TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1368 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,122
Mixed:
110
Negative:
136
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
briant.Sep 10, 2009
Film of the summer, no question. Yes, it is very easy to compare it to other films - Starship Troopers, The Fly, ET, Alien Nation etc. But the film is more than the sum of its collective parts. Don't over-analyis it, District 9 is a Film of the summer, no question. Yes, it is very easy to compare it to other films - Starship Troopers, The Fly, ET, Alien Nation etc. But the film is more than the sum of its collective parts. Don't over-analyis it, District 9 is a highly enjoyable experience, even if there are some glaring plot-holes. But hey, it's def. better than Transformers 2 (actually every film this summer was). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFSep 18, 2009
Best action/Scifi since Terminator 2. Absolutely brilliant, so well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LesleyLSep 21, 2009
Exciting, mind blowing and morally disturbing. The best movie I have seen since ...whenever. As an honorary South African this movie makes me proud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AidanWSep 20, 2009
An amazing movie. Watch as our hero becomes more human as he becomes more alien - you figure it out. Just stunning filming - reportagestyle gets a little over done and loses a point. Deep film, big ideas, just fabulous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamSep 20, 2009
Somewhat political, but most of all a heartbreaking love story. A Must see, and must own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZsomborBSep 27, 2009
This movie entertained me in an excellent way from beginning to the end, by unsuspiciously starting out as a documentary-like movie, then turning into an all-out live-or-die action movie While being an intelligently crafted sci-fi movie, it This movie entertained me in an excellent way from beginning to the end, by unsuspiciously starting out as a documentary-like movie, then turning into an all-out live-or-die action movie While being an intelligently crafted sci-fi movie, it throws some serious social criticism right into your face, sometimes without you even noticing. I think this movie deserves the praise, and I'm looking forward to a continuation of the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanM.Sep 2, 2009
Awesome movie and becomes even better when taking the social and political imagery into play of a struggling South Africa in very unfortunate circumstances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TavenXSep 4, 2009
Its one the best films of 2009..go see this instead of that childish piece of crap transformers
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevTSep 5, 2009
One of the most refreshing Sci-fi years. It starts out a little slow, but overall pacing is good. The filming style works great for the style they going for and in this age of a hundred million dollar action flicks, they show how great a One of the most refreshing Sci-fi years. It starts out a little slow, but overall pacing is good. The filming style works great for the style they going for and in this age of a hundred million dollar action flicks, they show how great a thirty million dollar film can be. If you love Sci-fi, this is a must. If you love action flicks, you should really enjoy this. If you hate Sci-fi, you might still find some enjoyment. Yes, it is that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobinWSep 6, 2009
I forgot to to drink my drink while watching this, now thats never happened before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BR.Sep 6, 2009
If you didn't like this movie, chances are you're probably a huge fan of Wayan's brothers flicks & still eat your boogers. This movie was f'ing fantastic from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattW.Sep 7, 2009
Favourite film of the year so far. Although I can appreciate why some people wouldn't enjoy aspects of it, it will clearly hit home for a lot of the more open-minded and imaginative movie-goers. Particularly those who pay attention to Favourite film of the year so far. Although I can appreciate why some people wouldn't enjoy aspects of it, it will clearly hit home for a lot of the more open-minded and imaginative movie-goers. Particularly those who pay attention to subtle details! Not one of the arguments put forward for plot holes wasn't actually addressed in the film, don't believe me? Write a list and go watch it again. It's well paced, enticing storylines are played out in an emmersive and realistic world that is steeped in it's own history. Rarely is that level of effort, or thought put into a film of this kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PierBSep 8, 2009
Excellent technical accomplishment and really original. This is not your typical sci fi alien concept. I missed some more info about what is going on with the aliens. Why are they on earth? Why can't they go home? Why does Cristopher Excellent technical accomplishment and really original. This is not your typical sci fi alien concept. I missed some more info about what is going on with the aliens. Why are they on earth? Why can't they go home? Why does Cristopher leave alone? How come such an advanced and refined race in technology is so primitive in all other aspects? Although the linear plot works well, I also missed some twist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartW.Jan 12, 2010
I heard so many good things about this film and after watching the trailer and seeing that Peter Jackson was connected with it i expected a good film. So many times I've been disappointed. I have to say this is a classic! I have no I heard so many good things about this film and after watching the trailer and seeing that Peter Jackson was connected with it i expected a good film. So many times I've been disappointed. I have to say this is a classic! I have no doubt that as well as films like bladerunner and aliens this will go down in time as a film that is regarded as a cult hit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekSJan 17, 2010
I'm sorry, but anyone who thought that District 9 was a bad movie needs immediate medical attention as they've undoubtedly suffered a concussion or some other form of head injury.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
argexJan 21, 2010
Very good. Not only the characters but also the way media were represented, superficial, uninformative. You'll change your attitude toward the aliens during the movie. An excellent metaphor for "alien", different, immigrants of any Very good. Not only the characters but also the way media were represented, superficial, uninformative. You'll change your attitude toward the aliens during the movie. An excellent metaphor for "alien", different, immigrants of any kind. Very violent, several scenes were disturbing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadA.Jan 28, 2010
ONLY FOOLS WOULD HAVE BEEF WITH THIS FILM If you hate Quality complex plots Creative concepts Psychological themes and undertones And last but not least Action-scenes that are high quality and MAKE SENSE DONT WATCH D9 catch Transformers 2 ONLY FOOLS WOULD HAVE BEEF WITH THIS FILM If you hate Quality complex plots Creative concepts Psychological themes and undertones And last but not least Action-scenes that are high quality and MAKE SENSE DONT WATCH D9 catch Transformers 2 and the rest of the garbage action films out this year to fill your primitive action junkie taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LefanderF.Jan 28, 2010
This is what humans do the aliens, that's why they don't contact us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregS.Jan 8, 2010
Amazingly original, inventive, gripping film. I've never seen a movie quite like this. A thrill ride with a heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasFFeb 28, 2010
Watched it twice in a row. Yeah, it's that good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidCMar 11, 2010
Excellent Movie. The change from simpering goverment PR tool to hardass hero belongs up there in classic cinema. This is the way we would treat aliens, you know it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeSMar 26, 2010
This movie was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewSMar 27, 2010
Having no opinion of the symbolism within this film, i feel as though it is an outstanding piece. Cinematography and dialogue are both superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
antoniom.Apr 15, 2010
Movie is good. But praising its originality is nonsense. It quotes movies like the fly and independence day. The reportage pacing is also nothing new (robocop For ex). The main actor is really a fin performer but is character lacks Movie is good. But praising its originality is nonsense. It quotes movies like the fly and independence day. The reportage pacing is also nothing new (robocop For ex). The main actor is really a fin performer but is character lacks personality and is ambiguous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GriffithN.Jun 13, 2010
My favorite movie of that year, after seeing Star Trek and Terminator Salvation that summer, I was left with a feeling of dispair, that these movies really had nothing to say or to engage other than special effects. District 9 turns that all My favorite movie of that year, after seeing Star Trek and Terminator Salvation that summer, I was left with a feeling of dispair, that these movies really had nothing to say or to engage other than special effects. District 9 turns that all on its head with a dark and incredibly violent piece of entertainment, that is able to make the sci-fi genre smart again. It goes above and beyond of the standard of action movies this year, by exciting you, and using a consistent, and highly relevant allegory, that engages the intelect like no other movie that year. This is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YanC.Jun 2, 2010
One of the best movies I've ever seen, its documentary-like way of telling the history is fantastic, I think it's better than Avatar to talk about ETs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattXJun 8, 2010
The first part of the movie seemed to scream out "low budget" B-movie, but it grew on me. I think if going into the movie, you don't expect a big-budget look and feel, if you are a sci-fi fan you will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekTOct 13, 2009
Simply a master piece ! this is not justa movie, it's art ! worth every second ! well my Girlfriend didn't like it :P !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyCNov 4, 2009
Brilliant. Emotionally devastating. One of the best films of this or any year. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkLNov 4, 2009
I am allergic to "Hollywood Blockbusters" as this normally stands for "lots of money spent, most of it on promotion". I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. A cut above the usual trash. No big stars in this, but don't let that put you off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilbeEOct 15, 2009
Excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JUREBNov 7, 2009
Actually I wanted to give it a lower score but the second half of film makes it. At the beginning and on some later parts the characters and the story is very irritating, but when the bad guys get the bullet at the end it is so relieving. Actually I wanted to give it a lower score but the second half of film makes it. At the beginning and on some later parts the characters and the story is very irritating, but when the bad guys get the bullet at the end it is so relieving. And what a style! Wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronCDec 29, 2009
A sci-fi theatrical masterpiece. The aliens are a work of AWESOME. With a believable story, great action in the last half, a story with twists and turns, and a shocker at the end of it all, it must be seen by everyone. (That can watch A sci-fi theatrical masterpiece. The aliens are a work of AWESOME. With a believable story, great action in the last half, a story with twists and turns, and a shocker at the end of it all, it must be seen by everyone. (That can watch R-rated movies, because that action part, really makes that r-rating come in to play, along with some insanely strong language courtesy of our main character.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OliverSOct 23, 2009
I think it's a travesty people feel the need to give this movie 0's, when it was far more creative and interesting (certainly in the first 20 minutes anyway) than many movies this year. As has been said many times before, the first I think it's a travesty people feel the need to give this movie 0's, when it was far more creative and interesting (certainly in the first 20 minutes anyway) than many movies this year. As has been said many times before, the first 20 minutes are incredibly strange but well carried off, and manages to bizarrely mix realism and comedy gold in a documentary format on aliens coming to Earth. Absolute gold there, and while the rest of the movie tends away from this style and becomes more serious in tone, it is a heart-wrenching and well-delivered sci-fi that is not an entirely brainless gorefest (though it does have some amazing effects on display - amazing considering the budget). I think simply the fact it is delivered in such an original way and qualifies as a sci-fi blockbuster as well as a thinking man's movie makes it a must-watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FeliciaNOct 23, 2009
This is a good movie. It is an unwavering view of a dark world. It's a very good story, but you have to watch the whole film. If you are looking for a summer Blockbuster action film, this isn't it. It's gritty, violent, This is a good movie. It is an unwavering view of a dark world. It's a very good story, but you have to watch the whole film. If you are looking for a summer Blockbuster action film, this isn't it. It's gritty, violent, ruthless and coldblooded, just like much of our world. But like our world, it has redeeming qualities; goodness, hope and redemption. I can understand people wanting the plot wrapped up in a prettier package with a nice bow, but that's not this movie. It isn't perfect, there are some plot holes, but show me a movie or book that doesn't have plot holes. The plot is very original in it's execution. I can usually see where a story is going, to the point that I annoy people by figuring out what's going to happen all the time. I didn't know where this one was going. The film makers do not walk you through the movie holding your hand. It is not a guided tour. Don't expect to know everything, you won't. In this movie it works very, very well. What you don't know isn't necessary to understanding what's going on or why. It gives you something to discuss with others after the fact, but doesn't take away from the story at all. That aspect of the film makes it MORE fun to watch. For me. You decide for yourself. The CG was flawlessly integrated, which is so nice to see. They did an exquisite job. I got a good 45 minutes into the movie before I remembered that of course the aliens were CGI, but I never once was I visually jarred out of the film by blatant CGI. I would go so far as to say it is the best CGI mixed into real footage I have ever seen. Over all, worth seeing if darker stories are your thing. Think, BSG. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankRDec 30, 2009
A nice twist on the typical "alien" movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilADec 30, 2009
I loved this movie. Admitted, i didnt think it was great the first half, the second half makes you want to go back and watch all of it again. The first time watched it was on dvd. After i watched it through, i watched it 2 more times all the I loved this movie. Admitted, i didnt think it was great the first half, the second half makes you want to go back and watch all of it again. The first time watched it was on dvd. After i watched it through, i watched it 2 more times all the way through that night. There were some holes in the plot but it's nice to leave things open for interpretation. Can't wait for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joeBOct 25, 2009
If you like anime mecha this is your movie . This is not your Hollywood PG13 film puked out just to fill seats.Transformers ect.ect.This film is hardcore.I love films that show what would realy happen if advanced weapons were used.Yes heads If you like anime mecha this is your movie . This is not your Hollywood PG13 film puked out just to fill seats.Transformers ect.ect.This film is hardcore.I love films that show what would realy happen if advanced weapons were used.Yes heads go splat arms and bodies turn to juice lol. I liked the little things to like the HUD (heads up display) inside the mecha. Some CGI guy thought it would be cool to show where the rounds from the machine guns were hitting. very cool. This HUD was also used in Ironman and before that Appleseed and other anime. I you dont like this movie maybe you should stick to watching your Twilight or other Hollywood puke movies I hear Saw 28 is coming out try that one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBOct 26, 2009
Id actually rate this a 9 if it wern't for the morons who rate 0 for a laugh, so ill give it a 10 to balance out the dimwits... i mean come on, even Ewe Boll deserves a 1 for giving us the odd (unintentional) chuckle. Its a beautifully Id actually rate this a 9 if it wern't for the morons who rate 0 for a laugh, so ill give it a 10 to balance out the dimwits... i mean come on, even Ewe Boll deserves a 1 for giving us the odd (unintentional) chuckle. Its a beautifully shot movie, well paced, funny in parts and disturbing in others, dont want to spoil anything but over the course of the movie i went from hating the main character to really rooting for him, thats good movie making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BocheLordOct 27, 2009
Finally a fresh new point of view about Sci-Fi in movies. Thanks to Jackson that sees the potential talent on other parts of the world and we are gifted with this movie. Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FollaringoMOct 7, 2009
The best Sci-fi movie in years. Awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradJOct 8, 2009
OK. I watched the first 20 min of this movie and I thought it was total garbage. I thought it entailed crappy "Blair Witch/Cloverfield" wanna be camera effect, stupid looking aliens... until I just plain ol dug in and WATCHED the whole movie OK. I watched the first 20 min of this movie and I thought it was total garbage. I thought it entailed crappy "Blair Witch/Cloverfield" wanna be camera effect, stupid looking aliens... until I just plain ol dug in and WATCHED the whole movie from beginning to end. I can see how one COULD walk out of the theater during the first maybe 20-30 minutes. I really could not tell you where it happened but somewhere I was drawn into the plot and fell in love with the characters and the originality. This movie is really hard to describe to anyone who has not seen it. The story comes together, the CGI is some of the best I have seen, and the plot is GREAT if you have a little understanding of what they are basing it on. I can not wait to see the sequel and I believe these people that gave it a 5/10 and 0/10 maybe just watched the first 20 min and gave up. I would have given it a 10/10 but no one is perfect besides Shawshank Redemption :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenM.Aug 14, 2009
District 9 more then overcomes a few minor plot holes and ham fisted elements with a refreshingly unique story and style. In the end humanizing, exciting, bitter sweet and while a complete story on it's own more then merits a sequel. District 9 more then overcomes a few minor plot holes and ham fisted elements with a refreshingly unique story and style. In the end humanizing, exciting, bitter sweet and while a complete story on it's own more then merits a sequel. Notice when the credits role how many people in the theater will begin discussing it with one another. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmirE.Aug 14, 2009
The most diverse, unique movie of the year, you havent seen it all, until you watch this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveS.Aug 14, 2009
Great show, reminiscent of Enemy Mine and Alien Nation, but has personality all its own. I hope he comes back in three years to rescue his new friend lost on Earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RossW.Aug 14, 2009
Absolutely perfect. What a brilliant movie! South African director Neill really has done an outstanding job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JAug 14, 2009
Best Sci-Fi film in years it kind of reminds me of a evolution of E.T. Is Extremely original at least for 2/3. The last third isn't a original or as funny but yet widely entertaining. This film has so many powerful undertones mostly Best Sci-Fi film in years it kind of reminds me of a evolution of E.T. Is Extremely original at least for 2/3. The last third isn't a original or as funny but yet widely entertaining. This film has so many powerful undertones mostly reminiscent of the apartheid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnDoeAug 14, 2009
I think the trailer don't do justice to the film,because when I first saw it,I thought it was interesting but it didn't really capture what really happens in the movie.Maybe bad marketing but absolutely Not a bad movie.I love the I think the trailer don't do justice to the film,because when I first saw it,I thought it was interesting but it didn't really capture what really happens in the movie.Maybe bad marketing but absolutely Not a bad movie.I love the film but my girlfriend doesn't because it's too violent.However when you try to combine realistically violent environment:(Alien/Thug/SpecialOps) ,you have to ask yourself :will it go down Transformers-ly? Bottom line is, I think I can review District 9 but honestly I can't.It's too emotional,too action-packed and just too intelligent for me to even say anything about it.If you have seen it once,see it again and again if necessary because honestly I don't think anyone can sum this gem on one viewing.I thought I've seen it all.I thought I knew what was coming but I was wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattBAug 14, 2009
I have to give this movie a 10 for just feeling like something that has never been done in cinema history, District 9 takes you to a place that you have never been and will keep you waiting for District 10? Over all a must see i could see I have to give this movie a 10 for just feeling like something that has never been done in cinema history, District 9 takes you to a place that you have never been and will keep you waiting for District 10? Over all a must see i could see why some people might not like it as much as others but credit is due to District 9 for bring something fresh for the masses and not just the over used "alien-est" theme that we have grown tired of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeF.Aug 14, 2009
This movie was incredible. Go watch it with your friends, by yourself, or both.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyMAug 14, 2009
District 9 punches you in the stomach, slaps you across the face, and screams at you to wake up. This is cinema at it's finest; a brutally emotional rollercoaster ride from start to finish. If you have to see one movie this year, it District 9 punches you in the stomach, slaps you across the face, and screams at you to wake up. This is cinema at it's finest; a brutally emotional rollercoaster ride from start to finish. If you have to see one movie this year, it absolutely must be District 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VernBAug 14, 2009
Interesting plot and excellent, muted effects. But where others see reminiscence I see derivative -- Children of Men, Starship Troopers, Blackhawk Down, Enemy Mine, The Fly -- but it never really adds up to, pardon the pun, the sum of its Interesting plot and excellent, muted effects. But where others see reminiscence I see derivative -- Children of Men, Starship Troopers, Blackhawk Down, Enemy Mine, The Fly -- but it never really adds up to, pardon the pun, the sum of its parts. Its not so much a deficiency of originality as the lack of character development. All the humans are cartoon caricatures inspired by the Jar Jar Binks school of method acting which would be fine if it were a sci-fi comedy. Want to see a perfect 10? (Re)watch Children of Men. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvoAug 14, 2009
Can I even get away with calling a science fiction movie beautiful...? Well I did! Brilliant movie amazing in every way down to the score. Well Done
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ED.Aug 14, 2009
It was jarring at first, difficult to buy into the flow of images that bombarded me. But eventually I did, and the film was pretty good. I thought that some of the plot elements were lazy or showed shallow consideration, but overall it was It was jarring at first, difficult to buy into the flow of images that bombarded me. But eventually I did, and the film was pretty good. I thought that some of the plot elements were lazy or showed shallow consideration, but overall it was engaging. I apologize for the lack of specifics; I want to avoid any spoilers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RonCAug 14, 2009
The fact that the masses of people will want to indulge this film (and by extension the filmmakers) as legitimate, advanced academic expression is an embarrassing, and somewhat ironic critique on the mediocrity of our culture in it's The fact that the masses of people will want to indulge this film (and by extension the filmmakers) as legitimate, advanced academic expression is an embarrassing, and somewhat ironic critique on the mediocrity of our culture in it's self. That said, it's still really enjoyable if taken more as a B-movie subversive comedy type in the vein of "Dawn of Dead" more than high-minded sci-fi or art-house film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatOAug 14, 2009
I loved it. I'm a sucker for sci fi, and let me say, this is GOOD sci fi. While this movie is obviously part allegory for apartheid, some of the critics missed the point. The large message is about humanity, and what we're capable I loved it. I'm a sucker for sci fi, and let me say, this is GOOD sci fi. While this movie is obviously part allegory for apartheid, some of the critics missed the point. The large message is about humanity, and what we're capable of, both good and bad. It's interesting to see that the main character shows his most 'human' characteristics (or what we like to call humanity, ie. courage, honor, empathy, etc.) when his transformation to alien is nearly complete. It leaves you with a lot to ponder, and some envy of the alien who managed to escape us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradYAug 14, 2009
The big pull for District 9, at least for me, is that this comes out of the ashes of the ruined Halo franchise that never got off the ground. As the big debut for Blomkamp, I have to admit, it is a stellar one. The vision, metaphor, and The big pull for District 9, at least for me, is that this comes out of the ashes of the ruined Halo franchise that never got off the ground. As the big debut for Blomkamp, I have to admit, it is a stellar one. The vision, metaphor, and overall nature of the story is top-notch for a freshman effort. Furthermore, having Jackson's backing makes it that much better. But, I do have to feel like some of the overly-joyous press is a titch too strong. The film is at worst, a bit too long, and seems to struggle at keeping the story rolling at certain points. I didn't love it enough for a 10, but as a jump-start to a somewhat struggling sci-fi genre, a solid 8 is a good place to start. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Aug 14, 2009
Easily and absolutely the greatest movie of the year and quite possibly the decade. Amazing plot, top-notch acting, and stunning CGI, it's a must see for all fans of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateB.Aug 14, 2009
Excellent movie. Looks like the lower-scoring critics are just trying to get their names out. Completely different than what I was expecting, and completely different than any other movie I've seen. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Aug 14, 2009
A fresh, engaging style from a new director. After watching this movie, I'm convinced that Neill Blomkamp will turn any future project into gold.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottJAug 15, 2009
Great movie! But let me comment also on the negligence of MetaCritic for posting the review by JR Jones of the Chicago Reader which gives away the biggest plot twist in the film. You guys should know better! And also, to a lesser degree, the Great movie! But let me comment also on the negligence of MetaCritic for posting the review by JR Jones of the Chicago Reader which gives away the biggest plot twist in the film. You guys should know better! And also, to a lesser degree, the still pic they show of the lead guy also kind of gives it away to a lesser deree as well. Come on MC, use your brain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCAug 15, 2009
This is one original movie unlike any other sci-fi movie i have ever seen. It invades into a realm of sci-fi, still pretending to be a social documentary and the way it incorporates fast paced action surely keeps the viewers glued to theThis is one original movie unlike any other sci-fi movie i have ever seen. It invades into a realm of sci-fi, still pretending to be a social documentary and the way it incorporates fast paced action surely keeps the viewers glued to the seat. If you are into emotions and at the same time like fast paced action, this one is a must watch. I can definitely say this is going to be one of the best films of 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottWAug 15, 2009
Simply incredible. Smart, tense, engaging, compelling, and believable. A plausible science fiction film, can you believe it? Lets you know right away that cinematic rules will be broken, but never resorts to simple squalor. See this film, right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffAug 15, 2009
Great set up, then at a certain point the action kicks in and every scene from there on is better than the previous. Amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleG.Aug 15, 2009
Brilliant, intense, moving, thrilling, stunning, spectacular & unforgettable. The direction and cinematography fired flawlessly on all cylinders and the lead actor in the film gave a truly Oscar worthy performance. The aliens as well as the Brilliant, intense, moving, thrilling, stunning, spectacular & unforgettable. The direction and cinematography fired flawlessly on all cylinders and the lead actor in the film gave a truly Oscar worthy performance. The aliens as well as the other special effects were among some of the best i have ever seen. This film was perfection from start to finish so get ready for one helluva ride. Not to be missed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeWAug 15, 2009
A great thrill, I thoroughly enjoyed the entire movie. The director makes great use of the actors, and spins an epic tale worthy to be recognized alongside the matrix and star wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ForrestAAug 15, 2009
This movie was simply amazing, if you like action, great acting and good story you have no excuse to not see this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JedSAug 15, 2009
It was original, it had action, comedy, solid acting, I felt very emotionally invested in the characters, the FX were highly believable and the story and sets were very detailed. Now it wasn't perfect for sure, there were some plot It was original, it had action, comedy, solid acting, I felt very emotionally invested in the characters, the FX were highly believable and the story and sets were very detailed. Now it wasn't perfect for sure, there were some plot holes and it dragged on in some parts. All up I give it 2 thumbs up and a 9 out of 10 . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerHAug 15, 2009
What a surprisingly well done movie. Simply fantastic. The only gripes I would have would be the documentary style filming that was used for a little in the beginning and the end, its not something I usually like, but it was integraded well. What a surprisingly well done movie. Simply fantastic. The only gripes I would have would be the documentary style filming that was used for a little in the beginning and the end, its not something I usually like, but it was integraded well. This is by no means reasoning to skip this film, it is fantastic; in acting, visuals, and plot. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesH.Aug 15, 2009
Startling, intense, engaging. You don't take your eyes off the screen for a second. And as disturbing as it is, you leave feeling completely fulfilled in terms of bang for the buck. Wow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DorianD.Aug 15, 2009
Magnificently amazing, jaw-dropping action scenes, amazing sound effects and cgi. What makes this movie so good is because from a realistic perspective on reality of what could actually happen if aliens were to come. Its like a thrill ride Magnificently amazing, jaw-dropping action scenes, amazing sound effects and cgi. What makes this movie so good is because from a realistic perspective on reality of what could actually happen if aliens were to come. Its like a thrill ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. One of the best movies I've seen since a.i. nothing of 2009 or 2010 will accomplish what this movie has accomplished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanPAug 15, 2009
An absolutely excellent, exciting, and enthralling movie that I greatly enjoyed watching. And such AMAZINGLY convincing graphics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobGAug 15, 2009
Amazing movie, I came to the movie with high expectations and this movie did more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrainDAug 15, 2009
Original and brilliant. One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeLAug 16, 2009
This is the greatest sci-fi film I have seen in over a decade. I dread seeing any other movie this year in fear that it will ruin the pure state of nerdy nirvana that I am floating in having seen this. I literally, can not believe it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenPAug 16, 2009
This is the best movie of the year. Incredibly inventive, creative, and best of all: ORIGINAL. 10/10. MIND-BLOWING.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSAug 16, 2009
Under apartheid, the native population of South Africa was guilty of only one thing, being black. On that basis alone, babies were born into a limited world without civil rights and shanty town life with their ill-fated parents. Having Under apartheid, the native population of South Africa was guilty of only one thing, being black. On that basis alone, babies were born into a limited world without civil rights and shanty town life with their ill-fated parents. Having committed no crime, such institutionalized disenfranchisement, without a doubt, was an injustice, which inspired Jerry Dammers of The Specials to give up ska and write the consciousness-raising anthem "Free Nelson Mandela". Do the oppressed aliens in "District 9" deserve their own anthem too? With a little more exposition, their sudden appearance in the Johannesburg sky would have made the allegory about racial segregation resonate with less opaqueness. The film never truly establishes the extra-terrestrials as affable inter-planetary travelers. When the moviegoer first meets them, they're not friendly, or hostile; they're sick. Instead of a cure for cancer, these aliens brought along an artillery of deadly weapons. (You know they're deadly when people cheer the blood.) The humans in Robert Wise's "The Day the Earth Stood Still" act with prejudice and can't see that Klaatu is making a peace offering. By contrast, the more we witness the awesome firepower that alien technology has to offer, the less these visitors seem like victims of pure, unadulterated hatred, so the allegorical evocations of apartheid fall apart, since their perceived innocence is up for interpretation. What if the aliens reached Earth, but called off the invasion due to illness. Due to sloppy writing, that scenario is a definite possibility. The government might have been right to incarcerate the aliens, but went too far when they tortured and conducted medical experiments on their bodies. "District 9" admirably blends spinach with your popcorn, but the Johannesberg setting is problematic. The spaceship should have hovered above Berlin, or Washington D.C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMAug 16, 2009
The film shines due to its ability to seem like a real documentary of an actual event. Plenty of action, and an interesting story makes this one of the best sub 50 million dollar films in recent times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothydAug 16, 2009
This movie really would've had a hard time being any better. Masterpiece
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VenHAug 16, 2009
Great movie, a little bit violent but it didn't detract from the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickSAug 16, 2009
Absolutely awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianLAug 16, 2009
A taught, original, and extremely intense film. My eyes never left the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardErlichAug 16, 2009
From the Time Magazine review: "... District 9 proves that genre films, besides being a hell of a lot of fun, can say things you hadn't considered and show stuff you haven't seen." Let me give that a slight spin: <From the Time Magazine review: "... District 9 proves that genre films, besides being a hell of a lot of fun, can say things you hadn't considered and show stuff you haven't seen." Let me give that a slight spin: <>

District 9 drags a little in its middle, but it's a very good film and should not face condescension because it's SF. Indeed, since most works are genre works
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilSAug 17, 2009
A superb tour-de-force that doesn't spin out of control because of a powerful human core. This is one of those rare films that manages to expertly pack a full week of story into a two hour executive summary. The best science fiction A superb tour-de-force that doesn't spin out of control because of a powerful human core. This is one of those rare films that manages to expertly pack a full week of story into a two hour executive summary. The best science fiction film since 1982's Blade Runner. Easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSAug 17, 2009
Action, violence, and special effects that make the latest Terminator look like a kiddie attraction. Its not perfect (what movie is?), but in terms of pure sci-fi... its one of more interesting ones you'll probably see for quite some Action, violence, and special effects that make the latest Terminator look like a kiddie attraction. Its not perfect (what movie is?), but in terms of pure sci-fi... its one of more interesting ones you'll probably see for quite some time. So go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyEAug 17, 2009
This is one of the best sci-fi films I've seen in ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanKAug 17, 2009
I liked this movie a lot, but was I the only person on the planet who got really sick from the shaky camera movement? I thought it was shakier than the Blair Witch Project.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Aug 17, 2009
District 9 is the most original, knock-your-socks-off, socially relevant sci-fi movie I have seen since 2001: A Space Odyssey (which I consider the Greatest movie ever made!) It is an experience, not a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FahadA.Aug 17, 2009
Great movie !!! What I really loved about this movie is that aliens are treated as weaker species and that they being oppressed by humans, the whole idea of the movie was brilliant and I CANNOT WAIT FOR DISTRICT 10 !!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaAug 17, 2009
The best part about this movie was that I went into it not knowing ANYTHING. So... as the movie progressed (slowly, at first) I didn't know who the "stars" of the movie are, where the plot was going or what the hell I was getting myself The best part about this movie was that I went into it not knowing ANYTHING. So... as the movie progressed (slowly, at first) I didn't know who the "stars" of the movie are, where the plot was going or what the hell I was getting myself into. So, I just let it unfold and ended up getting caught up totally in the story. It's refreshing to have a film surprise you. It is very bloody/violent. It's not very long. Don't leave - it will take off just about the time you're ready to give up on it. Enjoy. I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TenOAug 17, 2009
An original, realistic, gritty film... really, really well-made... just unfortunately adorned in every breath with completely disgusting and disturbing stuff that just... does... nothing... for the film. Why do Jackson films always do this ?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidBAug 17, 2009
One of the most absolutely perfect films ive ever seen.. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronAug 17, 2009
Incredible film. When you lose faith in Hollywoods ability to produce quality you get hit with this. BRAVO! Now lets see a worthwhile sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanSeanAug 17, 2009
I'm pretty cynical going in to a SciFi film but this was awesome. The interplay of corrupt government, corrupt corporate scum and corrupt gangster arms dealers juxtaposed with the "disgusting" behavior of the aliens forces us to ask I'm pretty cynical going in to a SciFi film but this was awesome. The interplay of corrupt government, corrupt corporate scum and corrupt gangster arms dealers juxtaposed with the "disgusting" behavior of the aliens forces us to ask just WHO is really the monster? This is EXACTLY what would happen if aliens arrived seeking refuge. Humanity is VILE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulSAug 17, 2009
Best movie I have seen this year. The major studios could learn a lot from this film, like what a good story is, or what a plot is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joshbrannenAug 17, 2009
ive been waiting for a movie like this one for a long time,a movie like this makes you stop and think,could this really happen?,has something like this already happened?i dont think this movie wanders too far from reality and may not be soive been waiting for a movie like this one for a long time,a movie like this makes you stop and think,could this really happen?,has something like this already happened?i dont think this movie wanders too far from reality and may not be so much of a sci-fi movie but a taste of reality and/or what may come to be one day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbAug 18, 2009
A bit disappointing after all the glowing reviews I'd read before-hand (always a mistake?)... I guess I agree largely with Michael Phillips (Chicago Tribune), who writes: Some movies pack such a terrific central idea, even their flaws can
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheldonHAug 18, 2009
amazing. Up there with star trek as one of the best movies of the year. Great job Peter Jackson! Riveting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FantasyAug 18, 2009
I reserve a 10 for a perfect movie but this is as close as it gets. This movie grabs you from the start and never lets go. It is a social commentary on everythng that is wrong with the world. Strange looking aliens looking like Big Shrimp I reserve a 10 for a perfect movie but this is as close as it gets. This movie grabs you from the start and never lets go. It is a social commentary on everythng that is wrong with the world. Strange looking aliens looking like Big Shrimp are marooned over South Africa. Instead of realizing their superior intelligence and strength they are thrown into a run down compound for twenty years and treated like garbage. It is hard to believe that no one looked out for their interest or tried to find out why they had come here? Instead, it is no different than a NAZI concentration camp. It's obvious although never explained that we understand their language and they ours. They have superior weaponry but never use it against mankind. There is so much more that the audience wants to know but the answers are never revealed. It is not until a supervisor who had disdain for them has his DNA altered that he understands how awful we have been to these visitors to our planet. From there the framework has been set for the visitors to return, After all a promise is a promise. But when they return they may do so with a vengeance. Stay tuned as this is a guarantee for a sequel or two. Just go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvinCAug 18, 2009
This film was just so passionate. I never thought I'd hear myself even saying something like that. There have only been few sci-fi movies that have ever impressed me and this is definitely one of them. It's definitely better than This film was just so passionate. I never thought I'd hear myself even saying something like that. There have only been few sci-fi movies that have ever impressed me and this is definitely one of them. It's definitely better than most of this summer's bull. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful