every silly second. For example; the love for cat food = Random aspect that makes the aliens seem more real. There was a lot of cheap little ways they tried to make the aliens seem more real. But right from the beginning, I couldn't help but see through them, and if I was less observant and more gullible I probably would have enjoyed the movie. I could write a book about all the things wrong with this movie, but I should not write so much in a movie review. I just can't be concise with this subject. I just want to end with this fact: I walked into that theater expecting a great movie. As the movie went on, I was struggling to convince myself that I was watching a great movie. I couldn't do it. Later I went to see Avatar, expecting a bad movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it, because it was honest and it's silliness was forgivable. James Cameron understands that its more important for a film to be enjoyable then it is for it to make a statement by being different. Expand
  99. BigBully
    Mar 1, 2010
    0
    Finally overtook Missouri Breaks as the worst movie in the past 100 years.
  100. MiKE
    Aug 14, 2009
    3
    While watching District 9 it reminded me of other movies, the shakey carmera work from transformers , The aliens were a rip out of Half Life 2. The idea was an intresting one, but then it turned into a typical chase movie. A bluray rental nothing more.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    100
    Every now and then, a film comes along that both defies and compels description. District 9 is one such movie: a science-fiction action vehicle so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    90
    Grabs you by the eyeballs from the very first frame.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel Engber
    50
    As an allegory of racial conflict and mass immigration, District 9 never really goes anywhere: The appealing premise fades into the background before 20 minutes have elapsed.