Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 25, 2012
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2035 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,844
Mixed:
113
Negative:
78
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Nero97Jul 16, 2013
First of all: For you guys who complain about Tarantino using slavery in the west, pay attention to the movie before talking The movie DOES NOT pass in the west! Texas and Mississippi are on the south, that's it, the movie doesn't take placeFirst of all: For you guys who complain about Tarantino using slavery in the west, pay attention to the movie before talking The movie DOES NOT pass in the west! Texas and Mississippi are on the south, that's it, the movie doesn't take place anywhere else. You really think Tarantino would make such a mistake?
I loved the movie, the acting, the story (that is quite different from the style of any other Tarantino movie), the way he mixes all kinds of genre (comedy, drama, action, etc) and makes the movie get so interesting you want to watch it again, and again and again. Besides i didn't like the fact Django turned out to be the Cowboy image (come on, it would be awesome if he was just the free slave getting his vengence without this whole american western cowboy hero thing), Tarantino made an impressive screenplay with an impressive acting work. For the violence, some people complain about the absurd amount. For me, Tarantino can ude it the way he wants, that at the end, it's going to be good, more then any other violence movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJan 22, 2013
My first cinema-going in 2013 is dedicating to Tarantino
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
houyarmFeb 20, 2013
It appears to be very appealing and attractive from the far but it is actually very meaningless when I look at it from the inside, like a king without cloth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJan 13, 2013
Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Violent. Sentimental. Enthralling. The actors enliven the script under Tarantino's direction, and create a modern (south) Western spectacle that Tarantino fans will savor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RJSteinerFeb 3, 2013
This movie is, as the name implies, chainless or as the young folk say off the chain. Tarantino kills it again, with scenes that have you at the edge of your seat, heros that steal your heart, and antagonists that you love to hate. If youThis movie is, as the name implies, chainless or as the young folk say off the chain. Tarantino kills it again, with scenes that have you at the edge of your seat, heros that steal your heart, and antagonists that you love to hate. If you haven't seen it do your self a favor, get to a theater, watch Django unchained, and thank me later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SkimanMar 22, 2014
Tarantino hits another home run. This ones out of the city not just the park. What a interesting movie. The characters are amazing. Waltz is the good guy this time and he is wonderful. Fox is wonderful. I really enjoyed this movie.Tarantino hits another home run. This ones out of the city not just the park. What a interesting movie. The characters are amazing. Waltz is the good guy this time and he is wonderful. Fox is wonderful. I really enjoyed this movie. Must see. If you like QT movies you will love it. If you don't like QT movies....what can I say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FozzyJul 4, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is brilliant, from the direction of the obviously talented Quentin Tarantino to the acting of such figures of Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio, Don Johnson, Kerry Washington, Samuel L. Jackson and, particularly, Christoph Woltz There's a reason this film has won not one but TWO Awards, and it was by far my favorite film of 2012, as well as being one of my favorite films ever. I would change nothing about this film (apart form making it longer), and the only think I pity is that Tarantino killed off all but two major characters, because a sequel or continuation of some kind would have been brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OnAnarchyJan 13, 2013
Tarantino follows his formula and doesn't dissapoint. Django Unchained is a masterfully crafted film and is as entertaining and smart as anything he's ever done. Christoph Waltz deserves another Academy Award for an amazing performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jzmeMar 16, 2015
This is the best movie I've ever watched in cinema, it is worth every penny that I spent. I am particularly fond of the soundtrack, acting, storyline and acting (basically every part of the movie). I remembered how mind blown I was right fromThis is the best movie I've ever watched in cinema, it is worth every penny that I spent. I am particularly fond of the soundtrack, acting, storyline and acting (basically every part of the movie). I remembered how mind blown I was right from the beginning, until the end of this movie. It was almost too good to be true; and I had the privilege to watch it in the cinema. Personally, I felt that Leonardo Di Caprio were absolutely brilliant in this movie, I was really hoping he could win an award... loved this! Again, Quentin Tarantino did it! Pure genius Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Another epic masterpiece from Quentin Tarantino. Once again, the perfect mix of bold and funny that we've come to know and love; and he does so with great help from Waltz, DiCaprio and Foxx.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Jan 8, 2013
Django Unchained is Quentin's best film since pulp fiction. Its funny, sick, and extremely entertaining on all levels. Unlike his other films the movie never drags and mixes comedy and violence to near perfection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LopsterPopsterJan 5, 2013
Tarantino knew just how to make you laugh, cringe, and cheer all through this movie. Christoph Waltz is so perfect in his role as Dr. King Schultz in his humor and little twinges of psychotic nature that peak through every once in a while,Tarantino knew just how to make you laugh, cringe, and cheer all through this movie. Christoph Waltz is so perfect in his role as Dr. King Schultz in his humor and little twinges of psychotic nature that peak through every once in a while, Jamie Fox portrays the perfect mixture of fear, anger, and pretentiousness, and DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson are just the perfect villains. The movie is a great ride all the way through, and keeps the fun going the whole 2 hours and 45 minutes. The ending to this movie is one of the most satisfying I've seen in quite some time, and the final shootout is unlike anything I've seen. I definitely will see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerDec 29, 2012
Quentin Tarantino is a great director, he can make the most meaningless scene in a movie interesting and memorable, which is sort of how the film starts off.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jan 10, 2013
The movie started out strong on all fronts, but begins to descend into a long-winded story that never really grasped my attention. Still, the movie manages to bring plenty of comedic gore and drama which is unique.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Tara61Jan 16, 2013
Tarantino is getting better with age, that is certain. Django has what Inglorious bastards were missing and that's more developed characters and to be quite honest more likable characters.
I have to admit that only in this movie I realized
Tarantino is getting better with age, that is certain. Django has what Inglorious bastards were missing and that's more developed characters and to be quite honest more likable characters.
I have to admit that only in this movie I realized what talent is Christoph Waltz. The man is a scene thief. He expresses so many emotions with so little and every line is perfectly timed and executed. My greatest concern was the length of the movie, however every one of 165 minutes was entertaining.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cylentstormJun 28, 2013
Yep--another bit of Tarantino gold to add to the collection. Love it. Oh, and Christoph Waltz really shines here--again. From the despicably evil Jew Hunter to Dr. Schultz: bigot-hating bounty hunter--he really lives these characters. ButYep--another bit of Tarantino gold to add to the collection. Love it. Oh, and Christoph Waltz really shines here--again. From the despicably evil Jew Hunter to Dr. Schultz: bigot-hating bounty hunter--he really lives these characters. But then, everyone usually does with Tarantino at the helm. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattMoJan 30, 2013
Another great Tarantino movie. Christoph Waltz is as amazing as "Basterds" and even Jamie Foxx is likeable. The storyline is creative, brutal, and effective. Full of shocks and hilarious gratuitous violence, Django is a film to be seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
VorchJan 11, 2013
One of Tarantino's best films. The pacing is good throughout, but seems to be artificially quickened in a couple parts of the movie. Even so, there's enough here to keep fans entertained for the duration.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
rahlzelJan 6, 2013
Fan-f*cking-tastic! Dynamite dialogue, sensational storytelling, and ravishing revenge. My OCD brain could not find a single fault with this movie. Absolutely loved it. Top 10 best movies I've ever seen.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
seancriswellDec 29, 2012
Not everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django isNot everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django is gonna get a lot of comparisons to Basterds because they are both revenge fantasies at their core. While that may not be fair it is natural given the very similar plot arcs. While I still think I would have preferred Bastreds if it had been made second because of two of the best scenes ever put into film, it is hard to say because Django did feel familiar while Basterds felt like something you had never seen before. There is still plenty to love about the movie. As usual this film is very dialogue driven with biting humor and some dark overtones. Nobody in film ever uses dialogue to build tension like Tarantino and there is plenty of that at work here. Performances are great almost across the board, especially Waltz and Dicaprio. Foxx gives a nice, understated performance as Django. My only beef with the performances was surprisingly Jackson. Although I think that is more a product of the character than his performance. If the usual Tarantino stylized violence is your cup of tea, there is enough of it on display here to get your fill. For me this movie goes off the rails just a bit in the final third. I never felt like Tarantino knew how to end this film and it ended uo being the weak link in another very good Tarantino vehicle. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
RealMuthaFJan 24, 2013
Tarantino did it again. Django Unchained is the best of his newer movies (Kill Bill, Death Proof, Inglorious Basterds) It's violent, funny, doesn't stand on ceremony with the theme of slavery and is accompanied by an outstandingly awesomeTarantino did it again. Django Unchained is the best of his newer movies (Kill Bill, Death Proof, Inglorious Basterds) It's violent, funny, doesn't stand on ceremony with the theme of slavery and is accompanied by an outstandingly awesome soundtrack. The dialogues are the main and the best part of the movie, as usual, the characters are well-written well-acted (DiCaprio has just proven that he can be a great antagonist), and the action is gory and awesome. Despite being 165-minute-long, the film keeps you hooked all the way. To summarize - it's Tarantino at his finest. Go watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
metaxenoDec 27, 2012
I would actually give Django an 8.5 not a 9. I gave it an 8 on imdb so I would like to think the 2 scores average. I thought it was a good, solid movie. However a few aspects of the story seemed too ridiculous. Only a skilled filmmakers asI would actually give Django an 8.5 not a 9. I gave it an 8 on imdb so I would like to think the 2 scores average. I thought it was a good, solid movie. However a few aspects of the story seemed too ridiculous. Only a skilled filmmakers as these could get away with a movie like this. Example, a german cowboy? While it's an interesting idea I'm not sure how the character came to be. Perhaps more backstory about him would make it more believable and less ridiculous. Overall, like my rating says, the movie was quite good. It kept my emotions high whether I was laughing, near tears or simply blow away by the action. I must say that some of the slavery aspects were painful to swallow, much like a holocaust movie or a movie like Flight where an alcoholic nearly drinks himself to death. However, before the reader gets up in arms, the pain one is meant to feel regarding slavery and the like is appropriate. Unless you are ignorant and don't find it painful or you simply didn't think the slavery aspect was portrayed well in the film. I digress, Tarantino has once again rewritten history in a way. This film ranks third behind Pulp Fiction and Inglorious Bastards. While I'm not sure if what he is doing is right or in good taste even, he still pulls it off because he is a brilliant and talented filmmaker. I look forward to what he is going to do next, I just hope we won't have to wait to long... Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
normypFeb 14, 2013
This is my favourite Tarantino film yet! Okay, Tarantino fans may not like it because it maybe a tiny bit more mainstream than they'd like but it's got awesome music, a pretty fun story and some awesome acting from Jamie Foxx. I found theThis is my favourite Tarantino film yet! Okay, Tarantino fans may not like it because it maybe a tiny bit more mainstream than they'd like but it's got awesome music, a pretty fun story and some awesome acting from Jamie Foxx. I found the pacing with past Tarantino films to be a bit off but this is perfect, it has those trademark ridiculously long scenes and really long monologues but then also a load of fast paced scenes, humour and action. I liked this one especially because I found it quite provocative about the slave trade, what of his past films have done this? IB with nazi's? Not really. This is going to be one of my favourite films for years to come I can tell! :D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
Superb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for someSuperb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for some lame hip-hop songs) were all top level! Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mmweissJan 21, 2013
At one point in Quentin Tarantino´s new film "Django Unchained", the director makes a reference to the ancient Greece. Even the Parthenon is referenced, so we can see that references aren't missing in Tarantino´s latest filmAt one point in Quentin Tarantino´s new film "Django Unchained", the director makes a reference to the ancient Greece. Even the Parthenon is referenced, so we can see that references aren't missing in Tarantino´s latest film (The movie is filled with them). In the middle of all these references are lots of fun and heavy violence. This is one of Quentin´s funniest films, the humor is so smart and critical and most importantly so entertaining (The KKK scene is hilarious). The violent scenes are very flamboyant and stylized (as in any other Tarantino film) and so much fun. Samuel L. Jackson and Christoph Waltz deliver fantastic performances, as you would expect, but even the actors who you wouldn't expect to be great, are, like Don Johnson as Big Daddy. The dialogues are amazing, they´re fast, smart and funny. Django Unchained is definitely a must-see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BertoDec 26, 2012
While Django Unchained is definitely not a masterpiece, it is an extremely entertaining movie. Jamie Foxx's acting was not top-notch, but I did enjoy, as always, Samuel L. Jackson's performance. The storyline is pretty predictable but theWhile Django Unchained is definitely not a masterpiece, it is an extremely entertaining movie. Jamie Foxx's acting was not top-notch, but I did enjoy, as always, Samuel L. Jackson's performance. The storyline is pretty predictable but the movie does not suffer as a result. The historical setting is perfectly recreated. I found the hyper-exaggeration of violence quite funny at times, more so than in other of QT's movies. I would definitely see it again. 8/10 Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Riflenator1234Jan 12, 2013
Certainly an amazing accomplishment of a film. Django Unchained is best described as fun. It had excellent acting and was at all times enjoyable. While it does force you to confront thoughts you rarely acknowledge, it is hilarious much of theCertainly an amazing accomplishment of a film. Django Unchained is best described as fun. It had excellent acting and was at all times enjoyable. While it does force you to confront thoughts you rarely acknowledge, it is hilarious much of the way through. The plot was extremely predictable in a very good way. You can see what's coming a mile away and you want it to arrive. Anyone criticizing the predictability as a bad thing is likely doing so simply to criticize. I would recommend this movie to anyone not disturbed by extreme violence and cruel behavior. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
robben1234Jan 16, 2013
Tarantino like Tarantino. Good plot, best game of actors, BEST THEME - western. And goddam, it's best soundtrack of all film industry about ten years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ariehdalesDec 25, 2012
One of Quentin Tarantino's greatest movies and in my opinion his best film with the exception of Pulp Fiction. Jaime Foxx does a terrific job in the lead role, however it is the two supporting actors, Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Di Caprio,One of Quentin Tarantino's greatest movies and in my opinion his best film with the exception of Pulp Fiction. Jaime Foxx does a terrific job in the lead role, however it is the two supporting actors, Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Di Caprio, who truly steal the show. Di Caprio's riveting portrayal of the sinister plantation owner Mr. Candie is perhaps his best acting job so far. If you are a Tarantino fan this is a must see, it is one of the great movies of the 2000's and through Tarantino's signature directing and witty writing will become a classic in no time. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebJan 20, 2013
I'm a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino and boy, I get excited when I hear he is going to make another film. That's because, at the beginning, his work seems tangled but once he finishes and polishes it, it becomes a masterpiece. This happened toI'm a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino and boy, I get excited when I hear he is going to make another film. That's because, at the beginning, his work seems tangled but once he finishes and polishes it, it becomes a masterpiece. This happened to almost all of his films. Django Unchained is a movie worth waiting for and absolutely worth watching. The best things about his film are (in order): the screenplay; the incredible performances by the stellar cast; the direction; and finally the song choice (we all know that Tarantino doesn't believe in making complete background scores for his films, instead he uses different songs and even collaborates with different artists to make original songs). Let's talk about the screenplay. It is a love story, it's drama, it's thought-provoking, it has the elements of violence. All in all, it is a masterpiece, I think even Tarantino doesn't know what a terrific screenplay he has actually written and that's why he gets shocked when he hears that he is announced as the winner of the original screenplay awards. I'm not going to spoil the film for you by discussing what the screenplay is, you're gonna have to watch it to find out how genuine it is, even if it borrows some elements from real events such as the rise of slavery in the United States in the 19th century, it also includes some fiction to spice up the things and make them more interesting and lovable. The performances are truly impressive especially those of Christoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCpario, Jamie Foxx and Samuel L. Jackson's. Tarantino always writes his characters in the best way possible and makes their execution even better by giving them such crazy dialogues. I find Waltz's performance the best in the film and I would be happy if he wins the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor considering the fact that there are other nominees, all of whom have won the Oscars already. Moving on to the direction of the film, it's incredible, its pace is perfect, the camera work is amazing, I like those sudden shots at the characters' faces. The direction gives the story-telling more power and contributes to make it a masterpiece. Most of the critics have been bashing this movie because of the words that have been used in the film. I don't think they should ignore the best things about this film over such silly topic. Everyone knows it is used to give it a realistic view and make the viewer believe in what he's watching because the viewer knows how things were supposed to be in that era. Anyway, the critics are critics, and I don't care what they say. This film is an absolute masterpiece of Tarantino and it might even end up in my list of top ten films of 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews