User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 240

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 11, 2010
    4
    I really didn' get what all the comic fuss was about. It had its moments and is certainly very quotable but it's not the kind of film I'll remember when I'm old and grey. This isn't clever comedy this is cash-in comedy. Vaughan seems to be ready to recieve his cheque from scene 1. I'm dodging this film next time it is suggested to me.
  2. NunyoB.
    Jun 21, 2004
    5
    It had its funny moments, and it was better than Zoolander (but that's not saying much). I thank the movie studios for not using all the best jokes in the trailers. Wait for it to come out on video.
  3. MikeG.
    Feb 25, 2005
    4
    One of those movies where the characters are either too unlikeable to laugh at (Stiller) or too forgettable and cliched (the Average Joes) to even remember five seconds after the film ends. There's some funny gags here, and Jason Bateman and Gary Cole are the best thing this film has going as the announcers. But how many times can you laugh at a guy being pelted with a dodgeball? The One of those movies where the characters are either too unlikeable to laugh at (Stiller) or too forgettable and cliched (the Average Joes) to even remember five seconds after the film ends. There's some funny gags here, and Jason Bateman and Gary Cole are the best thing this film has going as the announcers. But how many times can you laugh at a guy being pelted with a dodgeball? The plot is totally uninteresting. Expand
  4. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    6
    It's no "Old School", but it's definetly pretty funny. Ben Stiller is a hoot in this, but Vince Vaughn doesn't really impress as the leading character. Still, it's a worthy rental!
  5. AndrewK.
    Jun 19, 2004
    5
    People seem to be blowing this one up too much. It was funny, but not THAT funny. I'm sure we'll all forget about it once the next cameo-fillled, Sandleresque premised, dick and fart joke, predictable film starring some of our favorite comedians comes along. Okay, maybe that's a little harsh, but come on (its like, come on). These movies are a dime a dozen. It'll make People seem to be blowing this one up too much. It was funny, but not THAT funny. I'm sure we'll all forget about it once the next cameo-fillled, Sandleresque premised, dick and fart joke, predictable film starring some of our favorite comedians comes along. Okay, maybe that's a little harsh, but come on (its like, come on). These movies are a dime a dozen. It'll make you laugh. Then you'll be waiting for the next movie to take its place. Expand
  6. MarkB.
    Jun 21, 2004
    6
    A cinematic treatment of that most mean-spirited of all playground sports may or may not have been in order, but this sophomoric spoof's frequent substitution of energy (which admittedly it has in abundance) for real comic invention indicates that the definitive movie on the subject has yet to be made. Best reason to see it is Ben Stiller's gleeful scenery-chewing as evil A cinematic treatment of that most mean-spirited of all playground sports may or may not have been in order, but this sophomoric spoof's frequent substitution of energy (which admittedly it has in abundance) for real comic invention indicates that the definitive movie on the subject has yet to be made. Best reason to see it is Ben Stiller's gleeful scenery-chewing as evil health-club mogul White Goodman; Stiller, whose film appearances in the first half of 2004 outnumbers Gene Hackman's or Michael Caine's in most other years, clearly relishes the chance to take a break from the passive-aggressive nebbishes he's too often relegated to playing--and his joy is contagious. Second best reason comes late in the film when we get to ESPN8's coverage of the championship; the sportscasters' non sequiturs evoke pleasant memories of Fred Willard's truly gutbusting fish-out-of-water coverage of the dog derby in Best In Show. Otherwise, like dodgeball itself, very hit-or-miss; a seemingly surefire slam-dunk parody of moldy educational films falls flat; the movie takes a number of senseless and self-contradictory plot twists near the end (which are NOT improved on by the filmmakers' obvious awareness of their bankruptcy)...and you'll need not only all of your own fingers and toes, but those of your spouse, date or best bud to keep track of how many jokes depend on the use or misuse of the word "balls". Expand
  7. S.Nguyen
    Jun 21, 2004
    5
    I commonly find myself naturally laughing and pleased with movies involving ben stiller. Dodgeball, however, was not a ben stiller movie, rather a vince vaughan film. Nonetheless, if you want to enjoy this movie, focus on ben. Personally, this was one of those movies where i had to look for scenes that were somewhat funny and force myself to laugh, because i wanted a good time, but had to I commonly find myself naturally laughing and pleased with movies involving ben stiller. Dodgeball, however, was not a ben stiller movie, rather a vince vaughan film. Nonetheless, if you want to enjoy this movie, focus on ben. Personally, this was one of those movies where i had to look for scenes that were somewhat funny and force myself to laugh, because i wanted a good time, but had to ask myself later "what was so funny about that scene?" i shrugged (not literally, but in my mind) and continued to watch the movie. if i were not disappointed from the lack of humour from the movie, i was definately saddened by the ending. i will not tell you what happened, but rather leave it to you to risk the ordeal and decide what you think of it and the movie in an overall sense. if you choose to see this movie, go in with an underated mind, or you could get dissatisfied with the results. as i have made that mistake, perhaps my review would have scored higher, if i had not expected too much. If you decide to see this film, i wish for you the best and that you will enjoy this film more than i have (which i did not). Concordia cum veritate. Expand
  8. mitchm
    Jan 12, 2005
    6
    As long as one doesn't screw their expectations up to, say, the level of ELF, this 90 minutes will digest rather easily.
  9. JoelH
    Jan 30, 2007
    5
    It's not a good movie...but it is very fun to watch. With a comedy, thats all I care about.
  10. JoeA.
    Nov 13, 2004
    5
    If you've got nothing to see and are looking for a comedy with actors you like, see this. Don't expect much, though. Too bad, as I really like Vaughn and Stiller, but they're wasted here.
  11. BrianK.
    Jun 27, 2004
    5
    I was expecting a really funny movie when I went to see it. It wasn't!! I would say maybe 5 parts were funny!! This is a rental!!
  12. ch
    Nov 24, 2007
    5
    Looking at both the user reviews, the professional reviews, and just from what I hear from my friends, Dodgeball is a very hit or miss movie. You either love it or you dont. Truth be told, I did not. This comedy is geared more towards the slapstick fans and not quite so much for the verbal bits. Since slapstick was never my thing, I sat through the entire movie with a blank face. Looking at both the user reviews, the professional reviews, and just from what I hear from my friends, Dodgeball is a very hit or miss movie. You either love it or you dont. Truth be told, I did not. This comedy is geared more towards the slapstick fans and not quite so much for the verbal bits. Since slapstick was never my thing, I sat through the entire movie with a blank face. What's sad is that the funniest bits of the movie were all put in the trailer, so there's really no reason to waste your time on this one. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    The Underdogs grab life by the balls.
    Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story is an extremely idiotic, overdone, but yet miraculously hilarious story. The actors save the scripts nutty hijinks from being a complete train wreck by selling what their given.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. 38
    Stiller, a DodgeBall producer, is revealing an unfortunate craving for the cheese of his childhood.
  2. 75
    A blistering satire of feel-good sports movies, this film makes its mark via the most direct route: it lampoons by adopting the tried-and-true "straight" formula and tweaking it a little.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    88
    Take it from someone who can still feel the hollow rubber tang! of old dodgeball scars: It feels great to be blindsided by a little movie like this.