Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A group of friends from Average Joe's agrees to compete in a high-stakes dodgeball competition in Las Vegas in an attempt to save their gym from takeover by the national chain Globo Gym.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    88
    Take it from someone who can still feel the hollow rubber tang! of old dodgeball scars: It feels great to be blindsided by a little movie like this.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Park
    80
    Dodgeball is the most satisfying comedy of the past year--at least among the ones starring Stiller.
  3. 75
    Ben Stiller is like a guy on the 1919 White Sox. He's rigged to lose. His comedy is the stuff of failure, and sometimes it's pleasurable watching him flit around in funny get-ups, only to have a pretty costar put him down.
  4. 50
    Modestly amusing teen summer comedy.
  5. In outline, the story is pretty funny, and the film's outlandish takes on sports-movie conventions deliver some laughs. But Thurber chooses the low road to those laughs so often that he undermines his own satirical design. His actors certainly deliver amusing, spirited performances, but again, they get done in by relentless adolescent humor.
  6. The movie veers from cleverness to crass stupidity. You can never tell whether the next scene will induce loud laughter or contempt; for me, Dodgeball divided right down the middle.
  7. Mean-spirited vulgarity and homosexual panic.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 95
  2. Negative: 15 out of 95
  1. Tony
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Loved It!!!!!!!!
  2. JayR
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    Simply the funniest film I have ever seen!
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    this is by far my favorite movie comon man it aint a 55 get a life and enjoy the littlethis is by far my favorite movie comon man it aint a 55 get a life and enjoy the little things...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................k.............................................................bye Collapse
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    This movie has so many different concepts thrown into one comedy, and it all surprisingly works, the entire cast for the most part worksThis movie has so many different concepts thrown into one comedy, and it all surprisingly works, the entire cast for the most part works extremely well together, while some elements aren't all perfect you will still have a blast watching this and laugh a lot. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    In a S**tstorm of horrendous new comedies to come out at the beginning of the millenium (aside from "Meet the Parents") some where memorableIn a S**tstorm of horrendous new comedies to come out at the beginning of the millenium (aside from "Meet the Parents") some where memorable yet very forgetable, then Came "Dodgeball" and suddenly i fell in love with a sport i barely knew existed and a comedy where Ben Stiller just shined.

    "Dodgeball" is literally your Average Joe movie, featuring dumb yet very lovable main "Joes" against the eccentric nutball "Cobras" (the funny thing is that there are too much people nowdays who are fitness nuts like the "Cobras").

    But really if you came to find clever and witiness in this movie switch it off now, cause really if you're like everyone else you wanna see some DODGEBALL!, the Hits in this movie make me cry with laughter and with names like "Skillz that Killz" and the "Las Vegas P.D.", the film knows what it is and just has fun with itself.

    Vince Vaughn is a very likable character and then you got Rip Torn who i feel dishes out insults just as well as Seargent Hartmman did in "Full Metal Jacket".

    Final Verdict: Add mulitple hilarious yet pointless cameo's from the likes of Lance Armstrong, William Shatner, David Hasselhoff and CHUCK NORRIS, "Dodgeball" just gets more nuts everytime i see it.

    Final Verdict: Dodge, Duck, Dip, Dive and... Dodge
    Expand
  6. AaronG.
    Jul 3, 2004
    7
    The loathsome P.C. mindset of the modern American can't even facilitate the queer jokes in this movie into the 'harmless The loathsome P.C. mindset of the modern American can't even facilitate the queer jokes in this movie into the 'harmless humor' category. Me and my dad snuck into this after seeing Fahrenheit 9/11 (so full of liberal spin and bulls..t I pitied those uninformed on Michael Moore's agenda) and Spiderman 2 (UNBELIVABLE!) and enjoyed it. There are enough laugh-out-loud bits to warrant a viewing. Hell, the cameos alone are worth a ticket purchase. Stay till the VERY END for a line from Ben Stiller that may be the best line in any movie this year (it had me laughing to the parking lot-Chuck Norris anyone?). Go see it and ease your mind for a good 2 hours. Enjoy! Expand
  7. RobH.
    Oct 29, 2005
    0
    Totally Rubbish! Very unoriginal & tacky! Rubiish punchlines, Don't waste your time, go walk the dog or something.

See all 95 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Ben Stiller

    All Films Considered: Ben Stiller Image
    Published: March 18, 2010
    The star of the new movie "Greenberg," Ben Stiller has been making audiences laugh -- some of the time -- for two decades. We look at the best and worst movies of his career to date.