Lions Gate Films | Release Date: November 12, 1999
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 298 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
263
Mixed:
24
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
SpangleJul 22, 2016
Dogma can be really, really stupid. It can also be very, very funny. It can also be very, very thought provoking and interesting when it comes to religion. It can also be all over-the-map. Actually, it's just all over-the-map. A smattering ofDogma can be really, really stupid. It can also be very, very funny. It can also be very, very thought provoking and interesting when it comes to religion. It can also be all over-the-map. Actually, it's just all over-the-map. A smattering of humor, philosophy, and silly Kevin Smith antics, Dogma is Kevin Smith at his most Kevin Smith. Rife with sexual jokes, immature humor, Jay and Silent Bob antics, and interesting takes on life, Dogma is simply too inconsistent. As a comedy, it can be really funny, just not often enough. Far too many jokes are either too over-the-top or just not funny enough. Fortunately, the funny outnumber the unfunny, but the unfunny still take a noticeable place in the film. The acting is poor at times, though solid at others. The religious content is interesting at times, but just plain dumb at others. Essentially what I am saying is that Dogma is highly inconsistent on all fronts. If it had more of the good and less of the bad, it would be better. If only there was one less monster made of poop or if the logic in the film had continuity, or if the plot had continuity or if the logic had continuity, Dogma would be a solid film. As it stands, it is the remains of what could have been and even then, it is entertaining and well worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HypeFreeJun 12, 2016
I don't think I've ever seen a movie with worse acting or a worse plot in it. So unlike Kevin Smyth. The acting is truly terrible. Sound design is awful. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Aug 14, 2015
Dogma is not my favorite Kevin Smith film. Its certainly a original movie and its really not something you'd expect from Kevin Smith who is more known for stoner, gross out, immature comedies that I love. There are some memorable charactersDogma is not my favorite Kevin Smith film. Its certainly a original movie and its really not something you'd expect from Kevin Smith who is more known for stoner, gross out, immature comedies that I love. There are some memorable characters in this movie and some pretty big names like Ben Affleck, Matt Damon and Chris Rock involved plus many of the common Kevin Smith collaborators. Jay and Silent Bob are around in order to play the comedic relief. Dogma revolves around religion but the movie does not seem to have enough of an edge for a Kevin Smith film and its not nearly as funny as any of his other movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawMay 14, 2015
A revisit of Kevin Smith’s subversive religious comedy DOGMA, “subversive” may it seems in a story where God is a woman (played by the one-and-only Alanis Morissette, whose voice can shatter anything into fragments, deservingly to be theA revisit of Kevin Smith’s subversive religious comedy DOGMA, “subversive” may it seems in a story where God is a woman (played by the one-and-only Alanis Morissette, whose voice can shatter anything into fragments, deservingly to be the choice chanteuse during my adolescence); there is a 13th apostle Rufus (Rock) who has been omitted in the Bible simply because of his skin colour; two fallen angles Loki (Damon) and Bartleby (Affleck) find a loophole induced by a new “Buddy Christ” propaganda from Cardinal Glick (Carlin) in New Jersey, they will get the supposed plenary indulgence and re-enter Heaven, until one of them goes berserk becomes a human-killing winged creature. A blasphemy cannot be dodged for sure, but eventually the film appears not as subversive as the synopsis suggests, au fond, Smith simply picks various characters from religious myth and squeeze them into a wacky adventure of fantasy without even badmouthing Catholicism, there should be no hard-feeling (as the opening pointers amusingly noted).

keep reading my review on my blog, please google: cinema omnivore, thanks!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Sep 14, 2014
One of the most entertaining / humorous films ever made. It is a shame that this movie is nearly unknown. It has an interesting and funny take on religion but it stays also true to religious teachings. The cast is perfect, all actors did aOne of the most entertaining / humorous films ever made. It is a shame that this movie is nearly unknown. It has an interesting and funny take on religion but it stays also true to religious teachings. The cast is perfect, all actors did a great job. The plot is the most entertaining material I have seen in years. Bonus: Jay and Silent Bob are in the movie. So the entertainment and laughing is guaranteed. For all religious people that will complain: I am a christian! But I don't believe in hate and hatemonger / preachers of hate. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
ingie44Mar 24, 2014
Often witty, interesting and occasionally insightful I think this film is rather underrated. Its a unique and original way of looking at mythology and religion, and the characters are (for the most part) well thought out and written. ThereOften witty, interesting and occasionally insightful I think this film is rather underrated. Its a unique and original way of looking at mythology and religion, and the characters are (for the most part) well thought out and written. There are perhaps a few too many pointless and dumb jokes, for example the excremental, and the end left me feeling just a little unfulfilled but none the less it is definitely worth watching. The acting is excellent, the best I've ever seen from Ben Affleck and Matt Damon. Alan Rickman plays his part amazingly and in fact from all these actors we see brilliant performances and even a few surprisingly moving moments. This reveals that perhaps film had more potential, and I think with a few edits it could have been a real master piece. Overall a great film falling just a little off its potential, but still with many fantastic moments. Well worth watching. Collapse
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Longo12Feb 25, 2014
A pretty funny movie and one I would recommend to anyone who likes Kevin Smiths movies (although it is one I would think most Smith fans have seen by now). A great premise done very well. My only two real problems with this movie is the wholeA pretty funny movie and one I would recommend to anyone who likes Kevin Smiths movies (although it is one I would think most Smith fans have seen by now). A great premise done very well. My only two real problems with this movie is the whole part with the excrimental, which was more just dumb and not so funny and I am a fan Kevin Smith and Jay and Silent Bob but there are times I find Jay very annoying but that mainly depends on my mood I think. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RedShadowHatDec 31, 2012
A hilarious and stupid movie! I didnt think it was possible to make a 'religious' movie so funny! But it was a terrible story line in general. Another great movie by Affleck and Silent Bob :P
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SeriosityDec 21, 2012
Excremental aside this is a really good movie. Interesting premise and fine comedic performances from the usual View Askewniverse cast. Simply a good time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
PennerJul 31, 2012
Dogma was about 2 hours long but it felt like 3 1/2 hours long. The jokes weren't funny any if their were any religious message or questing in the film, it was lost due to the fact that this movie just sucks. Don't waste your time watchingDogma was about 2 hours long but it felt like 3 1/2 hours long. The jokes weren't funny any if their were any religious message or questing in the film, it was lost due to the fact that this movie just sucks. Don't waste your time watching this movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
My third favorite movie of all time. It's a refreshingly intelligent comedy that makes fun of religion without any atheistic agenda. I'm a Christian, and I didn't find this movie offensive at all (which actually suprised me). If your aMy third favorite movie of all time. It's a refreshingly intelligent comedy that makes fun of religion without any atheistic agenda. I'm a Christian, and I didn't find this movie offensive at all (which actually suprised me). If your a Catholic on the other hand...watch with caution. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 23, 2011
As soon as I saw Ben Affleck appear, and that was after about 180 seconds, I knew this movie would suck the life out of you. The opening scene is like a cheap home video made by kids. The second scene is a priest presenting a ridiculousAs soon as I saw Ben Affleck appear, and that was after about 180 seconds, I knew this movie would suck the life out of you. The opening scene is like a cheap home video made by kids. The second scene is a priest presenting a ridiculous statue of Jesus to a small group of reporters. Did noone ever tell the filmmakers that crowd scenes are either to be large, or to be avoided at all costs, because otherwise they look cheap ? Anyway, we know Ben Affleck and Matt Damon are friends, but Matt's career took off, while Ben's did not.
Another one for the bin of worst movies of all time. How bad can they get ? Unbelievable.
Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
8
ArkonBladeFeb 23, 2011
any one looking at this other then entertainment and trying to blast it as bibleical blaspamy is missing the whoel point of what this is . just a entertaining movie . has a great cast some funny lines and i think some of smiths best work.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
An interesting take on religion to say the least. Probably not the most popular movie in Christian circles, Dogma produces an everyday subject matter in a original way. The movie did go on slightly too long but I did enjoy seeing a bit ofAn interesting take on religion to say the least. Probably not the most popular movie in Christian circles, Dogma produces an everyday subject matter in a original way. The movie did go on slightly too long but I did enjoy seeing a bit of Alan Rickman. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RirenMar 4, 2007
A movie about religion that will tick off staunch atheists and zealots? Well hey! It's a mix of blasphemy and profanity that are always measured to be just implausible or irreverent enough to be disarmingly funny. There is substance A movie about religion that will tick off staunch atheists and zealots? Well hey! It's a mix of blasphemy and profanity that are always measured to be just implausible or irreverent enough to be disarmingly funny. There is substance wedged down inside it: defense of individual faith, the lineage of Christ, the hypocrisy of the confident. Silent Bob is a cute reoccuring character in Smith's movies, but why does the director insert himself into his movie about religion, and play a mute? Yet where other religious movies watch like a thesis, this is more like a conversation with a smart and funny friend. And really, there's nothing so useful in spirituality as that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RobuglyDec 29, 2005
I just watched that movie and thought it was pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful