TriStar Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1380 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,133
Mixed:
111
Negative:
136
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's classic, thrilling, it's just amazing. From the acting and storytelling to the visuals and effects, it's a tremendous accomplishment. This intense sci-fi is a must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliJun 6, 2012
A Really Good Movie!
Very Strange And Creative!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TeddyDJun 4, 2012
As a whole this movie is very cleverly structured and the cinematography is very effective in terms of maintaining the suspense and action that it is set out to capture. Also Sharlto Copley gives a remarkable performance as Wikus van derAs a whole this movie is very cleverly structured and the cinematography is very effective in terms of maintaining the suspense and action that it is set out to capture. Also Sharlto Copley gives a remarkable performance as Wikus van der Merwe but despite all of this, the narrative of the movie is quite bland and doesn't really live up to its desired purpose of entertaining its audience. It manages to immediately suck you in to the story with the realistic documentary styled opening but unfortunately pushes you back out as the narrative progresses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleAug 22, 2014
This is a nice little twist on the alien action film, as here, the aliens are the good guys., which is a nice change. Sharlto Copley is fantastic in this role and this, combined with Elysium, showcase his great talent, especially whileThis is a nice little twist on the alien action film, as here, the aliens are the good guys., which is a nice change. Sharlto Copley is fantastic in this role and this, combined with Elysium, showcase his great talent, especially while working with Neill Blommkamp. The film is also very well made and directed. The action sequences are well done and the story is told very well. The mockumentary style used at times was very unique and an interesting way of setting everything up. In addition, the special effects are stellar. The spaceships, weapons, and aliens, are brilliantly crafted and beautiful to watch. The story is very well written as well and the amount of emotion here is very nice and adds a layer of depth to the sci-fi action flick that this one is. My only concerns here are the, at times, excessive gore, which I am never a fan of and the inclusion of the Nigerians. I can see why the Nigerians took offense, but my personal concern is that it was very over the top and unsettling in a bad way, not a good unsettling, if that makes sense. Overall, District 9 is a very well made and acted science fiction film that has me looking forward to a possible sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
XgashhJul 31, 2013
I loved the idea of this movie, but the execution wasent best in my opinion, i was waiting for something else. First 20-30 minutes were amazing, i thought how noone had this great movie idea before but few things remained unclear for me. II loved the idea of this movie, but the execution wasent best in my opinion, i was waiting for something else. First 20-30 minutes were amazing, i thought how noone had this great movie idea before but few things remained unclear for me. I also didnt really like the personality of actors, sometimes it felt so stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dev92Aug 25, 2012
Wow. This film is on another planet to most sci-fi films. A true classic that will surely develop a cult following in years to come. The emotional arc within the plot is truly outstanding and I really did not see the ending coming. SharltoWow. This film is on another planet to most sci-fi films. A true classic that will surely develop a cult following in years to come. The emotional arc within the plot is truly outstanding and I really did not see the ending coming. Sharlto Copley was fantastic and though I found his accent hard to understand at times I did not mind as it is obviously a different accent to that of which we are mostly used to (unless you have some connection to South Africa). The underlying message was crystal clear for everyone to see and unless you are oblivious to all that went on in South Africa/Rhodesia you would be hard-pushed to find a more emotional sci-fi thriller. I had never heard of Neill Blomkamp before this but this would have been my choice for Best Picture, Best Director and maybe even Best Actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BlueBoxSep 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. District 9 is a sci-fi action movie about a huge alien spaceship which crashes onto Earth. Humans go inside the ship and find loads of aliens which look like a cross between a human and a prawn. All the aliens inside the ship were later enslaved and forced to leave the spaceship and live in a shanty town where they are being watched and guarded heavily by the military. Then there is a man who has taken a great interest into the aliens, he has researched the origin of the aliens and has learned their language. He goes around the shanty town asking aliens to sign a form. later on he finds a strange alien device from one of the alien Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Neill Blomkamp makes his directorial debut with "District 9", a movie that caught me by surprise. The movie initially caught my eye when it was featured as one of the ten movies nominated for Best Picture at the 82nd Academy Awards, and I'veNeill Blomkamp makes his directorial debut with "District 9", a movie that caught me by surprise. The movie initially caught my eye when it was featured as one of the ten movies nominated for Best Picture at the 82nd Academy Awards, and I've had high expectations ever since. However, after watching "District 9" I can safely say that those expecations have been undoubtedly destroyed. Neill Blomkamp creates the most intelligently crafted science-fiction films I've seen since "Inception". He utilizes an incredibly innovative documentary-style cinematography to create a tangible sense of realism. Another remarkable aspect of this movie is the fact that this film was created on an incredibly modest budget, and it raked in about seven times the amount of the funds at the box office. Pretty good stuff. The movie also features an unbelievably affecting performance from then first-time actor Sharlto Copley. He really does a fantastic job at illustrating all of the trials that his character, Wikus Van Der Merwe, has to endure. I was entertained throughout the entire duration of "District 9" and I would gladly watch it many more times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersFeb 24, 2013
This film really surprised me, brilliant in so many way. The thing that caught my attention right away was the documentary sections. I did not think it could be so appealing, but the mockumentary strategy really sets this film apart fromThis film really surprised me, brilliant in so many way. The thing that caught my attention right away was the documentary sections. I did not think it could be so appealing, but the mockumentary strategy really sets this film apart from every other lame alien movie. It makes the entire story feel so real. Brilliant filmmaking! For a relatively low budget, indie film, I was surprised by how great the special effects were. The action scenes were awesome, as were the aliens. I also really liked the gory parts of the film, it works. I was also very surprised by the acting, particularly by first time actor, Sharlto Copley. He gives a very strong and emotional performance that really carried the film and added a great level of emotion and intensity to the film. This is an absolutely fantastic movie. Right alongside Avatar as one of the best films of 2009! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Though Avatar overloaded on visuals, District 9 stomps all over Avatar making it the best sci-fi film ever{Besides Avatar was pretty bad anyway}. Its possible the best film of all time as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
InsanityOnABunDec 21, 2012
Although the confusion of humans understanding an alien language and vice versa is never addressed, this film emotionally involves the viewer to a degree most films cannot reach and keeps them focused and involved throughout its whole,Although the confusion of humans understanding an alien language and vice versa is never addressed, this film emotionally involves the viewer to a degree most films cannot reach and keeps them focused and involved throughout its whole, original entirety. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SimpleMethodJul 8, 2013
A stellar critique of apartheid. I really enjoy smart sci-fi and District 9 brought it. Can't wait for Elysium this august, which looks fantastic as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithMay 11, 2013
District 9 is one of the best sci-fi movies of the past decade and the list doesn't stop there. It's an incredible debut for both its director and its lead actor. It was modestly budgeted but still managed to have some of the best visualDistrict 9 is one of the best sci-fi movies of the past decade and the list doesn't stop there. It's an incredible debut for both its director and its lead actor. It was modestly budgeted but still managed to have some of the best visual effects around. And it's all held together by a lean, politically charged, and well realized script. It even gets you to feel sad for the aliens. It could have used less F bombs, but it's still a great movie, and it deserved all of its Oscar nominations. It also deserves a decent sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheFineBroJan 27, 2013
What happens when Peter Jackson joins Neil Blomkamp in a sci-fi movie?. An original story, stuning visual effects, and a impresive acting by Sharlto Copley, makes and amazing movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Mr_MuumiJul 14, 2013
One of the most positive surprises of less known productions grabs the viewer by the throat and holds until the end. District 9 is Sci-fi only by definition, yet the underlying political and sociological themes are presented in enough subtleOne of the most positive surprises of less known productions grabs the viewer by the throat and holds until the end. District 9 is Sci-fi only by definition, yet the underlying political and sociological themes are presented in enough subtle way for those who only wish to enjoy it only as an story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
George-rootsAug 28, 2013
If you watch cinema today you know originality has been down the and there's been an almost severe lack of great science fiction (say "2001" or "Blade Runner"). However of all the films to come out in 2009 I feel "District 9" surpasses theIf you watch cinema today you know originality has been down the and there's been an almost severe lack of great science fiction (say "2001" or "Blade Runner"). However of all the films to come out in 2009 I feel "District 9" surpasses the likes of "Avatar" or "Transformers 2" proving that even on a incredibly lower budget that CGI is maturing rapidly beyond "expenses" and "limitations".

The answer to a failed "Halo" movie, a lot of people have already condemned this movie for having no originality due to the fact that there are so many prior movies sharing similarities (e.g "The Fugitive", "The Fly", "Alien Nation", "Independence Day" e.t.c)

Even though this movie contains many elements of those certain films (few I think fall flat), this still stands strong as something completely different from what we've seen for a long time and manages to include a lot of heavy themes such as Racism, Poverty and Corruption. As for the actual film WOW! America doesn't get invaded this time (I'm British by the way), No actually it lands in Africa (where the director and most of his cast originated).

Aliens land not with gifts of wisdom or shiny utopia's but sickness and famine, Sent away to live in the slums outside the city of Johannesburg, "District 9" becomes a breeding ground for gangs, shantytowns and clearly the beginning of something much worse, among them a simple employee from the governments anti-Alien company "MNU" will soon become the answer to either to company prayers or the Aliens salvation.

Sharlto Copley did a superb job as our main character, for a first time role I'm very pleased he's career has got to such a good start, Supporting cast do terrific jobs building a real sense of dirt, tension and prejudice that really brings out the realism of this movie, Again clearly it's Sci-Fi but why do I feel I could switch on the news now and see a country pull itself apart as depicted in this movie?

Neil Blomkamp & Peter Jackson have made something truly special, I feel Blomkamp is trying to show a little bit more than what regulations would usually let us see but including Aliens in the mix as a substitute could very much threaten any underlying message they were going for, Either way "District 9" was solid entertainment and to me began a tradition that we will have at least one exceptionally great Sci-Fi movie each year since. 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NimbleReviewJun 18, 2013
District 9 is one of those few movies that sticks with you. It is baffling how great this movie, with such a simple premise. I'll get it out of the way quickly that the acting and cinematography are spot on, but what makes the movie great isDistrict 9 is one of those few movies that sticks with you. It is baffling how great this movie, with such a simple premise. I'll get it out of the way quickly that the acting and cinematography are spot on, but what makes the movie great is that it surprisingly pulls you in emotionally, with very good, and at times very original action scenes and moments. The story keeps you guessing and gets more and more intense as it goes along, and there's really no reason not to recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
asjklasjklasMar 10, 2015
Neill Blomkamp has been recently regarded as a “fluke” by fans and critics, largely due to the commercial and critical disappointments of his fellow science-fiction follow-ups, 2013’s Elysium and 2015’s CHAPPiE—which, by all means, has faredNeill Blomkamp has been recently regarded as a “fluke” by fans and critics, largely due to the commercial and critical disappointments of his fellow science-fiction follow-ups, 2013’s Elysium and 2015’s CHAPPiE—which, by all means, has fared well with fans more than it has critics compared to the former. But fortunately, Blomkamp’s dedication to his 2009 directorial debut District 9 shows that he has an ability to create modern sci-fi classics that can balance both grit and visceral storytelling.

Although his recent endeavors have also received criticisms due to their seemingly half-witted exploration of philosophical and political themes, District 9’s explicit exploration of themes discussing racism and xenophobia—in the form of speciesism, where the antagonistic private military company Multinational United (MNU) and the citizens of Johannesburg have a begrudging behavior against the aliens that inhabit its District 9—couldn’t be anymore well-told if it tried, gritting yet emotionally captivating. The special effects look fantastic for the film’s $30 million budget and Sharlto Copley’s character Wikus, who is eventually exposed to an unidentified fluid that begins his transition into one of the aliens, is portrayed with excellent quality and helps represent his character’s theme of becoming more humane the less he is human.

It’s often that you’ll revisit films from a continuously failing director that you’ll discover major flaws that once were minor. But District 9 isn’t one of them and as far as I’m concerned, Blomkamp has the opportunity to redeem himself. The announcement that he’s directing the next Alien sequel still excites me and I’m not doubting despite some errors—I specifically enjoyed CHAPPiE, to be honest. Critics constantly look for the negatives in an artist’s work and I believe that has resulted in the demolition of the term “art”. Because artists now feel confined to the audiences watching their work rather than the work itself, it’s become despicable. It has put an end to many, many once respected directorial careers, sometimes over films that took time to receive acclaim. Hopefully, Blomkamp’s career won’t end in that direction and we’ll get a regeneration of what exactly made him one of sci-fi’s most relevant visionaries.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Apartheid, political messages, action film, sci-fi, documentary....does this film balance it all well? I really don't know. What I do know is that this is definitely one of the best films I've seen this year. While watching it you are disturbed, you are disgusted, you are moved but ultimately you are most certainly entertained.
At first you see the "prawns" as being almost primitive and barbaric. As if the film is trying to justify their confinement and seclusion. This is the "stereotype" (racist?) image of them, until you get to meet one. You cannot help but root for Christopher to succeed in his mission to go home. You see the aliens differently through Christopher's eyes.
Sharlto Copley is AMAZING! His character Wikus is initially a slightly annoying, somewhat geeky everyman. Nothing special. As the film progresses, certain circumstances force him to become more understanding to what the aliens are going through, and his interaction with Christopher in particular makes him see things in a new light. He doesn't exactly become a "new man" (excuse the pun, to those who have seen the film), just more aware. This awareness leads him to do extraordinary acts, which in a way makes him more human than the rest.
I can't explain it better without giving too much of the film away. Just go see it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BigzoobsFeb 14, 2014
An excellent, modern sci fi interpretation of apartheid. Kept me captivated and enthralled all the way through. First you begin disliking the prauns, but as the plot progresses, I began to sympathize with them. The cinematography isAn excellent, modern sci fi interpretation of apartheid. Kept me captivated and enthralled all the way through. First you begin disliking the prauns, but as the plot progresses, I began to sympathize with them. The cinematography is phenomenal, a work of art in its own. The only thing that bugs me, and keeps me from giving district 9 a 10 is the ending. It's too ambiguous for my liking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJun 6, 2015
District 9 blew my expectations, but it might not be as great for everyone.

Great action-sequences, deep symbolic messages and incredible casting performances is the greatest aspects with District 9. This is Sharlto Copleys’ best movie to
District 9 blew my expectations, but it might not be as great for everyone.

Great action-sequences, deep symbolic messages and incredible casting performances is the greatest aspects with District 9. This is Sharlto Copleys’ best movie to date. I’ve never liked him before, but this blew me away. His character develops more and more throughout the movie, and from different perspectives. Very nice! There’re real chemistry between the aliens and the humans, and I totally felt close to them all! The beginning of the movie is highly unique, and strange in some way, but in the end did it really work! I’m also a big fan of the structure in the movie, and its innovation. District 9 is very realistic when it comes to how aliens and humans would react on the unknown, which really is the theme if this movie! The message of this movie is that we humans are the real threat, because of our continuous hunt for domination and power.

There are some unexpected things in this movie, and it made the movie much better! The plot is very solid, and some of the events totally made me laugh out loud of epicness! The soundeffects are at the same time freaking hilarious!

The major bad aspect of District 9 is that it isn’t as good the second time you watch it. It only works once! The ending could have had more to it, and the CGI might have been the worst I’ve seen in movie history, so hilariously bad! But it still broke all my expectations, but the CGI made me laugh. First time: 8/10. Second: 7.8/10.

7.8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AijixeSep 27, 2015
District 9 is my number one film of all time and deservedly so - it delivers its messages with substance and does too many things right to even consider negatives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dr_FetusOct 6, 2013
A story that could have made an awful or a great film turned out to be the latter. Style of prose and filming really suited what the film was aspiring to be, and an all-time favourite for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CharlieWOct 13, 2013
At first I tought that it will be another action film from the bunch, but after I saw it I really appreciated that that was not the case, until the -almost- very end; I felt that became that part of the bunch that I didn't wanted it toAt first I tought that it will be another action film from the bunch, but after I saw it I really appreciated that that was not the case, until the -almost- very end; I felt that became that part of the bunch that I didn't wanted it to become, but quickly moved away from it to focus on the plot. The political feel was amazing. It is something more than just a Sunday blockbuster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ingie44Feb 7, 2014
This film far exceeded my expectations. Seamless transition through genres, beautifully developing characters, extremely exciting and bizarely moving. Only one character that i feel could have done with a little more development or backThis film far exceeded my expectations. Seamless transition through genres, beautifully developing characters, extremely exciting and bizarely moving. Only one character that i feel could have done with a little more development or back story, but its only a tiny issue in an otherwise fantastic film. I think district 9 is original and clever and an altogether excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksMar 25, 2017
District 9 truly captures a message of how different races are treated when they are not understood. It is brilliantly shot and wonderfully acted. Some of the CGI has not stood the test of time but overall this is an incredible film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
entelejentMay 7, 2014
Paths were ripped away before they were well-developed, and overall the movie should have been mediocre. Still, for whatever reason, I left the theater unusually satisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Handyman003Nov 20, 2015
Innovative special effects, rousing performances and a smart, emotionally charged story with hard-hitting action all elevate a standard-looking docu-drama into something quite special. Director and co-writer Neill Blomkamp emerges as aInnovative special effects, rousing performances and a smart, emotionally charged story with hard-hitting action all elevate a standard-looking docu-drama into something quite special. Director and co-writer Neill Blomkamp emerges as a promising force in film, along with lead star Sharlto Copley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeAug 13, 2014
Amazing effects,great story,great actors and great characters.The movie have everything you want:action,Sci-Fi and some horror.I don't know what to say the movie is just amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PrivateJokerMay 15, 2014
District 9 is one of those rare sci-fi movies that gets everything right. It manages to be a small movie while still being really good. Considering this, don't be quick to label this as some little weird hipster movie because it's not. It'sDistrict 9 is one of those rare sci-fi movies that gets everything right. It manages to be a small movie while still being really good. Considering this, don't be quick to label this as some little weird hipster movie because it's not. It's reasonably sized and that balance is what makes it so awesome. Less is truly more in this case, but trust me there is a lot of solid action in it too. But it's meaningful because it progresses the plot. It's a shame that it was overshadowed by Avatar because it outperforms that movie in every way: the characters are grounded and believable, the setting is dystopian, (kind of in the vain of Bladerunner, which is my favorite movie) and in contrast to the largely present cartoonish CGI these days, the special effects are shockingly convincing. All these components work really well to portray a gripping story that incorporates realistic themes, while still not coming off pretentious and self important (*ahem* Avatar!) In short, the movie balances simplicity and complexity very well. Overall I left the theater feeling really satisfied. I really hope there's a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
xdhollywoodOct 22, 2014
District nine is an example on what a good sci fi thriller should be like, it has such a wonderful design and what would happen after aliens visited the modern world
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 21, 2014
Over twenty years ago, aliens made first contact with Earth. Humans waited for the hostile attack, or the giant advances in technology. Neither came. Instead, the aliens were refugees, the last survivors of their home world. The creaturesOver twenty years ago, aliens made first contact with Earth. Humans waited for the hostile attack, or the giant advances in technology. Neither came. Instead, the aliens were refugees, the last survivors of their home world. The creatures were set up in a makeshift home in South Africa’s District 9 as the world’s nations argued over what to do with them.
Now, patience over the alien situation has run out. The tension between the aliens and the humans comes to a head when a human field operative, Wikus van der Merwe, contracts a mysterious virus that begins changing his DNA. Wikus quickly becomes the most hunted man in the world, as well as the most valuable – he is the key to unlocking the secrets of alien technology. Ostracized and friendless, there is only one place left for him to hide: District 9.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudaManJan 15, 2015
It is a good movie but it is very over rated. It has a good mix of action/sci-fi but it has some very boring slow parts which gives it a bad start. I liked it but it was too much of a documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SuperficialityFeb 7, 2015
Best movie I've ever seen! Although it started off a bit slow, the last hour was non stop action. So thrilling and action packed I had to create an account on metacritic and give this a 10/10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrHouseMar 8, 2015
Hands down the best film I've ever seen! District 9 delivers a knockout! With the creation of a space ship hovering over Africa and a documentary shot sequence, D9 works its way to the top of a new generation of documentaries.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Termin8terJan 5, 2017
District 9 is a unique film that explores ideas that have never been ventured in movies before. And it executes it very well, providing a strong film with good themes, good direction, and good acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
siltsunriseJun 11, 2016
One of the most interesting, fun, gritty sci fi films I ever saw. You have to swallow some major plot holes, but the atmosphere and good points let me overlook them and I had a great time with this. One of my favorites. So unique!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
It is universally acknowledged (at least by those who don't play with Transformers toys) that the best science fiction stories are those that use the devices of aliens, robots, and space ships to illustrate some greater truth. Star Trek (theIt is universally acknowledged (at least by those who don't play with Transformers toys) that the best science fiction stories are those that use the devices of aliens, robots, and space ships to illustrate some greater truth. Star Trek (the TV series in its various incarnations and, to a lesser degree, the movies) understood this, and that's one reason it has become revered in some circles despite frequent lapses into dubious science. District 9, the eye-opening feature debut from South African filmmaker Neill Blomkamp, recognizes this as well and, in order to avoid the possibility of his message being overlooked, he abandons subtlety. Anyone who watches District 9 and doesn't think of Apartheid, Nazis, and Josef Mengele needs to spend some time reading a few history books.

The premise is not unique for a science fiction movie, although the direction in which Blomkamp takes it is. A giant spaceship has arrived at Earth and, after bypassing cities like New York and Chicago, it comes to hover over Johannesburg, South Africa. It hangs there in mid-air, motionless, until an expedition from Earth arrives and cuts its way into the ship. Inside, the humans find millions of alien worker drones, sick and malnourished, and a massive operation is begun to transport the aliens from their ship to the ground, feed them, and give them a new "home." Unfortunately, good intentions are not enough, and the alien habitat, District 9, becomes more of a concentration camp than a refuge. Things start really going wrong when the decision is made to transfer the aliens from their current residence to a smaller, more remote location. Wilkus Van De Merwe (Sharlto Copley) is not competent to handle the operation of which he is in charge, and his lack of experience is quickly evident. His first day in this position ends with him in the hospital, having been contaminated by an alien fluid - and that's where his personal nightmare begins.

The film has been assembled in a part-documentary, part you-are-there style, although without the potential nausea-inducing camerawork that marred Cloverfield for many viewers. Parts of District 9 are black-and-white and, even when things are in color, the hues have been drained and washed out. All of this works to provide a gritty look and amp up the level of believability. The special effects, which include everything from shots of the mothership hovering over Johannesburg to blasts from various weapons to the CGI rendering of the creatures, are first-rate.

The film recalls the likes of The Day the Earth Stood Still, David Cronenberg's The Fly, and Independence Day. Absent are the high-minded ideals evident in more optimistic productions such as E.T., Close Encounters, and Star Trek: First Contact. Here, the premise is simple: the humanitarian impulses that lead to the planet welcoming the aliens are quickly overridden by greed and xenophobia. Some try to profit from the newcomers while others, ruled by fear, want to destroy them. Some might argue that Blomkamp's perspective is bleak and cynical, but a cursory glimpse at the whole of recorded history validates his position.

The occasional offbeat humor in District 9 is needed - the material is so bleak that without it, this would be a tough 112 minutes to endure. There are also plenty of action sequences and, unlike in Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, they are expertly choreographed, easy to follow, and generate a sense of tension and excitement. (And, yes, the biggest and best of the action sequences involves a giant robot-like creature.) The film accomplishes a rare thing: it's a science fiction story with depth and thought-provoking ideas that still has room for shoot-outs, explosions, and bloody violence. The R-rating is well earned - more than one person, after being hit by an energy weapon, explodes in a shower of blood, and Wikus' Fly-like transformation is just as gruesome as when something similar happened to Jeff Goldblum.

One of the most intriguing aspects of District 9 is the way Blomkamp re-aligns our sympathies. In the beginning, aided by the documentary re-cap of the aliens' arrival on Earth, we are neutral observers, naturally prone to side with humanity. As the story unfolds, however, and we are privy to the atrocities committed inside District 9 and the inhumane manner in which the "prawns" (as they are derisively called because of a crustacean-like appearance) are treated, our thinking changes. By the end, mankind is the enemy and the average viewer wouldn't be saddened if a potential sequel opened in much the same manner as Independence Day. As you sow, so shall you reap...

District 9 ends in a way that is both satisfying and unsettling. Although the story is told, there are untilled ground and unanswered questions - not the least of which is what will happen in three years. A sequel, if one is warranted, is effectively set up, but is not mandatory.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hanneguacamoleJun 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. District 9, simply put, is a slum. A place nobody particularly wants to be or even wants to exist, but nonetheless is there with millions of aliens inside. This all takes place in South Africa, which is such an interesting choice considering the subject matter. South Africa's past with apartheid lends itself well to this story of discrimination and segregation, because there's always someone on the bottom. Now it's the prawns. What I noticed right away was how negatively these aliens were portrayed. I shouldn't have had any opinion on them because I was only seeing one side of the story, yet I couldn't help myself and was further surprised when my opinion and sympathies changed again. Seeing both sides is vital.

"This isn't legal!" No, these evictions were not legal but they were what MNU and seemingly the human race wanted to happen. The treatment of these aliens was cruel and in return so was the hostility the humans encountered. The biggest shift throughout in power and perspective was when Wikus got infected with the fluid and started to get discriminated against and lost his authority and respectability with his own people. As soon as he starts to transform he becomes vital to MNU only because of his biological potential for weaponry.

"I will fix you, but first I must save my people." The promise that determines everything from who lives, who dies, and when the mothership leaves. Very action-packed after a long time spent leading up to this emotional climax, yet it's like we hardly get any sort of resolution. I'm not left with a sense of fulfillment from this story, because it didn't end. Sure, they left potential for a sequel, but the last third was disappointing when you think about what could have been. I guess we may never know what happens to Christopher, the aliens, and Wikus.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsJun 23, 2017
I liked the futuristic elements of the movie and also the ideas of what it wanted to show. It of course also had action and the storyline was quite interesting and made you think and draw parallels to the real world
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
So strange but true, the beginning was the idea of ​​" District 9" , about aliens but that idea was criticized badly , it would be a disaster that would be horrible or what the users talks us a sh*t, but in the end it turned around and weSo strange but true, the beginning was the idea of ​​" District 9" , about aliens but that idea was criticized badly , it would be a disaster that would be horrible or what the users talks us a sh*t, but in the end it turned around and we wanted to see a movie of most coveted , interesting and very cool aliens , according to this, " District 9" has exceeded expectatives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
District 9 is powerful, awesome, and heart worthy. You'll enjoy this the same way as I did and indeed you're going to love it. I give District 9 a district 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
If you're one of those people who can't enjoy a film with some major plot holes, done watch this film. Otherwise, it's a must see. District 9 is a film that's original at many levels. The CGI is beyond average. The dialogs are decent. TheIf you're one of those people who can't enjoy a film with some major plot holes, done watch this film. Otherwise, it's a must see. District 9 is a film that's original at many levels. The CGI is beyond average. The dialogs are decent. The pacing is decent. The satire is successful. The location and choice of actors is unique. etc.

If only it had a more credibly plot, this could have been the best film of 2009. Unfortunately this is where the film fails miserable, but to me pretty much everything else about District 9 saves the film and puts it at a level way beyond mediocrity. Therefore I still recommend this film, even though I would prefer a more credible plot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21May 24, 2016
It combined an excellent story line, great action, and characters you truly felt for.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1c95-District-9-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amai2739Jan 26, 2017
Neill Blomkamp’s District 9 was 1 of the best science fiction I’ve seen in a while. The plot was well crafted, very suspenseful. The set pieces were absolutely stunning and not to mention the action sequence was done nicely also. It had itsNeill Blomkamp’s District 9 was 1 of the best science fiction I’ve seen in a while. The plot was well crafted, very suspenseful. The set pieces were absolutely stunning and not to mention the action sequence was done nicely also. It had its moments, heart-wrenching moments. Altogether, a very enticing science fiction drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
Thirty years ago, aliens arrive on Earth -- not to conquer or give aid, but -- to find refuge from their dying planet. Separated from humans in a South African area called District 9, the aliens are managed by Multi-National United, which isThirty years ago, aliens arrive on Earth -- not to conquer or give aid, but -- to find refuge from their dying planet. Separated from humans in a South African area called District 9, the aliens are managed by Multi-National United, which is unconcerned with the aliens' welfare but will do anything to master their advanced technology. When a company field agent (Sharlto Copley) contracts a mysterious virus that begins to alter his DNA, there is only one place he can hide: District 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews