Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 1989
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
122
Mixed:
7
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
RickNov 4, 2004
I hated this movie. Crazy.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
DonP.Apr 10, 2002
A shallow movie about shallow people. This movie tries to be poignant but completely fails because the characters are so one dimensional.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KatieK.Apr 8, 2002
There are no words to desribe it but FANTASTIC.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Apr 8, 2003
Spike's only great movie! One of the best movies of the last two decades.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RickyC.Jan 9, 2004
I hated this highly overrated movie.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
9
J.RyanG.May 23, 2005
This is not only a good film, it's a great sparring partner. And on more than one occasion, it has knocked me out. This is a wondeful example of a film that gets a soulful message across without preaching. Lacking the speeches of John This is not only a good film, it's a great sparring partner. And on more than one occasion, it has knocked me out. This is a wondeful example of a film that gets a soulful message across without preaching. Lacking the speeches of John Singleton's phony "Boyz N the Hood," Spike Lee's film does the really hard work of making the behavior of the characters tell us what we need to be thinking about. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KellyJ.Mar 2, 2007
This movie is a fantastic look at what race relations are like in areas where there is diversity and heavy interaction. It's real and it's right on the mark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarquezW.Mar 2, 2007
I loved this film and felt that it was right up there with Malcolm X and the 25th Hour as one of his best films to date, if not the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KellyJ.Jan 5, 2002
This movie is a fantastic look at what race relations are like in areas where there is diversity and heavy interaction. It's real and it's right on the mark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipS.Apr 10, 2002
Without a doubt, found ion the layers of this film is the psyche of American race relations. Allusions and metaphors abound...ensuring you hear the right thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlackDeuceCoupeApr 19, 2002
A timeless classic, beautifully shot, rich in symbolism. I've watched it 1000 times and I'll watch it 1000 more. A valuable addition to your collection.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorgannaApr 4, 2002
The main criticism of this film seems that there are no easy answers presented. Well, if there were any, our race relation problems would have been solved long ago. A one-of-a-kind film, not without a sense of humor made to make us think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamS.Jun 2, 2002
This invigorating and thought provoking tale beautifully discusses an issue that has plauged America since its creation, race. The only disapointment is while it brings up a complex issue, it in the end, fails to suggest any answers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 13, 2004
Avoided the news flashes and worked behind the scene to show the different ways the characters cope in the urban environment. It's a fish swimming around very much at home in its pond, until the end when it jumps out and flops around a bit.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidL.May 29, 2004
Freaking amazing. it approached racial issues head on and unafraid. love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeilS.Dec 7, 2005
Several missteps aside, Spike Lee has been one of our most challenging filmmakers since his debut feature, She's Gotta Have It. After that and the hit-and-miss School Daze, he stunned even his most adamant naysayers with Do the Right Several missteps aside, Spike Lee has been one of our most challenging filmmakers since his debut feature, She's Gotta Have It. After that and the hit-and-miss School Daze, he stunned even his most adamant naysayers with Do the Right Thing. This remarkable, staggering achievement has not yet received even half the respect and recognition that it deserves. Despite viewers' polarized reactions to the film's controversial climax, one would be remiss to dismiss this picture as anything but brilliant. Revolutionary in its scope, yet delightfully small in scale, DTRT takes audiences through one day in the life of the Bedford-Stuyvesant neighborhood. Using this intersection as a microcosm for racial relations in modern America, Lee expertly addresses the multitude of idiosyncrasies and contradictions that both strengthen and weaken our national culture simultaneously. Don't let the profanity and blaring rap music scare you. This is a must-see picture, and a damn funny comedy to boot. An American Classic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BriyannaM.Oct 10, 2006
This movie was great and it talks a lot about racial profiling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KaityM.Feb 19, 2006
Cinematogrpahy =good Acting= good/ok Story= ok/not very interesting technical= ok symbolism= overwhelming/confussin location= meh any other aspect i forgot= meh didn't catch my eye = in total i am a 16 year old girl and i would say i am Cinematogrpahy =good Acting= good/ok Story= ok/not very interesting technical= ok symbolism= overwhelming/confussin location= meh any other aspect i forgot= meh didn't catch my eye = in total i am a 16 year old girl and i would say i am a beginer "big film buff" and after a while it just lost me.....i got bored...kept wondering what time it was.....their is so many aspects he could have done to made it appealing to all audiences not saying i want big car explosions and multi-million dollar actors acting.....it's just i wasn't born in the time of Martin Luther King jr's activitism why not make so that future audiences can go "wow he is so right let's go do somehting about it" although it's not as much a problem as it used to be....but you know what i mean!!! i say we give spike a round of appaulse for trying!!! Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful
10
DianrMay 12, 2006
One of Spike Lees's excellent movies. The cast is outstanding and the story line is great. This film is a favorite of mines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Less_SuccessAug 2, 2006
This is great movie simply because everything is so grey. It will have you considering who is right or wrong for days after you see it for the first time. It really forces you to examine a difficult situation and decide for yourself who you This is great movie simply because everything is so grey. It will have you considering who is right or wrong for days after you see it for the first time. It really forces you to examine a difficult situation and decide for yourself who you think made the right decisions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexQ.Mar 2, 2007
This invigorating and thought provoking tale beautifully discusses an issue that has plauged America since its creation, race. Overall, this remains as Spike Lee's best film to date, along with When the Levees Broke, a touching This invigorating and thought provoking tale beautifully discusses an issue that has plauged America since its creation, race. Overall, this remains as Spike Lee's best film to date, along with When the Levees Broke, a touching documentary that bleeds of realism about how the survivors dealt with Hurricane Katrina, and Malcolm X, a fascinating biopic. John Turturro (who would later co-star in another good movie He Got Game) and Danny Aiello were convincingly brilliant in their roles, and Radio Rahim was another good character central to the theme of the movie. Also loved their soundtrack, headlined by Public Enemy, who is one of the best hip-hop groups of all-time. Overall a gripping story that deals with race relations in the heart of the city. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EltonT.Sep 23, 2007
I was forced to watch this movie for a school assignment. I was excited to see it because of the reviews that it had. To say the least I was totally disappointed. I thought it was poorly written and directed. Worse yet the theme of the movie I was forced to watch this movie for a school assignment. I was excited to see it because of the reviews that it had. To say the least I was totally disappointed. I thought it was poorly written and directed. Worse yet the theme of the movie only encourages the rift between races. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
YoonChoSep 13, 2003
Overrated largely by guilt-ridden white liberal critics, Do the Right Thing is really just a funkier movie of the sort Stanley Kramer used to crank out: the issue movie. The movie pretends at objectivity, balance, airing all sides but as the Overrated largely by guilt-ridden white liberal critics, Do the Right Thing is really just a funkier movie of the sort Stanley Kramer used to crank out: the issue movie. The movie pretends at objectivity, balance, airing all sides but as the cleverly calculated ending shows, Lee is an inflammatory and cliched black power demogogue. Of course he wants to have the cake and eat it too, be praised for both fairmindedness and devotion to 'black liberation'. A tiresome tract, which for all its bombastic Public Enemy soundtrack, plays coy and sneaky with the audience. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KurtG.Jan 15, 2004
This is an amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Jan 24, 2004
A great movie which presents many thought provoking questions.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MartyT.Dec 9, 2004
This movie was great, it faced the real facts about racism and was still funny at the same time, i enjoyed this movie a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottM.May 15, 2005
Will be talked over and debated over for years, which is the highest compliment i can give it. but the end sucked.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
renot.Sep 28, 2005
One of the best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DA.Mar 28, 2007
One of the most brilliantly made movies of our time. Balances the fine line between entertainment and art masterfully. THE definitive movie about race relations. This movie must be watched by all, as it is still relevant in the world today. One of the most brilliantly made movies of our time. Balances the fine line between entertainment and art masterfully. THE definitive movie about race relations. This movie must be watched by all, as it is still relevant in the world today. And to viewers like Kaity M., go watch any of the crap Hollywood spews out on a regular basis. Im guessing this movie went straight over your head. It's not supposed to be an inspirational movie that makes you want to do something about racial activism. It's supposed to be about portraying race relations between those that wish to not understand each other, and act on stereotypical views that one holds in deep within themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelF.Nov 19, 2001
I guess I didn't get it. I liked the film but how it displayed rascism was TOO clear. With its bizzare opening and weird feel, this flick didn't do it for me. I really like Spike Lee, I PRAISE "Clockers" and "Malcolm X" but I I guess I didn't get it. I liked the film but how it displayed rascism was TOO clear. With its bizzare opening and weird feel, this flick didn't do it for me. I really like Spike Lee, I PRAISE "Clockers" and "Malcolm X" but I don't know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful