Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 852 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
646
Mixed:
89
Negative:
117
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
HotelCentralFeb 20, 2017
This is an entertaining horror flick, which, though never truly gripping, or terrifying, does deliver a few mild shocks while at times bordering on campy. Our heroine is generally endearing, ably played by Alison Lohman, and the whole castThis is an entertaining horror flick, which, though never truly gripping, or terrifying, does deliver a few mild shocks while at times bordering on campy. Our heroine is generally endearing, ably played by Alison Lohman, and the whole cast performs their roles well. The dialog is well crafted and gives us a turn or two which I did not see coming -- and I am so used to spotting every twist and turn ten miles ahead of schedule that I must admit to feeling delighted by the surprises.

Drag Me To Hell, despite its foreboding title, will probably never be regarded as a horror classic simply because it's a lightweight bit of fun. Whether it will come to be seen as a "cult favorite" only time will tell. Meanwhile, I recommend it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 3, 2016
This movie actually freaked me out. I truly enjoyed watching this movie, something that would make me watch it all over again.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1614-Drag-Me-to-Hell-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleFeb 26, 2016
Drag Me to Hell is a horrifically terrifying horror film that has a way of infesting itself in your mind and possessing your thoughts after you finish watching it. It can be a touch predictable at times and can be a little silly, but neitherDrag Me to Hell is a horrifically terrifying horror film that has a way of infesting itself in your mind and possessing your thoughts after you finish watching it. It can be a touch predictable at times and can be a little silly, but neither of those detract much from the overall product, which is a truly scary film that chills, thrills, and flat out scares the viewer with glee. Director Sam Raimi creates a thoroughly unsettling atmosphere and a great accompanying score and sound effects really help to create that mood. Drag Me to Hell was heavily criticized upon its release for being too silly and not being scary enough. I disagree on both accounts. Obviously I thought it was scary, but I never found any of it comedic. There were moments that broke the tension and were kind of funny, but that happens in every movie. Here, the few funny moments were intended and the scary moments were effective. This is not some cheesy horror-comedy mash-up, this is just regular old horror and a creepily unsettling one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Hawk321Dec 26, 2015
Wow, a real perl amon the horror movies. Logical story, cool effects, no nonsense and some comedian stuff included.

Who says that a horror movie needs to be ultra violent?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
Drag me to Hell , a frightening film , which shows the true curse before going to hell , all horror movies so that waste and criticize bad , this is the best I saw and attacked me in every scene fear, without doubt, the best horror movie I'veDrag me to Hell , a frightening film , which shows the true curse before going to hell , all horror movies so that waste and criticize bad , this is the best I saw and attacked me in every scene fear, without doubt, the best horror movie I've seen in my life! God save me from hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 9, 2015
Drag Me to Hell has pretty good acting, an interesting story and plausible characters(Not all but the main 2).But, the special effects were not that good the story is cliché and I know it is supposed to be a comedy at the same time but someDrag Me to Hell has pretty good acting, an interesting story and plausible characters(Not all but the main 2).But, the special effects were not that good the story is cliché and I know it is supposed to be a comedy at the same time but some scenes are just stupid. If you want to make a horror/comedy movie at least assume it and don't throw like 2-3 "funny scenes." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Oct 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Holy crap, this one surprised me! I don't think a horror comedy has worked so well since... well, ever. This movie was as funny as it was scary and disgusting, and it truly felt like what I'd expect from a Raimi film. The acting was great, the cinematography was so crisp and nice to look at. The story was also pretty disturbing and creepy. I also liked how it poked fun at a few horror cliches like the bleeding nose thing. The ending, though, was so shocking and unexpected. I'm glad it wasn't another Hollywood ending where everything is alright because I love huge twists like that! I really loved this movie. I jumped and laughed and cringed too many times to count. I haven't had this much fun watching a movie in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pelen23Jul 28, 2014
Funny and scary, well sam raimi is back to his roots. If you are looking for a typical horror ,you would be disappointed but if you like the 80s horror/ comedy then This is definitely for you . The film reminded me of my position in a bankFunny and scary, well sam raimi is back to his roots. If you are looking for a typical horror ,you would be disappointed but if you like the 80s horror/ comedy then This is definitely for you . The film reminded me of my position in a bank and I had to make similar decisions so I both disagree and sympathise Christine's situation. Lorna Raver is absolutely great as Mrs Ganush and the fight between Christine and Mrs Ganush is priceless. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 14, 2013
Perfect mix! Its scary but also so funny, you can't take this serious.
So don't expect too much and you will be surprised!
Every second of this movie is great!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
diego9901Apr 5, 2013
como solo raimi lo sabe hacer crea otra pelicula de horror con tintes de comedio la cual no importa de q angulo la mires siempre dara resultado este es un gran regreso por parte de raimi al genero delterror
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
dpaniaguaApr 1, 2013
Raimi has made the most crazy, fun, and terrifying horror movie in years. its the most amazing horror movie you will see! the cast leads stellar perfomances in their roles.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This is a hilarious film which is also scary in the right places. Sam Raimi knows what he is doing in the horror genre and I am glad that the film doesn't take itself too seriously. It has a clever plot with a slightly predictable twist butThis is a hilarious film which is also scary in the right places. Sam Raimi knows what he is doing in the horror genre and I am glad that the film doesn't take itself too seriously. It has a clever plot with a slightly predictable twist but all in all everything works in Drag Me to Hell. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Tiki7690Aug 23, 2012
This movie is an incredible thrill ride. There are small laughs planted between and within the grand scares. Some dialogue is intentionally grin-inducing, and also some scares, too. The cheesy CGI isn't a con, because it perfectly fits inThis movie is an incredible thrill ride. There are small laughs planted between and within the grand scares. Some dialogue is intentionally grin-inducing, and also some scares, too. The cheesy CGI isn't a con, because it perfectly fits in with the craziness of the film. Even all of that can't water down how truly terrifying this movie can be, though.

It's campy, fun, and theatrical. A movie to watch with a group, because you'll all be laughing and freaking out and having a good time. But be warned: when the credits roll, you won't exactly feel good. The movie is haunting.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
bandgeeka17Aug 17, 2012
drag me to hell is a movie who have seen and understand raimi movies because his style is just not like any other.his movies reach such acclaim because they try to make a point on the current status of the horror genre and he makes light ofdrag me to hell is a movie who have seen and understand raimi movies because his style is just not like any other.his movies reach such acclaim because they try to make a point on the current status of the horror genre and he makes light of it. his best example of this is the evil dead 2. it delivers an amount of cheese that reminds me of his older movies. this movie is intentionally all cheese Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
LOmarGJun 2, 2012
It's scary, shocking, and excellently made. I felt a different type of fear while watching this. It's not your typical monster or possesion fright-fest. With the exception of a few CG effects, everything works rather well and reallyIt's scary, shocking, and excellently made. I felt a different type of fear while watching this. It's not your typical monster or possesion fright-fest. With the exception of a few CG effects, everything works rather well and really creates a sense of dread and suspense. One of the better horror movies I've seen in a while. You might not want to watch it alone, or before going to bed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Supernatural horror with here-and-there touches of satire is an irresistible modern Halloween pick.

Sam Raimiâ
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Oct 16, 2011
I cannot understand why people didn't like this film. Ok, it is kind of trash but "Drag me to Hell" is overall entertaining and filled with something that current horror films are missing: a good script
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
BelmsherAug 10, 2011
This is undoubtedly the best horror movie of the decade. I really was surprised when I read so many good reviews because I was absolutely convinced it would be the kind horror fans would praise but critics taunt... it was just the reverse.This is undoubtedly the best horror movie of the decade. I really was surprised when I read so many good reviews because I was absolutely convinced it would be the kind horror fans would praise but critics taunt... it was just the reverse. This shocked me. If you really appreciate horror movies, it's completely impossible this being a letdown. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Taoist_ImmortalJun 27, 2011
Drag Me to Hell is a perfect example of why CRITICS know what the hell (pun intended) they're talking about. This is one of those rare instances where the critics are the ones who praise a film (I mean, holy crap ... this film has like a 96%Drag Me to Hell is a perfect example of why CRITICS know what the hell (pun intended) they're talking about. This is one of those rare instances where the critics are the ones who praise a film (I mean, holy crap ... this film has like a 96% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes) while the general public completely pans it. Guess what? After seeing this film, I can definitely say without a shadow of a doubt that all of the critics are absolutely, 100% correct. This is easily one of the greatest horror-thrillers of all time, the scariest horror-thriller of all time, and by far the most well-directed horror-thriller of all time. It's amazing how many people claimed that this film wasn't "scary" at all, when in fact they were probably wetting their damn pants everytime something popped out out of nowhere after the misdirection/suspenseful build-up that happens throughout the entire movie. Cheap? Maybe. Does it work? Absolutely. This film now ties with The Mist as being my two favorite horror-thrillers of all time. A great example of why critics are the only ones who should be making any comments about anything. Critics and myself, one of the few people who aren't a bunch of stupid morons who wouldn't know "good" from "bad" if their damn soul depended on it (another intended pun). Nearly ten major critics (from Entertainment Weekly to the Washington Post) gave this film a PERFECT score. Personally, I wouldn't give it higher than a 90/100 or a 9.0 out of 10 ... but it really sickens me to read what many of the movie-goers have said about this film. All those comments have done is prove just how stupid most people really are. The critics have it ... everyone else, kindly STFU

It's interesting how a lot of people (and I don't just mean on here) claim that this film wasn't the least bit scary ... and then they turn right around and admit that there were plenty of "jump scares" (which I guess is the term people are using) throughout. Okay ... so if suspenseful music/tension and misdirection leading to an inevitable, shocking "scare" isn't what "scary" is, then I'd really like to know what IS.

Of all of the horror thrillers I've seen in the last decade or so (1408, The Mist, The Others, Skeleton Key, The Descent, The Ring, 28 Weeks Later, Hills Have Eyes, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, House of Wax, etc., (too many more to name ... those are just off the top of my head)), Drag Me to Hell is BY FAR the scariest. If this film doesn't qualify as being "scary," then I really don't know what else in the entire damn world would qualify as such, because every single one of those other movies I just named (and pretty much every horror film ever, especially slasher-types) watch like the Care Bears movie compared to Drag Me to Hell.

Honestly, do people even THINK before they post reviews on sites like IMDB and Metacritic?

Yes, the movie IS full of cheap, "misdirect and then jump out at you" shock-scares ... that's what SCARY IS!

Of course, as with all horror thrillers, how "scary" it happens to be really depends on how, where, and when you watch it. For instance, if you watched this film with other people around during the daytime ... or even in a movie theater surrounded by other people, then it probably wouldn't come off that scary at all. I, on the other hand, watched this film by myself, in a dark room, in the middle of the night. Big difference. I actually considered closing my eyes at one point, but then I realized that the scares would have been even worse, as the loud, out-of-nowhere SOUNDS in this film are half the scare. At least with my eyes open I could see the nasty, crusty, hag of an old woman pop out out of nowhere and be expecting the loud-ass shriek that accompanies it.

It's one thing to NOT like the film, but to actually say that this movie wasn't scary is just plain ridiculous and stems from pure bias and spite. Because I can think of no other horror thriller in the last decade or two that even compares in terms of sheer fright and tension. If Drag Me to Hell isn't scary, then nothing in the world of cinema is. I pretty much cringed for the entire 100 minutes.

And yeah, there are still people who classify this as part "comedy," but until Sam Raimi himself openly says that (which he has NOT), I call bull. The fact of the matter is, a "comedic" horror film would be quite obvious in its tone and atmosphere. I've seen "comedic" horror films before, and this watches nothing like those. This was a film that took its plot very seriously,where exactly did it say "spoof" or "parody" to you? Drag Me to Hell was tense and unnerving the entire time. If you laughed during this, then that's something to get checked out. Because there was nothing even remotely funny about this movie. Disgusting, shocking, and terrifying? Yes.

Bottomline is, most horror thrillers slightly entertain but do not end up impressing me much. This one shocked me to the core.
Expand
30 of 37 users found this helpful307
All this user's reviews
8
BlogDog123May 26, 2011
This is the best horror flick I have seen in a while, and that is saying something, since I hardly watch horror at all (I get scared REALLY easily). A ton of moments made me go "eww" and "O_O", and those are reactions you are supposed to getThis is the best horror flick I have seen in a while, and that is saying something, since I hardly watch horror at all (I get scared REALLY easily). A ton of moments made me go "eww" and "O_O", and those are reactions you are supposed to get in a good horror movie. Also, I was TOTALLY not expecting the ending. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JustblazexApr 6, 2011
I saw this movie in theaters when it came out so my memory is a bit rusty... But after seeing the high score this got i have to call BS... first off the Gypsy woman put a curse on her... after not 1... not 2 but 3 house extensions and cursesI saw this movie in theaters when it came out so my memory is a bit rusty... But after seeing the high score this got i have to call BS... first off the Gypsy woman put a curse on her... after not 1... not 2 but 3 house extensions and curses the girl in the film because she can't pay for her damn house and its the one time the girl decides to deny someone on a loan.... seriously this movie was down right horrible and deserves about a 4... it wasn't scary and was barely even funny just a poorly written story Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
justjakenitNov 29, 2010
This movie was advertised as a scary jump out of your seat horror movie. I feel bad for those of you that wanted to o see another jumpy crappy predictable horror film, but for anyone who is a true fan of film and are familiar with Raimi'sThis movie was advertised as a scary jump out of your seat horror movie. I feel bad for those of you that wanted to o see another jumpy crappy predictable horror film, but for anyone who is a true fan of film and are familiar with Raimi's earlier works (the Evil Dead series in particular) then you should have expected what you got. To me this movie was great it had moments where it scared you but it also had moments that made me cry from laughing. Guys it's supposed to be cheesy, that's his style and I find Drag Me to Hell to be the most original horror film in some time. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was because of the false advertising. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
This is probably one of the scariest best directed and produced horror film in years. Sam Raimi has finally directed something worth seeing over and over again. The characters are so developed, intense scenes that I will never forget, andThis is probably one of the scariest best directed and produced horror film in years. Sam Raimi has finally directed something worth seeing over and over again. The characters are so developed, intense scenes that I will never forget, and just pure fun. That description I can't say for many horror movies and it might not have been the scariest, but I give props for a developed story that wasn't cheesy, and Lorna Raver playing the evil Mrs. Ganush. It was a smart horror movie; that is uncommon for the horror genre. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
7
DedValveNov 3, 2010
Drag me to Hell is certainly a mixed movie. I went in expecting a horror movie and was greatly disappointed however what I watched was an incredibly hilarious, gory and downright stupid movie. It's not bad in any way, it was just marketed asDrag me to Hell is certainly a mixed movie. I went in expecting a horror movie and was greatly disappointed however what I watched was an incredibly hilarious, gory and downright stupid movie. It's not bad in any way, it was just marketed as a true horror. Drag me to Hell is actually a B horror movie, those movies that try to scare you but are so bad their good. It was a original, funny, had those "jump" moments that would scare and tension. In the end it was brilliant, I think the reason it had so many bad reviews is because people see it as a normal horror movie, and not a "B Horror" movie.

It's a watch.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
KandraaOct 28, 2010
This movie seems kinda like a mocking spin on the traditional horror movies we are use to in this day and age. The parts that were meant to be scary were scary with a little twist of humour. It was very entertaining and didn't feel like aThis movie seems kinda like a mocking spin on the traditional horror movies we are use to in this day and age. The parts that were meant to be scary were scary with a little twist of humour. It was very entertaining and didn't feel like a complete waste of my time. So if you want a slightly cheesy, scary, and kinda funny horror movie pick this up. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Drag Me To Hell is one of my favourite horrors. Well, it is partially a comedy, too, but it can get pretty scary at times.
I just love the fact that it's not the usual stupid horror: full of gore and nothing behind it. Drag Me To Hell has a
Drag Me To Hell is one of my favourite horrors. Well, it is partially a comedy, too, but it can get pretty scary at times.
I just love the fact that it's not the usual stupid horror: full of gore and nothing behind it. Drag Me To Hell has a compelling and very interesting story, some good acting and it just a straight-out good film. Definitely high entertainment value and I'd recommend anyone who likes good horrors to watch it. Yes, it is funny sometimes, but what's wrong with that? Can't a horror be also funny?! Definitely a great surprise of a film!
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
MattCNov 8, 2009
The sheer amount of varied reactions on this page should really tell you everything you need to know. If you can turn your brain off, sit back and revel in a film that is over the top in its dark humour, its fx and its intent, and knows it, The sheer amount of varied reactions on this page should really tell you everything you need to know. If you can turn your brain off, sit back and revel in a film that is over the top in its dark humour, its fx and its intent, and knows it, then you'll probably like this. If you're looking for a gory hardcore horror flick, you probably won't. Personally, I got everything I wanted out of it. It was exactly what I expected Sam Raimi to deliver, and he did it superbly. Its not trying to change your life, its just trying to entertain you the best way it knows how. I thought it was awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanFNov 3, 2009
I honestly don't know where these bad user reviews are coming from. With so many "Horror" movies out there that rely on nothing but shock value, I find Drag Me To Hell refreshing. What I liked most of all is Raimi's ability to I honestly don't know where these bad user reviews are coming from. With so many "Horror" movies out there that rely on nothing but shock value, I find Drag Me To Hell refreshing. What I liked most of all is Raimi's ability to create scares that you never see coming. It also has an ending that will leave your jaw dropped. My only complaint was there were 1 or 2 scenes where the lead actress's acting was less than impressive. If your tired of horror movie cliches, such as high heel shoes breaking and "don't go in there!" scenes, then watch this film, it will not disappoint. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
dannnnnnyNov 3, 2009
Not that bad at all! It wasn't too scarry tho. I went with my girlfriend cause i thought it would scare her! CLASSIC. It made us both laugh more than be scared. I still thought it was a great movie. it was creeeepy at times but mostly funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThayerH.Nov 1, 2009
A deceivingly light-hearted movie that shifts between horror and comedy without missing a beat. Wrap it all up with one of the most intense and satisfying endings I have seen in a long time, and you have yourself true cinematic gold. The A deceivingly light-hearted movie that shifts between horror and comedy without missing a beat. Wrap it all up with one of the most intense and satisfying endings I have seen in a long time, and you have yourself true cinematic gold. The ONLY people who do not/would not like this movie are those who do not understand it. Pay no attention to the red reviews preceding my own--they are the type that go see Saw every year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful