User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 177

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    This film must simply be seen. Now it must be said, it's not an action film, so don't expect to see a whole lot of it, it's drama.

    The film plays with your emotions, it gives the Nazis a face and humanize them, you will come to pity them. I think it's about time we see a daring film as this, that really tries to show the hell that war truly is, not like the Hollywood films that usually
    This film must simply be seen. Now it must be said, it's not an action film, so don't expect to see a whole lot of it, it's drama.

    The film plays with your emotions, it gives the Nazis a face and humanize them, you will come to pity them. I think it's about time we see a daring film as this, that really tries to show the hell that war truly is, not like the Hollywood films that usually glorifies it. And that truly manages to portray Hitler as a human, not a monster, regardless of the unspeakable crimes he committed.

    It's a must-see, and watch it in German with subtitles.
    Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    The most convincing flick portraying Hitler`s last days ever. Again, all the German actors play very well, almost all are on par with Bruno Ganz. What I found very interesting was this movie showing what the entire Berlin felt like in the last days of the war and how the headquarters planned their demise. We have all the most important German commanders` silhouettes shown . Each and everyThe most convincing flick portraying Hitler`s last days ever. Again, all the German actors play very well, almost all are on par with Bruno Ganz. What I found very interesting was this movie showing what the entire Berlin felt like in the last days of the war and how the headquarters planned their demise. We have all the most important German commanders` silhouettes shown . Each and every one of them a separate character with unique history. Most of the time people are talking in this film, but it is never boring. There is a huge tension of the end coming in closer every hour. Finally, this flick shows the tragedy of German nation led by a fanatic. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    A unique portrayal of a war from the villain's point of view, telling it like it is. Every single actor is absolutely amazing in their performances. Writing is fantastic and shocking. It shows that even animals can have feelings.
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    While it may be sedately paced, "Downfall" still delivers a complex and challenging representation of the "Third Reich"'s befitting demise, frequently dazzling the audience with a brilliant performance from Bruno Ganz in the process.
  5. May 2, 2012
    9
    An intimate and atmospheric look at the final days of the Third Reich. The most important feature of this film is the realistic portrayal of Adolf Hitler, putting to rest crass oversimplifications of his character. The cast are excellent, particularly Ganz who dominates every scene he is in.
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    Excellent portrayal of the final days of the Third Reich and in particular Hitler and his demise into insanity and paranoia. Well directed with some excellent camera work, this film was rightly nominated for an Oscar and is a must for anybody with an interest in the era of history.
  7. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    I watched this movie so many times and I really enjoyed every bit of it. For once we get to watch a film about Hitler and the Nazi's last days from the point of view of the Germans. Therefore you won't be seeing any sort of glorifying of American or Allied fighters blablabla... Instead, this film is about Hitler's desperation for survival or miracle as each day closes in for the end of theI watched this movie so many times and I really enjoyed every bit of it. For once we get to watch a film about Hitler and the Nazi's last days from the point of view of the Germans. Therefore you won't be seeing any sort of glorifying of American or Allied fighters blablabla... Instead, this film is about Hitler's desperation for survival or miracle as each day closes in for the end of the Third Reich. You will see how the most loyal soldiers are quick to lose faith while others remain loyal to the Nazi cause. The film also shows abit of Hitler's human side and his love for his country. The film is very emotional and perhaps a more accurate portrayal of Hitler's circle. If you're an open-minded person, be sure to check this movie out. It's certainly worth it!! Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic movie. I am learning German at school and this was just appealing to me.
    Bruno Ganz was an exceptional Hitler. I watched this on a 10 hour flight. I watched it twice.
    The actors acted really well, the movie wasn't entirely based around violence like Inglorious Basterds was. Sure, some of the German Commanders blew their brain out...

    This is a masterpiece
  9. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing. I was completely immersed and interested in it throughout the entire film. The actors were spectacular in performing their roles and the screenplay was just beautiful. Some would argue that it make the Nazis look more like human beings instead of evil monsters, and that is somewhat true. However in no way, shape, or form does it place them on a pedestal.This movie is absolutely amazing. I was completely immersed and interested in it throughout the entire film. The actors were spectacular in performing their roles and the screenplay was just beautiful. Some would argue that it make the Nazis look more like human beings instead of evil monsters, and that is somewhat true. However in no way, shape, or form does it place them on a pedestal. It accurately details the last days of Adolf Hitler based on accounts by his former secretary, Traudl Junge. If you are interested in World War II and would like to see a great movie that depicts the last days of Adolf Hitler, this is a must see. Expand
  10. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Fantastic film from the perspective of the Germans. While you may know the ending, it certainly shined a light on some events you did not had happened. Very intriguing and informative watch that had brilliant directing and acting.
  11. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    I have never seen such an amazing movie. I felt so touched by it and kind of felt bad for the Nazis in the end. I know it's a crazy thing to say but that's how powerful this movie is. I am an English speaker and have never bothered to watch a foreign film because I thought I wouldn't have the patients. But boy was I wrong. If you still haven't seen this movie then I recommend that you goI have never seen such an amazing movie. I felt so touched by it and kind of felt bad for the Nazis in the end. I know it's a crazy thing to say but that's how powerful this movie is. I am an English speaker and have never bothered to watch a foreign film because I thought I wouldn't have the patients. But boy was I wrong. If you still haven't seen this movie then I recommend that you go see it NOW. It is on Netflix if you have Netflix and if you don't try and see if you can get it from amazon or something. It is a must own, especially if you're into WWII. Expand
  12. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    I am really disappointed with the way I've handled this movie in a first place. Obviously, like any other Internet-engulfed user, I knew it solely from Parodies made by so-called Untergangers. But one day I chose to watch it with actual translation and after that I became more impressed with historical documentaries than ever before. On one side, parodying movie made it as equally popularI am really disappointed with the way I've handled this movie in a first place. Obviously, like any other Internet-engulfed user, I knew it solely from Parodies made by so-called Untergangers. But one day I chose to watch it with actual translation and after that I became more impressed with historical documentaries than ever before. On one side, parodying movie made it as equally popular as it was 10 years ago but on the other hand, I'm really sad I didn't watch the original first. Expand
  13. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    By the end of Downfall, I came to realize more about Hitler he was mad, evil, ill, and monstrous but by the time the war is about to end, he continues to wage it in fantasy. Hirschbiegel carefully explains it through a fantastic performance by Ganz, which is described by critics and audiences, as the first portrayal of Hitler as a human being, rather than being a cartoon monster. It isBy the end of Downfall, I came to realize more about Hitler he was mad, evil, ill, and monstrous but by the time the war is about to end, he continues to wage it in fantasy. Hirschbiegel carefully explains it through a fantastic performance by Ganz, which is described by critics and audiences, as the first portrayal of Hitler as a human being, rather than being a cartoon monster. It is great to see an impressing revelation of humanizing Hitler. He is kind to his female secretaries, loves his dog Blondi, and is always surrounded by his loyal associates. But on his next breath, he shows cold ruthlessness, dispassionate brutality, and mayhem, causing the deaths of not only millions of Jews, but also millions of other Europeans and Americans. But, really, he is a man trying to fight for what he believes. Downfall is a powerful tale of menace, sadness, betrayal, corruption, ranting, and the somewhat consequence of war for Germany. It finally reach what its message expect its film to do: making a revelation of humanizing Hitler, and no other remake couldn't have the guts to surpass its expectations. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    Unlike other World War 2 related movies,the character for hitler remains in the focus for a longer duration.Character were great,now you just can't expect a lot of action from this movie so given the topic of this movie is about the hitler's last hours,the whole crew has made a very decent attempt..
  15. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    This film was absolutely fantastic. Stellar performances by all the actors, a flawless screenplay, and an amazingly top notch directed film by Oliver Hirschbiegel. Downfall was perfect on every level---that I promise you.
  16. May 1, 2014
    10
    I love this film because i always hate how in some films, Hitler is portrayed as some personification of evil. He was obviously a murderous tyrant and a very cruel man, but to portray him as a 'demon' detracts from the fact that he was a human being; he laughed , he cried , he loved animals. I'm not trying to say that he had a 'good side' or that he 'wasn't all bad', i just think it moreI love this film because i always hate how in some films, Hitler is portrayed as some personification of evil. He was obviously a murderous tyrant and a very cruel man, but to portray him as a 'demon' detracts from the fact that he was a human being; he laughed , he cried , he loved animals. I'm not trying to say that he had a 'good side' or that he 'wasn't all bad', i just think it more useful to show the full picture so it can be used as a warning to prevent another person like him from appearing in the future. My final verdict for this film is that it is 'A Must See' Expand
  17. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Otto is superb in impersonate Hitler, i have never seen a better actor on this role very well done!.

    They were able to show the human side of the nazis, but they did it without offending anyone!
    simply love this film
  18. Jan 3, 2015
    7
    I deduct 3 points:
    -1 = too long. Movie could easily have duration of 120 mins and still tell the same story. Instead it drags on much more than it should
    -1 = clumsy character introduction. Until the very ending I wasn't sure who was who. -1 = bad pacing and scene cuts. The movie likes to jump from one scene to another without some natural story development. Decent and
    I deduct 3 points:
    -1 = too long. Movie could easily have duration of 120 mins and still tell the same story. Instead it drags on much more than it should

    -1 = clumsy character introduction. Until the very ending I wasn't sure who was who.

    -1 = bad pacing and scene cuts. The movie likes to jump from one scene to another without some natural story development.

    Decent and smart movie about WW2, but requires patience.
    Expand
  19. May 5, 2015
    10
    So this movie didn't win a Oscar for Bruno Ganz spectacular performance or didn't win for best foreign language film, man f**k the Oscars.

    The movie is about a group of young women to Wolf's Lair, Hitler's headquarters in Eastern Prussia. They are candidates for the post of personal secretary to the Fuehrer. Among them is 22-year-old Traudl Junge, a fresh-faced girl from Munich. Traudl
    So this movie didn't win a Oscar for Bruno Ganz spectacular performance or didn't win for best foreign language film, man f**k the Oscars.

    The movie is about a group of young women to Wolf's Lair, Hitler's headquarters in Eastern Prussia. They are candidates for the post of personal secretary to the Fuehrer. Among them is 22-year-old Traudl Junge, a fresh-faced girl from Munich. Traudl is chosen for the job and she is overcome with joy at the thought of serving beside her Fuehrer. BERLIN, APRIL 20, 1945: Hitler has retreated to a bunker system under the German Chancellery. Traudl Junge is asleep in her room, deep beneath the ground. She is awakened by tremors from artillery fire. The enemy is getting closer. Charting the last 10 days of Hitler's life, from his 56th birthday on April 20th, 1945 to his suicide on April 30th, the film uses multiple characters to show the chaos of a country coming apart at the seams, from Hitler's henchman under the streets of Berlin, to the soldiers and civilians fighting and dying as the Soviet Army ravaged the city above.

    You know that video on YouTube "Hitler reactions to this", and a lot of people may not know where that scene came from and it's this movie when it's during Hitler couple of minute rant and putting those reaction videos to the side this is a great scene if you can get pass that. I thought about bringing that up just in cause you didn't know.

    I what to start off this review by saying that Bruno Ganz gives one of the best performance of 2004 and probably my favorite performance of all time. Bruno Ganz got Hitler spot on and he delivered a masterpiece of acting. What Bruno Ganz did so well is add a little human to Hitler as you can see his struggle and I know we what to see him fail because his a horrible person but as horrible as he his he's struggle to win a battle that he started and it quickly going down hill slowly breaks him, at one point you slowly see him losing it and Bruno Ganz powerful performance that creates are powerful moment that we can feel a little bit of it. Amazing performance Bruno Ganz.

    The directing in this movie is what works the best as the director shows every detail of Hitler's upcoming fate. I forgive Oliver Hirschbiegel for directing the epic fail that was Diana the film as he made a better historical drama.

    For problems with the movie these not a lot to be honest, you can say it's kind of a snail paste at times with the pasting but that's really it for problems.

    Overall DownFall is excellent movie with amazing acting, great writing and directing and a brilliant historical drama.
    Expand
  20. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    gut wrenching masterpiece thats both a autobiography and anti war film by acclaimed filmmaker Olivier Hirschbiegel, Der Untergang recounts the last days of Hitler and Nazi Germany as the unimaginable terror of Adolf Hitler's rage takes effect on the german people as Russian troops storm Berlin, a film that is to traumatizing and unbearably provocative it is a film not for the feint ofgut wrenching masterpiece thats both a autobiography and anti war film by acclaimed filmmaker Olivier Hirschbiegel, Der Untergang recounts the last days of Hitler and Nazi Germany as the unimaginable terror of Adolf Hitler's rage takes effect on the german people as Russian troops storm Berlin, a film that is to traumatizing and unbearably provocative it is a film not for the feint of heart.

    A masterpiece of A dream that was shattered by lies and murder, one of the most tragic stories from the final moments of WW2, even you feel some pity for the nazi's and their demented minds

    a daring film that strikes at the consequences of nazism, Bruno Ganz in his most nightmarish performances ever gives one of the most violent portrayals on of the most notorious conquerors in modern history.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    80
    Indeed, Hirschbiegel himself seems reluctant to single out a protagonist, and finally settles on Junge.
  2. The very thought of humanizing Hitler makes me queasy. If he had a good side, I don't want to know about it.
  3. 88
    It's the well-wrought details that explain, perhaps better than any earlier film, how an entire country bought into Hitler's genocidal madness.